DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11 and 16-19, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose at least one connective feature coupled with a vehicle having the motor controller, the connective feature communicatively coupled with the motor controller. However, Galasso discloses a wire 30 that interconnects the motor controller with other vehicle components and is thus a connective feature. According to the specification of the present application, a connective feature is simply a feature that allows a component to communicate wired or wirelessly with vehicle components or features [see specification paragraph 0060]. While the specification discusses a “smart component,” this feature does not appear in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) and further in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853).
Regarding claim 1, Galasso discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly comprising:
at least one electronically adjustable valve (511);
a wireless receiver to receive an adjustment for said at least one electronically adjustable valve [0081-0083, 0022, signal generating device 50 wirelessly transmits a signal from the user of the bicycle to controller 65 which includes a wireless receiver];
a communications network [0086];
a motor controller to enact said adjustment on said at least one electronically adjustable valve [0073-0074, 0079-0080, the controller 65 includes a processor or microprocessor, memory etc. programmed to control the position of the valve 511 based on the signal from the user];
at least one connective feature coupled with a vehicle having said motor controller coupled thereto, said at least one connective feature communicatively coupled with said motor controller [0069, 0086, a wire 30 as a connective feature is coupled to bicycle 101 having the controller 65 and communicatively coupled thereto in order to connect or interconnect any of sensors, switches etc. such as sensors integrated with the vehicle]; and
a power source to provide power to said wireless receiver and said motor controller [0080, as shown in Figure 3], and
wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is not required to be coupled with any existing vehicle wiring or existing vehicle communication system [0079-0081, as shown in Figure 3, in its simplest form the assembly disclosed by Galasso allows the valve to be adjusted at will by the user through the signal generating device 50 without communication or wiring to the optional sensors 5, 35 or the pedal force sensor].
Galasso does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Tong discloses an electronic shock assembly configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system [0016, 0018].
Tong teaches that the automatic recognition performed by the shock assembly allows the vehicle owner to upgrade suspension system components to acquire desired performance characteristics or replace these components while maintaining functionality with the control system [0018]. Tong also teaches that the automatic recognition allows the vehicle manufacturer to use a common control system that can be used with suspension system components at different price points, to offer cost savings to consumers desiring lower costs [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured to wireless electronic shock assembly disclosed by Galasso to automatically determine its function when added to the vehicle suspension control system as disclosed by Tong, thereby allowing system upgrades and allowing the vehicle manufacturer to offer a variety of compatible components at different price points.
Galasso, as modified by Tong, does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Ericksen discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly that is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes a communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system [0068-0074, 0129, 0138, 0143, 0337, 0440, 0442].
Ericksen teaches that it has been known in the art to allow features of a vehicle suspension system damper to be user-adjustable, which allows a rider or user of the vehicle to customize settings beyond factory settings [0020, 0093, 0280]. Ericksen teaches that connecting the shock assembly to a wireless communications network that wirelessly connects the shock assembly to a user’s electronic computing device allows the control to be accessed, and therefore performed, remotely [0440]. Ericksen teaches using an Internet-accessible wireless browser is one method for allowing the user to switch between predefined damper modes without the need to connect to the vehicle wiring or internal communications systems [0129, 0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso to automatically determine its function using a communications network wirelessly connected to a user’s electronic computing device as disclosed by Ericksen because this arrangement allows the user to remotely customize the state of the suspension to a variety of pre-selectable modes suitable to driving or riding conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Galasso further discloses wherein said power source is a battery [0080, as shown in Figure 3].
Regarding claim 5, Galasso further discloses the assembly further comprising at least one sensor (5), said at least one sensor selected from a group consisting of an IMU, a temperature sensor, and a stroke sensor [0019, 0067-0068].
Regarding claim 6, Galasso further discloses the assembly further comprising a microcontroller [0014].
Regarding claim 7, Galasso further discloses the assembly further comprising a display, said display to provide information from a group consisting of: a mode, a tune, a temperature, a shock stroke, and an acceleration [0016].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853) and further in view of Golin (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0250999).
Regarding claim 3, Galasso discloses the assembly of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose wherein said power source is wirelessly rechargeable.
