DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are currently amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Prior Art Rejections:
The arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 challenge certain limitations. These limitations are newly added and were therefore not addressed in the previous rejection; therefore, the arguments are moot. The amendments are newly addressed by the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 17, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachu et al. US 20220361025 A1 in view of Boccuzzi et al. US 20240179029 A1.
With regard to claim 1, Bachu teaches:
One or more processors ([0006] An apparatus for wireless communications is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory.), comprising:
circuitry to ([0121] In some examples, the communications manager 520, the receiver 510, the transmitter 515, or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in hardware (e.g., in communications management circuitry). The hardware may include a processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), an field-programmable gate array (FPGA) or other programmable logic device, a discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof configured as or otherwise supporting a means for performing the functions described in the present disclosure.):
receive an application programming interface (API) call comprising one or more input parameters indicating a distribution of 5G signal processing operations between one or more fifth generation (5G) distributed units (DUs) and one or more 5G radio units (RUs) ([0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support communication techniques between a radio unit (RU) and a distributed unit (DU) via an application programming interface. Generally, the described techniques provide for improved methods for supporting functional splits between an RU of a base station and of a DU of the base station. For example, an RU of a base station may report, to a DU of the base station, a message indicating that the RU supports an RU processing capability that is one of a first processing capability (e.g., a first functional split) or a second processing capability (e.g., a second functional split). The first processing capability corresponds to additional physical layer signal processing at the RU than does the second processing capability. For example, an RU that is capable of the first processing capability may support high physical (PHY) layer processing, low PHY layer processing, and radio frequency (RF) layer processing, whereas an RU that is capable of the second processing capability may support low PHY processing, and RF processing. A DU may determine to communicate with the RU based on the processing capability of the RU. The RU may receive one or more uplink signals from a user equipment (UE) and process the one or more uplink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The processing may result in one or more processed uplink signals. The RU may forward the one or more processed uplink signals to the DU via an application programming interface (API) that supports both the first processing capability and the second processing capability (e.g., a generalized API). In some cases, the DU may perform additional processing of the uplink signals. In some cases, the RU may accept one or more downlink signals from the DU and process the one or more downlink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The RU may transmit the one or more processed downlink signals to a UE; [0049] In some communications systems, network access nodes, such as base stations (e.g., eNBs in 5G networks), may have functionality that is split among multiple units. For example, a base station may include a central unit (CU) and one or more remote units, which may allow for enhanced network functionality such as efficient coordinated multipoint (CoMP) communications techniques, multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) techniques, and the like. In some cases, functionality of a base station may be divided among a CU, one or more distributed units (DUs), and one or more radio units (RUs) (e.g., radio heads, remote units), where communications between a CU and a DU may be referred to as midhaul communications and communications between a DU and an RU may be referred to as fronthaul communications. In different types of deployments, it may be beneficial to have certain functionality implemented differently between DUs and RUs.);
reallocate the 5G signal processing operations from a previous allocation to a reallocation based, at least in part, on the distribution ([0004] For example, an RU of a base station may report, to a DU of the base station, a message indicating that the RU supports an RU processing capability that is one of a first processing capability (e.g., a first functional split) or a second processing capability (e.g., a second functional split). The first processing capability corresponds to additional physical layer signal processing at the RU than does the second processing capability. For example, an RU that is capable of the first processing capability may support high physical (PHY) layer processing, low PHY layer processing, and radio frequency (RF) layer processing, whereas an RU that is capable of the second processing capability may support low PHY processing, and RF processing. A DU may determine to communicate with the RU based on the processing capability of the RU. The RU may receive one or more uplink signals from a user equipment (UE) and process the one or more uplink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The processing may result in one or more processed uplink signals. The RU may forward the one or more processed uplink signals to the DU via an application programming interface (API) that supports both the first processing capability and the second processing capability (e.g., a generalized API). In some cases, the DU may perform additional processing of the uplink signals. In some cases, the RU may accept one or more downlink signals from the DU and process the one or more downlink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The RU may transmit the one or more processed downlink signals to a UE; [0049] In some communications systems, network access nodes, such as base stations (e.g., eNBs in 5G networks), may have functionality that is split among multiple units. For example, a base station may include a central unit (CU) and one or more remote units, which may allow for enhanced network functionality such as efficient coordinated multipoint (CoMP) communications techniques, multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) techniques, and the like. In some cases, functionality of a base station may be divided among a CU, one or more distributed units (DUs), and one or more radio units (RUs) (e.g., radio heads, remote units), where communications between a CU and a DU may be referred to as midhaul communications and communications between a DU and an RU may be referred to as fronthaul communications. In different types of deployments, it may be beneficial to have certain functionality implemented differently between DUs and RUs.); and
Although Bachu teaches of communication techniques between a radio unit and a distributed unit via an API and correlating/reallocating signal processing at RUs based on processing capability, Bachu does not explicitly teach using an accelerator to execute the 5G signal processing operations.
