DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 9-10, please change “optical communication device” to “wherein the optical communication device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,710,725) in view of Leigh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,924,185).
Regarding to claim 1, Xu teaches a device comprising:
a transparent substrate structure comprising a first surface which extends in a first plane at a first side of the transparent substrate structure, wherein the first surface forms a recess structure that extends from the first plane toward a second side of the transparent substrate structure (Fig. 15, element 1530; column 16, line 55, the first surface is the bottom surface in the figure); and
a micro light emitting diode (µLED) structure disposed on the first surface, wherein the µLED structure extends in the recess structure, wherein the µLED structure is oriented to communicate light which is propagated through the transparent substrate structure (Fig. 15, element 1500C, column 16, lines 53-55).
Xu does not disclose the light is optical signal.
Leigh discloses light source structure is oriented to communicate an optical signal which is propagated through a transparent substrate structure (Fig. 2, element 25a; column 9, lines 23-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Leigh to configure the output light to be optical signal in order to utilize the light source for more applications.
Regarding to claim 5, Xu teaches the transparent substrate structure is a core of a package substrate (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 6, Xu as modified discloses a conductive interconnect structure at the first surface, wherein the conductive interconnect structure is coupled to communicate an electrical signal with the µLED structure, wherein one of the electrical signal or the optical signal is to be based on the other of the electrical signal or the optical signal (Fig. 15, element 1590, column 16, lines 25, conductive interconnect structure in the driver circuit 1590 at the first surface, the conductive interconnect structure is coupled to communicate an electrical signal with the µLED structure, the light is to be based on the electrical signal from the drive circuit).
Regarding to claim 7, Xu teaches
the µLED structure is a first µLED structure (Fig. 15, element 1500-C);
the recess structure is a first recess structure (Fig. 15, the recess inclosing element 1500-C);
the first surface further forms a second recess structure that extends from the first plane toward the second surface (Fig. 15, the recess inclosing element 1500-B); and
the device further comprises a second µLED structure disposed on the first surface, wherein the second µLED structure extends in the recess structure (Fig. 15, element 1500-B).
Regarding to claim 10, Xu teaches a method comprising:
forming a recess structure in a first surface of a transparent substrate structure, wherein the first surface extends in a first plane at a first side of the transparent substrate structure, and wherein the recess structure extends from the first plane toward a second side of the transparent substrate structure (Fig. 15, element 1530; column 16, line 55, the first surface is the bottom surface in the figure, where the recesses are formed);
forming a micro light emitting diode (µLED) structure on the first surface, wherein the uLED structure extends in the recess structure, wherein the µLED structure is oriented to communicate a light which is propagated through the transparent substrate structure (Fig. 15, elements 1500C, column 16, lines 53-55);
forming a conductive interconnect structure at the first surface, wherein the conductive interconnect structure is coupled to communicate an electrical signal with the µLED structure, wherein one of the electrical signal or the light is to be based on the other of the electrical signal or the light (Fig. 15, element 1590, column 16, lines 25, conductive interconnect structure in the driver circuit 1590 at the first surface, the conductive interconnect structure is coupled to communicate an electrical signal with the µLED structure, the light is to be based on the electrical signal from the drive circuit).
Xu does not disclose the light is optical signal.
Leigh discloses light source structure is oriented to communicate an optical signal which is propagated through a transparent substrate structure (Fig. 2, element 25a; column 9, lines 23-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Leigh to configure the output light to be optical signal in order to utilize the light source for more applications.
Regarding to claim 14, Xu teaches the transparent substrate structure is a core of a package substrate (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 15, Xu teaches
the µLED structure is a first µLED structure (Fig. 15, element 1500-C);
the recess structure is a first recess structure (Fig. 15, the recess inclosing element 1500-C); the method further comprises:
forming a second recess structure in the first surface, wherein the second recess structure extends from the first plane toward the second side (Fig. 15, the recess inclosing element 1500-B); and
forming a second µLED structure on the first surface, wherein the second µLED structure extends in the second recess structure (Fig. 15, element 1500-B).
Regarding to claim 16, Xu teaches a system comprising a package substrate comprising:
transparent core comprising a first surface which extends in a first plane at a first side of the transparent core, wherein the first surface forms a recess structure that extends from the first plane toward a second side of the transparent core (Fig. 15, element 1530; column 16, line 55, the first surface is the bottom surface in the figure); and
a micro light emitting diode (µLED) structure disposed on the first surface, wherein the µLED structure extends in the recess structure, wherein the µLED structure is oriented to communicate light which is propagated through the transparent core (Fig. 15, elements 1500-C, column 16, lines 53-55).
Xu does not disclose the light is optical signal, and an optical communication device coupled to the package substrate, optical communication device to communicate the optical signal with the µLED structure via the transparent core.
Leigh discloses light source structure is oriented to communicate an optical signal which is propagated through a transparent core (Fig. 2, element 25a; column 9, lines 23-27), and an optical communication device coupled to the package substrate, optical communication device to communicate the optical signal with a LED structure via the transparent core (Fig. 2, element 73). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Leigh to configure the output light to be an optical signal and an optical communication device coupled to the package substrate, the optical communication device to communicate the optical signal with the µLED structure via the transparent core in order to utilize the light source for more application.
Regarding to claim 20, Xu as modified discloses a conductive interconnect structure at the first surface, wherein the conductive interconnect structure is coupled to communicate an electrical signal with the µLED structure, wherein one of the electrical signal or the optical signal is to be based on the other of the electrical signal or the optical signal (Fig. 15, element 1590, column 16, lines 25, conductive interconnect structure in the driver circuit 1590 at the first surface, the conductive interconnect structure is coupled to communicate an electrical signal with the µLED structure, the light is to be based on the electrical signal from the drive circuit).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,710,725) and Leigh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,924,185), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0187591).
