DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 16 and 17 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riley et al. (US – 2020/0094805 A1) and further in view of Drelich et l. (US – 2023/0130519 A1).
As per claim 1, Riley discloses Apparatus And Method for Controlling Pneumatic Fluid To A Trailer comprising:
an electropneumatic trailer control module (52, Fig: 1-2) for a pneumatic brake system, the electropneumatic trailer control module comprising:
a housing structure (Attached figure and Fig: 2);
a manual brake pressure port (116, Fig: 2) that receives a driver's brake demand pressure component (the pneumatic control port 116 fluidly communicates with the second reservoir 42 based on the driver brake demand, [0018], Fig: 2);
an electropneumatic brake pressure port (112, [0016] – [0017], Fig: 2) that receives an electropneumatic brake pressure component from at least one independent pressure source ([0017], Fig: 2);
a relay valve (152, Fig: 2) comprising a control port (160), a supply port (154), an outlet port (156), and a relief port (Attached figure and Fig: 2),
wherein the control port (160) receives at least one of the driver's brake demand pressure either directly or indirectly from the manual brake pressure port (116) or the electropneumatic brake pressure from the electropneumatic brake pressure port and enables a fluid connection between the supply port (154) and the outlet port (156) in an activated state ([0026], Fig: 2), wherein the relay valve connects the outlet port (156) to the relief port (Attached figure and Fig: 2) when the relay valve is in an inactivated state or when there is no control pressure at the control port ([0035], Fig: 2), and
a spring-supported electropneumatic input valve (122, Fig: 2), having only two ports (130, 132, Fig: 2), and being capable of switching between an open position and a closed position, wherein the spring-supported electropneumatic input valve (122) is retained in the open position when there is no electronic activation of the spring-supported electropneumatic input valve (122), and wherein the spring-supported electropneumatic input valve (104) is connected to the manual brake pressure port (116) and receives the driver's brake demand pressure component ([0019] – [0020], fig: 2).
Riley discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a tractor protection module provided within the housing structure of the electropneumatic trailer control module.
Drelich discloses Control Module for Electropneumatic Braking System In Tractor of Tractor-trailer Combination comprising;\:
a tractor protection module (54,tractor protection valve, [0051], Fig: 2) provided within the housing structure (14) of the electropneumatic trailer control module (1, Fig: 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Apparatus And Method for Controlling Pneumatic Fluid To A Trailer of the Riley to include the tractor protection module provided within the housing structure of the electropneumatic trailer control module as taught by Drelich in order to achieve a higher accuracy in pressure control, for automation of the braking system and/or due to other reasons it is desirable to electronically control the control pressure supplied to the trailer, i.e. to modulate the control pressure based on electronic signals. However, due to legal regulations the tractor protection functionality needs to be ensured. Furthermore, there is a need for an economical system that uses cost-efficient components and that is easy to install into a braking system.
As per claim 2, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) is positioned in a fluid path established between a connecting line leading from the outlet port (52.2) of the relay valve (52) and a control pressure coupling head (6, 152, Fig: 2).
As per claim 3, Drelich further discloses a select-high valve (38, Fig: 2), wherein the select-high valve receives the pressure from two independent pressure sources (154, 165, Fig: 2) and provides an output pressure component which is one of the two independent pressure sources and which has a higher magnitude of pressure in comparison to the other (Fig: 2).
As per claim 4, Drelich further discloses wherein the output pressure component is connected to the supply port (38, Fig: 2) of the relay valve (52) and, at the same time, forms the electropneumatic brake pressure (Fig: 2).
As per claim 5, Riley discloses wherein the electropneumatic trailer control module (52, Fig: 2) further comprises an electropneumatic brake pressure inlet valve (126, Fig: 2) that is electronically controlled and spring-supported, and wherein the electropneumatic brake pressure inlet valve (126, Fig: 2) includes two ports (144, 146, Fig: 2) and switches between open and closed positions, and assumes the closed position as a default position ([0019], [0022]-[0025], Fig: 2).
As per claim 6, Riley discloses wherein the electropneumatic trailer control module (52, Fig: 1) further comprises an exhaust solenoid valve (124, Fig: 2) that is electronically controlled and spring-supported, wherein the exhaust solenoid valve includes two ports (136, 140, Fig: 2) and switches between open and closed positions and assumes the closed position as a default position, and wherein the exhaust solenoid valve (124) connects the pressure component at the control port (160) of the relay valve (152) to an exhaust or relief port (Attached figure and Fig: 2) when the exhaust solenoid valve (124) is in an open position or is electronically energized ([0019] – [0021], Fig: 2).