However, in analogous art, Boccuzzi teaches:
in response to the API call, [[to]] cause one or more accelerators to execute the 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the reallocation ([0036] FIG. 1 illustrates an example deployment 100 that can be used for wireless communications in at least one embodiment. In this example, a base station 102 can send signals to be received by multiple radio units 112, 114, 118, where at least some of those radio units can be located in different communications cells 110, 116. The base station 102 can include both a centralized unit (CU) 104 and a distributed unit (DU) 106. The base station 102 can include other components as well, such as an RF front end that includes one or more transceivers, filters, or switches, as well as one or more digital signal processors (that may be part of a system on chip) with forward error correction, and one or more processors, such as CPUs, GPUs, or DPUs with hardware acceleration, among other such options. A DPU can be used to handle tasks such as networking and communication tasks, where a DPU may combine processing cores with hardware accelerator blocks and a high-performance network interface to handle data-centric workloads, ensuring that data is quickly and efficiently directed to the correct location in the correct format.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bachu with the teachings of Boccuzzi where in response to the API call, cause one or more accelerators to execute the 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the reallocation. Bachu teaches of using an API to support communication techniques between a radio unit and a distributed unit in order to support functional splits between an RU and a DU of the base stations for 5G communications. Similarly, Boccuzzi also teaches of base stations for 5G communications that include radio units and distributed units. Moreover, Boccuzzi teaches of APIs that are designed to interact with accelerator architectures. Specifically the accelerators ensure that data is quickly and efficiently directed to the correct location in the correct format, as discussed in Boccuzzi ([0036]). Therefore, together, Bachu and Boccuzzi teach of using an API to support communication techniques between a radio unit and a distributed unit in order to support distribution of signal processing operations between an RU and a DU of the base stations for 5G communications and executing the 5G operations with an accelerator.
