DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 08/03/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
“In the present case, Applicant submits that claims corresponding to Groups I and II are related to similar subject matter of gripping clamps and as a result are classified in B25J 15. Due to the similar classifications, separate searches would likely identify the same references. Therefore, the claims 1-7 and 8-12 should be examined together.
Withdrawal of the restriction requirement between Groups I and II is respectfully requested.
In the present case, Applicant submits that claims corresponding to Groups I and III are related to similar subject matter of gripping clamps and a gripping clamp in a a chemical mechanical polishing system, both classified as B25J. Due to the similar classifications, separate searches would likely identify the same references. Therefore, the claims 1-7 and 13-20 should be examined together. (See Pages 5 and 6 of the Applicant’s Arguments)”
This is not found persuasive because as noted in the restriction requirement dated 06/05/26; one of the reasons for requiring a restriction is that the prior art applicable to one invention would not be applicable to another invention. In this instance, either one of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0224491 (Gillespie et al.) OR U.S. Patent No. 6,918,735 (Urban et al.) would apply to claim 1 as elected, but would not apply to either one of claim 8 or 13 of the non-elected inventions which require both a vacuum channel in communication with the roller recess and one or more cleaning modules for chemical mechanical polishing.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a roller port of the clamp arm.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to whether the descriptor “roller” is meant to imply any specific structure to the “port” as recited? For purposes of examination, the examiner takes the term “roller” as imparting no actual structural, but rather just being a descriptive name for the “port.”
Claim 4 recites “two clamp arms.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “two clamp arms” of claim 4 relate to the previously recited “a clamp arm” as recited in claim 1? For purposes of examination, it is assumed that the “two clamp arms” are meant to part of the previously recited “a clamp arm.” To overcome this rejection, the phrase “a clamp arm” in claim 1 should be replaced with “at least one clamp arm”; with the recitation of “two clamp arms” in claim 4 being “the at least one clamp arm including two clamp arms.”
Claim 5 recites “two or more grippers.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “two or more grippers” of claim 5 relate to the previously recited “a gripper” as recited in claim 1? For purposes of examination, it is assumed that the “two or more grippers” are meant to part of the previously recited “a gripper.” To overcome this rejection, the phrase “a gripper” in claim 1 should be replaced with “at least one gripper”; with the recitation of “two or more grippers” in claim 5 being “the at least one gripper including two or more grippers.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0224491 (Gillespie et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, and 4-7, Gillespie et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a substrate gripping clamp, comprising: a clamp arm (14 or 16) and a roller recess (where (43) points in Figure 2 for receiving a gripper (46)) disposed therein; and a gripper (Figure 2 shows gripper (46) disposed in the recess (43) in Figure 2 by threaded portion (64); wherein Figures 9A and 9B show another embodiment of a gripper (310) having a threaded portion (313) for being attached to the arms (14 or 16) in place of the gripper (46)) disposed within the roller recess (43) and coupled to the clamp arm (14 or 16), the gripper (310) comprising: a top bevel face (332); a bottom bevel face (334); and a mid roller face (330) between the top bevel face (332) and the bottom bevel face (334), (Figures 1-9B); Claim 4 - wherein the clamp comprises two clamp arms (14 or 16), (Figures 1-9B); Claim 5 - wherein the clamp comprises two or more grippers (multiple grippers (36/37, 38/39) shown on the arm (14) in Figure 1), (Figures 1-9B); Claim 6 – wherein the clamp is configured to contact a substrate at a point on the top bevel face (332) and a point on the bottom bevel face (334), (Figures 1-9B); Claim 7 - wherein the top bevel face (332) and bottom bevel face (334) partially extend past a substrate contact face, (Figures 1-9B).
Claim(s) 1, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,918,735 (Urban et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, and 4-7, Urban et al. teaches: Claim 1 - a substrate gripping clamp, comprising: a clamp arm (11 or 12) and a roller recess (openings in arms (11 or 12) which receive grippers (14) therein) disposed therein; and a gripper (14) disposed within the roller recess (openings in arms (11 or 12) which receive grippers (14) therein) and coupled to the clamp arm (11 or 12), the gripper (14) comprising: a top bevel face (16); a bottom bevel face (17); and a mid roller face (14) between the top bevel face (16) and the bottom bevel face (17), (Figures 1-10); Claim 4 - wherein the clamp comprises two clamp arms (11 or 12), (Figures 1-9B); Claim 5 - wherein the clamp comprises two or more grippers (multiple grippers (14) shown on the arm (11 or 12) in Figure 6), (Figures 1-10); Claim 6 – wherein the clamp is configured to contact a substrate at a point on the top bevel face (16) and a point on the bottom bevel face (17), (Figures 1-10); Claim 7 - wherein the top bevel face (16) and bottom bevel face (17) partially extend past a substrate contact face, (Figures 1-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either ONE of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0224491 (Gillespie et al.) OR U.S. Patent No. 6,918,735 (Urban et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0072645 (Murray et al.).
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, either ONE of Gillespie et al. OR Urban et al. teaches the clamp as described above, but does not teach: a vacuum channel disposed within the clamp arm (Claim 2); and wherein the vacuum channel fluidly couples a roller port of the clamp arm to a vacuum port of the clamp arm (Claim 3). However, Murray et al. teaches: Claims 2 and 3 – an arm (9) of a wafer holder including roller gripping elements (12as-12f) for gripping/aligning a wafer (4), the grippers (12a-12f) being attached to vacuum channels (84) within the arm (9), wherein the vacuum channel (84) fluidly couples a roller port of the clamp arm (9) to a vacuum port of the clamp arm (9), (Figures 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the clamp of either ONE of Gillespie et al. OR Urban et al. to have a vacuum channel disposed within the clamp arm (Claim 2); and wherein the vacuum channel fluidly couples a roller port of the clamp arm to a vacuum port of the clamp arm (Claim 3) as taught by Murray et al. for the purposes of additionally providing a vacuuming source at the location of the grippers to aide in holding the wafers securely.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642