DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,218,805. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in the application are broader than those in the allowed application 11,218,805.
SN 18/220,624
SN 16/671,991 Patent 11,218,805
2. A computer-implemented method comprising: measuring, by at least one computer processor, a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker; predicting an excursion of the speaker; dynamically selecting a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; based on the measured SPL and the selected cutoff frequency,, determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker, wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content, a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component; and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme.
1. A method comprising: measuring a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker or a voltage level applied to the speaker; dynamically selecting, based on the measured SPL or the measured voltage level, a cutoff frequency for operating a first filter configured to provide a first bass component of a bass element of an output signal and a second filter configured to provide a second bass component of the bass element; providing the cutoff frequency to the first filter to configure the first filter to generate the first bass component based on the cutoff frequency; providing the cutoff frequency to the second filter to configure the second filter to generate the second bass component based on the cutoff frequency; and generating an output signal based on at least one of the first or second bass components, wherein: when the measured SPL is below a first threshold level, generating the output signal comprises generating the output signal based on the first bass component without the second bass component; when the measured SPL is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level, generating the output signal comprises generating the output signal based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component; and when the measured SPL is above the second threshold level, generating the output signal comprises generating the output signal based on the second bass component without the first bass component.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,218,805. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in the application are broader than those in the allowed application 11,218,805.
SN 18/220,624
SN 16/671,991 Patent 11,218,805
9. A system, comprising: one or more memories; and at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories and configured to perform operations comprising: measuring a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker; predicting an excursion of the speaker; dynamically selecting a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; based on the measured SPL and the selected cutoff frequency, determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker, wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content, a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component; and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme.
7. A device comprising: a first circuit comprising: an excursion predictor configured to predict an excursion of a speaker based on a measured sound pressure level (SPL) of the speaker or a measured voltage level applied to the speaker; a cutoff frequency selector configured to dynamically select a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; and a first filter configured to operate based on the cutoff frequency, wherein the first circuit is configured to provide a first bass component of a bass element of an output signal; a second circuit comprising: a second filter configured to operate based on the cutoff frequency; and a non-linear processing unit configured to generate harmonics of an input signal, wherein the second circuit is configured to provide a second bass component of the bass element; and a mixer configured to generate the output signal based on at least one of the first or second bass components, wherein the mixer is configured to: generate the output signal based on the first bass component without the second bass component when the measured SPL is below a first threshold level; generate the output signal based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component when the measured SPL is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and generate the output signal based on the second bass component without the first bass component when the measured SPL is above the second threshold level.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,218,805. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in the application are broader than those in the allowed application 11,218,805.
SN 18/220,624
SN 16/671,991 Patent 11,218,805
16. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: measuring a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker applied to the speaker; predicting an excursion of the speaker; dynamically selecting a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; based on the measured SPL and the selected cutoff frequency, determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker, wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content, a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component; and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme.
13. A non-transitory, tangible computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: measuring a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker or a voltage level applied to the speaker; dynamically selecting, based on the measured SPL or the measured voltage level, a cutoff frequency for operating a first filter configured to provide a first bass component of a bass element of an output signal and a second filter configured to provide a second bass component of the bass element; providing the cutoff frequency to the first filter to configure the first filter to generate the first bass component based on the cutoff frequency; providing the cutoff frequency to the second filter to configure the second filter to generate the second bass component based on the cutoff frequency; and generating an output signal based on at least one of the first or second bass components, wherein: when the measured SPL is below a first threshold level, generating the output signal comprises generating the output signal based on the first bass component without the second bass component; when the measured SPL is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level, generating the output signal comprises generating the output signal based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component; and when the measured SPL is above the second threshold level, generating the output signal comprises generating the output signal based on the second bass component without the first bass component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1 recited claim language “generating schemes…..”. Applicant agreed with the dictionary definition of a scheme as a large-scale systematic plan or arrangement for attaining particular object or putting a particular idea into effect. Examiner will interpret the subject matter as such.
