Status of Claims/Amendments
This Office Action Correspondence is in response to Applicant’s amendments filed 25 Feb 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9 are pending. Claim 1, 5, 7, 8 are amended. Claim 3 and 6 are canceled. Claim 9 is new.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner interprets limitation “conductive member,” “circuit portion,” “pull-out portion,” and “connecting portions,” in light of the Specification and the figures, that the “conductive member” as a whole comprises an electrically conductive wiring, electrode, and/or circuit arrangement, wherein a “circuit portion” is understood as comprising a portion of an electrical circuit to which power is directed to; a “pull-out portion” is understood as comprising an electrically conductive lead, wiring, line or path, and the like configured to guide/lead power to the circuit portion; and “connecting portions” is understood as comprising electrically conductive vias, terminals, or connectors and the like, configured to electrically connect two portions of an electrical circuit.
Regarding claim 9, limitation “wherein the second circuit portion and the circuit portion are coplanar” is interpreted in light of Fig. 6A, 6B, 7 and para. [0034]-[0035] as the second circuit portion and the circuit portion of each of the plurality of conductive members are coplanar.
Regarding claim 9, limitation “an electrode terminal portion connected to the pull-out portion” is interpreted in light of Fig. 6A, 6B, 7 and para. [0034]-[0035] to mean an electrode terminal portion is connected to the pull-out portion of each of the plurality of conductive members.
Regarding claim 9, limitation “wherein the plurality of the connecting portions are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape” is interpreted in light of Fig. 6A, 6B, 7 and para. [0034]-[0035] to mean that since each of the plurality of conductive members include a connecting portions there is understandably a plurality of connecting portions wherein the connection portion of each of the plurality of conductive members are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims.
Claim 5, 8 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph are withdrawn in light of amendments filed 26 Feb 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0040198 A1 hereinafter “Lin”) in view of Jennings et al. (US 2012/0164834 A1 hereinafter “Jennings”), Shamouilian et al. (US 6,267,839 B1 hereinafter “Shamouilian”) and Benjamin et al. (US 2017/0032935 A1 hereinafter “Benjamin”).
Independent claim rejections:
Regarding independent claim 1, Lin teaches a wafer holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 540, Fig. 5A, comprising electrostatic chuck 560, Fig. 5B; para. [0058]-[0066]) comprising:
a ceramic base (comprising chuck body 228 formed of dielectric material including aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0034]) having a wafer-mounting surface (comprising top surface 202, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0030]-[0031]) as an upper surface;
a conductive member (comprising outer electrode 544, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0058]) embedded in the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B), the conductive member including
a circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface,
a pull-out portion (see annotated Fig. 5A below) provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig 5A and 5B) and spaced from the circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) in a direction opposite to a direction toward the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig. 5A and 5B), and
a connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 5A below) configured to electrically connect the circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) and the pull-out portion to each other;
a second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 542, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0058]) embedded in the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) and provided parallel to the wafer- mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig. 5A and 5B) and coplanar with the circuit portion of the conductive member (see annotated Fig. 5A below), wherein the second circuit portion (comprising 542, Fig. 5A and 5B) is positioned at an inner circular portion of the ceramic base(comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) (para. [0058]-[0060]); and
a support (comprising support stem 226, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0030]) configured to support a lower surface of the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B), and
the ceramic base has a disk shape (as understood from Fig. 5A and 5B and description of the ceramic base (comprising chuck body 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) having a circumference in at least the abstract and claim 1).
Lin does not explicitly teach the connecting portion includes a plurality of connecting portions, the plurality of the connecting portions are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape; a second electrode terminal portion connected to the second circuit portion; an electrode terminal portion connected to the pull-out portion; the support is a cylindrical support, wherein a portion of the electrode terminal portion and a portion of the second electrode terminal portion are housed in the cylindrical support on a side of the lower surface.
