DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soderstrom et al. US 2020/0122065 in view of Roesgen US 8,858,793.
Claim 1, Soderstrom teaches a filter component comprising: a peripheral surface (at 114) including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each projecting in a radial direction from the peripheral surface and including a first tab stop surface (see below) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface (see below) facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 28) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (see below) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels (22) defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead-in section (see below) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (see below), and a securement section (see below) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, a plurality of base surfaces (see below) each forming in part one of the securement sections, and extending in the second circumferential direction from a first or a respective two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements to a second of the respective two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, and each first tab stop surface is direction connected to a respective one of the plurality of base surfaces and forms an angle therewith opening in the first circumferential direction and the first axial direction, each of the plurality of retention elements including an end surface facing the first axial direction (fig. 1-6). Soderstrom does not teach a peak including a sloped lead-in surface originating at the peak.
Roesgen teaches a filter component comprising: a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (54) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 52) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (52) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead in section (48) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (38) and a securement section (42) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements wherein the rostrate overhang is tapered to a tip in the first circumferential direction, the rostrate overhang includes a forward sloped lead in surface forming in part a first adjacent one of the lead in section and the end surface includes a rearward sloped lead in surface forming in part a second adjacent one of the lead in sections and the end surface forms a peak, and the forward sloped lead in surface advances in the first circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak and the rearward lead in surface advances in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44). Roesgen does not teach the peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the respective rostrate overhang. The recitation of the peak offset from the rostrate overhang is a recitation of moving the origination point of the lead-in surface. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Claims 2 and 4-6, Soderstrom further teaches a filter medium (106), an end plate (104) attached to the filter medium and a connector protrusion (114) including the peripheral surface and projecting from the end plate (fig. 1-6); the peripheral surface includes an outer peripheral surface (fig. 1-6); the tapered lead-in section is defined between the end surfaces of each respective two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements (fig. 1-6); and the rostrate overhang is tapered to a tip in the first circumferential direction and includes a tab retention bump (130) upon the second tab stop surface (fig. 1-6).
Claim 9, Soderstrom teaches a connector system for a filter assembly comprising: a first peripheral surface including a plurality of tabs (216), a second peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements projecting in a radial direction from the second peripheral surface, the first and second peripheral surfaces are positionable in coaxial alignment around an axis to position the plurality of tabs and the plurality of retention elements at respective offset circumferential distributions around the axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (see above) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface (see above) facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (see above) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels (112) including a tapered lead-in section (see above) between the end surfaces of two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (see above), and a securement section (see above) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements (fig. 1-6). Soderstrom does not teach each end surface forming a peak circumferentially offset from the respective rostrate overhang and including a forward sloped lead in surface advancing in the first circumferential direction.
Roesgen teaches a connector system comprising: a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (54) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 52) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (52) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead in section (48) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (38) and a securement section (42) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, each end surface forms a peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the respective rostrate overhang and includes a forward sloped lead in surface, advancing in the first circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak to the respective rostrate overhang and the end surface further includes a rearward sloped lead in surface, originating at the peak and advancing in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak to define in part a second adjacent one of the tapered lead in sections (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44). Roesgen does not teach the forward sloped lead-in surface originating at a location offset in the second circumferential direction from the rostrate overhang and the first tab stop surface. The recitation of the forward sloped lead-in surface originating at a position offset from the rostrate overhang and the first tab stop surface is a recitation of moving the origination point of the lead-in surface. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Claims 10-11, Soderstrom further teaches the first peripheral surface includes an inner peripheral surface and the second peripheral surface includes an outer peripheral surface relative to each other (fig. 1-6); and a plurality of base surfaces each extending between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and facing the first axial direction, a connector protrusion (113) including the second peripheral surface and a seal (224) mounted on the connector protrusion adjacent to the plurality of base surfaces (fig. 1-6).
Claims 12-13, Roesgen further teaches the forward sloped lead in surface forms in part a first adjacent one of the lead in sections and the end surface includes a rearward sloped lead in surface forming in part a second adjacent one of the lead in sections (fig. 2) and the rearward sloped lead in surface advances in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction (fig. 2).
