DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 1, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Title of the Invention
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosetti et al. US 20240089794 A1.
5. With regard to claim 1, Rosetti teaches:
A processor, comprising:
one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API) to cause one or more software programs indicated by the API to be allocated to one or more fifth generation (5G) distributed units (DUs) indicated by the API ([0001] Some radio access network (“RAN”) architectures may include a separation of radio equipment such as antennas, radio units (“RUs”), etc. that send and receive wireless signals, and baseband processing units (e.g., distributed units (“DUs”)) that convert wireless signals (e.g., analog waveforms) to digital data (e.g., bitstreams) or vice versa. The communication between RUs and DUs may be referred to as “fronthaul” communications; [0022] In maintaining such information, DFG 107 may be able to multiplex, de-multiplex, route, forward, etc. traffic (e.g., including providing timing information, sequencing information, synchronization information, etc. for such traffic) associated with respective cells between RUs 105 and the appropriate DU 103 for such traffic; [0029] For example, DFG 107 may communicate with DUs 103-1 and 103-2 via one or more APIs, protocols, interfaces (e.g., an enhanced or augmented version of an M-plane interface), etc. via which DFG 107 may indicate the reassignment. In this manner, DUs 103-1 and 103-2 may maintain up-to-date information regarding which respective RUs 105 are associated with DUs 103-1 and 103-2; [0034] As shown, process 1100 may include maintaining (at 1102) information associating respective sets of RUs 105 with one or more DUs 103. For example, as discussed above, DFG 107 may maintain data structure 201 or other suitable information associating one or more DUs 103 with one or more RUs 105 with which such DUs 103 are respectively associated. DFG 107 may receive such information directly from DUs 103, such as via one or more APIs or other suitable protocols associated with DFG 107. For example, DUs 103 may provide one or more configuration files or other suitable information maintained by DUs 103, indicating particular RUs 105 with which such DUs 103 are respectively associated; [0036] Process 1100 may additionally include determining (at 1106) that a particular RU 105 should be disassociated from a particular DU 103. For example, as discussed above, DFG 107 may receive load metrics associated with one or more DUs 103, either via direct communications with such DUs 103 and/or from some other source (e.g., a traffic monitoring system, a RAN controller, etc.). DFG 107 may determine that load metrics associated with the particular DU 103 exceed one or more thresholds. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may determine that the particular DU 103 is relatively more loaded than one or more other DUs 103. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may receive an instruction or other information from some other source, indicating that the particular RU 105 should be disassociated from the particular DU 103. Generally, disassociating the particular RU 105 from the particular DU 103 may reduce the load (e.g., the processing load, network throughput load, etc.) on the particular DU 103; [0038] In some embodiments, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 for disassociation, from a group of RUs 105 associated with the particular DU 103, based on a measure of load associated with the particular DU 103 and/or measures of load associated with the group of RUs 105. For example, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 based on the particular RU 105 having a measure of load that is closest to an overage of the measure of load of the particular DU 103 as compared to the threshold measure of load. In this manner, the particular DU 103 may maintain a relatively high measure of utilization (e.g., load being relatively close to the capacity of the particular DU 103), without exceeding a load threshold. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 based on the particular RU 105 having a highest measure of load of the group of RUs 105, having a lowest measure of load of the group of RUs 105, and/or in some other suitable manner or based on some other criteria; [0042] FIG. 12 illustrates an example environment 1200, in which one or more embodiments may be implemented. In some embodiments, environment 1200 may correspond to a Fifth Generation (“5G”) network, and/or may include elements of a 5G network; [0060] RU 105 may include hardware circuitry (e.g., one or more RF transceivers, antennas, radios, and/or other suitable hardware) to communicate wirelessly (e.g., via an RF interface) with one or more UEs 109, one or more other DUs 103 (e.g., via RUs 105 associated with DUs 103), and/or any other suitable type of device; [0072] The software instructions stored in memory 1530 may cause processor 1520 to perform processes described herein. Alternatively, hardwired circuitry may be used in place of or in combination with software instructions to implement processes described herein; Examiner’s Note: The API receives information regarding whether to associate a DU with an RU based on factors, such as load. The DFG (dynamic fronthaul gateway) is able to forward traffic to appropriate DUs based on API information. This is done in a 5G environment.).
