DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 6, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 7, 10 and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “none of Ye, Yan, and Shrestha discloses, teaches or suggests the scenario of NB-loT or eMTC (Response filed on November 6, 2025, Page 11), without mentioning Ying. However, Ye and Ying in combination teach that in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap, each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process.
Ye teaches ([Para. 0086], The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling” (Ye [Para. 0086]) and “The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, such as a length-N bitmap, where a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled, and N is the number of configured HARQ processes The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, such as a length-N bitmap, where a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled, and N is the number of configured HARQ processes” (Ye [Para. 0086]), Ye further teaches “The disclosure provides embodiments for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH based on a configuration by RRC signaling and possible additional activation/deactivation by a DCI format” (Ye [Para. 0073]). According to Ye, DCI format activates/deactivates enabling/disabling of HARQ feedback for the corresponding HARQ processes configured in RRC signaling via a bitmap.
Ying provides “Each HARQ process may be RRC configured whether HARQ feedback for downlink and/or uplink is disabled or enabled” (Ying [Para. 0109]) and “If multiple transmission configurations are enabled and/or configured, only DCI format NLX may be used to activate and/or deactivate corresponding SPS. Enabling/disabling on HARQ feedback for SPS transmission may be configurable per SPS configuration via UE specific RRC signaling” (Ying [Para. 0164]). Both Ye and Ying teach that DCI activates/deactivates enabling/disabling of HARQ feedback configured in RRC signaling. In combination, Ying and Ye teach that DCI activates/deactivates enabling/disabling of HARQ configured in RRC signaling via a bitmap. Ying further provides “DCI format N1_X may include a Number of scheduled TB. This field may be only present if multiple TBs are enabled/supported (e.g., higher layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled)” (Ying [Para. 0196]). Since DCI format is used to activates/deactivates enabling/disabling of HARQ configured in RRC signaling via a bitmap, the required npdsch-MultiTB-Config being enabled indicates the configuration of enabling/disabling of HARQ in RRC signaling via a bitmap. Therefore, in combination, Ying and Ye teach that in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap, each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 19 are amended with the new limitation such as “wherein in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap, each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process”, where “UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC)” is the condition under which “the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap, each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process”.
However, there is no disclosure in the previously filed application to support the conditional RRC bitmap configuration. Paragraphs 0043 and 0056 indicate that DCI signaling may override the configuration of enabling or disabling HARQ feedback in the RRC signaling and the enabling or disabling of HARQ feedback in DCI requires npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC). This connection does not require npdsch-MultiTB-Config or ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled as a condition for the configuration to comprise a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap, each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process, as the new limitation is phrased.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying).
For claim 1. Ye teaches a method ([Para. 0079], methods are disclosed for configuration and enhancements for HARQ-ACK information disabling), comprising: receiving, by a processor ([FIG. 3], processor 340) of a user equipment (UE) ([FIG. 3], UE 116), a configuration ([Para. 0085] and [FIG. 7], At operation 702, a UE receives the configuration information including the indication of enabling or disabling of HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes), and applying, by the processor ([FIG. 3], processor 340), the configuration to disable or enable a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback regarding multiple transport blocks (TBs) ([Para. 0085] and [FIG. 7], At operation 706, the UE receives the PDSCH based on the configuration. At operation 708, the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap ([Para. 0086], The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling. [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes), each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process ([Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, such as a length-N bitmap, where a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled, and N is the number of configured HARQ processes. [Para. 0073], The disclosure provides embodiments for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH based on a configuration by RRC signaling and possible additional activation/deactivation by a DCI format. [Para. 0107], Fields used to indicate the HARQ-ACK processes with HARQ-ACK information to be included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. A bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap).
Although teaching configuration to disable or enable HARQ feedback by RRC bitmap and additional activation/deactivation of the enabling and disabling by a DCI format (Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled. Ye [Para. 0073], embodiments associated with disabling an HARQ-ACK information report for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH based on a configuration by RRC signaling and possible additional activation/deactivation by a DCI format), Ye does not explicitly disclose wherein in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap.