Claim 3-21 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2012/0179456) in view of Slupeiks et al. (US 2014/0369512) further in view of Port et al. (US 2021/0265966).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: measuring, by at least one computer processor, a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker; predicting an excursion of the speaker; dynamically selecting a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; based on the measured SPL and the selected cutoff frequency (see fig. 1, 6, abstract, ¶ 0027-0030, 0035, 0047, 0052, 0055-0058. Receiving an input audio signal at the device and predicting an excursion of a loudspeaker of the device, performing signal processing on the input audio signal to limit the excursion of the loudspeaker using the input audio signal and the predicted excursion and outputting the signal processed input audio signal to the loudspeaker. A peak excursion is predicted (e.g., estimated) using the input signal and an excursion transfer function, the signal is then modified to limit the excursion and to maximize loudness. This system provides audio calculation based on input signals wherein the sound pressure of the audio signal being applied to the speaker is modified in order to limit a frequency (audio signal) to the speaker. This will be the cutoff frequency of the predicted excursion based on the input audio signal being obtained. This will be altered over time (dynamically) for captured input audio signal in order to limit the predicted excursion the speaker.).
Ryu does not disclose determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker; wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content, a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component; and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme.
Slupeiks teaches determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0038. If an unobstructed acoustic port, a speaker generating an 80 dB audio signal one meter from the apparatus will result in an audio signal having a first determined energy level and first sound pressure energy level within the housing or acoustic chamber. If the acoustic port is obstructed, a second sound pressure energy level will be determined, the second sound pressure level being greater than the first. An obstruction may be determined by detecting this increase. The increase is the function of the energy of the audio signal provided to the speaker and may be of an order of a 20 dB increase in expected acoustic pressure energy relative to an unobstructed audio port. In other implementations, the value of 20 dB may be increased or decreased. The scheme as interpreted by the dictionary, the system is arranged in order to attain a specific effect or modify a signal for a specific effect.).
The combination of Slupeiks to Ryu provides the output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Slupeiks to incorporate generating a scheme an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Port teaches wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content (see fig. 2, ¶ 0015-0017, 0057. The bass enhancement for the audio content. Audio signal to generate banded input audio indicative of the audio content of the input audio signal, such that the banded input audio includes a sequence of frequency components for each different frequency band of a set of frequency bands. There is an audio channel however there is no second derived audio content.), a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component (see fig. 3-4, ¶ 0080-0081, 0125-0129, 0141. The first and second outputs are provided to a mixer 211 and 210 for mixing the first and second signals for output with bass enhancements of the channels.); and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme (see ¶ 0121, 0138. The signal is then output by the limiter with bass performance enhancement).
The combination of Port to Ryu and Slupeiks provide the bass enhancement (scheme) being a modification of the signal for enhanced output of the audio signal content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Slupeiks to incorporate a scheme bass enhancement for an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Regarding claim 9, Ryu a system, comprising: one or more memories; and at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories and configured to perform operations comprising: measuring a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker; predicting an excursion of the speaker; dynamically selecting a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; based on the measured SPL and the selected cutoff frequency, (see fig. 1, 6, abstract, ¶ 0027-0030, 0035, 0047, 0052, 0055-0058. Receiving an input audio signal at the device and predicting an excursion of a loudspeaker of the device, performing signal processing on the input audio signal to limit the excursion of the loudspeaker using the input audio signal and the predicted excursion and outputting the signal processed input audio signal to the loudspeaker. A peak excursion is predicted (e.g., estimated) using the input signal and an excursion transfer function, the signal is then modified to limit the excursion and to maximize loudness. This system provides audio calculation based on input signals wherein the sound pressure of the audio signal being applied to the speaker is modified in order to limit a frequency (audio signal) to the speaker. This will be the cutoff frequency of the predicted excursion based on the input audio signal being obtained. This will be altered over time (dynamically) for captured input audio signal in order to limit the predicted excursion the speaker.).
Ryu does not disclose determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker; wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content, a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component; and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme.
Slupeiks teaches determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0038. If an unobstructed acoustic port, a speaker generating an 80 dB audio signal one meter from the apparatus will result in an audio signal having a first determined energy level and first sound pressure energy level within the housing or acoustic chamber. If the acoustic port is obstructed, a second sound pressure energy level will be determined, the second sound pressure level being greater than the first. An obstruction may be determined by detecting this increase. The increase is the function of the energy of the audio signal provided to the speaker and may be of an order of a 20 dB increase in expected acoustic pressure energy relative to an unobstructed audio port. In other implementations, the value of 20 dB may be increased or decreased. The scheme as interpreted by the dictionary, the system is arranged in order to attain a specific effect or modify a signal for a specific effect.).