Golin discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly comprising a power source (122) that is wirelessly rechargeable [0020, 0023-0024].
Golin teaches that it has been known in the art to use wireless recharging of a power source located on an electric or hybrid vehicle to prevent the need for the vehicle to be stopped at a charging station when the power source needs to be recharged [0002-0004]. Because there are only a finite number of charging stations for electric vehicles use of wireless recharging reduces downtime of the vehicle and waiting time at the charging stations [0002-0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wirelessly rechargeable power source as disclosed by Golin with the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso where the assembly is in an electric or hybrid vehicle to reduce vehicle downtime due to charging and to reduce a waiting time at electric vehicle charging stations.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853) and further in view of Andres Cuenca (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0337616).
Regarding claim 4, Galasso discloses the assembly of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein said power source is self-generating. Andres Cuenca discloses a power source (650) that is self-generating [0014, 0027-0028].
Andres Cuenca teaches that a self-generating power source in the form of a piezoelectric generator can be installed in several positions of a vehicle to receive loads exerted on a shock assembly and to generate energy from the external loads [0082-0083]. One of the advantages of using the self-generating power source is that it is capable of generating energy from small forces and is thus more efficient in the transformation of mechanical energy into electric power such that with the same force much more power can be generated [0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the power source disclosed by Galasso with the power source disclosed by Andres Cuenca since it is capable of being installed to receive loads on a shock assembly and can efficiently transform mechanical energy during driving of the vehicle to electric power to generate more power than alternative power sources.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853) and further in view of Lackritz (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0113070).
Regarding claim 9, Galasso discloses the assembly of claim 1 as discussed above but does not disclose wherein said communications network utilizes an encryption protocol.
Lackritz discloses a shock assembly comprising a wireless receiver (30a-30e) comprising a communications network (26), wherein said communications network utilizes an encryption protocol [0015].
Lackritz teaches that the communications network utilizes an encryption protocol to prevent modifications to the shock assembly by changes to the information exchanged between the system’s components [0014-0015]. Lackritz teaches that various communication network protocols are known in the art that allow data to be exchanged between two suspension system components [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communications network utilizing an encryption protocol disclosed by Lackritz with the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso to utilize the encryption protocol on the communications network in order to ensure secure communications between system components such as the controller and the valve.
Claim(s) 10-11, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Shipman (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0140029) in view of Cox (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0277734) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) and further in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853).
Regarding claim 10, Galasso discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly comprising:
a damper chamber comprising a working fluid [0038];
a main piston (116), said main piston dividing said damper chamber into a compression side and a rebound side [0038];
a fluid flow path [0025, 0038, 0071];
a communications network [0086];
wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is not required to be coupled with any existing vehicle wiring or existing vehicle communication system [0079-0081, as shown in Figure 3, in its simplest form the assembly disclosed by Galasso allows the valve to be adjusted at will by the user through the signal generating device 50 without communications or wiring to the optional sensors 5, 35 or the pedal force sensor].
Galasso further discloses a power source [0080], a wireless receiver to receive an adjustment for at least one electronically adjustable valve [0081-.0083, 0022, signal generating device 50 wirelessly transmits a signal from the user of the bicycle to controller 65 which includes a wireless receiver], and a motor controller to enact said adjustment on said at least one electronically adjustable valve to change a damping characteristic [0073-0074, 0079-0080, the controller 65 includes a processor or microprocessor, memory etc. programmed to control the position of the valve 511 based on the signal from the user]; and at least one connective feature coupled with a vehicle having said motor controller coupled thereto, said at least one connective feature communicatively coupled with said motor controller [0069, 0086, a wire 30 as a connective feature is coupled to bicycle 101 having the controller 65 and communicatively coupled thereto in order to connect or interconnect any of sensors, switches etc. such as sensors integrated with the vehicle]. However, Galasso does not disclose the power source, receiver and controller being part of a printed circuit board. Galasso discloses a shock absorber structure having a damper chamber, a main piston and a fluid flow path as discussed above [0070-0071], but does not disclose the main piston coupled with a shaft. Galasso does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Shipman discloses a printed circuit board (250) comprising:
a power source (256) [0090];
a wireless receiver to receive an adjustment for at least one electronically adjustable valve (180) [0092]; and
a motor controller to enact said adjustment on said at least one electronically adjustable valve [0092].