With regard to claim 2, Boccuzzi further teaches:
wherein to be allocated to the one or more 5G DUs indicated by the API includes to cause one or more accelerators to perform one or more wireless signal processing operations based, at least in part, on information indicating how wireless signal processing operations are to be distributed between radio units (RUs) and the one or more 5G DUs ([0036] FIG. 1 illustrates an example deployment 100 that can be used for wireless communications in at least one embodiment. In this example, a base station 102 can send signals to be received by multiple radio units 112, 114, 118, where at least some of those radio units can be located in different communications cells 110, 116. The base station 102 can include both a centralized unit (CU) 104 and a distributed unit (DU) 106. The base station 102 can include other components as well, such as an RF front end that includes one or more transceivers, filters, or switches, as well as one or more digital signal processors (that may be part of a system on chip) with forward error correction, and one or more processors, such as CPUs, GPUs, or DPUs with hardware acceleration, among other such options. A DPU can be used to handle tasks such as networking and communication tasks, where a DPU may combine processing cores with hardware accelerator blocks and a high-performance network interface to handle data-centric workloads, ensuring that data is quickly and efficiently directed to the correct location in the correct format. The centralized unit 104 can provide support for higher layers of the protocol stack, such as for radio resource control (RRC), packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), and service data adaptation protocol (SDAP), while the distributed unit 106 can provide support for lower layers of the protocol stack, as may relate to media access control (MAC), radio link control (RLC), and a physical layer. In at least one embodiment, such as for a gNodeB base station for 5G communications, there may be a single CU for each gNodeB base station that controls multiple DUs, such as where 100 or more DUs can be controlled by a single CU of a gNodeB, and each DU can support one or more cells.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bachu with the teachings of Boccuzzi wherein to be allocated to the one or more 5G DUs indicated by the API includes to cause one or more accelerators to perform one or more wireless signal processing operations based, at least in part, on information indicating how wireless signal processing operations are to be distributed between radio units (RUs) and the one or more 5G DUs. Bachu teaches of using an API to support communication techniques between a radio unit and a distributed unit in order to support functional splits between an RU and a DU of the base stations for 5G communications. Similarly, Boccuzzi also teaches of base stations for 5G communications that include radio units and distributed units. Moreover, Boccuzzi teaches of APIs that are designed to interact with accelerator architectures. Specifically, the accelerators ensure that data is quickly and efficiently directed to the correct location in the correct format, as discussed in Boccuzzi ([0036]). Therefore, together, Bachu and Boccuzzi teach of using an API to support communication techniques between a radio unit and a distributed unit in order to support distribution of signal processing operations between an RU and a DU of the base stations for 5G communications and executing the 5G operations with an accelerator.
With regard to claim 3, Bachu further teaches:
wherein the 5G signal processing operations are performed based, at least in part, on an allocation of functions between the one or more 5G DUs and the one or more 5G RUs ([0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support communication techniques between a radio unit (RU) and a distributed unit (DU) via an application programming interface. Generally, the described techniques provide for improved methods for supporting functional splits between an RU of a base station and of a DU of the base station. For example, an RU of a base station may report, to a DU of the base station, a message indicating that the RU supports an RU processing capability that is one of a first processing capability (e.g., a first functional split) or a second processing capability (e.g., a second functional split). The first processing capability corresponds to additional physical layer signal processing at the RU than does the second processing capability. For example, an RU that is capable of the first processing capability may support high physical (PHY) layer processing, low PHY layer processing, and radio frequency (RF) layer processing, whereas an RU that is capable of the second processing capability may support low PHY processing, and RF processing. A DU may determine to communicate with the RU based on the processing capability of the RU. The RU may receive one or more uplink signals from a user equipment (UE) and process the one or more uplink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The processing may result in one or more processed uplink signals. The RU may forward the one or more processed uplink signals to the DU via an application programming interface (API) that supports both the first processing capability and the second processing capability (e.g., a generalized API). In some cases, the DU may perform additional processing of the uplink signals. In some cases, the RU may accept one or more downlink signals from the DU and process the one or more downlink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The RU may transmit the one or more processed downlink signals to a UE; [0049] In some communications systems, network access nodes, such as base stations (e.g., eNBs in 5G networks), may have functionality that is split among multiple units.).