The combination of Slupeiks to Ryu provides the output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Slupeiks to incorporate generating a scheme an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Port teaches wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content (see fig. 2, ¶ 0015-0017, 0057. The bass enhancement for the audio content. Audio signal to generate banded input audio indicative of the audio content of the input audio signal, such that the banded input audio includes a sequence of frequency components for each different frequency band of a set of frequency bands. There is an audio channel however there is no second derived audio content.), a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component (see fig. 3-4, ¶ 0080-0081, 0125-0129, 0141. The first and second outputs are provided to a mixer 211 and 210 for mixing the first and second signals for output with bass enhancements of the channels.); and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme (see ¶ 0121, 0138. The signal is then output by the limiter with bass performance enhancement).
The combination of Port to Ryu and Slupeiks provide the bass enhancement (scheme) being a modification of the signal for enhanced output of the audio signal content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Slupeiks to incorporate a scheme bass enhancement for an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Regarding claim 16, Ryu a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising: measuring a sound pressure level (SPL) of a speaker applied to the speaker; predicting an excursion of the speaker; dynamically selecting a cutoff frequency based on the predicted excursion; based on the measured SPL and the selected cutoff frequency (see fig. 1, 6, abstract, ¶ 0027-0030, 0035, 0047, 0052, 0055-0058. Receiving an input audio signal at the device and predicting an excursion of a loudspeaker of the device, performing signal processing on the input audio signal to limit the excursion of the loudspeaker using the input audio signal and the predicted excursion and outputting the signal processed input audio signal to the loudspeaker. A peak excursion is predicted (e.g., estimated) using the input signal and an excursion transfer function, the signal is then modified to limit the excursion and to maximize loudness. This system provides audio calculation based on input signals wherein the sound pressure of the audio signal being applied to the speaker is modified in order to limit a frequency (audio signal) to the speaker. This will be the cutoff frequency of the predicted excursion based on the input audio signal being obtained. This will be altered over time (dynamically) for captured input audio signal in order to limit the predicted excursion the speaker.).
Ryu does not disclose determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker; wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content, a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component; and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme.
Slupeiks teaches determining an output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0038. If an unobstructed acoustic port, a speaker generating an 80 dB audio signal one meter from the apparatus will result in an audio signal having a first determined energy level and first sound pressure energy level within the housing or acoustic chamber. If the acoustic port is obstructed, a second sound pressure energy level will be determined, the second sound pressure level being greater than the first. An obstruction may be determined by detecting this increase. The increase is the function of the energy of the audio signal provided to the speaker and may be of an order of a 20 dB increase in expected acoustic pressure energy relative to an unobstructed audio port. In other implementations, the value of 20 dB may be increased or decreased. The scheme as interpreted by the dictionary, the system is arranged in order to attain a specific effect or modify a signal for a specific effect.).
The combination of Slupeiks to Ryu provides the output signal generating scheme from a plurality of output signal generating schemes for generating an output signal of the speaker.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Slupeiks to incorporate generating a scheme an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Port teaches wherein the plurality of output signal generating schemes comprises: a first output signal generating scheme configured to generate a bass element of the output signal of the speaker based on a first bass component derived from media content provided to the speaker without a second bass component derived from the media content (see fig. 2, ¶ 0015-0017, 0057. The bass enhancement for the audio content. Audio signal to generate banded input audio indicative of the audio content of the input audio signal, such that the banded input audio includes a sequence of frequency components for each different frequency band of a set of frequency bands. There is an audio channel however there is no second derived audio content.), a second output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on a combination of the first bass component and the second bass component, and a third output signal generating scheme configured to generate the bass element based on the second bass component without the first bass component (see fig. 3-4, ¶ 0080-0081, 0125-0129, 0141. The first and second outputs are provided to a mixer 211 and 210 for mixing the first and second signals for output with bass enhancements of the channels.); and generating the output signal based on the determined output signal generating scheme (see ¶ 0121, 0138. The signal is then output by the limiter with bass performance enhancement).