As per claim 7, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (54) is configured to connect the fluid path leading to the control pressure coupling head (6, 152, Fig: 2) with an exhaust path (136) when in a deactivated or closed state and to connect the outlet port (52.2) of the relay valve (52) to the control pressure coupling head (152) when in an activated or open state ([0053], Fig: 2).
As per claim 8, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) is provided at the control port (52.3, another embodiment, Fig: 3) of the relay valve (52) or at an upstream location in relation to the control port (52.3) of the relay valve (522), and enables or prevents the control pressure reaching the control port of the relay valve (52, [0053], Fig: 3).
As per claim 9, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) comprises a tractor protection control port (54.3, Fig: 2) that receives trailer brake pressure via a trailer brake pressure port (10, Fig: 2).
As per claim 10, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) is a spring-supported pneumatically operated valve (Electropneumatic Trailer Control Module, Title).
As per claim 11, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) includes
a control chamber (88, Fig: 4) that receives the control pressure from the tractor protection control port (54.3, [0057], Fig: 2, 4);
a piston (76, Fig: 4) that linearly reciprocates on receiving the control pressure (Fig: 4);
an intermediate supply chamber (Fig: 4) connected to the outlet port (52.2 to 54.1, Fig: 2, 4) of the relay valve (52); and
an outlet chamber (Attached figure and Fig: 4) connected to an outlet line (54.4, Fig: 2, 4), wherein the outlet line (54.4) leads to the control pressure coupling head (6, 152, Fig: 2), and
wherein, when the control chamber (88) receives the control pressure from the tractor protection control port (54.3), the piston (76) linearly reciprocate such that a fluid connection between the intermediate supply chamber and the outlet chamber is established so that the pressurized fluid reaches the control pressure coupling head (6, 152, Fig: 2, 4).
As per claim 12, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) further comprises a spring (74, Fig: 4) that biases the piston (76) toward a closed position such that, without the control pressure at the control chamber (88), no fluid connection between the intermediate supply chamber and the outlet chamber ([0053], Fig: 3) is established.
As per claim 13, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) further includes a sealing element (82.5, Fig: 4) associated with the piston (76) that sealingly separates the intermediate supply chamber from the outlet chamber when there is no control pressure received at the control chamber ([0053], [0056], and [0057], Fig: 2, 4).
As per claim 14, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) further comprises at least one tubular support member (Attached figure and Fig: 4) that aligns the piston (76) in a linear position or limits misalignment of the piston (216; 406) relative to the orientation of the tractor protection module (Attached figure and Fig: 3).
As per claim 15, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) is a pneumatically operated valve with three ports (54.1, 54.2, 54.4, Fig: 2) and one control port (54.3, Fig: 2) and switchable into an open or closed position.
As per claim 16, Riley discloses wherein the two ports of the spring-supported electropneumatic input valve (122, Fig: 2) include an input port (130, Fig: 2) and an output port (132, Fig: 2), wherein the input port and the output port are the only two ports of the spring-supported electropneumatic input valve, wherein the output port (132, Fig: 2) is connected to the control port (160, Fig: 2) of the relay valve (152, Fig: 2).
As per claim 19, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module (1) is configured to connect the fluid path leading to the control pressure coupling head (152, Fig: 2) with an exhaust path (48, Fig: 2) when in a deactivated or closed state and to connect the outlet port (52.2) of the relay valve (52) to the control pressure coupling head (152) when in an activated or open state ([0052] – [0053], Fig: 2).
As per claim 20, Drelich further discloses wherein the tractor protection module is provided at the control port (52.3, another embodiment, Fig: 3) of the relay valve (52, Fig: 3) or at an upstream location in relation to the control port of the relay valve, and enables or prevents the control pressure reaching the control port (52.3, Fig: 3) of the relay valve (53, [0053], Fig: 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are allowed.
Prior art and teaching reference fail to disclose wherein the tractor protection module is a pneumatically operated valve with two ports and one control port along with a bypass relief mechanism.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 02/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Riley et al. (US – 2020/0094805 A1) and further in view of Drelich et l. (US – 2023/0130519 A1).
Claims 17 and 18 are allow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616