6. With regard to claim 2, Rossetti teaches:
wherein to be allocated to one or more 5G DUs indicated by the API includes to cause one or more accelerators to perform one or more wireless signal processing operations based, at least in part, on information indicating how wireless signal processing operations are to be distributed between radio units (RUs) and the one or more DUs ([0020] For example, such APIs, protocol, interfaces, etc. may include or may implement one or more fronthaul links between DU 103 and DFG 107; [0036] Process 1100 may additionally include determining (at 1106) that a particular RU 105 should be disassociated from a particular DU 103. For example, as discussed above, DFG 107 may receive load metrics associated with one or more DUs 103, either via direct communications with such DUs 103 and/or from some other source (e.g., a traffic monitoring system, a RAN controller, etc.). DFG 107 may determine that load metrics associated with the particular DU 103 exceed one or more thresholds. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may determine that the particular DU 103 is relatively more loaded than one or more other DUs 103. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may receive an instruction or other information from some other source, indicating that the particular RU 105 should be disassociated from the particular DU 103. Generally, disassociating the particular RU 105 from the particular DU 103 may reduce the load (e.g., the processing load, network throughput load, etc.) on the particular DU 103; [0038] In some embodiments, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 for disassociation, from a group of RUs 105 associated with the particular DU 103, based on a measure of load associated with the particular DU 103 and/or measures of load associated with the group of RUs 105. For example, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 based on the particular RU 105 having a measure of load that is closest to an overage of the measure of load of the particular DU 103 as compared to the threshold measure of load. In this manner, the particular DU 103 may maintain a relatively high measure of utilization (e.g., load being relatively close to the capacity of the particular DU 103), without exceeding a load threshold. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 based on the particular RU 105 having a highest measure of load of the group of RUs 105, having a lowest measure of load of the group of RUs 105, and/or in some other suitable manner or based on some other criteria; [0042] FIG. 12 illustrates an example environment 1200, in which one or more embodiments may be implemented. In some embodiments, environment 1200 may correspond to a Fifth Generation (“5G”) network, and/or may include elements of a 5G network; Examiner’s Note: Operations are distributed between RUs and DUs. Load metrics are used to determine this. For example, an RU can be dissociated from a DU so that the DU maintains higher utilization, indicating the distribution of operations has changed between RU and DU.).
7. With regard to claim 3, Rossetti teaches:
wherein the one or more software programs indicated accelerate wireless signal processing operations based, at least in part, on an allocation of functions between the one or more 5G DUs and one or more 5G Rus ([0020] For example, such APIs, protocol, interfaces, etc. may include or may implement one or more fronthaul links between DU 103 and DFG 107; [0036] Process 1100 may additionally include determining (at 1106) that a particular RU 105 should be disassociated from a particular DU 103. For example, as discussed above, DFG 107 may receive load metrics associated with one or more DUs 103, either via direct communications with such DUs 103 and/or from some other source (e.g., a traffic monitoring system, a RAN controller, etc.). DFG 107 may determine that load metrics associated with the particular DU 103 exceed one or more thresholds. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may determine that the particular DU 103 is relatively more loaded than one or more other DUs 103. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may receive an instruction or other information from some other source, indicating that the particular RU 105 should be disassociated from the particular DU 103. Generally, disassociating the particular RU 105 from the particular DU 103 may reduce the load (e.g., the processing load, network throughput load, etc.) on the particular DU 103; [0038] In some embodiments, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 for disassociation, from a group of RUs 105 associated with the particular DU 103, based on a measure of load associated with the particular DU 103 and/or measures of load associated with the group of RUs 105. For example, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 based on the particular RU 105 having a measure of load that is closest to an overage of the measure of load of the particular DU 103 as compared to the threshold measure of load. In this manner, the particular DU 103 may maintain a relatively high measure of utilization (e.g., load being relatively close to the capacity of the particular DU 103), without exceeding a load threshold. Additionally, or alternatively, DFG 107 may select the particular RU 105 based on the particular RU 105 having a highest measure of load of the group of RUs 105, having a lowest measure of load of the group of RUs 105, and/or in some other suitable manner or based on some other criteria; [0042] FIG. 12 illustrates an example environment 1200, in which one or more embodiments may be implemented. In some embodiments, environment 1200 may correspond to a Fifth Generation (“5G”) network, and/or may include elements of a 5G network; Examiner’s Note: Operations are distributed between RUs and DUs. For example, an RU can be dissociated from a DU so that the DU maintains higher utilization, indicating the distribution of operations has changed between RU and DU. In this example, the allocation of functions has increased towards DUs.).