The combination of Port to Ryu and Slupeiks provide the bass enhancement (scheme) being a modification of the signal for enhanced output of the audio signal content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Slupeiks to incorporate a scheme bass enhancement for an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
6. Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2012/0179456) in view of Slupeiks et al. (US 2014/0369512) further in view of Port et al. (US 2021/0265966) in further view of Forrester et al. (US 2015/0195631).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that one of the SPL level or the voltage level is below a first threshold level; and in response to determining that one of the SPL level or the voltage level is below the first threshold level, determining the first output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Forrester teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is below a first threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is below the first threshold level, determining the first output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see ¶ 0097-0098. An speaker output signal is below a threshold sound pressure level the system will boost the generated sound pressure level to are above the minimum threshold but still below the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker when a signal being detected is below a threshold level and applying adjustments to the signal. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 4, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and in response to determining that one of the SPL level is between the first threshold level and the second threshold level, determining the second output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Forrester teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and in response to determining that one of the SPL level is between the first threshold level and the second threshold level, determining the second output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see fig. 10, ¶ 0092, 0097-0098. An speaker output signal is below a threshold sound pressure level the system will boost the generated sound pressure level to are above the minimum threshold but still below the threshold. The output parameters of speaker can be adjusted to boost some characteristics of the output signal to adjust for this presumed level of sound loss. It will be appreciated that these signals would have values that are below the first threshold. Two subordinate areas are noted by regions 1006b and 1006c. In region 1006b, received signals from microphone have values that are less than the first threshold, but exceed a second threshold. Additional subordinate areas may be provided. In region 1006c, received signals from microphone have values that are less than the second threshold, but exceed a third threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker when a signal being detected is below a threshold level and applying adjustments to the signal. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 10, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the system of claim 9, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is below a first threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is below the first threshold level, determining the first output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Forrester teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is below a first threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is below the first threshold level, determining the first output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see ¶ 0097-0098. An speaker output signal is below a threshold sound pressure level the system will boost the generated sound pressure level to are above the minimum threshold but still below the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker when a signal being detected is below a threshold level and applying adjustments to the signal. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 11, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the system of claim 9, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and the second threshold level, determining the second output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Forrester teaches determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and the second threshold level, determining the second output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see fig. 10, ¶ 0092, 0097-0098. An speaker output signal is below a threshold sound pressure level the system will boost the generated sound pressure level to are above the minimum threshold but still below the threshold. The output parameters of speaker can be adjusted to boost some characteristics of the output signal to adjust for this presumed level of sound loss. It will be appreciated that these signals would have values that are below the first threshold. Two subordinate areas are noted by regions 1006b and 1006c. In region 1006b, received signals from microphone have values that are less than the first threshold, but exceed a second threshold. Additional subordinate areas may be provided. In region 1006c, received signals from microphone have values that are less than the second threshold, but exceed a third threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker when a signal being detected is below a threshold level and applying adjustments to the signal. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 17, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is below a first threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is below the first threshold level, determining the first output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Forrester teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is below a first threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is below the first threshold level, determining the first output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see ¶ 0097-0098. An speaker output signal is below a threshold sound pressure level the system will boost the generated sound pressure level to are above the minimum threshold but still below the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker when a signal being detected is below a threshold level and applying adjustments to the signal. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 18, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and the second threshold level, determining the second output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Forrester teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and a second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is between the first threshold level and the second threshold level, determining the second output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see fig. 10, ¶ 0092, 0097-0098. An speaker output signal is below a threshold sound pressure level the system will boost the generated sound pressure level to are above the minimum threshold but still below the threshold. The output parameters of speaker can be adjusted to boost some characteristics of the output signal to adjust for this presumed level of sound loss. It will be appreciated that these signals would have values that are below the first threshold. Two subordinate areas are noted by regions 1006b and 1006c. In region 1006b, received signals from microphone have values that are less than the first threshold, but exceed a second threshold. Additional subordinate areas may be provided. In region 1006c, received signals from microphone have values that are less than the second threshold, but exceed a third threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker when a signal being detected is below a threshold level and applying adjustments to the signal. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
7. Claim(s) 5, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2012/0179456) in view of Slupeiks et al. (US 2014/0369512) further in view of Port et al. (US 2021/0265966) in further view of Yang et al. (US 10,080,088).
Regarding claim 5, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level, determining the third output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Yang teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level, determining the third output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see claim 5. Determining first filter coefficients for the loudspeaker array, the first filter coefficients configured to generate a first sound pressure value that is above a first threshold value, the first sound pressure value being associated with the first region; determining second filter coefficients for the loudspeaker array, the second filter coefficients configured to determine that a ratio of the first sound pressure value, squared, and a second sound pressure value, squared, is greater than a second threshold value, the second sound pressure value associated with a second region but separate from the first region; generating third filter coefficients based on the first filter coefficients and the second filter coefficients; generating output audio data based on the third filter coefficients; and causing first audio corresponding to the output audio data to be output by at least one speaker of the loudspeaker array.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker in where the limits are placed on a signal output for the speaker. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 12, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the system of claim 9, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that one of the SPL level is above the second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level, determining the third output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Yang teaches determining that one of the SPL level is above the second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level, determining the third output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see claim 5. Determining first filter coefficients for the loudspeaker array, the first filter coefficients configured to generate a first sound pressure value that is above a first threshold value, the first sound pressure value being associated with the first region; determining second filter coefficients for the loudspeaker array, the second filter coefficients configured to determine that a ratio of the first sound pressure value, squared, and a second sound pressure value, squared, is greater than a second threshold value, the second sound pressure value associated with a second region but separate from the first region; generating third filter coefficients based on the first filter coefficients and the second filter coefficients; generating output audio data based on the third filter coefficients; and causing first audio corresponding to the output audio data to be output by at least one speaker of the loudspeaker array.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker in where the limits are placed on a signal output for the speaker. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
Regarding claim 19, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level, determining the third output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal.