Ying is directed to providing user equipment, base stations and signaling for downlink of narrow-band internet of things over non-terrestrial networks. More specifically, Ying teaches wherein in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap ([Para. 0005], a user equipment is configured to receive signaling that comprises a configuration for an Internet-of-Things (IoT) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN). [Para. 0109], Each HARQ process may be RRC configured whether HARQ feedback for downlink and/or uplink is disabled or enabled. [Para. 0164], If multiple transmission configurations are enabled and/or configured, only DCI format NLX (N1_X) may be used to activate and/or deactivate corresponding SPS. Enabling/disabling on HARQ feedback for SPS transmission may be configurable per SPS configuration via UE specific RRC signaling [Examiner’s Note: DCI activates/deactivates enabling/disabling of HARQ feedback configured in RRC signaling. Ye teaches that the RRC signaling comprises a bitmap for enabling/disabling HARQ feedback for corresponding HARQ processes]. [Para. 0196], DCI format N1_X may include a Number of scheduled TB. This field may be only present if multiple TBs are enabled/supported (e.g., higher layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled) [Examiner’s Note: npdsch-MultiTB-Config being enabled indicates that DCI activates/deactivates enabling/disabling HARQ feedback configured in RRC signaling for multiple transmission configurations. Ye teaches that RRC signaling comprises a bitmap for enabling/disabling of HARQ feedback for corresponding HARQ processes. Therefore, npdsch-MultiTB-Config being enabled indicates RRC signaling comprising a bitmap]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye, so that npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled and DCI activates/deactivates RRC signaling enabling/disabling HARQ feedback, as taught by Ying. The modification would have improved communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying [Para. 0004]).
For claim 2, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the receiving of the configuration comprises receiving an RRC signaling (Ye [Para. 0085], At operation 702, a UE receives the configuration information including the indication of enabling or disabling of HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes. Ye [Para. 0086], The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling).
For claim 3, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the receiving of the RRC signaling comprises receiving a respective UE-specific RRC signaling (Ye [Para. 0085], At operation 702, a UE receives the configuration information including the indication of enabling or disabling of HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes. Ye [Para. 0086], The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling).
For claim 4, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the configuration comprises a RRC bitmap (Ye [Para. 0086], The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling. Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes), and wherein each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TB (Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, such as a length-N bitmap, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled, and N is the number of configured HARQ processes. Ye [Para. 0085], At operation 708, the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs).
For claim 14, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the receiving of the configuration comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) signaling that explicitly indicates the configuration (Ye [Para. 0082], At operation 602, a gNB generates and provides to a UE configuration information for enabling or disabling HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes. Further, the information can be … by an indication in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that includes a TB associated with a HARQ process. Ye [Para. 0083], The DCI format schedules a PDSCH reception and includes information indicating whether a HARQ-ACK information report for a decoding outcome of a TB associated with HARQ process indicated by the DCI format is enabled or disabled).
For claim 19, Ye teaches a method ([Para. 0079], methods are disclosed for configuration and enhancements for HARQ-ACK information disabling), comprising: generating, by a network node in a network ([Para. 0082] and [FIG. 6], At operation 602, a gNB generates and provides to a UE configuration information for enabling or disabling HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes), a configuration ([Para. 0082], a gNB generates and provides to a UE configuration information for enabling or disabling HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes), and transmitting, by the network node, the configuration to a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 0082], a gNB generates and provides to a UE configuration information for enabling or disabling HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes. [Para. 0085] and [FIG. 7], At operation 702, a UE receives the configuration information including the indication of enabling or disabling of HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes), thereby causing the UE to apply the configuration to disable or enable a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback regarding multiple transport blocks (TBs) ([Para. 0085] and [FIG. 7], At operation 706, the UE receives the PDSCH based on the configuration. At operation 708, the UE transmits a PUCCH or a PUSCH with a HARQ-ACK codebook. The contents of the HARQ-ACK codebook depend on whether HARQ-ACK information is enabled or disabled for HARQ processes of corresponding TBs), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap ([Para. 0086], The configuration information can be provided by UE-specific RRC signaling. [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes), each bit of the RRC bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective HARQ process ([Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, such as a length-N bitmap, where a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled, and N is the number of configured HARQ processes. [Para. 0073], The disclosure provides embodiments for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH based on a configuration by RRC signaling and possible additional activation/deactivation by a DCI format. [Para. 0107], Fields used to indicate the HARQ-ACK processes with HARQ-ACK information to be included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. A bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap).