However, Jennings teaches a wafer holder (comprising substrate holder 110, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0032]-[0049]) comprising: a second electrode terminal portion (comprising inner electrode bus 230, Fig. 2) connected to the second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 112, Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)(para. [0048]); an electrode terminal portion (comprising outer electrode bus 232, Fig. 2) connected to the pull-out portion (comprising 113, Fig. 2 and 4); and a cylindrical support (comprising column 142, Fig. 2) configured to support a lower surface of the ceramic base (comprising 140, Fig. 2)(para. [0046]), wherein a portion of the electrode terminal portion (comprising 232, Fig. 2 and 4) and a portion of the second electrode terminal portion (comprising 230, Fig. 2 and 4) are housed in the cylindrical support (comprising 142, Fig. 2 and 4) on a side of the lower surface, the ceramic base has a disk shape (as understood from Fig. 2 and 3). Jennings teaches that such a configuration enables suitably delivering power from outside power sources to the second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 112, Fig. 1-5) and the circuit portion (comprising 114, Fig. 1-5) via the pull-out portion (comprising 113, Fig. 2 and 4) (para. [0047]-[0048]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second electrode terminal portion connected to the second circuit portion; an electrode terminal portion connected to the pull-out portion; configure the support to be a cylindrical support, wherein a portion of the electrode terminal portion and a portion of the second electrode terminal portion are housed in the cylindrical support on a side of the lower surface because Jennings teaches/suggests this is a known suitable alternative configuration of an electrical supply/delivery system in a wafer holder which would suitable delivery power from outside power sources to the second circuit portion and the circuit portion.
Furthermore, regarding the support being cylindrical, the courts have ruled that the selection of shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. (In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)) (See MPEP § 2144.04 IV.B.).
Lin in view of Jennings as applied above does not explicitly teach the connecting portion includes a plurality of connecting portions, the plurality of the connecting portions are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape.
However, Examiner notes that Lin teaches that the conductive member (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) is configured to be an RF electrode (para. [0063]-[0065]).
Additionally, Shamouilian teaches a wafer holder (comprising wafer support 200, Fig. 2, col 3 line 46-col 5 line 3) including a conductive member (comprising 208, 212, 210, Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of connecting portions (comprising vias 210, Fig. 2) configured to electrically connect the circuit portion (comprising RF electrode 208, Fig. 2) and the pull-out portion (comprising robust electrode 212, Fig. 2) to each other (col 4 line 54-58). Shamouilian teaches that such a configuration enables uniformly distributing RF power over the area of the RF electrode with low impedance and consequently efficient transmission of RF energy with minimal power loss (col 3 line 24-28; col 5 line 1-3).
Further, Benjamin teaches a wafer holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 107, Fig. 2A, para. [0032]) including the plurality of the connecting portions (comprising RF power delivery connection modules 209A-209H, Fig. 3A, 3B, 3C) are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape (para. [0042]-[0048]). Benjamin teaches that such a configuration forms a Faraday cage configuration which shield circuitry and connecting layers within the interior of the wafer holder (comprising 107, Fig. 2A) and thus enables less likelihood of inadvertently striking a plasma internally within the wafer holder (comprising 107, Fig. 2A)(para. [0047]-[0048]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the conductive member of Lin to further include a plurality of connecting portions configured to electrically connect the circuit portion (Lin: comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) and the pull-out portion to each other and the plurality of the connecting portions are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape because Lin teaches that the conductive member comprises an RF electrode and because Shamouilian teaches that providing a plurality of connecting portions electrically connecting the circuit portion to the pull-out portion enables uniformly distributing RF power over the area of the RF electrode enabling efficient transmission for RF energy with minimal power loss (Shamouilian: col 3 line 24-28; col 5 line 1-3) and because Benjamin teaches that the arrangement of the connecting portions in a circumferential direction of the disk shape enables forming a Faraday cage which shields circuitry in the interior of the wafer holder and thus less likelihood of inadvertently striking a plasma internally within the wafer holder (Benjamin: para. [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding independent claim 9, Lin teaches a wafer holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 540, Fig. 5A, comprising electrostatic chuck 560, Fig. 5B; para. [0058]-[0066]) comprising:
a ceramic base (comprising chuck body 228 formed of dielectric material including aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0034]) having a wafer-mounting surface (comprising top surface 202, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0030]-[0031]) as an upper surface;
a conductive member (comprising outer electrode 544, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0058]) embedded in the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) including:
a circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig. 5A and 5B),
a pull-out portion (see annotated Fig. 5A above in claim 1 rejection) provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig 5A and 5B) and spaced from the circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) in a direction opposite to a direction toward the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig. 5A and 5B), and
a connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 5A above in claim 1 rejection) configured to electrically connect the circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) and the pull-out portion to each other;
a second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 542, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0058]) embedded in the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) and provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig. 5A and 5B), wherein the second circuit portion (comprising 542, Fig. 5A and 5B) is positioned at an inner circular portion of the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) (para. [0058]-[0060]);
wherein the second circuit portion (comprising 542, Fig. 5A and 5B) and the circuit portion (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) are coplanar (para. [0058]); and
a support (comprising support stem 226, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0030]) configured to support a lower surface of the ceramic base (comprising 228, Fig. 5A and 5B),
wherein the ceramic base has a disk shape (as understood from Fig. 5A and 5B and description of the ceramic base (comprising chuck body 228, Fig. 5A and 5B) having a circumference in at least the abstract and claim 1), and
wherein the conductive member (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) is constitutes an RF electrode (para. [0063]-[0065]).