With regard to claim 4, Bachu further teaches:
wherein the circuitry is to use the API to cause one or more software programs to be allocated to one or more 5G RUs based, at least in part, on an indication by the API ([0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support communication techniques between a radio unit (RU) and a distributed unit (DU) via an application programming interface. Generally, the described techniques provide for improved methods for supporting functional splits between an RU of a base station and of a DU of the base station. For example, an RU of a base station may report, to a DU of the base station, a message indicating that the RU supports an RU processing capability that is one of a first processing capability (e.g., a first functional split) or a second processing capability (e.g., a second functional split). The first processing capability corresponds to additional physical layer signal processing at the RU than does the second processing capability. For example, an RU that is capable of the first processing capability may support high physical (PHY) layer processing, low PHY layer processing, and radio frequency (RF) layer processing, whereas an RU that is capable of the second processing capability may support low PHY processing, and RF processing. A DU may determine to communicate with the RU based on the processing capability of the RU. The RU may receive one or more uplink signals from a user equipment (UE) and process the one or more uplink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The processing may result in one or more processed uplink signals. The RU may forward the one or more processed uplink signals to the DU via an application programming interface (API) that supports both the first processing capability and the second processing capability (e.g., a generalized API). In some cases, the DU may perform additional processing of the uplink signals. In some cases, the RU may accept one or more downlink signals from the DU and process the one or more downlink signals in accordance with the RU processing capability. The RU may transmit the one or more processed downlink signals to a UE; [0121] In some examples, the communications manager 520, the receiver 510, the transmitter 515, or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in hardware (e.g., in communications management circuitry).).
With regard to claim 6, Boccuzzi further teaches:
wherein the 5G signal processing operations include a software program of a library selected based, at least in part, on an allocation of operations indicated by the API ([0036] FIG. 1 illustrates an example deployment 100 that can be used for wireless communications in at least one embodiment. In this example, a base station 102 can send signals to be received by multiple radio units 112, 114, 118, where at least some of those radio units can be located in different communications cells 110, 116. The base station 102 can include both a centralized unit (CU) 104 and a distributed unit (DU) 106. The base station 102 can include other components as well, such as an RF front end that includes one or more transceivers, filters, or switches, as well as one or more digital signal processors (that may be part of a system on chip) with forward error correction, and one or more processors, such as CPUs, GPUs, or DPUs with hardware acceleration, among other such options. A DPU can be used to handle tasks such as networking and communication tasks, where a DPU may combine processing cores with hardware accelerator blocks and a high-performance network interface to handle data-centric workloads, ensuring that data is quickly and efficiently directed to the correct location in the correct format. The centralized unit 104 can provide support for higher layers of the protocol stack, such as for radio resource control (RRC), packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), and service data adaptation protocol (SDAP), while the distributed unit 106 can provide support for lower layers of the protocol stack, as may relate to media access control (MAC), radio link control (RLC), and a physical layer. In at least one embodiment, such as for a gNodeB base station for 5G communications, there may be a single CU for each gNodeB base station that controls multiple DUs, such as where 100 or more DUs can be controlled by a single CU of a gNodeB, and each DU can support one or more cells; [0301] In at least one embodiment, oneAPI and/or oneAPI programming model is utilized to interact with various accelerator, GPU, processor, and/or variations thereof, architectures. In at least one embodiment, oneAPI includes a set of libraries that implement various functionalities. In at least one embodiment, oneAPI includes at least a oneAPI DPC++ library, a oneAPI math kernel library, a oneAPI data analytics library, a oneAPI deep neural network library, a oneAPI collective communications library, a oneAPI threading building blocks library, a oneAPI video processing library, and/or variations thereof.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bachu with the teachings of Boccuzzi wherein the 5G signal processing operations include a software program of a library selected based, at least in part, on an allocation of operations indicated by the API. Certain APIs support synchronization amongst thread blocks for execution of parallel algorithms. In at least one embodiment, that programming model supports clean composition across software boundaries, so that libraries and utility functions can synchronize safely within their local context without having to make assumptions about convergence, as discussed in Boccuzzi ([0238]).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachu et al. US 20220361025 A1 and Boccuzzi et al. US 20240179029 A1, as applied in claim 1, in further view of Guim Bernat et al. US 20210144517 A1.
With regard to claim 5, Bachu and Boccuzzi teach the one or more processors of claim 1 but fail to explicitly teach wherein the 5G signal processing operations are indicated by the API and include one or more operations of a block of memory selected from a pool of memory.