Shipman demonstrates that a wireless signal is received by the receiver when the separate components of the receiver, power source and motor controller are located on a printed circuit board [0094]. Thus, one skilled in the art would recognize that combining the components disclosed as separate components of an assembly in the prior art as disclosed by Galasso onto an integral printed circuit board substrate would not affect the function of the assembly, while providing the benefits of integration such as reducing space and simplifying a number of components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the power source, receiver and motor controller disclosed by Galasso onto an integral printed circuit board since the result would predictably allow for valve control while saving space and simplifying the assembly.
Cox discloses a shock assembly comprising:
a damper chamber (220) comprising a working fluid;
a main piston (210) coupled with a shaft (215), said main piston dividing said damper chamber into a compression side and a rebound side;
a fluid flow path (465).
Cox teaches that the shaft is designed to contain fluid flow and mount internal components which reduce dampening of the assembly in the extended or rebound direction, thereby permitting quicker extension of the connected piston and preventing a bottom out condition where the piston remains completely retracted [0004, 0025, 0029].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shock absorber structure in the assembly disclosed by Galasso to include the shaft coupled to the piston as disclosed by Cox in order to permit quicker extension of the piston and prevent or mitigate bottom out.
Galasso, as modified by Shipman and Cox, does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Tong discloses an electronic shock assembly configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system [0016, 0018].
Tong teaches that the automatic recognition performed by the shock assembly allows the vehicle owner to upgrade suspension system components to acquire desired performance characteristics or replace these components while maintaining functionality with the control system [0018]. Tong also teaches that the automatic recognition allows the vehicle manufacturer to use a common control system that can be used with suspension system components at different price points, to offer cost savings to consumers desiring lower costs [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured to wireless electronic shock assembly disclosed by Galasso, as modified by Shipman and Cox, to automatically determine its function when added to the vehicle suspension control system as disclosed by Tong, thereby allowing system upgrades and allowing the vehicle manufacturer to offer a variety of compatible components at different price points.
Galasso, as modified by Shipman, Cox and Tong, does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Ericksen discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly that is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes a communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system [0068-0074, 0129, 0138, 0143, 0337, 0440, 0442].
Ericksen teaches that it has been known in the art to allow features of a vehicle suspension system damper to be user-adjustable, which allows a rider or user of the vehicle to customize settings beyond factory settings [0020, 0093, 0280]. Ericksen teaches that connecting the shock assembly to a wireless communications network that wirelessly connects the shock assembly to a user’s electronic computing device allows the control to be accessed, and therefore performed, remotely [0440]. Ericksen teaches using an Internet-accessible wireless browser is one method for allowing the user to switch between predefined damper modes without the need to connect to the vehicle wiring or internal communications systems [0129, 0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso to automatically determine its function using a communications network wirelessly connected to a user’s electronic computing device as disclosed by Ericksen because this arrangement allows the user to remotely customize the state of the suspension to a variety of pre-selectable modes suitable to driving or riding conditions.
Regarding claim 11, Galasso further discloses wherein said power source is a battery [0080, as shown in Figure 3].
Regarding claim 14, Galasso further discloses the assembly further comprising at least one sensor (5), said at least one sensor selected from a group consisting of an IMU, a temperature sensor, and a stroke sensor [0019, 0067-0068].
Regarding claim 15, Galasso further discloses the assembly further comprising a microcontroller [0014].
Regarding claim 16, Galasso further discloses the assembly further comprising a display, said display to provide information from a group consisting of: a mode, a tune, a temperature, a shock stroke, and an acceleration [0016].