Yang teaches wherein determining the output signal generating scheme comprises: determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level; and in response to determining that the SPL level is above the second threshold level, determining the third output signal generating scheme for generating the output signal (see claim 5. Determining first filter coefficients for the loudspeaker array, the first filter coefficients configured to generate a first sound pressure value that is above a first threshold value, the first sound pressure value being associated with the first region; determining second filter coefficients for the loudspeaker array, the second filter coefficients configured to determine that a ratio of the first sound pressure value, squared, and a second sound pressure value, squared, is greater than a second threshold value, the second sound pressure value associated with a second region but separate from the first region; generating third filter coefficients based on the first filter coefficients and the second filter coefficients; generating output audio data based on the third filter coefficients; and causing first audio corresponding to the output audio data to be output by at least one speaker of the loudspeaker array.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate sound pressure level limit on the speaker in where the limits are placed on a signal output for the speaker. The modification provides for signal modification in order to place a pressure level for the speaker output.
8. Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2012/0179456) in view of Slupeiks et al. (US 2014/0369512) further in view of Port et al. (US 2021/0265966).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu and Slupeiks do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the first bass component is a fundamental frequency derived from the media content and the second bass component is a harmonic frequency derived from the media content.
Port teaches wherein the first bass component is a fundamental frequency derived from the media content and the second bass component is a harmonic frequency derived from the media content (see fig. 4, ¶ 0013, 0103-0106. Algorithms generate audible harmonics from an inaudible bass range (e.g., a bass range that is inaudible when the signal is rendered by small loudspeakers), so that the generated harmonics improve the perceived bass response. The enhancement for the audio content. Audio signal to generate banded input audio indicative of the audio content of the input audio signal, such that the banded input audio includes a sequence of frequency components for each different frequency band of a set of frequency bands.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Slupeiks to incorporate a scheme bass enhancement for an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Regarding claim 13, Ryu and Slupeiks do not teach the system of claim 9, wherein the first bass component is a fundamental frequency derived from the media content and the second bass component is a harmonic frequency derived from the media content.
Port teaches wherein the first bass component is a fundamental frequency derived from the media content and the second bass component is a harmonic frequency derived from the media content (see fig. 4, ¶ 0013, 0103-0106. Algorithms generate audible harmonics from an inaudible bass range (e.g., a bass range that is inaudible when the signal is rendered by small loudspeakers), so that the generated harmonics improve the perceived bass response. The enhancement for the audio content. Audio signal to generate banded input audio indicative of the audio content of the input audio signal, such that the banded input audio includes a sequence of frequency components for each different frequency band of a set of frequency bands.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Slupeiks to incorporate a scheme bass enhancement for an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
Regarding claim 20, Ryu and Slupeiks do not teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the first bass component is a fundamental frequency derived from the media content and the second bass component is a harmonic frequency derived from the media content.
Port teaches wherein the first bass component is a fundamental frequency derived from the media content and the second bass component is a harmonic frequency derived from the media content (see fig. 4, ¶ 0013, 0103-0106. Algorithms generate audible harmonics from an inaudible bass range (e.g., a bass range that is inaudible when the signal is rendered by small loudspeakers), so that the generated harmonics improve the perceived bass response. The enhancement for the audio content. Audio signal to generate banded input audio indicative of the audio content of the input audio signal, such that the banded input audio includes a sequence of frequency components for each different frequency band of a set of frequency bands.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Slupeiks to incorporate a scheme bass enhancement for an audio content signal. The modification provides for signal modification for signal enhancement.
9. Claim(s) 7, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2012/0179456) in view of Slupeiks et al. (US 2014/0369512) further in view of Port et al. (US 2021/0265966) in further view of Heubi (US 2017/0077938).
Regarding claim 7, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: controlling, based on the cutoff frequency, a dynamic low pass filter and a dynamic high pass flier to generate the output signal.