Although teaching configuration to disable or enable HARQ feedback by RRC bitmap and additional activation/deactivation of the enabling and disabling by a DCI format (Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled. Ye [Para. 0073], embodiments associated with disabling an HARQ-ACK information report for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH based on a configuration by RRC signaling and possible additional activation/deactivation by a DCI format), Ye does not explicitly disclose wherein in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap.
Ying is directed to providing user equipment, base stations and signaling for downlink of narrow-band internet of things over non-terrestrial networks. More specifically, Ying teaches wherein in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in narrowband Internet-of-Things (NB-loT) or with another higher-layer parameter ce-PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in enhanced machine-type communication (eMTC), the configuration comprises a radio resource control (RRC) bitmap ([Para. 0005], a user equipment is configured to receive signaling that comprises a configuration for an Internet-of-Things (IoT) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN). [Para. 0109], Each HARQ process may be RRC configured whether HARQ feedback for downlink and/or uplink is disabled or enabled. [Para. 0164], If multiple transmission configurations are enabled and/or configured, only DCI format NLX (N1_X) may be used to activate and/or deactivate corresponding SPS. Enabling/disabling on HARQ feedback for SPS transmission may be configurable per SPS configuration via UE specific RRC signaling [Examiner’s Note: DCI activates/deactivates enabling/disabling of HARQ feedback configured in RRC signaling for multiple transmission configurations. Ye teaches that the RRC signaling comprises a bitmap for enabling/disabling HARQ feedback for corresponding HARQ processes]. [Para. 0196], DCI format N1_X may include a Number of scheduled TB. This field may be only present if multiple TBs are enabled/supported (e.g., higher layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled) [Examiner’s Note: npdsch-MultiTB-Config being enabled indicates that DCI activates/deactivates enabling/disabling HARQ feedback configured in RRC signaling. Ye teaches that RRC signaling comprises a bitmap for enabling/disabling of HARQ feedback for corresponding HARQ processes. Therefore, npdsch-MultiTB-Config being enabled indicates RRC signaling comprising a bitmap]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye, so that npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled and DCI activates/deactivates RRC signaling enabling/disabling HARQ feedback, as taught by Ying. The modification would have improved communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying [Para. 0004]).
For claim 20, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 19. The references further teach wherein the transmitting of the configuration comprises transmitting at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling and a downlink control information (DCI) signaling (Ye [Para. 0082], a gNB generates and provides to a UE configuration information for enabling or disabling HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes. Further, the information can be UE-specific and provided by UE-specific RRC signaling or by an indication in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that includes a TB associated with a HARQ process. Ye [Para. 0083], At operation 604, the gNB generates and multiplexes a DCI format in a PDCCH transmission. The DCI format schedules a PDSCH reception and includes information indicating whether a HARQ-ACK information report for a decoding outcome of a TB associated with HARQ process indicated by the DCI format is enabled or disabled).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying), and further in view of Jiang et al. (US20240292413A1, hereinafter Jiang).
For claim 5, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 4. Although teaching indication of HARQ feedback enabling or disabling, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein: responsive to any one bit of the RRC bitmap indicating enabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs, the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is enabled, alternatively, responsive to any one bit of the RRC bitmap indicating disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs, the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is disabled.