Regarding claim 19, Galasso discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly comprising:
a damper chamber comprising a working fluid [0038];
a main piston (116), said main piston dividing said damper chamber into a compression side and a rebound side [0038];
a communications network [0086];
a fluid flow path comprising at least one electronically adjustable valve (511) [0025, 0038, 0071];
a wireless receiver to receive an adjustment for said at least one electronically adjustable valve [0081-0083, 0022, signal generating device 50 wirelessly transmits a signal from the user of the bicycle to controller 65 which includes a wireless receiver];
a motor controller to enact said adjustment on said at least one electronically adjustable valve to change a damping characteristic [0073-0074, 0079-0080, the controller 65 includes a processor or microprocessor, memory etc. programmed to control the position of the valve 511 based on the signal from the user].
at least one sensor (5), said at least one sensor selected from a group consisting of: an IMU, a temperature sensor, and a stroke sensor [0019, 0067-0068];
a microcontroller [0014];
wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is not required to be coupled with any existing vehicle wiring or existing vehicle communication system [0079-0081, as shown in Figure 3, in its simplest form the assembly disclosed by Galasso allows the valve to be adjusted at will by the user through the signal generating device 50 without communications or wiring to the optional sensors 5, 35 or the pedal force sensor].
Galasso further discloses a power source that provides power to said receiver, said at least one sensor, said microcontroller, and said motor controller [0080], and at least one connective feature coupled with a vehicle having said motor controller coupled thereto, said at least one connective feature communicatively coupled with said motor controller [0069, 0086, a wire 30 as a connective feature is coupled to bicycle 101 having the controller 65 and communicatively coupled thereto in order to connect or interconnect any of sensors, switches etc. such as sensors integrated with the vehicle]. However, Galasso does not disclose the power source, receiver, sensor, microcontroller and controller being part of a printed circuit board. Galasso discloses a shock absorber structure having a damper chamber, a main piston and a fluid flow path as discussed above [0070-0071], but does not disclose the main piston coupled with a shaft. Galasso does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Shipman discloses a printed circuit board (250) comprising:
a power source (256) [0090];
a sensor (258) [0095-0096];
a microcontroller [0144];
a wireless receiver to receive an adjustment for at least one electronically adjustable valve (180) [0092]; and
a motor controller to enact said adjustment on said at least one electronically adjustable valve [0092].
Shipman demonstrates that a wireless signal is received by the receiver when the separate components of the receiver, power source and motor controller are located on a printed circuit board [0094]. Thus, one skilled in the art would recognize that combining the components disclosed as separate components of an assembly in the prior art as disclosed by Galasso onto an integral printed circuit board substrate would not affect the function of the assembly, while providing the benefits of integration such as reducing space and simplifying a number of components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the power source, receiver and motor controller disclosed by Galasso onto an integral printed circuit board since the result would predictably allow for valve control while saving space and simplifying the assembly.
Cox discloses a shock assembly comprising:
a damper chamber (220) comprising a working fluid;
a main piston (210) coupled with a shaft (215), said main piston dividing said damper chamber into a compression side and a rebound side;
a fluid flow path (465).
Cox teaches that the shaft is designed to contain fluid flow and mount internal components which reduce dampening of the assembly in the extended or rebound direction, thereby permitting quicker extension of the connected piston and preventing a bottom out condition where the piston remains completely retracted [0004, 0025, 0029].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shock absorber structure in the assembly disclosed by Galasso to include the shaft coupled to the piston as disclosed by Cox in order to permit quicker extension of the piston and prevent or mitigate bottom out.
Galasso, as modified by Shipman and Cox, does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Tong discloses an electronic shock assembly configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system [0016, 0018].
Tong teaches that the automatic recognition performed by the shock assembly allows the vehicle owner to upgrade suspension system components to acquire desired performance characteristics or replace these components while maintaining functionality with the control system [0018]. Tong also teaches that the automatic recognition allows the vehicle manufacturer to use a common control system that can be used with suspension system components at different price points, to offer cost savings to consumers desiring lower costs [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured to wireless electronic shock assembly disclosed by Galasso, as modified by Shipman and Cox, to automatically determine its function when added to the vehicle suspension control system as disclosed by Tong, thereby allowing system upgrades and allowing the vehicle manufacturer to offer a variety of compatible components at different price points.
Galasso, as modified by Shipman, Cox and Tong, does not disclose wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes said communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system.
