DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device” in Claims 1-13, “vacuum module” in Claims 1, 3, 12, and 13, and “disinfectant module” in Claims 1, 5, 12, and 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho KR 20140115240 A (hereafter Cho) in view of Lewis US 7,194,782 (hereafter Lewis) and design choice.
Regarding Claim 1, Cho teaches:
1. A waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device (portable stairway cleaning apparatus) comprising:
a housing (bag 200) defining an interior space (shown in Figure 5);
a vacuum module (vacuum inhaler 240 and receptacle 230) attached to the housing and positioned in the interior space (shown in Figure 5);
a suction hose (suction hose 232 and second flow path 251) attached by a first end to the vacuum module and extending from the housing (shown in Figure 5);
a first switch (selector lever 253) attached to the suction hose and operationally engaged to the vacuum module (switches between suction flow or compressed air flow), wherein the suction hose is configured for grasping in a hand of the user (with handle 161 of suction gun 250) and wherein the first switch is configured for being selectively switched by a digit of the hand for actuating the vacuum module (Figure 6), positioning the user for directing a second end (jetting rod 163) of the suction hose proximate to waste on a surface for suctioning up the waste (collects dirty water by vacuum suction, Abstract);
a disinfectant module (water container 220, see discussion below) attached to the housing, positioned in the interior space (shown in Figure 5), and being configured for selectively dispensing a disinfectant solution (through water supply hose 222, opening and closing lever 255, and jetting rod 163 as shown in Figure 5);
a fluid hose (water supply hose 222) attached by a first terminus to the disinfectant module and extending from the housing (shown in Figure 5); and
a second switch (opening and closing lever 255) attached to the suction hose (on suction gun 250) and operationally engaged to the disinfectant module (shown in Figure 5), wherein the fluid hose is configured for grasping in the hand of the user (shown in Figure 5) and wherein the second switch is configured for being selectively switched by a digit of the hand for actuating the disinfectant module (shown in Figure 6), positioning the user for directing a second terminus of the fluid hose (connection of water supply hose 222 to suction gun 250 as shown in Figure 5) to dispense the disinfectant solution onto the surface for disinfecting the surface (through jetting rod 163).
Cho discloses a water container 220 that selectively disperses water onto floor surfaces to remove dirt from the surface. The Cho device is then used to remove the dirty water from the surface using vacuum suction. Cho does not disclose that the water includes a disinfectant. The reference Lewis discloses a device with a cleaning solution reservoir 21 that can anti-bacterial. Like the Cho device, the Lewis device selectively disperses a disinfecting solution onto floor surfaces to remove dirt from the surface. The Lewis device is then used to remove the dirty fluid from the surface using vacuum suction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cho device to replace water with a disinfecting solution as taught by Lewis with the motivation to improve the breakdown of dirt and improve the quality of overall cleaning.
Regarding Claim 2, Cho teaches:
2. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 1, further including a pair of straps (straps forming backpack as shown in Figure 5) attached to a back of the housing (bag 200), such that the housing is configured for carrying upon shoulders of the user (shown in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Cho teaches:
3. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 1, further including:
the vacuum module (vacuum inhaler 240 and receptacle 230) comprising:
a vacuum pump (vacuum inhaler 240), and
a bag (receptacle 230, see discussion below) selectively positionable (detachably screwed via a pipe for emptying) in the housing (bag 200) and selectively attachable to an output port (pipe) of the vacuum pump (shown in Figure 5), such that the bag is in fluidic communication with the vacuum pump (waste water is sucked through the vacuum inhaler 240 to the sewage collecting box 230 to complete the cleaning); and
the suction hose (suction hose 232, second flow path 251, and suction gun 250) being attached to an input port of the vacuum pump, such that the suction hose is in fluidic communication with the bag (shown in Figure 5).
Cho discloses a receptacle 230 is a rigid bagless enclosure. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cho device to include a commonly known vacuum bag inside the receptacle 230 with the motivation to capture the solid debris inside a bag allowing it to be separated and easily removed from the receptacle 230 by the user for disposal.