Heubi teaches controlling, based on the cutoff frequency, a dynamic low pass filter and a dynamic high pass flier to generate the output signal (see fig. 5, ¶ 0031. The system having two filters low pass and high pass. The system operates by providing the signal to the filters in which the filter will dynamically adu7stale cutoff frequency that is controlled by the feedback logic. The signal amplitude is flat in the portion of the audio band above the low-pass filter cutoff frequency, and the amplitude rises sharply in frequencies above the audio band due to noise. Frequencies at the lowest frequencies represents low-frequency noise added by prior low-prior filtering, and it is subsequently removed by the high-pass filter. After the system provides the filtering of the input signal, the system provides attenuated signal to the output to the speaker.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate cutoff frequency ranges for the each filter. The modification provides audio attenuation based on the filtering of the audio signal in frequency range for the speaker. This would provide protection for the speaker and limit distortion to the signal.
Regarding claim 14, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the system of claim 9, the operations further comprising: controlling, based on the cutoff frequency, a dynamic low pass filter and a dynamic high pass flier to generate the output signal.
Heubi teaches controlling, based on the cutoff frequency, a dynamic low pass filter and a dynamic high pass flier to generate the output signal (see fig. 5, ¶ 0031. The system having two filters low pass and high pass. The system operates by providing the signal to the filters in which the filter will dynamically adu7stale cutoff frequency that is controlled by the feedback logic. The signal amplitude is flat in the portion of the audio band above the low-pass filter cutoff frequency, and the amplitude rises sharply in frequencies above the audio band due to noise. Frequencies at the lowest frequencies represents low-frequency noise added by prior low-prior filtering, and it is subsequently removed by the high-pass filter. After the system provides the filtering of the input signal, the system provides attenuated signal to the output to the speaker.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate cutoff frequency ranges for the each filter. The modification provides audio attenuation based on the filtering of the audio signal in frequency range for the speaker. This would provide protection for the speaker and limit distortion to the signal.
Regarding claim 21, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, further comprising: controlling, based on the cutoff frequency, a dynamic low pass filter and a dynamic high pass flier to generate the output signal.
Heubi teaches controlling, based on the cutoff frequency, a dynamic low pass filter and a dynamic high pass flier to generate the output signal (see fig. 5, ¶ 0031. The system having two filters low pass and high pass. The system operates by providing the signal to the filters in which the filter will dynamically adu7stale cutoff frequency that is controlled by the feedback logic. The signal amplitude is flat in the portion of the audio band above the low-pass filter cutoff frequency, and the amplitude rises sharply in frequencies above the audio band due to noise. Frequencies at the lowest frequencies represents low-frequency noise added by prior low-prior filtering, and it is subsequently removed by the high-pass filter. After the system provides the filtering of the input signal, the system provides attenuated signal to the output to the speaker.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate cutoff frequency ranges for the each filter. The modification provides audio attenuation based on the filtering of the audio signal in frequency range for the speaker. This would provide protection for the speaker and limit distortion to the signal.
10. Claims 8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al. (US 2012/0179456) in view of Slupeiks et al. (US 2014/0369512) further in view of Port et al. (US 2021/0265966) in further view of Hu et al. (US 2017/0325024).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the cutoff frequency is a frequency at which a level of the excursion of the speaker causes distortions in the output signal.
Hu teaches wherein the cutoff frequency is a frequency at which a level of the excursion of the speaker causes distortions in the output signal (see ¶ 0019-0020. The system predicts the excursion in a speaker using a predicted voltage signal. The system determines the predicted displacement and providing a cutoff frequency based on the excursion displacement limit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate predicted excursion of a speaker. The modification to voltage signal in order to predict the excursion or displacement of the speaker. This would prevent displacement and provide protection for the speaker.
Regarding claim 15, Ryu, Slupeiks and Port do not teach the system of claim 14, wherein the cutoff frequency is a frequency at which a level of the excursion of the speaker causes distortions in the output signal.
Hu teaches wherein the cutoff frequency is a frequency at which a level of the excursion of the speaker causes distortions in the output signal (see ¶ 0019-0020. The system predicts the excursion in a speaker using a predicted voltage signal. The system determines the predicted displacement and providing a cutoff frequency based on the excursion displacement limit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Slupeiks and Port to incorporate predicted excursion of a speaker. The modification to voltage signal in order to predict the excursion or displacement of the speaker. This would prevent displacement and provide protection for the speaker
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691