Jiang is directed to providing information feedback method and apparatus. More specifically, Jiang teaches wherein: responsive to any one bit of the RRC bitmap indicating enabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs ([Para. 0106], the indication information may include a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one (or one group of) configured or pre-configured HARQ process(es), and a value of each bit indicates that a corresponding HARQ process (group) is enabled or disabled, that is, the bitmap corresponds to the HARQ process (group) in a one-to-one manner. [Para. 0113], when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being enabled, the HARQ processes to which the group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the first HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback enabled), the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is enabled ([Para. 0113], when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being enabled, the HARQ processes to which the group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the first HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback enabled), alternatively, responsive to any one bit of the RRC bitmap indicating disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs ([Para. 0106], the indication information may include a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one (or one group of) configured or pre-configured HARQ process(es), and a value of each bit indicates that a corresponding HARQ process (group) is enabled or disabled, that is, the bitmap corresponds to the HARQ process (group) in a one-to-one manner. [Para. 0113], and when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being disabled, the HARQ processes to which a group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the second HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback disabled), the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is disabled ([Para. 0113], and when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being disabled, the HARQ processes to which a group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the second HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback disabled).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that if one indication indicates enabling or disabling, all HARQ processes are enabled or disabled correspondingly, as taught by Jiang. The modification would have provided support for HARQ mechanism of HARQ (hybrid automatic repeat request) feedback enabled/disabled, to cope with relatively long propagation latency in NTN non-terrestrial network (Jiang [Para. 0005]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying), and further in view of Yan et al. (WO2023236009A1, hereinafter Yan).
For claim 6, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 2. Although teaching indication of HARQ feedback enabling or disabling, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration comprises a one-bit field, and wherein the configuration comprises a single enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs.
Yan is directed to providing NTN iot harq disabling with DCI indication. More specifically, Yan teaches wherein the configuration comprises a one-bit field ([Para. 0087], the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback for downlink transmission (e.g. of a first HARQ process and a second HARQ process) can be configured by a 1-bit RRC signaling), and wherein the configuration comprises a single enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs ([Para. 0087], the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback for downlink transmission (e.g. of a first HARQ process and a second HARQ process) can be configured by a 1-bit RRC signaling. It means that the HARQ feedback of the first HARQ process and the HARQ feedback of the second HARQ process can be configured by a 1-bit RRC signaling to both enabling or both disabling).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that a single bit RRC signaling indicates HARQ feedback enabling or disabling that applies to all TBs, as taught by Yan. The modification would have provided dynamic enabling or disabling of HARQ feedback for downlink transmission by the DCI, to avoid large signaling overhead caused by RRC reconfiguration (Yan [Para. 0041]).
For claim 16, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 14. Although teaching DCI indicating HARQ feedback enabling or disabling, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration comprises a single enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication in the DCI signaling that is applied to all scheduled TBs of the multiple TBs.
Yan is directed to providing NTN iot harq disabling with DCI indication. More specifically, Yan teaches wherein the configuration comprises a single enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication in the DCI signaling that is applied to all scheduled TBs of the multiple TBs ([Para. 0079], If multiple TB scheduling is configured (i.e. a DCI can schedule multiple TBs (e.g. two TBs: a first TB and a second TB) each of which is associated with a different HARQ process (e.g. one of a first HARQ process and a second HARQ process) ) , the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback by existing field (s) contained in the DCI according to the first embodiment applies to the first HARQ process and the second HARQ process simultaneously. It means that the HARQ feedback of the first HARQ process associated with the first TB and the HARQ feedback of the second HARQ process associated with the second TB are indicated as both enabling or both disabling by existing field (s) contained in the DCI according to the first embodiment).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that one DCI indicates HARQ feedback enabling or disabling that applies to all TBs of the multiple TBs, as taught by Yan. The modification would have provided dynamic enabling or disabling of HARQ feedback for downlink transmission by the DCI, to avoid large signaling overhead caused by RRC reconfiguration (Yan [Para. 0041]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying), and further in view of Shrestha et al. (US20230132414A1, hereinafter Shrestha).
For claim 7, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 2. The reference further teaches wherein an enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs is based on an indication for HARQ process identification (ID) of 0 of the RRC bitmap or a leftmost indication of the RRC bitmap (Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled).