Lin does not explicitly teach the conductive member comprises a plurality of conductive members each having a circuit portion, a pull-out portion, and a connecting portion; wherein the plurality of the connecting portions are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape; a second electrode terminal portion connected to the second circuit portion; an electrode terminal portion connected to the pull-out portion; the support is cylindrical; wherein a portion of the electrode terminal portion and a portion of the second electrode terminal portion are housed in the cylindrical support on a side of the lower surface.
However, Jennings teaches a wafer holder (comprising substrate holder 110, Fig. 1 and 2, para. [0032]-[0049]) comprising: a second electrode terminal portion (comprising inner electrode bus 230, Fig. 2) connected to the second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 112, Fig. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)(para. [0048]); an electrode terminal portion (comprising outer electrode bus 232, Fig. 2) connected to the pull-out portion (comprising 113, Fig. 2 and 4); and a cylindrical support (comprising column 142, Fig. 2) configured to support a lower surface of the ceramic base (comprising 140, Fig. 2)(para. [0046]), wherein a portion of the electrode terminal portion (comprising 232, Fig. 2 and 4) and a portion of the second electrode terminal portion (comprising 230, Fig. 2 and 4) are housed in the cylindrical support (comprising 142, Fig. 2 and 4) on a side of the lower surface, the ceramic base has a disk shape (as understood from Fig. 2 and 3). Jennings teaches that such a configuration enables suitably delivering power from outside power sources to the second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 112, Fig. 1-5) and the circuit portion (comprising 114, Fig. 1-5) via the pull-out portion (comprising 113, Fig. 2 and 4) (para. [0047]-[0048]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second electrode terminal portion connected to the second circuit portion; an electrode terminal portion connected to the pull-out portion; configure the support to be a cylindrical support, wherein a portion of the electrode terminal portion and a portion of the second electrode terminal portion are housed in the cylindrical support on a side of the lower surface because Jennings teaches/suggests this is a known suitable alternative configuration of an electrical supply/delivery system in a wafer holder which would suitably delivering power from outside power sources to the second circuit portion and the circuit portion.
Furthermore, regarding the support being cylindrical, the courts have ruled that the selection of shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. (In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)) (See MPEP § 2144.04 IV.B.).
Regarding limitation conductive member comprises a plurality of conductive members each having a circuit portion, a pull-out portion, and a connecting portion; wherein the plurality of the connecting portions are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape:
Examiner further notes that Lin teaches that the conductive member (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) is configured to be an RF electrode (para. [0063]-[0065]) and already teaches that the conductive member has a respective circuit portion provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface, a pull-out portion provided parallel to the wafer mounting surface and spaced from the circuit portion in a direction opposite to a direction toward the wafer-mounting surface, and a connecting portion configured to electrically connect the circuit portion and the pull-out portion to each other (as understood from annotated Fig. 5A above).
Additionally, Jennings teaches an embodiment comprising a plurality of circuit portions (comprising plurality of outer electrodes 114, Fig. 8 and 9) arranged evenly in the circumferential direction and additionally teaches providing independent control to the plurality of circuit portions (comprising outer electrodes 114, Fig. 8 and 9) (para. [0039], [0055]). Jennings teaches that such a configuration enables azimuthal control of variable-density plasma (para. [0055]). Jennings additionally teaches that the number of pull-out portions (comprising 113, Fig. 3) can be a plurality or a single pull-out portion configured to connect to the circuit portion (comprising 114, Fig. 3) (para. [0048]).