8. With regard to claim 4, Rossetti teaches:
wherein the one or more circuits are to use the API to cause one or more software programs to be allocated to one or more 5G RUs based, at least in part, on an indication by the API ([0020] In some embodiments, DFG 107 may receive some or all of the information maintained in data structure 201 from DUs 103. For example, DUs 103 may indicate a respective cell with which DUs 103 are associated, and/or may indicate one or more RUs 105 with which such DUs 103 are associated. For example, in some embodiments, DFG 107 and/or DUs 103 may implement one or more application programming interfaces (“APIs”), protocols, interfaces, etc. whereby DU 103 is able to send one or more messages to DFG 107, indicating such information; Examiner’s Note: The API has information regarding RU and DU association.).
9. Regarding claim 8, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
10. Regarding claim 9, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
11. Regarding claim 10, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
12. Regarding claim 11, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
13. Regarding claim 15, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
14. Regarding claim 16, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
15. Regarding claim 17, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
16. Regarding claim 18, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosetti et al. US 20240089794 A1, as applied in claim 1, in view of Guim Bernat et al. US 20210144517 A1.
18. With regard to claim 5, Rossetti teaches the processor of claim 1 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include one or more operations of a block of memory selected from a pool of memory.
However, in analogous art, Guim Bernat teaches:
wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include one or more operations of a block of memory selected from a pool of memory ([0090] By moving the computing and storage resources closer to the device producing or using the data, various latency, compliance, and/or monetary or resource cost constraints may be achievable relative to a standard networked (e.g., cloud computing) system. To do so, in some examples, pools of compute, memory, and/or storage resources may be located in, or otherwise equipped with, local servers, routers, and/or other network equipment. Such local resources facilitate the satisfying of constraints placed on the system. For example, the local compute and storage resources allow an edge system to perform computations in real-time or near real-time, which may be a consideration in low latency user-cases such as autonomous driving, video surveillance, and mobile media consumption. Additionally, these resources will benefit from service management in an edge system which provides the ability to scale and achieve local SLAs, manage tiered service requirements, and enable local features and functions on a temporary or permanent basis; [0096] As used herein, the term “base station” refers to a network element in a radio access network (RAN), such as a fourth-generation (4G) or fifth-generation (5G) mobile communications network which is responsible for the transmission and reception of radio signals in one or more cells to or from a user equipment (UE); [1175] In some aspects, the communication network 6702 can provide an application programming interface (API) 6742 to a developer or customer community 6740 for accessing and configuring applications and services within one or more of the edge clouds 6710-6714.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rossetti with the teachings of Guim Bernat wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include one or more operations of a block of memory selected from a pool of memory. Rosetti teaches of DUs that are communicatively coupled with RUs in a 5G network environment. Through an API, information regarding RU and DU association is obtained. It can be decided when to dissociate an RU from a DU, and determine allocation of operations. Similarly, Guim Bernat teaches of transmitting radio signals in a 5G network from one or more cells to a user equipment. This is done through an edge networking system. It would be beneficial to have a shared pool of memory in order to satisfy constraints placed on the system. Local compute and storage resources allow an edge system to perform computations in real-time or near real-time, which may be a consideration in low latency user-cases such as autonomous driving, video surveillance, and mobile media consumption. Additionally, these resources will benefit from service management in an edge system which provides the ability to scale and achieve local SLAs, manage tiered service requirements, and enable local features and functions on a temporary or permanent basis, as discussed in Guim Bernat ([0090]).
19. Regarding claim 12, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
20. Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosetti et al. US 20240089794 A1, as applied in claim 1, in view of Stockhammer et al. US 20230052505 A1.