Although teaching Indicating HARQ feedback enabling or disabling in RRC bitmap, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein an enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs is based on an indication for HARQ process identification (ID) of 0 of the RRC bitmap or a leftmost indication of the RRC bitmap.
Shrestha is directed to providing transmission in configured grant and semi-persistent scheduling in non-terrestrial network. More specifically, Shrestha teaches wherein an enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs is based on an indication for HARQ process identification (ID) of 0 of the RRC bitmap ([Para, 0149], when there are no HARQ process IDs that are equal to zero (e.g., HARQ process is enabled for all HARQ process IDs) [Examiner’s Note: The HARQ processes are enabled when none of the HARQ process identification of zero is used in bitmap]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that the HARQ process identification of zero enables all HARQ processes, as taught by Shrestha. The modification would have improved communication quality since fewer communications are likely to be dropped as a result of the interfering timers (Shrestha [Para. 0108]).
Claims 8-10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying), and further in view of Sengupta et al. (US20240121033A1, hereinafter Sengupta).
For claim 8, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the receiving of the configuration further comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) signaling with an enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that overrides the configuration in the RRC signaling (Ye [Para. 0082], At operation 602, a gNB generates and provides to a UE configuration information for enabling or disabling HARQ-ACK information for one or more HARQ processes. Further, the information can be … by an indication in a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH reception that includes a TB associated with a HARQ process. Ye [Para. 0083], The DCI format schedules a PDSCH reception and includes information indicating whether a HARQ-ACK information report for a decoding outcome of a TB associated with HARQ process indicated by the DCI format is enabled or disabled).
Although teaching DCI indicating HARQ feedback enabling or disabling, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving of the configuration further comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) signaling with an enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that overrides the configuration in the RRC signaling.
Sengupta is directed to providing systems and techniques for scheduling feedback-less hybrid automatic repeat resource request. More specifically, Sengupta teaches wherein the receiving of the configuration further comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) signaling with an enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication that overrides the configuration in the RRC signaling ([Para. 0201], the one or more feedback-enabled TBs are received according to a multi-TB scheduling based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) associated with the multi-TB scheduling. [Para. 0203], the one or more feedback-disabled TBs are received using a multi-TB scheduling based on a Downlink Control Information (DCI) associated with the multi-TB scheduling. [Para. 0198], a DCI bit can be used to override a feedback-enabled (or feedback-disabled) configuration that is otherwise indicated by an RRC signal. The DCI bit can be included in a DCI used to schedule a transmission on a given HARQ process. In some cases, the DCI override bit can be used to change or modify the RRC-indicated behavior for a given TB on the HARQ process with which the DCI override bit is associated (e.g., the HARQ process scheduled by a DCI that includes the DCI override bit). [Para. 0199], in the context of HARQ-ACK bundling with single-TB scheduling, a feedback-disabled TB may be overridden to a feedback-enabled TB by setting the ‘HARQ ACK Bundling Flag’ to be on (or ‘1’) for the TB, while the flag would otherwise be set to off if feedback is disabled).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that the HARQ feedback indication configured by RRC signaling is overridden by DCI feedback indication, as taught by Sengupta. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce HARQ stalling by HARQ feedback disabling (Sengupta [Para. 0009]).
For claim 9, Ye, Ying and Sengupta teach the method of claim 8. The references further teach wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback is indicated in either a new DCI field in the DCI signaling (Sengupta [Para. 0199], In some examples, the DCI override bit can be implemented using a newly designated bit in the DCI. In some cases, the DCI override bit can be implemented using an existing bit in the DCI (e.g., by repurposing the existing bit as an override bit) or in an existing DCI field that is re-interpreted, and wherein the existing DCI field that is re-interpreted comprises a HARQ-ACK related field.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that the DCI overriding bit is either newly introduced bit or existing bit re-purposed for overriding, as taught by Sengupta. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce HARQ stalling by HARQ feedback disabling (Sengupta [Para. 0009]).
