DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 1/20/26 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 3, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3, 17, and 20 contain the trademark/trade name Hytrel . Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson , 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a polymer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. In claim 7, it is unclear if the coefficient of abrasivity is from about 0.01 to about 0.25 against asphalt and concretes of varying roughnesses and harnesses. Accordingly, the limitation is indefinite. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 -2, 4-6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carbonero (US 5,127,649). With respect to claim 1, Carbonero teaches an apparatus (10) comprising: a rear harness (24) configured to engage a heel (16) of a hockey stick (12) blade (14) (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13) ; a toe scaffold (26) configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13) ; and a blade guide (receiving slit 20) configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member (38) is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13) . With respect to claim 2, Carbonero teaches wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise a polymer, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (column 2, lines 44-45) . With respect to claim 4, Carbonero teaches wherein the blade guide further comprises a slot extending (20) longitudinally from the toe scaffold to the rear harness, and wherein the slot is configured to removably receive the bottom of the hockey stick blade (figures 1-3; and column 2, line 23-column 4, line 13) . With respect to claim 5, Carbonero teaches wherein the vertical member extends at an angle in a rearward direction towards the heel from a top of the blade protector to a bottom of the blade protector (figure 1) . With respect to claim 6, Carbonero teaches configured for use in both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks (figures 1-3) (note that the symmetrical shape of Carbonero would intrinsically be capable of use with both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks ) . With respect to claim 11, Carbonero teaches a hockey stick (12) comprising the apparatus of claim 1 (figures 1-3). Claim(s) 1 - 11 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amazon.com : Bauer Hockey Stick Blade Protector, '25 (Size 2 (Jr 40 Flex- Youth) P92 Curve, Green) : Sports & Outdoors (Date first available January 1, 2023) ( hereafter Amazon ). With respect to claim 1, Amazon teaches an apparatus comprising: a rear harness configured to engage a heel of a hockey stick blade (figures; and description) ; a toe scaffold configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description) ; and a blade guide configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 2, Amazon teaches wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise a polymer (plastic) , an elastomer, or combinations thereof (description) . With respect to claim 3, Amazon teaches wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise UH-64DU 20 TPU, U95A TPU, Hytrel ® 6356, Nylon (PA66), glass fiber, carbon fiber, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (note the carbon fiber on the vertical member in the figures). With respect to claim 4, Amazon teaches wherein the blade guide further comprises a slot extending longitudinally from the toe scaffold to the rear harness, and wherein the slot is configured to removably receive the bottom of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 5, Amazon teaches wherein the vertical member extends at an angle in a rearward direction towards the heel from a top of the blade protector to a bottom of the blade protector (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 6, Amazon teaches configured for use in both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 7, Amazon teaches a coefficient of abrasivity from about 0.01 to about 0.25 against asphalt and concrete (figures; and description) . Note that the carbon fiber at the bottom of the blade protector of Amazon would intrinsically have a coefficient of abrasivity from about 0.01 to about 0.25 against asphalt and concrete of an undefined roughness. With respect to claim 8, Amazon teaches wherein the rear harness further comprises a plurality of loops configured to engage a strap, and wherein the strap is configured to removably secure the rear harness to a hosel of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 9, Amazon teaches wherein the strap comprises a hook and loop attachment means (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 10, Amazon teaches wherein the vertical support comprises a carbon fiber texture, and wherein the carbon fiber texture includes a carbon fiber weave direction oriented generally in a longitudinal blade direction (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 11, Amazon teaches a hockey stick (12) comprising the apparatus of claim 1 (figures; and description). With respect to claim 13, Amazon teaches a hockey stick blade protector comprising: a rear harness configured to engage a blade heel of a hockey stick, and wherein the rear harness comprises at least two loops (figures; and description) ; a strap configured to engage the at least two loops, and wherein the strap comprises a hook and loop attachment area configured to secure the rear harness and the strap to a hosel of the hockey stick (figures; and description) ; a toe scaffold configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade (figures; and description) ; and a blade guide configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 14, Amazon teaches wherein the hockey stick blade protector is configured for use in both right-handed and left-handed hockey sticks (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 15, Amazon teaches a wherein the vertical member extends at an angle in a rearward direction towards the heel from a top of the blade protector to a bottom of the blade protector (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 16, Amazon teaches a wherein the hockey stick blade protector comprises a polymer (plastic) , an elastomer, or combinations thereof (figures; and description) . With respect to claim 17, Amazon teaches a wherein the rear harness, the blade guide, and the toe scaffold comprise UH-64DU 20 TPU, U95A TPU, Hytrel ® 6356, Nylon (PA66), glass fiber, carbon fiber, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (note the carbon fiber on the vertical member in the figures) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 18 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amazon. With respect to claim 18, Amazon teaches a kit for use in protecting a hockey stick blade comprising: a hockey stick blade protector comprising: a rear harness configured to engage a blade heel of a hockey stick, wherein the rear harness comprises at least two loops, a strap configured to engage the at least two loops, wherein the strap comprises a hook and loop attachment area configured to secure the rear harness and the strap to a hosel of the hockey stick, a toe scaffold configured to engage a toe of the hockey stick blade, and a blade guide configured to engage a bottom of the hockey stick blade, wherein the blade guide extends longitudinally from the rear harness to the toe scaffold, wherein the toe scaffold comprises a vertical member extending from the blade guide to an upper portion of the toe scaffold, and wherein the vertical member is integrally affixed to the upper portion of the toe scaffold and the blade guide (figures; and description). With respect to claims 18-19, Amazon does not explicitly teach printed instructions; and a unitary packaging assembly, wherein the hockey stick blade protector and the printed instructions are combined into the unitary packaging assembly ; and wherein the printed instructions are integral with the unitary packaging assembly. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that is it well known to place sporting goods into a unitary packaging with the instructions printed on the packaging. At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the blade protector of Amazon into a unitary packaging with printed instructions in order to minimize the amount of packaging , and reduce cost and environmental waste. With respect to claim 20, Amazon teaches wherein the hockey stick blade protector comprises UH-64DU 20 TPU, U95A TPU, Hytrel ® 6356, Nylon (PA66), glass fiber, carbon fiber, an elastomer, or combinations thereof (note the carbon fiber on the vertical member in the figures) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KILEY SHAWN STONER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1183 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Thursday . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Keith Walker can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3458 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735