Regarding Claim 6, Cho teaches:
6. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 1, wherein the suction hose (suction hose 232 and second flow path 251) comprises: a first segment (suction hose 232), the first segment being resiliently bendable; a second segment (second flow path 251), the second segment being substantially rigid (rigid pathway inside spraying and suction gun 250, Figure 7); and a connector (connector 161a) attached to and extending between the first segment and the second segment (shown in Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Cho teaches:
7. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 6, further including a handle (handle 161) attached (integrally attached surrounding) to the second segment (second flow path 251) and being configured for grasping in a hand of a user for positioning the second segment (shown in Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Cho teaches:
8. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 6, wherein the first switch (selector lever 253) is attached (integrally attached adjacent to) to the connector (connector 161a).
Regarding Claim 10, Cho teaches:
10. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 9, further including a plurality of walls (shown in Figure 5) attached to the housing (bag 200) and defining a plurality of compartments (first housing chamber 201, second accommodating chamber 202, and third accommodating chamber 203) within the interior space (shown in Figure 5), the fluid pump (air compressor 210) being positioned in a respective compartment (first housing chamber 201) proximate to an upper end of the housing (shown in Figure 5), the vacuum pump (vacuum inhaler 240) and the battery being positioned in a respective compartment (third accommodating chamber 203) proximate (proximate shown in Figure 5) to a lower end of the housing (location of receptacle 230 shown in Figure 5 – note: claim limitation merely requires it to be proximate not necessary “inside”), the bag (receptacle 230 modified to include a bag by design choice (Claim 3)) and the reservoir (water container 220 modified to dispense disinfectant solution as taught by Lewis (Claim 1)) being positioned singly in respective compartments (water container is singly located in second accommodating chamber 202) positioned adjacent to opposed sides of the housing (shown in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 11, Cho teaches:
11. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 10, further including:
a pair of cutouts (openings into three separate compartments shown in Figure 5) positioned in a front of the housing (bag 200), one of the cutouts opening to a respective compartment (second accommodating chamber 202 and third accommodating chamber 203) in which the bag (receptacle 230 modified to include a bag by design choice (Claim 3)) and the reservoir (water container 220 modified to dispense disinfectant solution as taught by Lewis (Claim 1)) are selectively positionable (separately removable for emptying receptacle 230 and filling water container 220), the other of the cutouts opening to a respective compartment in which the battery is selectively positionable (see discussion below);
a pair of panels (three separate zippered panels shown in Figure 5), each panel being hingedly attached (through fabric connection) to the housing proximate to a respective cutout, the panel being selectively attachable (through zipper operation) to the housing for closing the respective cutout (shown in Figure 5); and
a pair of grips (zipper pulls, Figure 5), each grip being attached to a respective panel, wherein the grip is configured for grasping in digits of the hand of the user for hinging the respective panel between an open configuration and a closed configuration (multiple zippers allow for the three different spaces to be selectively opened and closed as shown in Figure 5).
Cho discloses a bag housing 200 that includes three compartments for securing four different subassemblies as shown in Figure 5. Cho discloses that the three compartments are separately opened via a zippered closure. Cho elected to combine the vacuum inhaler 240 and receptacle 230 in the same compartment that are together accessed by a larger zippered flap. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zippered flap arrangement on the Cho device to combine the two removable components, receptacle 230 and water container 220, to be collectively opened by a single zippered flap with the motivation to simplify the user interface by requiring only one zippered flap to be opened to expose the only frequently removable components.
