DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Satoh et al. (US 2002/0004162).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Satoh discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising:
cylindrical cell can 1 having a cylinder 11 (shell) and lid 12 (a first wall) (Fig. 1);
an electrode terminal 91, dielectrically mounted on the first wall (Fig. 1);
a rolled-up electrode unit 4 (electrode assembly), encased in the can, wherein the electrode assembly includes a center hole (Fig. 2), and current collector edge 48 (first tab) formed at an end of the electrode assembly, the end being oriented towards the first wall (Fig. 1);
current collecting plate 5 (current collection component), disposed between the first wall and the electrode assembly, wherein the current collection component comprises a center portion and a periphery portion, the center portion positionally corresponds to the center hole, the center portion is configured to be connected to the electrode terminal, and the periphery portion is configured to be connected to the first tab (Figs. 1-3); and a
a plurality of slit pieces 53 (guide channel) are formed radially on the current collecting plate 5, capable of guiding an electrolytic solution in the center hole to diffuse from the center portion to the periphery portion (Fig. 3).
Figures 1 and 3 to Satoh are provided below.
Regarding claim 2, Satoh discloses wherein the guide channel is a first through-hole, and the first through-hole is located at an edge of the center portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Satoh discloses circular-arc protrusions 52 (third groove) (Fig. 5), the third groove is made on a side of the periphery portion, the side being oriented toward the electrode assembly; and the third groove communicates with the center hole (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Satoh discloses wherein the third groove extends to an outer peripheral surface of the periphery portion along a radial direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Satoh discloses lids 12 (para 0115), wherein a second lid would correspond a second wall disposed opposite the first wall, a pair of electrode terminals 9 (para 0115) wherein the opening for the second electrode is capable of functioning as an injection port and the second electrode as a sealing element located at central hole 54 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the battery is viewed as being mirrored with one electrode at the top and the second electrode at the bottom (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Satoh discloses cylinder 11 with lids 1 corresponding to side walls and endcaps (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Satoh further discloses portable electric devices (para 0002).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoh et al. (US 2002/0004162) in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2024/0380078).
Regarding claim 6, Satoh does not the first through-hole is an arc-shaped hoe that extends along a circumference of the center portion.
Kobayashi, directed to collector plate for a power storage device, teaches a plurality of first through holes 44 in a slit shape are formed to surround the center region 41 (Fig. 3). Figure 3 to Kobayashi provided below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to that with this configuration, concentration of stress on the end portions of the bridge portion 43 is suppressed, and it is therefore possible to prevent the bridge portion 43 from being broken (para 0080).
Regarding claim 7, Satoh does teach second through-holes.
Kobayashi teaches second through holes 45 (Fig. 3).
The inclusion of second through-holes is viewed as an obvious matter of design choice so long there is sufficient area for the electrolyte to flow through. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi teaches wherein the second through-hole is plural in number, and the plurality of second through-holes are disposed around the center portion at intervals (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowable.
Claims 3-5 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure disclose current collectors with guide channels: Kim (US 2008/0026291, Figs. 2, 7, 9); Okabe et al. (US 2009/0047576, Fig. 3); Sekiya et al. (US 2016/034997, Fig. 3A); Cho et al. (US 2017/0373339, Fig. 3); and Jung (US 2023/0231246, Fig. 3).
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723