DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 1/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 17, and 20 contain the trademark/trade name Hytrel. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a polymer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
In claim 7, it is unclear if the coefficient of abrasivity is from about 0.01 to about 0.25 against asphalt and concretes of varying roughnesses and harnesses. Accordingly, the limitation is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carbonero (US 5,127,649).
With respect to claim 1, Carbonero teaches an apparatus (10) comprising: a rear harness (24) configured to engage a heel (16) of a hockey stick (12) blade (14) (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13); a toe scaffold (26) configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13); and a blade guide (receiving slit 20) configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member (38) is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13).
With respect to claim 2, Carbonero teaches wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise a polymer, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (column 2, lines 44-45).
With respect to claim 4, Carbonero teaches wherein the blade guide further comprises a slot extending (20) longitudinally from the toe scaffold to the rear harness, and wherein the slot is configured to removably receive the bottom of the hockey stick blade (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13).
With respect to claim 5, Carbonero teaches wherein the vertical member extends at an angle in a rearward direction towards the heel from a top of the blade protector to a bottom of the blade protector (figure 1).
With respect to claim 6, Carbonero teaches configured for use in both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks (figures 1-3) (note that the symmetrical shape of Carbonero would intrinsically be capable of use with both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks).
With respect to claim 11, Carbonero teaches a hockey stick (12) comprising the apparatus of claim 1 (figures 1-3).
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amazon.com : Bauer Hockey Stick Blade Protector, '25 (Size 2 (Jr 40 Flex- Youth) P92 Curve, Green) : Sports & Outdoors (Date first available January 1, 2023) (hereafter Amazon).
With respect to claim 1, Amazon teaches an apparatus comprising: a rear harness configured to engage a heel of a hockey stick blade (figures; and description); a toe scaffold configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description); and a blade guide configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 2, Amazon teaches wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise a polymer (plastic), an elastomer, or combinations thereof (description).
With respect to claim 3, Amazon teaches wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise UH-64DU 20 TPU, U95A TPU, Hytrel® 6356, Nylon (PA66), glass fiber, carbon fiber, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (note the carbon fiber on the vertical member in the figures).
With respect to claim 4, Amazon teaches wherein the blade guide further comprises a slot extending longitudinally from the toe scaffold to the rear harness, and wherein the slot is configured to removably receive the bottom of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 5, Amazon teaches wherein the vertical member extends at an angle in a rearward direction towards the heel from a top of the blade protector to a bottom of the blade protector (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 6, Amazon teaches configured for use in both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 7, Amazon teaches a coefficient of abrasivity from about 0.01 to about 0.25 against asphalt and concrete (figures; and description). Note that the carbon fiber at the bottom of the blade protector of Amazon would intrinsically have a coefficient of abrasivity from about 0.01 to about 0.25 against asphalt and concrete of an undefined roughness.
With respect to claim 8, Amazon teaches wherein the rear harness further comprises a plurality of loops configured to engage a strap, and wherein the strap is configured to removably secure the rear harness to a hosel of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 9, Amazon teaches wherein the strap comprises a hook and loop attachment means (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 10, Amazon teaches wherein the vertical support comprises a carbon fiber texture, and wherein the carbon fiber texture includes a carbon fiber weave direction oriented generally in a longitudinal blade direction (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 11, Amazon teaches a hockey stick (12) comprising the apparatus of claim 1 (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 13, Amazon teaches a hockey stick blade protector comprising: a rear harness configured to engage a blade heel of a hockey stick, and wherein the rear harness comprises at least two loops (figures; and description); a strap configured to engage the at least two loops, and wherein the strap comprises a hook and loop attachment area configured to secure the rear harness and the strap to a hosel of the hockey stick (figures; and description); a toe scaffold configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description); and a blade guide configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 14, Amazon teaches wherein the hockey stick blade protector is configured for use in both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 15, Amazon teaches a wherein the vertical member extends at an angle in a rearward direction towards the heel from a top of the blade protector to a bottom of the blade protector (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 16, Amazon teaches a wherein the hockey stick blade protector comprises a polymer (plastic), an elastomer, or combinations thereof (figures; and description).
With respect to claim 17, Amazon teaches a wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise UH-64DU 20 TPU, U95A TPU, Hytrel® 6356, Nylon (PA66), glass fiber, carbon fiber, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (note the carbon fiber on the vertical member in the figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amazon.
With respect to claim 18, Amazon teaches a kit for use in protecting a hockey stick blade comprising: a hockey stick blade protector comprising: a rear harness configured to engage a blade heel of a hockey stick, wherein the rear harness comprises at least two loops, a strap configured to engage the at least two loops, wherein the strap comprises a hook and loop attachment area configured to secure the rear harness and the strap to a hosel of the hockey stick, a toe scaffold configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade, and a blade guide configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures; and description).
With respect to claims 18-19, Amazon does not explicitly teach printed instructions; and a unitary packaging assembly, wherein the hockey stick blade protector and the printed instructions are combined into the unitary packaging assembly; and wherein the printed instructions are integral with the unitary packaging assembly.
However, the examiner takes Official Notice that is it well known to place sporting goods into a unitary packaging with the instructions printed on the packaging.
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the blade protector of Amazon into a unitary packaging with printed instructions in order to minimize the amount of packaging, and reduce cost and environmental waste.
With respect to claim 20, Amazon teaches wherein the hockey stick blade protector comprises UH-64DU 20 TPU, U95A TPU, Hytrel® 6356, Nylon (PA66), glass fiber, carbon fiber, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (note the carbon fiber on the vertical member in the figures).
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735