Claim 14, Soderstrom teaches a filter element (100) comprising: filter media (106) extending around an axis, a connector (108) for mounting the filter medium in a filter housing, the connector including an outer peripheral surface and projecting in a first axial direction from the filter medium, the connector further including a plurality of retention elements upon the outer peripheral surface and projecting radially inwardly and having a circumferential distribution around the axis, and each of the plurality of retention elements projecting in a radial direction from the outer peripheral surface and the connector further includes a plurality of tab channels (112) each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, and each including a tapered lead in section (see above) opening in the axial direction, a middle section (see above) and a securement section (see above) extending in a circumferential direction from the middle section to a tab stop surface facing an opposite circumferential direction, each of the plurality of retention elements including an end surface facing the first axial direction and a rostrate overhang (fig. 1-6). Soderstrom does not teach a sloped lead-in surface originating at a peak offset in the circumferential direction from the rostrate overhang.
Roesgen teaches a filter element comprising: a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (54) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 52) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (52) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead in section (48) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (38) and a securement section (42) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements wherein a rostrate overhang is tapered to a tip in the first circumferential direction, the rostrate overhang includes a forward sloped lead in surface forming in part a first adjacent one of the lead in section and the end surface includes a rearward sloped lead in surface forming in part a second adjacent one of the lead in sections and the end surface forms a peak, and the forward sloped lead in surface advances in the first circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak and the rearward lead in surface advances in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44). Roesgen does not teach the peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the rostrate overhang. The recitation of the peak offset from the rostrate overhang is a recitation of moving the origination point of the lead-in surface. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Claims 15-19, Soderstrom further teaches each of the plurality of retention element includes an overhang (at 128) extending in an opposite circumferential direction and includes a sloped surface defining in part one of the lead in sections, and a tab stop surface facing an opposite axial direction and defining in part the respective one of the securement sections (fig. 1-6); each of the plurality of retention elements includes another tab stop surface facing the opposite circumferential direction (fig. 1-6); the tab stop surface and the another tab stop surface are oriented normal to one another (fig. 1-6); the overhang tapers to a tip defining in part a respective one of the middle sections (fig. 1-6); an end plate (104) attached to the filter medium, an opposite end plate (116) attached to the filter medium, and the connector is located radially inward of an outer perimeter of the end plate (fig. 1-6).
Claim(s) 3 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soderstrom et al. US 2020/0122065 in view of Roesgen US 8,858,793 as applied to claims 2 and 19 above and further in view of Knickmann et al. US 8,501,002.
Soderstrom in view of Roesgen teaches the filter component of claim 2 and filter element of claim 19 as detailed above but does not teach a bracket coupled to an opposite end plate.
Knickmann teaches a filter element comprising two endplates (26, 27) coupled to opposite ends of a filter medium and a bracket (21) coupled to an endplate, through the filter media, and a seal (24) mounted upon the bracket and the bracket is rotatable and axially movable relative to the filter medium (fig. 4-4b). Soderstrom teaches the filter element is placed within a vessel which is sealed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the bracket and seal of Knickmann because the seal provides a seal for the housing parts and the bracket ensure the seal is guided (col. 6, lines 3-25).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terhume et al. US 4,871,455 in view of Soderstrom et al. US 2020/0122065 and Roesgen US 8,858,793.
Claims 1 and 7-8, Terhume teaches a filter component comprising: a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution about an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (see below) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface (see below) facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 28) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (see below) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels (22) defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead-in section (see below) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (see below), and a securement section (see below) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, a plurality of base surfaces (see below) each forming in part one of the securement sections, and extending in the second circumferential direction from a first or a respective two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements to a second of the respective two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, and each first tab stop surface is direction connected to a respective one of the plurality of base surfaces and forms an angle therewith opening in the first circumferential direction and the first axial direction, each of the plurality of retention elements including an end surface facing the first axial direction (fig. 1-2). Terhume teaches the plurality of retention elements being free standing but does not teach the plurality of retention elements projecting in a radial direction from a peripheral surface or a peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the respective rostrate overhang and including a sloped lead in surface originating at the peak.
Soderstrom teaches a filter component with a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements circumferentially distributed around an axis and that project radially from the peripheral surface (fig. 1-6). Providing retention elements projecting radially from an annular wall rather than being free standing is well known in the art as demonstrated by Soderstrom and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Roesgen teaches a filter component comprising: a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (54) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 52) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (52) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead in section (48) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (38) and a securement section (42) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements wherein the rostrate overhang is tapered to a tip in the first circumferential direction, the rostrate overhang includes a forward sloped lead in surface forming in part a first adjacent one of the lead in section and the end surface includes a rearward sloped lead in surface forming in part a second adjacent one of the lead in sections and the end surface forms a peak, and the forward sloped lead in surface advances in the first circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak and the rearward lead in surface advances in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44). Roesgen does not teach the peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the respective rostrate overhang. The recitation of the peak offset from the rostrate overhang is a recitation of moving the origination point of the lead-in surface. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Claims 2 and 4-5, Terhume further teaches a filter medium (12), an endplate (46) attached to the filter medium and a connector protrusion (38) including the peripheral surface and projecting from the endplate (fig. 1, claim 1, which recites the passage means may be located on the cartridge end cap); the peripheral surface includes an outer peripheral surface (fig. 1); and the tapered lead-in section is defined between the end surfaces of each respective two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements (fig. 1).