For claim 10, Ye, Ying and Sengupta teach the method of claim 8. The references further teach wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication in the DCI signaling is only present in an event that the UE is configured with a higher-layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config enabled in NB-loT (Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes. Ye [Para. 0073], The disclosure provides embodiments for semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) PDSCH based on a configuration by RRC signaling and possible additional activation/deactivation by a DCI format. Ying [Para. 0005], a user equipment is configured to receive signaling that comprises a configuration for an Internet-of-Things (IoT) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (NB-IoT PDSCH (NPDSCH)) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN). Ying [Para. 0109], Each HARQ process may be RRC configured whether HARQ feedback for downlink and/or uplink is disabled or enabled. Ying [Para. 0164], If multiple transmission configurations are enabled and/or configured, only DCI format NLX (N1_X) may be used to activate and/or deactivate corresponding SPS. Enabling/disabling on HARQ feedback for SPS transmission may be configurable per SPS configuration via UE specific RRC signaling Ying [Para. 0196], DCI format N1_X may include a Number of scheduled TB. This field may be only present if multiple TBs are enabled/supported (e.g., higher layer parameter npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled) [Examiner’s Note: Since multiple TBs are enabled, the field of Number of scheduled TB in DCI is present and npdsch-MultiTB-Config is required]) or with another higher-layer parameter ce- PDSCH-MultiTB-Config enabled in eMTC.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Sengupta, so that npdsch-MultiTB-Config is enabled in case of multiple transmission configurations and DCI activates/deactivates HARQ feedback, as taught by Ying. The modification would have improved communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying [Para. 0004]).
For claim 12, Ye, Ying and Sengupta teach the method of claim 8. The references further teach wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication in the DCI signaling comprises a bitmap (Ye [Para. 0107], a bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap. Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled), and wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs (Ye [0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, such as a length-N bitmap, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled (or vice versa), and N is the number of configured HARQ processes).
For claim 15, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 14. Although teaching DCI indicating HARQ feedback enabling or disabling, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback is indicated in either a new DCI field in the DCI signaling or in an existing DCI field that is re-interpreted, and wherein the existing DCI field that is re-interpreted comprises a HARQ-ACK related field.
Sengupta is directed to providing systems and techniques for scheduling feedback-less hybrid automatic repeat resource request. More specifically, Sengupta teaches wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback is indicated in either a new DCI field in the DCI signaling ([Para. 0199], In some examples, the DCI override bit can be implemented using a newly designated bit in the DCI. In some cases, the DCI override bit can be implemented using an existing bit in the DCI (e.g., by repurposing the existing bit as an override bit) or in an existing DCI field that is re-interpreted, and wherein the existing DCI field that is re-interpreted comprises a HARQ-ACK related field.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that the DCI overriding bit is either newly introduced bit or existing bit re-purposed for overriding, as taught by Sengupta. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce HARQ stalling by HARQ feedback disabling (Sengupta [Para. 0009]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying) and Sengupta et al. (US20240121033A1, hereinafter Sengupta), and further in view of Yan et al. (WO2023236009A1, hereinafter Yan).
For claim 11, Ye, Ying and Sengupta teach the method of claim 8. Although teaching DCI indicating HARQ feedback enabling or disabling and including an overriding bit, Ye, Ying and Sengupta do not explicitly disclose wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication in the DCI signaling comprises a single indication in the DCI signaling that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs.
Yan is directed to providing NTN iot harq disabling with DCI indication. More specifically, Yan teaches wherein the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indication in the DCI signaling comprises a single indication in the DCI signaling that is applied to all scheduled multiple TBs ([Para. 0079], If multiple TB scheduling is configured (i.e. a DCI can schedule multiple TBs (e.g. two TBs: a first TB and a second TB) each of which is associated with a different HARQ process (e.g. one of a first HARQ process and a second HARQ process) ) , the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback by existing field (s) contained in the DCI according to the first embodiment applies to the first HARQ process and the second HARQ process simultaneously. It means that the HARQ feedback of the first HARQ process associated with the first TB and the HARQ feedback of the second HARQ process associated with the second TB are indicated as both enabling or both disabling by existing field (s) contained in the DCI according to the first embodiment).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye, Ying and Sengupta, so that one DCI indicates HARQ feedback enabling or disabling that applies to all TBs of the multiple TBs, as taught by Yan. The modification would have provided dynamic enabling or disabling of HARQ feedback for downlink transmission by the DCI, to avoid large signaling overhead caused by RRC reconfiguration (Yan [Para. 0041]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying) and Sengupta et al. (US20240121033A1, hereinafter Sengupta), and further in view of Jiang et al. (US20240292413A1, hereinafter Jiang).
