DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/13/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 4 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4 and 9-10 has been withdrawn. The amendments raise new issues, which are addressed below.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an updated prior art search.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “covers a least a part” should say “covers at least a part”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “irregular structure is only disposed on the light emitting surface of the fluorescent layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claimed “irregular structure is only disposed on the light emitting surface of the fluorescent layer” is not depicted in the drawings. The only depiction of the irregular structure is in Figure 9, however this depiction shows the irregular structure throughout the fluorescent layer and not only on the light emitting surface as claimed. The specification also fails to provide further detail then what is provided on pages 2 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US-20180294388-A1 – hereinafter Hung).
Regarding claim 1, Hung teaches a light emitting module (Fig.1; ¶0054), comprising:
a carrier (Fig.10C 10; ¶0073);
a light emitting element (Fig.1 110a; ¶0054), disposed on the carrier (10), wherein the light emitting element (110a) comprises a first upper surface (top surface of 110a) , a first lower surface (bottom surface of 110a) opposite to the first upper surface (top surface of 110a) and a side wall (Fig.1 116a; ¶0054) connecting the first upper surface (top surface of 110a) and the first lower surface (bottom surface of 110a);
a reflection layer (Fig.1 120; ¶0056), disposed on the carrier (10), and surrounding the light emitting element (110a), wherein the reflection layer (120) directly contacts the side wall (116a) of the light emitting element (110a), the reflection layer (120) comprises a second upper surface (top surface of 120) and a second lower surface (bottom surface of 120) opposite to the second upper surface (top surface of 120), the second upper surface (top surface of 120) of the reflection layer (120) is coplanar with the first upper surface (top surface of 110a) of the light emitting element (110a), and the second lower surface (bottom surface of 120) of the reflection layer (120) is coplanar with the first lower surface (bottom surface of 110a) of the light emitting element (110a); and
a fluorescent layer (Fig.1 150; ¶0065), covering at least a part of the light emitting element (110a).
Regarding claim 2, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1, wherein the light emitting element (110a) comprises a light emitting diode (¶0002).
Regarding claim 3, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1, wherein the fluorescent layer (150) is structured as a curved surface or a flat surface (150 is a flat surface) on the light emitting element (110a).
Regarding claim 4, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1, wherein the fluorescent layer (150) further covers a least a part of the reflection layer (120).
Regarding claim 5, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1, wherein a side wall of the reflection layer (120) is structured as a first step surface (Fig.13C the inner wall of 120 is stepped to accommodate LED 110a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Wang et al (US-20230006109-A1 – hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 6, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1.
Hung does not teach wherein a second step surface is disposed between the carrier and the reflection layer.
Wang teaches LEDs in Figure 3D of Wang (¶0080 of Wang) where a surface of a substrate (Fig.3D 170; ¶0080 of Wang) is not covered by the reflection layer (Fig.3D 150; ¶0079 of Wang) of the LEDs. This surface can be broadly interpreted as a second step.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include gaps between the individual LEDs of Hung in an embodiment such as Fig.10C of Hung as taught by Wang (Fig.3D of Wang) to arrive at the claimed invention. This modification is obvious because it is a matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Tsai et al. (US-20190245121-A1 – hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 7, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1.
Hung does not teach wherein a third step surface is disposed between the reflection layer and the fluorescent layer.
Tsai teaches an LED (Fig.4 105; ¶0038) that is not fully covered by a fluorescent layer (Fig.4 104; ¶0038) to provide a third step (Fig.4 the top portion of 105 not covered by 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fluorescent layer of Wang (330 of Wang) to expose a top portion of the LED of Wang (110 of Wang) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would have been motivated to make this modification to accommodate LEDs having an upper electrode, as depicted by Fig.4 of Tsai.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Lee et al. (US-20210036191-A1 – hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 8, Hung teaches the light emitting module according claim 1.
Hung does not teach wherein the fluorescent layer comprises an irregular structure in a non-uniform distribution manner.
Lee teaches a fluorescent layer (Fig.1 150; ¶0026 of Lee) that is depicted having particles of different sizes in a non-uniform manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fluorescent layer of Hung (150 of Hung) to have the irregular structure of Lee (150 of Lee) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of a well packed structure (¶0041 of Lee).
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned combination of Hung in view of Lee from claim 8 teaches the light emitting module according claim 8, wherein the irregular structure (150 of Lee) comprises at least two fluorescent particles with different sizes (Fig.1 of Lee depicts at least two different sizes).
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned combination of Hung in view of Lee from claim 8 teaches the light emitting module according claim 8, wherein the fluorescent layer (150 of Hung) comprises a light incident surface (bottom surface of 150 of Hung) and a light emitting surface (top surface of 150 of Hung), the light incident surface (bottom surface of 150 of Hung) is in contact with the light emitting element (110a of Hung), the light emitting surface (top surface of 150 of Hung) is opposite and parallel to the light incident surface (bottom surface of 150 of Hung).
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the irregular structure is only disposed on the light emitting surface of the fluorescent layer.
Lee teaches the same irregular fluorescent layer (150 of Lee) being disposed on the top surface of another fluorescent layer (Fig.1 140; ¶0026 of Lee).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to dispose the irregular structure (150 of Lee) at the top of the fluorescent layer (150 of Hung) as taught by Lee (Fig.1 of Lee) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of fine tuning the light emitted by the rest of the fluorescent layer below the irregular structure (¶0032 of Lee).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817