Claim 6, Roesgen further teaches the rostrate overhang is tapered to a tip in the first circumferential direction (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44).
Claim 9, Terhume teaches a connector system for a filter assembly comprising: a first peripheral surface (38) including a plurality of tabs (24), a second peripheral surface and a plurality of retention elements, the first and second peripheral surfaces are positionable in coaxial alignment around an axis to position the plurality of tabs and the plurality of retention elements at respective offset circumferential distributions around the axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (see above) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface (see above) facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 28) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (see above) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels (22) including a tapered lead-in section (see above) between the end surfaces of two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (see above), and a securement section (see above) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements (fig. 1-2). Terhume teaches the plurality of retention elements being free standing but does not teach the plurality of retention elements projecting in a radial direction from a peripheral surface. Terhume also does not teach each end surface forming a peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the respective rostrate overhang and including a forward sloped lead in surface originating at a location offset in the second circumferential direction from the rostrate overhang and the first tab stop surface, advancing in the first circumferential direction.
Soderstrom teaches a filter component with a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements circumferentially distributed around an axis and that project radially from the peripheral surface (fig. 1-6). Providing retention elements projecting radially from an annular wall rather than being free standing is well known in the art as demonstrated by Soderstrom and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Roesgen teaches a connector system comprising: a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (54) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 52) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (52) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead in section (48) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (38) and a securement section (42) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, each end surface forms a peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the respective rostrate overhang and includes a forward sloped lead in surface, advancing in the first circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak to the respective rostrate overhang and the end surface further includes a rearward sloped lead in surface, originating at the peak and advancing in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak to define in part a second adjacent one of the tapered lead in sections (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44). Roesgen does not teach the forward sloped lead-in surface originating at a location offset in the second circumferential direction from the rostrate overhang and the first tab stop surface. The recitation of the forward sloped lead-in surface originating at a position offset from the rostrate overhang and the first tab stop surface is a recitation of moving the origination point of the lead-in surface. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Claims 10-11, Terhume further teaches the first peripheral surface includes an inner peripheral surface and the second peripheral surface includes an outer peripheral surface (fig. 1-2, claim 1, which recites the passage means may be located on the cartridge end cap and the protrusions on the base); a plurality of base surfaces each extending between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and facing the first axial direction, a connector protrusion (14) including the second peripheral surface and a seal (42) mounted on the connector protrusion adjacent to the plurality of base surfaces (fig. 1-2, claim 1).
Claims 12-13, Roesgen further teaches the forward sloped lead in surface forms in part a first adjacent one of the lead in sections and the end surface includes a rearward sloped lead in surface forming in part a second adjacent one of the lead in sections (fig. 2) and the rearward sloped lead in surface advances in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction (fig. 2).
Claim 14, Terhume teaches a filter element (12) comprising: filter media extending around an axis, a connector (38) for mounting the filter medium in a filter housing, the connector including an outer peripheral surface and projecting in an axial direction from the filter medium, the connector further including a plurality of retention elements upon the outer peripheral surface and having a circumferential distribution around the axis, and the connector further includes a plurality of tab channels (22) each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements, and each including a tapered lead in section (see above) opening in the axial direction, a middle section (see above) and a securement section (see above) extending in a circumferential direction from the middle section to a tab stop surface facing an opposite circumferential direction, each of the plurality of retention elements includes an end surface facing the first axial direction and a rostrate overhang (fig. 1-2, claim 1). Terhume does not teach the retention elements projecting in a radial direction from an outer peripheral surface, or a peak offset from the rostrate overhang and including a sloped lead in surface originating at the peak.