Ericksen discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly that is configured to automatically determine its function in a vehicle suspension control system when said wireless electronic shock assembly is added to said vehicle suspension control system, wherein said wireless electronic shock assembly utilizes a communications network to automatically determine its function in said vehicle suspension control system [0068-0074, 0129, 0138, 0143, 0337, 0440, 0442].
Ericksen teaches that it has been known in the art to allow features of a vehicle suspension system damper to be user-adjustable, which allows a rider or user of the vehicle to customize settings beyond factory settings [0020, 0093, 0280]. Ericksen teaches that connecting the shock assembly to a wireless communications network that wirelessly connects the shock assembly to a user’s electronic computing device allows the control to be accessed, and therefore performed, remotely [0440]. Ericksen teaches using an Internet-accessible wireless browser is one method for allowing the user to switch between predefined damper modes without the need to connect to the vehicle wiring or internal communications systems [0129, 0143].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso to automatically determine its function using a communications network wirelessly connected to a user’s electronic computing device as disclosed by Ericksen because this arrangement allows the user to remotely customize the state of the suspension to a variety of pre-selectable modes suitable to driving or riding conditions.
Regarding claim 20, Galasso further discloses wherein said power source is a battery [0080, as shown in Figure 3].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Shipman (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0140029) in view of Cox (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0277734) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853) and further in view of Golin (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0250999).
Regarding claim 12, Galasso discloses the assembly of claim 10 as discussed above but does not disclose wherein said power source is wirelessly rechargeable.
Golin discloses a wireless electronic shock assembly comprising a power source (122) that is wirelessly rechargeable [0020, 0023-0024].
Golin teaches that it has been known in the art to use wireless recharging of a power source located on an electric or hybrid vehicle to prevent the need for the vehicle to be stopped at a charging station when the power source needs to be recharged [0002-0004]. Because there are only a finite number of charging stations for electric vehicles use of wireless recharging reduces downtime of the vehicle and waiting time at the charging stations [0002-0004].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wirelessly rechargeable power source as disclosed by Golin with the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso where the assembly is in an electric or hybrid vehicle to reduce vehicle downtime due to charging and to reduce a waiting time at electric vehicle charging stations.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Shipman (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0140029) in view of Cox (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0277734) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853) and further in view of Andres Cuenca (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0337616).
Regarding claim 13, Galasso discloses the assembly of claim 10, but does not disclose wherein said power source is self-generating. Andres Cuenca discloses a power source (650) that is self-generating [0014, 0027-0028].
Andres Cuenca teaches that a self-generating power source in the form of a piezoelectric generator can be installed in several positions of a vehicle to receive loads exerted on a shock assembly and to generate energy from the external loads [0082-0083]. One of the advantages of using the self-generating power source is that it is capable of generating energy from small forces and is thus more efficient in the transformation of mechanical energy into electric power such that with the same force much more power can be generated [0084].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the power source disclosed by Galasso with the power source disclosed by Andres Cuenca since it is capable of being installed to receive loads on a shock assembly and can efficiently transform mechanical energy during driving of the vehicle to electric power to generate more power than alternative power sources.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galasso (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0276906) in view of Shipman (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0140029) in view of Cox (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0277734) in view of Tong (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0100068) in view of Ericksen (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0275853) and further in view of Lackritz (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0113070).
Regarding claim 18, Galasso discloses the assembly of claim 10 as discussed above but does not disclose wherein said communications network utilizes an encryption protocol.
Lackritz discloses a shock assembly comprising a wireless receiver (30a-30e) comprising a communications network (26), wherein said communications network utilizes an encryption protocol [0015].
Lackritz teaches that the communications network utilizes an encryption protocol to prevent modifications to the shock assembly by changes to the information exchanged between the system’s components [0014-0015]. Lackritz teaches that various communication network protocols are known in the art that allow data to be exchanged between two suspension system components [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the communications network utilizing an encryption protocol disclosed by Lackritz with the shock assembly disclosed by Galasso to utilize the encryption protocol on the communications network in order to ensure secure communications between system components such as the controller and the valve.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747