Regarding Claim 13, Cho teaches:
13. A method for removing waste from a surface and disinfecting the surface, the method comprising providing a waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device (portable stairway cleaning apparatus) according to Claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above), and:
grasping the suction hose (suction hose 232 and second flow path 251) in a hand (shown in Figures 5 and 7);
directing the second end (jetting rod 163) of the suction hose proximate to waste on a surface;
switching the first switch (selector lever 253) to actuate the vacuum module (vacuum inhaler 240 and receptacle 230) to suction up the waste;
directing the second terminus (connection of water supply hose 222 to suction gun 250 as shown in Figure 5) of the fluid hose (water supply hose 222) toward the surface (by pointing jetting rod 163 toward target as shown in Figure 5); and
switching the second switch (opening and closing lever 255) to actuate the disinfectant module (shown in Figure 6) to dispense a disinfectant solution (modified as taught by Lewis in Claim 1 device) onto the surface to disinfect the surface (through water supply hose 222, opening and closing lever 255, and jetting rod 163 as shown in Figure 5).
In other words, a user of the combined Cho device, approaches a floor to be cleaned, switches the device to vacuum mode with the first switch, vacuums the debris from the floor surface, switches the device to compressed air mode, points the nozzle toward the floor surface, turns on fluid using second switch and dispenses the disinfecting fluid onto the floor surface. All of these steps would be a routine cleaning operation for a user of the combined Cho device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho KR 20140115240 A (hereafter Cho) in view of Lewis US 7,194,782 (hereafter Lewis) and design choice as presented in Claim 3 in further view of Morrow et al. EP 2695563 A2 (hereafter Morrow et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Cho teaches:
4. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 3, further including an aroma compound (see discussion below) impregnated in the bag (receptacle 230 modified by design choice to include a bag).
The reference Morrow et al. discloses a prior art vacuum bag configured with a solid fragrance carrier 32 comprising a fragrance suspended or mixed in a polymeric matrix that is adhesively bonded to a filter bag 360 that provides a fragranced scent to air exhausted from the vacuum cleaner. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cho device to include a vacuum bag with a fragrance impregnated in the bag as taught by Morrow et al. with the motivation to improve the smell of the environment during and after cleaning.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho KR 20140115240 A (hereafter Cho) in view of Lewis US 7,194,782 (hereafter Lewis) and design choice as presented in Claim 3 in further view of Loiti Urquia US 2024/0278268 (hereafter Loiti Urquia).
Regarding Claim 5, Cho teaches:
5. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 3, further including:
the disinfectant module comprising:
a fluid pump (air compressor 210 - see discussion below),
a reservoir (water container 220 modified to dispense disinfectant solution as taught by Lewis (Claim 1)) selectively positionable (removable for refilling) in the housing (bag 200) and selectively attachable an inlet port (see discussion below - Loiti Urquia: inlet valve 33) of the fluid pump, such that the reservoir is in fluidic communication with the fluid pump, the reservoir being configured for containing the disinfectant solution, and
a straw (see discussion below – Loiti Urquia: suction tube 34’, Figure 10) extending from the inlet port to proximate to a bottom of the reservoir (Loiti Urquia: Figure 10);
the first terminus of the fluid hose (water supply hose 222) being attached to an outlet port of the fluid pump (shown in Figure 5), such that the fluid hose is in fluidic communication with the reservoir (shown in Figure 5);
a wand (spraying and suction gun 250) attached to the second terminus of the fluid hose (shown in Figure 6), wherein the wand is configured to facilitate directing of the disinfectant solution onto the surface (shown in Figure 5), the second switch (opening and closing lever 255) being attached to the wand (shown in Figure 6); and
a pair of clips (see discussion below – Loiti Urquia: receptacle 51 and through hole 36 features) attached to the housing and selectively attachable to the wand to stow the wand when it is not in use (hook portion 165 provides a means for hanging the air gun 250).