However, in analogous art, Guim Bernat teaches:
wherein the 5G signal processing operations are indicated by the API and include one or more operations of a block of memory selected from a pool of memory ([0090] By moving the computing and storage resources closer to the device producing or using the data, various latency, compliance, and/or monetary or resource cost constraints may be achievable relative to a standard networked (e.g., cloud computing) system. To do so, in some examples, pools of compute, memory, and/or storage resources may be located in, or otherwise equipped with, local servers, routers, and/or other network equipment. Such local resources facilitate the satisfying of constraints placed on the system. For example, the local compute and storage resources allow an edge system to perform computations in real-time or near real-time, which may be a consideration in low latency user-cases such as autonomous driving, video surveillance, and mobile media consumption. Additionally, these resources will benefit from service management in an edge system which provides the ability to scale and achieve local SLAs, manage tiered service requirements, and enable local features and functions on a temporary or permanent basis; [0096] As used herein, the term “base station” refers to a network element in a radio access network (RAN), such as a fourth-generation (4G) or fifth-generation (5G) mobile communications network which is responsible for the transmission and reception of radio signals in one or more cells to or from a user equipment (UE). A base station can have an integrated antenna or may be connected to an antenna array by feeder cables. A base station uses specialized digital signal processing and network function hardware. In some examples, the base station may be split into multiple functional blocks operating in software for flexibility, monetary or resource cost, and performance. In some examples, a base station can include an evolved node-B (eNB) or a next generation node-B (gNB); [1175] In some aspects, the communication network 6702 can provide an application programming interface (API) 6742 to a developer or customer community 6740 for accessing and configuring applications and services within one or more of the edge clouds 6710-6714.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bachu and Boccuzzi with the teachings of Guim Bernat wherein the 5G signal processing operations are indicated by the API and include one or more operations of a block of memory selected from a pool of memory. Guim Bernat teaches of transmitting radio signals in a 5G network from one or more cells to a user equipment. This is done through an edge networking system. It would be beneficial to have a shared pool of memory in order to satisfy constraints placed on the system. Local compute and storage resources allow an edge system to perform computations in real-time or near real-time, which may be a consideration in low latency user-cases such as autonomous driving, video surveillance, and mobile media consumption. Additionally, these resources will benefit from service management in an edge system which provides the ability to scale and achieve local SLAs, manage tiered service requirements, and enable local features and functions on a temporary or permanent basis, as discussed in Guim Bernat ([0090]).
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachu et al. US 20220361025 A1 and Boccuzzi et al. US 20240179029 A1, as applied in claim 1, in further view of Pendyala et al. US 20240223462 A1.
With regard to claim 7, Bachu and Boccuzzi teach the one or more processors of claim 1 but fail to explicitly teach wherein the 5G signal processing operations include operations of a pool of memory selectively switched on based, at least in part, on an allocation to the one or more 5G DUs.
However, in analogous art, Pendyala teaches:
wherein the 5G signal processing operations include operations of a pool of memory selectively switched on based, at least in part, on an allocation to the one or more 5G DUs ([0006] The principal object of the embodiments herein is to provide a method and a new radio distributed unit (NRDU) data path simulation server for testing data throughput capacity in 5G communication network; [0050] The NRDU data path simulation server (100) simulates DU, RU and UE traffic for multi-Gbps traffic with socket API; [0057] The memory (120) of the NRDU data path simulation server (100) comprises multiple memory pools. Each memory pool is mapped to a corresponding entity of the plurality of entities of the NRDU data path simulation server (100). The memory pool is dynamically mapped to an entity and the data in the memory pool of the entity keeps changing. The data in the memory pool is changing and the memory pool does not get deleted.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bachu and Boccuzzi with the teachings of Pendyala wherein the 5G signal processing operations include operations of a pool of memory selectively switched on based, at least in part, on an allocation to the one or more 5G DUs. Pendyala teaches of NRDU (new radio distributed unit) data paths in a 5G communication network. Moreover, Pendyala also teaches of pool-based memory allocations. These pools contribute to optimization because the memory pool is attached to the worker/entity (i.e., the individual simulated DUs). The memory blocks or chunks will not return back to the memory pool unless the entire operation is terminated or stopped. Therefore, the allocated memory will keep on being reused by that specific simulated DU. The reuse of the memory (120) again and again per worker thread ensures the optimal usage of the cache. The memory (120) which is frequently used is always inside the cache, as discussed in Pendyala ([0063]).