Additionally, Shamouilian teaches a wafer holder (comprising wafer support 200, Fig. 2, col 3 line 46-col 5 line 3) including a conductive member (comprising 208, 212, 210, Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of connecting portions (comprising vias 210, Fig. 2) configured to electrically connect the circuit portion (comprising RF electrode 208, Fig. 2) and the pull-out portion (comprising robust electrode 212, Fig. 2) to each other (col 4 line 54-58). Shamouilian teaches that such a configuration enables uniformly distributing RF power over the area of the RF electrode with low impedance and consequently efficient transmission of RF energy with minimal power loss (col 3 line 24-28; col 5 line 1-3).
Further, Benjamin teaches a wafer holder (comprising electrostatic chuck 107, Fig. 2A, para. [0032]) including the plurality of the connecting portions (comprising RF power delivery connection modules 209A-209H, Fig. 3A, 3B, 3C) are arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape (para. [0042]-[0048]). Benjamin teaches that such a configuration forms a Faraday cage configuration which shield circuitry and connecting layers within the interior of the wafer holder (comprising 107, Fig. 2A) and thus enables less likelihood of inadvertently striking a plasma internally within the wafer holder (comprising 107, Fig. 2A)(para. [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding limitation plurality of conductive members each having a circuit portion, a pull-out portion, and a connecting portion, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such a configuration would enable providing each circuit portion for the plurality of conductive members with an individual/independent power supply path through respective pull-out portions and respective connecting portions.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure/duplicate the conductive member of Lin such that there are a plurality of conductive members each having a circuit portion provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface, a pull-out portion provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface and spaced from the circuit portion in a direction opposite to a direction toward the wafer-mounting surface, and a connecting portion configured to electrically connect the circuit portion and the pull-out portion to each other, and to rearrange the plurality of the connecting portions to be arranged at regular intervals in a circumferential direction of the disk shape because Lin already teaches that the conductive member comprises an RF electrode including a circuit portion, a pull-out portion, and a connecting portion wherein providing a plurality of conductive members would constitute a duplication of parts, and because Jennings teaches providing a plurality of circuit portions enables azimuthal control of variable-density plasma (Jennings: para. [0055]) and because Shamouilian teaches that providing a plurality of connecting portions electrically connecting the circuit portion to the pull-out portion enables uniformly distributing RF power over the area of the RF electrode enabling efficient transmission for RF energy with minimal power loss (Shamouilian: col 3 line 24-28; col 5 line 1-3) and because Benjamin teaches that the arrangement of the connecting portions in a circumferential direction of the disk shape enables forming a Faraday cage which shields circuitry in the interior of the wafer holder and thus less likelihood of inadvertently striking a plasma internally within the wafer holder (Benjamin: para. [0047]-[0048]). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such a configuration would obviously provide independent power supply and control of each circuit portion of the plurality of conductive members via respective pull-out portions and respective connecting portions for azimuthal control of the plasma for optimal wafer processing.
Furthermore, the courts have ruled that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.)
Dependent claim rejections:
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Lin further teaches the conductive member (comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) constitutes and RF electrode (para. [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above and Lin further teaches the second circuit portion (comprising inner electrode 542, Fig. 5A and 5B, para. [0058]) constitutes an RF electrode or an electrostatic chuck electrode (para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin teaches all of the limitations of claim 9 as applied above.
Further, Jennings further teaches the pull-out portions (comprising 113, Fig. 1, 2 and 3) are provided within a plane parallel to the wafer-mounting surface (comprising 202, Fig. 2) in a thickness direction of the ceramic base (comprising 140, Fig. 2). Thus, the combination meets claim 7 limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above but does not explicitly teach the conductive member defines a plurality of evenly divided conductive member zones, each of the conductive member zones comprising: a portion of the circuit portion; a portion of the pull-out portion; and at least one connecting portion which electrically connects the portion of the circuit portion to the portion of pull-out portion.
However, Jennings teaches an embodiment wherein the conductive member is divided into evenly divided conductive member zones (comprising plurality of outer electrodes 114, Fig. 8 and 9) arranged evenly in the circumferential direction and additionally teaches providing independent control to the plurality of circuit portions (comprising outer electrodes 114, Fig. 8 and 9) (para. [0039], [0055]). Jennings teaches that such a configuration enables azimuthal control of variable-density plasma (para. [0055]). Jennings additionally teaches that the number of pull-out portions (comprising 113, Fig. 3) can be a plurality or a single pull-out portion configured to connect to the circuit portion (comprising 114, Fig. 3) (para. [0048]).