Soderstrom teaches a filter component with a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements circumferentially distributed around an axis and that project radially from the peripheral surface (fig. 1-6). Providing retention elements projecting radially from an annular wall rather than being free standing is well known in the art as demonstrated by Soderstrom and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Roesgen teaches a filter element comprising: a peripheral surface including a plurality of retention elements having a circumferential distribution around an axis, the plurality of retention elements each including a first tab stop surface (54) facing a first circumferential direction, an end surface facing a first axial direction, and a rostrate overhang (at 52) extending in the first circumferential direction from the first tab stop surface and including a second tab stop surface (52) facing a second axial direction, and a plurality of tab channels each defined between two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements and including a tapered lead in section (48) opening in the first axial direction, a middle section (38) and a securement section (42) extending in a second circumferential direction from the middle section to the first tab stop surface of one of the two adjacent ones of the plurality of retention elements wherein a rostrate overhang is tapered to a tip in the first circumferential direction, the rostrate overhang includes a forward sloped lead in surface forming in part a first adjacent one of the lead in section and the end surface includes a rearward sloped lead in surface forming in part a second adjacent one of the lead in sections and the end surface forms a peak, and the forward sloped lead in surface advances in the first circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak and the rearward lead in surface advances in the second circumferential direction and the second axial direction from the peak (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rostrate overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44). Roesgen does not teach the peak offset in the second circumferential direction from the rostrate overhang. The recitation of the peak offset from the rostrate overhang is a recitation of moving the origination point of the lead-in surface. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Claims 15-17 and 19, Terhume further teaches each of the plurality of retention element includes an overhang (at 28) extending in an opposite circumferential direction and includes a sloped surface defining in part one of the lead in sections, and a tab stop surface facing an opposite axial direction and defining in part the respective one of the securement sections (fig. 1-2); each of the plurality of retention elements includes another tab stop surface facing the opposite circumferential direction (fig. 1-2); the tab stop surface and the another tab stop surface are oriented normal to one another (fig. 1-2); an end plate (46) attached to the filter medium, an opposite end plate (52) attached to the filter medium, and the connector is located radially inward of an outer perimeter of the end plate (fig. 1-2).
Claim 18, Terhume further teaches the overhang defines in part a respective one of the middle sections but does not teach the overhang tapers to a tip.
Roesgen further teaches the overhang tapers to a tip defining in part a respective one of the middle sections (fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the overhang be tapered because the taper simplifies the insertion of detent lugs (col. 8, lines 38-44).
Claim(s) 3 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terhume et al. US 4,871,455 in view of Soderstrom et al. US 2020/0122065 and Roesgen US 8,858,793 as applied to claims 2 and 19 above and further in view of Knickmann et al. US 8,501,002.
Terhume in view of Soderstrom and Roesgen teaches the filter component of claim 2 and filter element of claim 19 as detailed above but does not teach a bracket coupled to an opposite end plate.
Knickmann teaches a filter element comprising two endplates (26, 27) coupled to opposite ends of a filter medium and a bracket (21) coupled to an endplate, through the filter media, and a seal (24) mounted upon the bracket and the bracket is rotatable and axially movable relative to the filter medium (fig. 4-4b). Terhume teaches the filter element is placed within a vessel but does not teach how such a vessel would be closed or sealed, as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as necessary for the proper functioning of the filter element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the bracket and seal of Knickmann because the seal provides a seal for the housing parts and the bracket ensure the seal is guided (col. 6, lines 3-25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in the case of Roesgen as a modification of Soderstrom the rounded surfaces could provide some improvement to but not as a true locating or alignment feature, merely as an aid once the proper circumferential alignment of the parts is approximately obtained. Applicant also states that a user could contact two filter parts at substantially any circumferential alignment and push them together for successful engagement and therefore provides a modification of operation of the device based upon the relative locations of the peaks and sloped lean in surfaces. Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope to the claimed invention. The claims require a forward and rearward sloped lean in surface originating at a peak and advancing in the first circumferential and second circumferential directions, respectively, and advancing in the second axial direction. The structure taught by Roesgen meets these limitations as stated in the office action above.
Applicant argues that the current record does not support the proposition that free standing retention elements can merely be swapped for attached/projecting retention elements. The retention slots of Soderstrom and Terhune operate by the exact same principles. Each slot is capable of receiving and retaining a projection. The slots of Soderstrom are located between two elements with a wall on a further side of the slot and the slots of Terhune are located between two elements just without a wall on the further side of the slot. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize and common sense would indicate that providing the wall on the further side would not modify or change anything about the operation of the connection between the slot and the projection. Therefore, because the particular technique of having the retention elements project from a surface is known in the art and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779