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachu et al. US 20220361025 A1 and Boccuzzi et al. US 20240179029 A1, as applied in claim 15, in further view of Kundu et al. US 20210390004 A1.
With regard to claim 19, Bachu and Boccuzzi teaches the method of claim 15 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the 5G signal processing operations include one or more libraries, the method further comprises: loading the one or more libraries to a memory location that is accessible to one or more accelerators used to perform the 5G signal processing operations, wherein the one or more 5G DUs are to set up kernels to perform the 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the one or more libraries.
However, in analogous art, Kundu teaches:
wherein the 5G signal processing operations include one or more libraries, the method further comprises:
loading the one or more libraries to a memory location that is accessible to one or more accelerators used to perform the 5G signal processing operations, wherein the one or more 5G DUs are to set up kernels to perform the 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the one or more libraries ([0072] In at least one embodiment, a 5.sup.th Generation (5G) cellular network architecture is organized into a plurality of layers comprising a data link layer (also referred to as layer 2) and a physical layer (also referred to as layer 1). In at least one embodiment, layer 2 and layer 1 are in accordance with an Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) model as described in greater detail below. In at least one embodiment, a physical layer processes workloads in connection with data and/or application programming interface (API) commands from a data link layer; [0077] FIG. 1 illustrates a diagram 100 of an acceleration abstraction layer (AAL) interface, according to at least one embodiment. In at least one embodiment, an AAL interface is also referred to as an AAL, AAL API, AALI and/or variations thereof. In at least one embodiment, layer 2+ application software 102, through layer 2 to layer 1 interface 104, utilizes acceleration abstraction layer interface 106 to perform various functions, which are processed by drivers 108 through kernel space 112 to cause hardware 118 to perform one or more functions; [0080] In at least one embodiment, user space is a memory area where various application software and drivers execute. In at least one embodiment, user space, also referred to as userland, comprises various software programs, interfaces, and libraries that enable interaction with a kernel; [0531] In at least one embodiment, a host processor executes a driver kernel that implements an application programming interface (“API”) that enables one or more applications executing on host processor to schedule operations for execution on PPU 4000. In at least one embodiment, multiple compute applications are simultaneously executed by PPU 4000 and PPU 4000 provides isolation, quality of service (“QoS”), and independent address spaces for multiple compute applications. In at least one embodiment, an application generates instructions (e.g., in form of API calls) that cause driver kernel to generate one or more tasks for execution by PPU 4000 and driver kernel outputs tasks to one or more streams being processed by PPU 4000.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bachu and Boccuzzi with the teachings of Kundu wherein the 5G signal processing operations include one or more libraries, the method further comprises: loading the one or more libraries to a memory location that is accessible to one or more accelerators used to perform the 5G signal processing operations, wherein the one or more 5G DUs are to set up kernels to perform the 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the one or more libraries. Kundu teaches of using an API to perform 5G new radio operations on one or more hardware accelerators through an API call (Abstract). According to Kundu, kernel space 112 refers to a memory area in which code executing has access to any of other memory and any underlying hardware. In at least one embodiment, kernel space 112 is a memory area in which a kernel runs. In at least one embodiment, a kernel refers to one or more computer programs that facilitate interactions between hardware and software components. In at least one embodiment, kernel space 112 refers to code that enables interaction with various hardware, such as hardware 118. In at least one embodiment, software of user space software 110 interact with hardware 118 through one or more processes of kernel space 112. In at least one embodiment, drivers 108, through kernel space 112, cause hardware 118 to perform various functions and/or processes ([0086]). This helps with the management of operations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AN-AN NGOC NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195