DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 4-5, 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamiyama et al. (EP4131558A1, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0099870A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kamiyama discloses a battery (see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-4), comprising:
a battery cell group, the battery cell group comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged along a first direction (battery integrated assembly 14 including secondary batteries 12 [0016], Fig. 1-4);
two end plates respectively abutting against two end faces of the battery cell group disposed opposite to each other, the two end faces being perpendicular to the first direction (pair of end plates 16 which sandwich the battery integrated assembly 14 [0016], Fig. 1-4); and
an insulating packing strap, the insulating packing strap comprising two end parts and a main body part connecting the two end parts, the two end parts being respectively fixed with the two end plates, and the main body part extending along the first direction, so that the insulating packing strap fixes the battery cell group (upper surface fixation member 22 and/or side surface fixation member 18 including a plate-shape member with folded ends over end plates [0016], [0020]-[0024], Fig. 1-2 show each fixation member 18,22 including two end parts and a main body part),
wherein the two end parts comprise a first end part, and the first end part comprises a fixing region and a connecting region, and the fixing region is coupled with the main body part through the connecting region (bolt for fastening side surface fixation member 18 and upper surface fixation member 22 formed on end plate 16 [0020], see Fig. 1-2; see modified Fig. 4A below), and a width of the fixing region is greater than a width of the connecting region (modified Fig. 4A below shows width of fixing region greater than a width of connecting region)
Modified Fig. 4A of Kamiyama
Regarding claim 2, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises: a first wall and a second wall disposed opposite to each other, the main body part passing across the second wall (see Fig. 1-2); electrode terminals disposed on the first wall, the electrode terminals being configured to output electrical energy (positive electrode terminal 44, negative electrode terminal 48 [0028], Fig. 3); and a pressure relief structure disposed on the first wall to be actuated when an internal pressure or temperature of each battery cell reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure of each battery cell (discharge vent 52 for discharging gas when a pressure in the battery become greater than or equal to a predetermined value [0028], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses the battery further comprises: a box to accommodate the battery cell group, the box comprising a third wall, and second walls of the plurality of battery cells being fixed to the third wall (battery module equipped on a vehicle or the like [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses the two end plates comprise a first end plate, a surface of the first end plate away from the battery cell group is provided with a fixing structure (bolt for fastening side surface fixation member 18 and upper surface fixation member 22 formed on end plate 16 [0020]), and the fixing region is fixed with the fixing structure to fix the first end part to the first end plate (bolt for fastening side surface fixation member 18 and upper surface fixation member 22 formed on end plate 16 [0020]).
Regarding claim 5, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses the surface of the first end plate away from the battery cell group is provided with a restraint structure, and the restraint structure is configured to limit a position of the connecting region (Fig. 1-2 show fixation members 18,22 with ends folded over edge/ends of end plate to limit a position of a connecting region of the fixation members 18,22).
Regarding claim 8, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses the fixing region is provided with a through hole, the fixing structure comprises a staple, and the staple passes through the through hole to fix the fixing region (bolt for fastening side surface fixation member 18 and upper surface fixation member 22 formed on end plate 16 [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses the battery cell group corresponds to at least two insulating packing straps (Fig. 1-2 show at least two fixation members 18,22).
Regarding claim 12, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses a power consumption device, comprising: the battery according to claim 1, the battery being configured to provide electrical energy for the power consumption device (battery module equipped on a vehicle or the like [0016]; see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kamiyama further discloses the insulating packing strap does not pass across the first wall (side surface fixation member 18 do not pass across the first wall, see Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiyama et al. (EP4131558A1, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0099870A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 8, 11-13 above, in view of Okada (US 2008/0280194).
Regarding claim 6, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Kamiyama does not further disclose the restraint structure comprises two protruding structures protruding from the surface of the first end plate away from the battery cell group toward a direction away from the first end plate, the two protruding structures have a first gap in a second direction, the connecting region is located in the first gap to limit the position of the connecting region, and the second direction is a width direction of the connecting region.
Okada discloses end plates provided with fitting-in positioners for allowing the strap to be disposed in place, wherein fitting-in positioners are designed to be fitting grooves ([0069], Fig. 5-6, 11-12).
Kamiyama and Okada are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end plates of Kamiyama to have fitting-in positioners such as fitting grooves surrounded by protruding structures because Okada teaches securely keeping the strap in place.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Okada further discloses the two protruding structures are arranged along the second direction ([0069], Fig. 5-6, 11-12).
Regarding claim 9, Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Kamiyama does not further disclose the fixing structure comprises a slot, at least part of the connecting region is accommodated in the slot, the fixing region is located outside the slot, a width of the fixing region is greater than a width of the connecting region, the width of the fixing region is greater than a width of the slot along a second direction, so that the fixing region is incapable of passing through the slot along a third direction to fix the fixing region with the fixing structure, the second direction is a width direction of the connecting region, and the third direction is perpendicular to the second direction and the first direction.
Okada discloses end plates provided with fitting-in positioners for allowing the strap to be disposed in place, wherein fitting-in positioners are designed to be fitting through holes for allowing the strap to be inserted so that the strap is disposed in place([0069], Fig. 7-10, 13-25).
Kamiyama and Okada are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end plates of Kamiyama to have fitting-in positioners such as fitting through holes surrounded by protruding structures through which strap is disposed because Okada specifically teaches securely keeping the strap in place.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kamiyama discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Okada further discloses the fixing structure comprises: a first protruding structure and a second protruding structure protruding from the surface of the first end plate away from the battery cell group toward a direction away from the first end plate, the first protruding structure and the second protruding structure are arranged along the second direction, and the first protruding structure and the second protruding structure have a second gap in the second direction to form the slot (end plates are provided with fitting-in positioners for allowing the strap to be disposed in place, wherein fitting-in positioners are designed to be fitting through holes for allowing the strap to be inserted so that the strap is disposed in place [0069], Fig. 7-10, 13-25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to new limitations recited in claim 1 (see Remarks filed 3/24/2026), this is not found to be persuasive because Fig. 4A of Kamiyama shows a fixing region and a connecting region, wherein a width of the fixing region is greater than a width of the connecting region (see modified Fig. 4A of Kamiyama above).
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to new claim 13 (see Remarks filed 3/24/2026), this is not found to be persuasive because side surface fixation member(s) 18 do not pass across the first wall as shown in Fig. 1-2 of Kamiyama.
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to Okada not curing deficiencies of Kamiyama (see Remarks filed 3/24/2026), Okada is not relied upon to teach or suggest the alleged deficiencies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 6/9/2026