For claim 13 Ye, Ying and Sengupta teach the method of claim 12. Although teaching indication of HARQ feedback enabling or disabling, Ye, Ying and Sengupta do not explicitly disclose wherein: responsive to one bit of the bitmap indicating enabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs, the HARQ feedback of the multiple TBs is enabled, alternatively, responsive to one bit of the bitmap indicating disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TB, the HARQ feedback of the multiple TBs is disabled.
Jiang is directed to providing information feedback method and apparatus. More specifically, Jiang teaches wherein: responsive to one bit of the bitmap indicating enabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TBs ([Para. 0106], the indication information may include a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one (or one group of) configured or pre-configured HARQ process(es), and a value of each bit indicates that a corresponding HARQ process (group) is enabled or disabled, that is, the bitmap corresponds to the HARQ process (group) in a one-to-one manner. [Para. 0113], when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being enabled, the HARQ processes to which the group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the first HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback enabled), the HARQ feedback of the multiple TBs is enabled ([Para. 0113], when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being enabled, the HARQ processes to which the group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the first HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback enabled), alternatively, responsive to one bit of the bitmap indicating disabling of the HARQ feedback regarding a respective TB of the multiple TB ([Para. 0106], the indication information may include a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one (or one group of) configured or pre-configured HARQ process(es), and a value of each bit indicates that a corresponding HARQ process (group) is enabled or disabled, that is, the bitmap corresponds to the HARQ process (group) in a one-to-one manner. [Para. 0113], and when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being disabled, the HARQ processes to which a group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the second HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback disabled), the HARQ feedback of the multiple TBs is disabled ([Para. 0113], and when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being disabled, the HARQ processes to which a group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the second HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback disabled).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye, Ying and Sengupta, so that if one indication indicates enabling or disabling, all HARQ processes are enabled or disabled correspondingly, as taught by Jiang. The modification would have provided support for HARQ mechanism of HARQ (hybrid automatic repeat request) feedback enabled/disabled, to cope with relatively long propagation latency in NTN non-terrestrial network (Jiang [Para. 0005]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying), and further in view of Jiang et al. (US20240292413A1, hereinafter Jiang).
For claim 17, Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 14. The references further teach wherein the configuration comprises separate enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indications in the DCI signaling each of which applied to a respective scheduled TB of the multiple TBs (Ye [Para. 0107], a bitmap can be used when the number of configured HARQ processes is not larger than the number of bits in the DCI format that can be used for the bitmap. Ye [Para. 0087], The configuration information can be indicated via a bitmap having a one-to-one mapping with configured HARQ processes, where for example a bit of 0 value indicates that HARQ-ACK information is enabled and a bit value of 1 indicates that HARQ-ACK information is disabled).
Although teaching DCI including bitmap for separate enabling or disabling indications, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose wherein responsive to one of the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indications indicating enabling, the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is enabled, alternatively, responsive to one of the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indications indicating disabling, the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is disabled.