21. With regard to claim 6, Rossetti teaches the processor of claim 1 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include a software program of a library selected based, at least in part, on an allocation of operations indicated by the API.
However, in analogous art, Stockhammer teaches:
wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include a software program of a library selected based, at least in part, on an allocation of operations indicated by the API ([0069] In some aspects, the 5MBS architecture may include a multicast-broadcast service (MBS)-4-multicast (MC) (MBS-4MC) interface for multicast traffic and an MBS-4-unicast (UC) (MBS-4-US) interface for unicast traffic. In this way, the 5MBS architecture allows for decomposition and independent implementation and deployment of a 5MBS client, an MBSTF multicast delivery service, and a 5MBS application server (AS) for unicast. Additionally, or alternatively, a service announcement message may include information identifying user services, NBS delivery sessions, network traffic flows, application service information (e.g., information identifying applications or libraries that a UE is to use to consume a service), or a context for data structures included in MBS delivery sessions, among other examples. In this way, a 5G MB user service enables provisioning and use of a 5MBS system by application providers via application programming interfaces (APIs) and other exposed interfaces. In some aspects, a 5G multimedia service (5GMS) may use the 5MBS architecture by interacting with the 5MBS architecture as an application, thereby enabling media transfer; [0088] The application service may be associated with one or more applications or libraries that are to be on UE 120 to enable UE 120 to use a service, such as a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) live streaming (HLS) application service indicating that the UE 120 is to have access to an HLS client. In this case, the application service indication may provide context to the UE 120 regarding one or more other data structures that are to be included in an MBS delivery session, as described below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rossetti with the teachings of Stockhammer wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include a software program of a library selected based, at least in part, on an allocation of operations indicated by the API. Rosetti teaches of DUs that are communicatively coupled with RUs in a 5G network environment. Through an API, information regarding RU and DU association is obtained. It can be decided when to dissociate an RU from a DU, and determine allocation of operations. Similarly, Stockhammer teaches of provisioning the use of a 5MBS (5G multicast-broadcast system) by application providers using APIs. It would be beneficial to select a software program of a library based on allocation of operations. This is because the application service may be associated with one or more applications or libraries that are to be on UE 120 to enable UE 120 to use a service, as discussed in Stockhammer ([0088]).
22. Regarding claim 13, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
23. Regarding claim 20, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
24. Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosetti et al. US 20240089794 A1, as applied in claim 1, in view of Pendyala et al. US 20240223462 A1.
25. With regard to claim 7, Rossetti teaches the processor of claim 1 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include operations of a pool of memory selectively switched on based, at least in part, on an allocation to the one or more 5G DUs.
However, in analogous art, Pendyala teaches:
wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include operations of a pool of memory selectively switched on based, at least in part, on an allocation to the one or more 5G DUs ([0006] The principal object of the embodiments herein is to provide a method and a new radio distributed unit (NRDU) data path simulation server for testing data throughput capacity in 5G communication network; [0050] The NRDU data path simulation server (100) simulates DU, RU and UE traffic for multi-Gbps traffic with socket API; [0057] The memory (120) of the NRDU data path simulation server (100) comprises multiple memory pools. Each memory pool is mapped to a corresponding entity of the plurality of entities of the NRDU data path simulation server (100). The memory pool is dynamically mapped to an entity and the data in the memory pool of the entity keeps changing. The data in the memory pool is changing and the memory pool does not get deleted.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rossetti with the teachings of Pendyala wherein the one or more software programs indicated by the API include operations of a pool of memory selectively switched on based, at least in part, on an allocation to the one or more 5G DUs. Rosetti teaches of DUs that are communicatively coupled with RUs in a 5G network environment. Through an API, information regarding RU and DU association is obtained. It can be decided when to dissociate an RU from a DU, and determine allocation of operations. Similarly, Pendyala teaches of NRDU (new radio distributed unit) data paths in a 5G communication network. Moreover, Pendyala also teaches of pool-based memory allocations. These pools contribute to optimization because the memory pool is attached to the worker/entity (i.e., the individual simulated DUs). The memory blocks or chunks will not return back to the memory pool unless the entire operation is terminated or stopped. Therefore, the allocated memory will keep on being reused by that specific simulated DU. The reuse of the memory (120) again and again per worker thread ensures the optimal usage of the cache. The memory (120) which is frequently used is always inside the cache, as discussed in Pendyala ([0063]).
