DETAILED ACTION
The arguments filed 10/3/25 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogishi et al. (US Pub. No. 2012/0286479) in view of Wu (CN106122480A) and further in view of Bando et al. (JP2022091300A).
Regarding claim 1, the Ogishi et al. (hereinafter Ogishi) reference discloses an elastomeric seal composition (Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) an elastomeric material selected from the group consisting of FKM elastomers, HNBR elastomers, and blends thereof (Para. [0003]), including an external lubricant.
However, the Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose the seal composition comprising a lubricant selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof.
The Wu reference, an oil seal, discloses the addition of a lubricant within an engine oil seal (e.g. discussion of self-lubrication properties).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the engine oil seal of a self-lubricating material in order to provide good leak tightness.
The Bando et al. (hereinafter Bando) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of additives such as lubricants including a lubricant selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a lubricant to the Ogishi reference in view of the teachings of the Bando reference in order to reduce friction and increase seal life.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claims 1 and 12, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose the elastomeric material comprises an FKM elastomer derived from vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, and tetrafluoroethylene.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the claimed material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical expedience and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose about 45% to about 65% of the FKM elastomer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed percentage of material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the elastomeric material comprises an HNBR (Ogishi, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 4, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose about 45% to about 55% of the HNBR.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed percentage of material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claims 1 and 12, discloses the lubricant material comprises methyl hydroxy stearate (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
Regarding claim 9, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses a non- conductive filler (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the composition being used as seals (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the Ogishi reference discloses a self-lubricating seal (Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) an FKM elastomer.
However, the Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose about 50% to about 65% of an FKM elastomer and about 1% to about 2% of a lubricant material selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed percentage of material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The Bando et al. (hereinafter Bando) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of additives such as lubricants including a lubricant selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a lubricant to the Ogishi reference in view of the teachings of the Bando reference in order to reduce friction and increase seal life.
Regarding claim 15, the Ogishi reference discloses a self-lubricating seal (Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) an HNBR4 elastomer.
However, the Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose about 40% to about 55% of an HNBR elastomer and about 1% to about 3% of a lubricant material selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed percentage of material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The Bando et al. (hereinafter Bando) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of additives such as lubricants including a lubricant selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a lubricant to the Ogishi reference in view of the teachings of the Bando reference in order to reduce friction and increase seal life.
Claim(s) 7, 8, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogishi in view of Bando as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-15 above, and further in view of Nahrwold (US Pub. No. 2018/0112779).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose a conductive filler comprising conductive carbon black.
The Nahrwold et al. (hereinafter Nahrwold) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of a conductive carbon black (Para. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Ogishi reference to have conductive carbon black in view of the teachings of the Nahrwold reference in order to allow for conductivity of the seal.
Regarding claim 16, the Ogishi reference discloses a self-lubricating seal (Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) an FKM elastomer.
However, the Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose about 50% to about 65% of an FKM elastomer and about 1% to about 2% of a lubricant material selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof and from about 10% to about 20% of a conductive filler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed percentage of material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The Bando et al. (hereinafter Bando) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of additives such as lubricants including a lubricant selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a lubricant to the Ogishi reference in view of the teachings of the Bando reference in order to reduce friction and increase seal life.
The Nahrwold et al. (hereinafter Nahrwold) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of a conductive carbon black (Para. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Ogishi reference to have conductive carbon black in view of the teachings of the Nahrwold reference in order to allow for conductivity of the seal.
Regarding claim 17, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claim 16, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose the elastomeric material comprises an FKM elastomer derived from vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, and tetrafluoroethylene.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the claimed material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical expedience and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, the Ogishi reference, as modified in claims 16 and 19, discloses the conductive filler comprises conductive carbon black (Nahrwold, Para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 19, the Ogishi reference discloses a self-lubricating seal (Fig. 1) comprising:
(a) an HNBR elastomer.
However, the Ogishi reference fails to explicitly disclose about 45% to about 55% of an HNBR elastomer and about 1% to about 3% of a lubricant material selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof and from about 25% to about 35% of a conductive filler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed percentage of material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing life. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The Bando et al. (hereinafter Bando) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of additives such as lubricants including a lubricant selected from the group consisting of methyl hydroxy stearate, hydroxystearamide, and mixtures thereof (Bando, Para. 3 on page 8 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a lubricant to the Ogishi reference in view of the teachings of the Bando reference in order to reduce friction and increase seal life.
The Nahrwold et al. (hereinafter Nahrwold) reference, a seal, discloses the addition of a conductive carbon black (Para. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the modified Ogishi reference to have conductive carbon black in view of the teachings of the Nahrwold reference in order to allow for conductivity of the seal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/3/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the applicant’s argument of the combination of references, the argument is not persuasive because each reference is dealing with seals and lubrication.
With regards to the applicant’s argument the relevance of the Wu reference, the argument is not persuasive because the Wu reference explicitly discloses “self-lubricating property”. The different materials emphasized in the arguments are the additives that would be added to the modified Ogishi reference. Applicant further argues the rationale for combination. This argument is not persuasive because it is well known in the art of sealing to provide redundancy in order to eliminate catastrophic failure of the primary component.
With regards to the compositional elements, the argument is not persuasive. There are many different materials/compositions used for seal. Many depend on the desire for chemical/temperature resistance, while others reduce friction to prolong life of the seal. Each of the references also discloses many different materials used. It is well known in the art to use materials that are optimal for the desired use.
With regards to the applicant’s argument of the rejection of claims 7-8 and 16-20, the argument is not persuasive because the previous responses have a heading that the rejection of the claims is traversed and no actual arguments of what the traversal is based on.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675