DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species A in the reply filed on 10/13/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all the species comprise substantially overlapping subject matter. This is not found persuasive because this is not the standard for determining whether a serious search or examination burden exists, nor does it demonstrate in any way that the species at issue are not independent or not distinct. In this case, the different embodiments are clearly described as being used in place of the other, i.e. they are mutually exclusive. Further, a serious search and examination burden exists because the different embodiments require entirely distinct components which would each require their own distinct searches and fields of search. If applicant maintains the opinion that the species are substantially overlapping and should be examined together, then the applicant is encouraged to admit that the various species are obvious variants of each other so that the species can be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an optical source in claim 1. Interpreted to correspond to a laser.
a peak-field booster (PFB) unit in claim 1. Interpreted to correspond to a fiber and a pair of chirped mirrors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Wei, et al. "Broadband and high-sensitivity time-resolved THz system with grating assisted noncollinear phase-matching." 2020 45th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz). IEEE, 2020 [hereinafter Cui] in view of Wilk, R., et al. "Terahertz generation with 1064 nm DFB laser diode." Electronics letters 43.2 (2007): 108-110 [Wilk]
Regarding Claim 1:
Cui teaches a THz system (abstract) comprising,
a generator having an optical source (NIR optical source delivering pulses at 1035 nm) followed by a peak-field booster (PFB) unit (Experiment section – “These pulses are launched into an argon-filled hollow-core photonic crystal fiber, where self-phase modulation broadens the NIR spectrum to 8.7 THz. A pair of chirped mirrors is then used to compensate for the dispersion to compress the pulse to a ~60 fs duration”) and a first periodically patterned nonlinear crystal (Fig. 1-Generation); and
a detector having a second periodically patterned nonlinear crystal (Fig. 1-Detection).
However, Cui fails to teach that the optical source is a laser.
Wilk teaches using a 1064 nm laser to generate Thz radiation. Laser source Section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the laser of Wilk as the optical source of Cui, since Wilk demonstrates that such a wavelength of laser is effective in Thz radiation generating scheme, and since its wavelength is very close to that of Cui.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the optical source is an ultrafast NIR laser. Cui – “These pulses are launched into an argon-filled hollow-core photonic crystal fiber, where self-phase modulation broadens the NIR spectrum to 8.7 THz. A pair of chirped mirrors is then used to compensate for the dispersion to compress the pulse to a ~60 fs duration”).
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the first periodically patterned nonlinear crystal is a GaP crystal. Cui – “THz is generated in a GaP crystal by optical rectification and detected inside an identical crystal by electro-optic sampling,” Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 3 wherein the second periodically patterned nonlinear crystal is a GaP crystal. Cui – “THz is generated in a GaP crystal by optical rectification and detected inside an identical crystal by electro-optic sampling,” Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 5:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the optical source is centered at a wavelength of 1064 nm. Wilk teaches using a 1064 nm laser to generate Thz radiation. Laser source Section.
Regarding Claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the PFB is a fiber and a pair of chirped mirrors. Cui Experiment section – “These pulses are launched into an argon-filled hollow-core photonic crystal fiber, where self-phase modulation broadens the NIR spectrum to 8.7 THz. A pair of chirped mirrors is then used to compensate for the dispersion to compress the pulse to a ~60 fs duration.”
Regarding Claim 11:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the detector comprises a delay stage, a quarter-wave plate (QWP), a Wollaston prism (WP), and balanced photodetectors (BPD). Cui Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 12:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the second periodically patterned nonlinear crystal is a GaP crystal. Cui – Fig. 1.
Claim 1 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpin, Alexei, et al. "Enhanced THz detection efficiency via grating-assisted noncollinear electro-optic sampling." 2019 44th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz). IEEE, 2019 [hereinafter Halpin] in view of Cui, Wei, et al. "Broadband and high-sensitivity time-resolved THz system with grating assisted noncollinear phase-matching." 2020 45th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz). IEEE, 2020 [hereinafter Cui]
Regarding Claim 1:
Halpin teaches a THz system (abstract) comprising,
a generator having an optical source (Fig. 1 -NIR Laser delivering 180 fs pulses at 1035 nm) followed by a peak-field booster (PFB) unit (Fig. 1 – HC PCF is a fiber, chirped mirror compressor is a pair of chirped mirrors, thus the teaching corresponds to the 112(f) limitation) and
a first periodically patterned nonlinear crystal (Fig. 1-GaP, as described at 031003-2 “phase grating at the surface of a nonlinear semiconductor to achieve enhanced THz detection by EOS. The surface grating can be used to arbitrarily tilt the wave vector of the NIR gating pulse inside the crystal, thereby customizing the phase-matching conditions. Our grating-assisted noncollinear geometry relies on a standard EOS configuration, with both NIR and THz pulses normally incident on the EOS crystal.”); and
a detector (Fig. 1-BPD).
However, Halpin fails to teach that the detector has a second periodically patterned nonlinear crystal
Cui teaches using THz generation and Detection crystal with periodically modulated surfaces to optimize phase matching conditions. Fig. 1 and description thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the GaP detection crystal of Halpin with the periodically patterned GaP detection crystal of Cui, since Cui teaches that such a modification results in high signal amplitudes over a large spectral bandwidth. Cui – Summary section.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpin, Alexei, et al. "Enhanced THz detection efficiency via grating-assisted noncollinear electro-optic sampling." 2019 44th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz). IEEE, 2019 [hereinafter Halpin] in view of Cui, Wei, et al. "Broadband and high-sensitivity time-resolved THz system with grating assisted noncollinear phase-matching." 2020 45th International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz). IEEE, 2020 [hereinafter Cui] as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kilcullen, Patrick, et al. "Terahertz time domain gas-phase spectroscopy of carbon monoxide." Journal of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves 36.4 (2015): 380-389 [hereinafter Kilcullen].
Regarding Claim 9:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach that it further comprises a purge box enclosing the first periodically patterned nonlinear crystal; and the second periodically patterned nonlinear crystal.
Kilcullen teaches placing an entire THz-TDS system in a box which is purged with dry nitrogen gas in order to mitigate THz absorption by atmospheric water vapor. Experimental Setup first paragraph. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to place the entire modified invention of Halpin in view of Cui, to include it patterned crystal, in a purge box as described by Kilculler. One would have been motivated to do so in order to mitigate THz absorption by atmospheric water vapor.
Regarding Claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the purge box further comprises a Germanium (Ge) wafer following the first periodically patterned nonlinear crystal. Note Ge wafer downstream of patterned GaP crystal in Halpin.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881