Additionally, Benjamin teaches an embodiment comprising a conductive member (comprising RF power delivery electrode 203, Fig. 3C, para. [0045]-[0047]) defining a plurality of evenly divided conductive member zones (comprising sections 311-318, Fig. 3C), each of the conductive member zones (comprising 311-318, Fig. 3C) comprising: a portion of the circuit portion (comprising 203, Fig. 3C); a portion of the pull-out portion (comprising base 111, Fig. 2B; alternatively comprising 403, Fig. 4); and at least one connecting portion (comprising 209, Fig. 3C; alternatively comprising 413, Fig. 4)which electrically connects the portion of the circuit portion to the portion of pull-out portion (para. [0045]-[055]). Benjamin teaches that such a configuration having a conductive member with evenly divided conductive member zones enables independently controlled power delivery to each conductive member zone (comprising 311-318, Fig. 3C)(para. [0045]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the conductive member (Lin: comprising 544, Fig. 5A and 5B) to define a plurality of evenly divided conductive member zones, each of the conductive member zones comprising: a portion of the circuit portion; a portion of the pull-out portion; and at least one connecting portion which electrically connects the portion of the circuit portion to the portion of pull-out portion because Jennings teaches providing a conductive member divided into a plurality of evenly divided conductive member zones enables azimuthal control of a variable-density plasma (para. [0055]) and because Benjamin also teaches/suggests providing a conductive member that is evenly divided into conductive member zones enables providing independent control of the conduct member zones and additionally teaches/suggests each of the conductive member zones comprising: a portion of the circuit portion; a portion of the pull-out portion; and at least one connecting portion which electrically connects the portion of the circuit portion to the portion of pull-out portion as a known suitable alternative configuration for enabling independently controlled power delivery to each conductive member zone.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0040198 A1 hereinafter “Lin”) in view of Jennings et al. (US 2012/0164834 A1 hereinafter “Jennings”), Shamouilian et al. (US 6,267,839 B1 hereinafter “Shamouilian”) and Benjamin et al. (US 2017/0032935 A1 hereinafter “Benjamin”) as applied to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8 above and further in view of Atari (JP2002231798A IDS art hereinafter referring to English Machine translation cited in the IDS art).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above but does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of connecting portions is a ceramic member covered with a metal layer.
However, Atari teaches a connecting portion (comprising energizing portions 8, Fig. 1 and 2) being a ceramic member (comprising columnar ceramic molded body 19, Fig. 3) covered with a metal layer (comprising conductor past 24, Fig. 3) (para. [0026],[0029]). Further, Atari teaches selecting a material of connecting portion (comprising 8, Fig. 1 and 2) to have a thermal expansion difference similar to that of the ceramic body/base 3 (para. [0026]), wherein such a configuration can enable reducing stress on the ceramic body/base and reliable energization for a long period of time with a simple structure (para. [0024]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure/select the material of each of connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions to comprise a ceramic member (Atari: 19, Fig. 3) covered with a metal layer (Atari: comprising conductor paste 24, Fig. 3) because Atari teaches that such a configuration of a connecting portion would enable reducing stress on the ceramic body/base and reliable energization for a long period of time with a simple structure (Atari: para. [0024]). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 Feb 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, due to new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments as further discussed below.
Applicant argues (remarks page 9) regarding U.S.C. 103 rejection of independent claim 1, the combination of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin fails to disclose "a second circuit portion embedded in the ceramic base and provided parallel to the wafer-mounting surface and coplanar with the circuit portion of the conductive member" as currently recited in amended claim 1. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify Jennings to obtain the claimed invention because Jennings teaches away from such a modification.
Examiner responds independent claim 1 rejection has been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Currently claim 1 is rejected as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jennings, Shamouilian and Benjamin as discussed in detail in claims rejections above, wherein Lin teaches amended claim 1 limitations.
In light of the above, independent claim 1 is rejected. Additionally, in view of Examiner’s remarks regarding independent claim 1, depending claims 2, 4, 5, 8 are also rejected, as detailed above. Additionally, new independent claim 9 and depending claim 7 are also rejected as detailed above in claims rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREEN CHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716