Jiang is directed to providing information feedback method and apparatus. More specifically, Jiang teaches wherein responsive to one of the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indications indicating enabling ([Para. 0106], the indication information may include a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one (or one group of) configured or pre-configured HARQ process(es), and a value of each bit indicates that a corresponding HARQ process (group) is enabled or disabled, that is, the bitmap corresponds to the HARQ process (group) in a one-to-one manner. [Para. 0113], when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being enabled, the HARQ processes to which the group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the first HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback enabled), the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is enabled ([Para. 0113], when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being enabled, the HARQ processes to which the group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the first HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback enabled), alternatively, responsive to one of the enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback indications indicating disabling ([Para. 0106], the indication information may include a bitmap, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one (or one group of) configured or pre-configured HARQ process(es), and a value of each bit indicates that a corresponding HARQ process (group) is enabled or disabled, that is, the bitmap corresponds to the HARQ process (group) in a one-to-one manner. [Para. 0113], and when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being disabled, the HARQ processes to which a group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the second HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback disabled), the HARQ feedback regarding the multiple TBs is disabled ([Para. 0113], and when the enabling/disabling indication indicates being disabled, the HARQ processes to which a group of HARQ process IDs indicated by the second HARQ process indication information correspond are all HARQ feedback disabled).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that if one indication indicates enabling or disabling, all HARQ processes are enabled or disabled correspondingly, as taught by Jiang. The modification would have provided support for HARQ mechanism of HARQ (hybrid automatic repeat request) feedback enabled/disabled, to cope with relatively long propagation latency in NTN non-terrestrial network (Jiang [Para. 0005]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US20220109529A1, hereinafter Ye) in view of Ying et al. (US20240323960A1, hereinafter Ying), and further in view of Cheng et al. (US20220330298A1, hereinafter Cheng).
For claim 18. Ye and Ying teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the HARQ feedback is based on a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) parameter that indicates enabling or disabling of the HARQ feedback (Ying [Para. 0109], Each HARQ process may be RRC configured whether HARQ feedback for downlink and/or uplink is disabled or enabled. There may be a higher layer parameter disabledHARQ-ProcessesID (e.g., provided by a dedicated or common RRC message) to indicate a HARQ process or a set of HARQ processes, whose HARQ feedback can be disabled), and wherein the dedicated RRC parameter is updated by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Ying [Para. 0114], There may be a higher layer parameter disabledHARQ-ProcessesID (e.g., provided by a dedicated or common RRC message) to indicate a HARQ process or a set of HARQ processes, whose HARQ feedback can be disabled).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye, so that HARQ feedback is disabled based on RRC parameter disabledHARQ-ProcessesID, as taught by Ying. The modification would have improved communication flexibility and/or efficiency (Ying [Para. 0004]).
Although teaching HARQ disabling based on RRC parameter, Ye and Ying do not explicitly disclose and wherein the dedicated RRC parameter is updated by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).
Cheng is directed to providing Methods and apparatuses for hybrid automatic repeat request operations in wireless communication systems. More specifically, Cheng teaches and wherein the dedicated RRC parameter is updated by a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([Para. 0200], the HARQ-ACK-less list may be contained in an RRC configuration from the BS. [Para. 0210], the UE may receive an indication from the BS. The indication may identify an exception to the HARQ-ACK-less list by including at least one HARQ process ID from the set of HARQ process IDs. The indication may be received via a MAC CE from the BS. [Para. 0211] and [FIG. 4], the UE may receive a HARQ ACK-less list 420 (e.g., via RRC signaling) at the time point 402 and receive an indication from the BS (e.g., via MAC CE) at the time point 404. The HARQ ACK-less list 420 may include HARQ process ID # 1, HARQ process ID # 2, and HARQ ID # 3, which indicate, respectively, HARQ process # 1, HARQ process # 2, and HARQ process # 3. If the HARQ process # 2 is indicated as an exception by the indication (e.g., the indication includes the HARQ process ID #2), even if the UE receives at the time point 406 a PDSCH associated with the HARQ process # 2 that is indicated by the HARQ-ACK-less list 420, the UE may still transmit the HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH because the HARQ process # 2 has been indicated as an exception of the HARQ-ACK-less list 420 [Examiner’s Note: MAC CE changes RRC configuration]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ye and Ying, so that HARQ feedback is changed from RRC configuration by MAC CE, as taught by Cheng. The modification would have improved NR procedures to adapt to the enabling/disabling mechanism of HARQ feedback (Cheng [Para. 0045]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417