26. Regarding claim 14, it is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
27. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosetti et al. US 20240089794 A1, as applied in claim 1, in view of Kundu et al. US 20210390004 A1.
28. With regard to claim 19, Rossetti teaches the method of claim 15 but fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more software programs include one or more libraries, the method further comprises: loading the one or more libraries to a memory location that is accessible to one or more accelerators used to perform one or more 5G signal processing operations, wherein the one or more 5G DUs are to set up kernels to perform the one or more 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the one or more libraries.
However, in analogous art, Kundu teaches:
wherein the one or more software programs include one or more libraries, the method further comprises:
loading the one or more libraries to a memory location that is accessible to one or more accelerators used to perform one or more 5G signal processing operations, wherein the one or more 5G DUs are to set up kernels to perform the one or more 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the one or more libraries ([0072] In at least one embodiment, a 5.sup.th Generation (5G) cellular network architecture is organized into a plurality of layers comprising a data link layer (also referred to as layer 2) and a physical layer (also referred to as layer 1). In at least one embodiment, layer 2 and layer 1 are in accordance with an Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) model as described in greater detail below. In at least one embodiment, a physical layer processes workloads in connection with data and/or application programming interface (API) commands from a data link layer; [0077] FIG. 1 illustrates a diagram 100 of an acceleration abstraction layer (AAL) interface, according to at least one embodiment. In at least one embodiment, an AAL interface is also referred to as an AAL, AAL API, AALI and/or variations thereof. In at least one embodiment, layer 2+ application software 102, through layer 2 to layer 1 interface 104, utilizes acceleration abstraction layer interface 106 to perform various functions, which are processed by drivers 108 through kernel space 112 to cause hardware 118 to perform one or more functions; [0080] In at least one embodiment, user space is a memory area where various application software and drivers execute. In at least one embodiment, user space, also referred to as userland, comprises various software programs, interfaces, and libraries that enable interaction with a kernel; [0531] In at least one embodiment, a host processor executes a driver kernel that implements an application programming interface (“API”) that enables one or more applications executing on host processor to schedule operations for execution on PPU 4000. In at least one embodiment, multiple compute applications are simultaneously executed by PPU 4000 and PPU 4000 provides isolation, quality of service (“QoS”), and independent address spaces for multiple compute applications. In at least one embodiment, an application generates instructions (e.g., in form of API calls) that cause driver kernel to generate one or more tasks for execution by PPU 4000 and driver kernel outputs tasks to one or more streams being processed by PPU 4000. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rossetti with the teachings of Kundu wherein the one or more software programs include one or more libraries, the method further comprises: loading the one or more libraries to a memory location that is accessible to one or more accelerators used to perform one or more 5G signal processing operations, wherein the one or more 5G DUs are to set up kernels to perform the one or more 5G signal processing operations based, at least in part, on the one or more libraries. Rosetti teaches of DUs that are communicatively coupled with RUs in a 5G network environment. Through an API, information regarding RU and DU association is obtained. It can be decided when to dissociate an RU from a DU, and determine allocation of operations. Similarly, Kundu teaches of using an API to perform 5G new radio operations on one or more hardware accelerators through an API call (Abstract). According to Kundu, kernel space 112 refers to a memory area in which code executing has access to any of other memory and any underlying hardware. In at least one embodiment, kernel space 112 is a memory area in which a kernel runs. In at least one embodiment, a kernel refers to one or more computer programs that facilitate interactions between hardware and software components. In at least one embodiment, kernel space 112 refers to code that enables interaction with various hardware, such as hardware 118. In at least one embodiment, software of user space software 110 interact with hardware 118 through one or more processes of kernel space 112. In at least one embodiment, drivers 108, through kernel space 112, cause hardware 118 to perform various functions and/or processes ([0086]). This helps with the management of operations.
Conclusion
/AN-AN NGOC NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195