Regarding to claim 2, Xu discloses the LEDs each has all layers extending into the recess structure (Fig. 15). It is known in the art that a light emitting diode (LED) comprise light emitting layer sandwiched between two doped layers. However, Xu is silent about detail of the light emitting diode. Nevertheless, Tan discloses a LED structure comprises a first doped portion, a second doped portion, and quantum well structure which extends between the first doped portion and the second doped portion (Fig. 16B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Tan to comprise in the µLED structure a first doped portion, a second doped portion, and quantum well structure which extends between the first doped portion and the second doped portion in order to increase efficiency. As a result, the first doped portion, the second doped portion, and the quantum well structure each extend at least partially into the recess structure.
Regarding to claim 3, Xu as modified discloses the first doped portion comprises a n-type doped material comprising gallium and nitrogen (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1624); the second doped portion comprises a p-type doped material comprising gallium and nitrogen (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1628); and the quantum well structure comprises indium, gallium and nitrogen (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1626; [0166], lines 13-14).
Regarding to claim 4, Xu as modified discloses a transparent electrode structure which extends at least partially into the recess structure, wherein the transparent electrode structure extends around the first doped portion, the second doped portion, and the quantum well structure (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1650).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,710,725) and Leigh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,924,185), as applied to claim 1 and claim 7 above, in view of Crowder et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,685,774).
Regarding to claim 9, Xu teaches the device comprises an array of µLED structures comprising the first µLED structure and the second µLED structure, wherein an arrangement of µLED structures in the array conforms to an arrangement (Fig. 13, Fig. 15). Xu as modified does not disclose the array conforms to an arrangement of hexagonal tiles in a regular tessellation pattern. Crowder disclose an array conforms to an arrangement of hexagonal tiles in a regular tessellation pattern (Fig. 12A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Crowder to conform the µLED array to an arrangement of hexagonal tiles in a regular tessellation pattern in order to increase package density, thus to reduce manufacturing cost.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,710,725) and Leigh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,924,185), as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Tan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0187591).
Regarding to claim 11, Xu after the µLED structure is formed at the first surface, all layers of the µLED extending into the recess structure (Fig. 15). It is known in the art that a light emitting diode (LED) comprise light emitting layer sandwiched between two doped layers. However, Xu is silent about detail of the light emitting diode. Nevertheless, Tan discloses a LED structure comprises a first doped portion, a second doped portion, and quantum well structure which extends between the first doped portion and the second doped portion (Fig. 16B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Tan to comprise in the µLED structure a first doped portion, a second doped portion, and quantum well structure which extends between the first doped portion and the second doped portion in order to increase efficiency. As a result, the first doped portion, the second doped portion, and the quantum well structure each extend at least partially into the recess structure.
Regarding to claim 12, Xu as modified discloses forming the µLED structure on the first surface comprises: performing a first deposition of a first doped material into the recess structure; after the first deposition, performing a second deposition of an undoped material into the recess structure; and after the second deposition, performing a third deposition of a second doped material into the recess structure (as being modified, element 1500 is replaced by the structure in Fig., 16B of Tan).
Regarding to claim 13, Xu as modified discloses forming the µLED structure on the first surface comprises performing an assembly which inserts at least a portion of the µLED structure into the recess structure (Fig. 15).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,710,725) and Leigh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,924,185), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0187591).
Regarding to claim 17, Xu discloses the LEDs each has all layers extending into the recess structure (Fig. 15). It is known in the art that a light emitting diode (LED) comprise light emitting layer sandwiched between two doped layers. However, Xu is silent about detail of the light emitting diode. Nevertheless, Tan discloses a LED structure comprises a first doped portion, a second doped portion, and quantum well structure which extends between the first doped portion and the second doped portion (Fig. 16B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu in view of Tan to comprise in the µLED structure a first doped portion, a second doped portion, and quantum well structure which extends between the first doped portion and the second doped portion in order to increase efficiency. As a result, the first doped portion, the second doped portion, and the quantum well structure each extend at least partially into the recess structure.
Regarding to claim 18, Xu as modified discloses the first doped portion comprises a n-type doped material comprising gallium and nitrogen (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1624); the second doped portion comprises a p-type doped material comprising gallium and nitrogen (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1628); and the quantum well structure comprises indium, gallium and nitrogen (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1626; [0166], lines 13-14).
Regarding to claim 19, Xu as modified discloses a transparent electrode structure which extends at least partially into the recess structure, wherein the transparent electrode structure extends around the first doped portion, the second doped portion, and the quantum well structure (Tan, Fig. 16B, element 1650).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 8, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “a first contiguous body of a first doped material forms respective first doped portions of the first µLED structure and the second µLED structure; a second contiguous body of a second doped material forms respective second doped portions of the first µLED structure and the second µLED structure” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1 and 7, and the rest of limitations recited in claim 8.
Claim 10 would be allowable if incorporating the limitations of claim 15 and claim 9 into the claim.
Claim 16 would be allowable if incorporating the limitations of claim 7 and claim 9 into the claim.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-20240304757-A1, US-20240021759-A1, US-9983337-B2, US-9324692-B2, US-12426429-B2, US-12295191-B2, US-20240341118-A1, and US-20160327746-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “the µLED structure extends in the recess structure, wherein the µLED structure is oriented to communicate an optical signal which is propagated through the transparent substrate structure.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897