DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 7/29/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teicher (US 2017/0203503), in view of Brodie et al. (US 2022/0371274), hereinafter Brodie, and further in view of: Defensive Publication (“Apparatus and Methods for Real-Time Stress Control in Additive Manufacturing”), cited in Applicant’s IDS, published 4/15/2021* (copy is not provided, as it is already present in the IFW), and available at ip.com (IPCOM000265492D).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 17, Teicher discloses a compression rig (the preamble is not considered limiting where the body of the claim recites a structurally complete invention) comprising: (4/9) a base (146-1; Fig. 2C; par. 0061-0063);
(a) a support structure (146-2) (Fig. 2A; par. 0061-0063);
(b) a positioning arm (146-3) slidably coupled to the support structure (Figs. 2B-2C show the sliding movement; par. 0061-0063);
(c) a first actuator (horizontal actuator 1456H – par. 0061) operably coupled to and moving the positioning arm, relative to the support structure, through a first degree of freedom (as shown in Figs. 2B-2C);
(d) a pivot member (146-4) supported on the positioning arm (Fig. 2C; par. 0063)
(e) a second actuator (146B) coupled to the pivot member;
(f) a compression head (either “supporter 186” – par. 0050 or “post print unit 152” – par. 0059) slidably coupled to the pivot member (146-4) [compression head is shown as incorporated within printhead 140 in Figs. 2A-2C], and slidable relative to the pivot member in a first or second slide direction.
Teicher does not explicitly disclose that the pivot member rotates as to arrange the compression head at an angle with respect to a perpendicular axis to the build surface, or the actuator of the compression head as to apply a load to the object.
However, regarding the pivot member rotating and actuator therefor, Brodie likewise describes a 3D printing apparatus that includes a compression head or compactor (32) that is attached to a head that rotates with several degrees of freedom and contemplates any number of movements that could be required (Brodie, Fig. 1, par. 0011, 0019), demonstrating that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found such an arrangement suitable for use in the art as an improvement to the base process of Teicher above, for purposes of applying material and smoothing the material in a given location with more precision.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the above techniques from Brodie are incorporated into Teicher as to allow the pivot member to be actuated in a rotational manner, as is claimed as to have allowed the tool to have been more precise.
Additionally, further regarding the compressive load and actuator therefor, the Def Publication (see p. 6-7) describes a compression load device (113) which applies a compressive load to a material during production of an object, and would include an actuator (117) and an arm as to move the load source (118) [or roller] to apply a force to the deposited material to introduce the required strain level inside the deposited layer as to counterbalance residual stresses.
Accordingly, in order to likewise counterbalance residual stresses of the material being deposited, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have incorporated such a compression load device with an actuator, as in this Defensive Publication, into the modified Teicher combination as described above.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 10-12, modified Teicher discloses the subject matter of claims 1 and 9, and further discloses a controller (184) which would be attached to the actuator(s) (Teicher, par. 0047-0048, 0063).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, modified Teicher discloses the subject matter of claims 1 and 9, and the component being built is considered to be the material or article worked upon by the claimed structure, which is not limiting to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claims 13-15, modified Teicher discloses the subject matter of claim 9, and further discloses or implies that there are tracks for the movement that are provided for in claim 9 (see Teicher, Fig. 2C).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742