Cho discloses a water container 220 that selectively disperses water onto floor surfaces to remove dirt from the surface. The Cho device is then used to remove the dirty water from the surface using vacuum suction. As shown in Figure 5, the water supply hose 222 is attached to the top of the water container 220 and an air compressor 210. Cho discloses in the Abstract that water is transported from the water container 220 by ejecting pressurized air pumped from the air compressor into the tank resulting in a pressure that forces the fluid upward and out of the water container. Cho does not disclose a connection of the compressed air to an inlet port or a straw extending from the inlet port to proximate a bottom of the water container. The reference Loiti Urquia discloses a pressurized water sprayer that includes a tank 2 that is configured with a tubular outlet 34 at the top of the device, as shown in Figures 10 and 11, in a fashion similar to Cho. Loiti Urquia discloses an air compressor 4 that is connected to an inlet valve 33 at the top of the tank (Figure 11) allowing it to pump pressurized air into the tank resulting in a pressure that forces the fluid upward and out of the water container through a hose 351. Loiti Urquia discloses in Figure 10 a straw (suction tube 34’) that extends from the inlet valve 33 (tee-shaped connector shown in Figure 11) and into tubular outlet 34 connected to the connection hose 351). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water container 220 of the Cho device with a tee-shaped connector (with inlet valve) as taught by Loiti Urquia with the motivation to connect the air compressor to the tank allowing it to be pressurized as described by Cho in the Abstract. Additionally, it would have been obvious to modify the Cho water container 220 with a straw as taught by Loiti Urquia extending from the inlet port (like inlet valve 33) to proximate to a bottom of the water container 220 with the motivation to prevent air from escaping though the tubular outlet and maximize the amount of fluid that can be pushed out of the water container.
Cho discloses a spraying and suction gun 250 that is attached to the backpack via multiple hoses. Cho additionally discloses that the spraying and suction gun 250 has a hook portion 165 that is used to hang the spraying and suction gun 250 when not in use. The reference Loiti Urquia discloses in Figure 11, a receptacle 51 and through hole 36 features that are used to hang the spray lance 35 onto the body of the device allowing it to be stowed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing/backpack of the Cho device to include clips located to connect to the hook portion 165 and the tip of the jetting rod 163, as taught by Loiti Urquia with the motivation to secure and stow the spraying and suction gun 250 to the housing/backpack when not being used.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho KR 20140115240 A (hereafter Cho) in view of Lewis US 7,194,782 (hereafter Lewis) and design choice as presented in Claim 1 in further view of Hill et al. US 2017/0369032 (hereafter Hill et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Cho teaches:
9. The waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device of claim 1, further including:
a battery (see discussion below – Hill et al. battery 128, power source 506) selectively positionable in the interior space (Hill et al. – Figure 1), the battery being rechargeable;
a power switch (see discussion below – Hill et al. – 162) attached to the housing (Cho – bag 200 and Hill et al. – housing 112);
a microprocessor (see discussion below – Hill et al. – microprocessor 602 of machine controller 164) attached to the housing, positioned in the interior space (Hill et al. – Figure 1), and operationally engaged to the battery, the power switch, the vacuum pump (Cho – vacuum inhaler 240 and receptacle 230), the fluid pump (Cho - air compressor 210), the first switch (Cho - selector lever 253), and the second switch (Cho - opening and closing lever 255), such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the vacuum pump and the fluid pump upon switching of the first switch and the second switch (Hill et al. – machine controller 164 controls device operation including all the associated components), respectively; and
a charging port (see discussion below – Hill et al. – 166) attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the charging port is configured for insertion of a plug of a charging cord extending from a source of electrical current for charging the battery.
Cho discloses what appears to be a cordless backpack device in Figure 5 that includes a vacuum inhaler 240, air compressor 210, selector lever 253, and opening and closing lever 255. Cho does not disclose that these electrical devices are powered by a battery source, include a power switch, include a battery charging port, or includes a controller that employs a microprocessor as claimed. The reference Hill et al. discloses a cordless backpack vacuum device. Hill et al. discloses in Figure 1 that the device 100 is capable of being turned off/on where it is powered by a rechargeable battery 128 within the housing 112 with a charging port 166 obviously configured to accept the insertion of a charging cord. Hill et al. additionally discloses in Paragraph [0043] that the device comprises a number of sensors and user interface that allows the device to operate the motors, charge and control battery operation, and monitor reduce air flow, bag full detection, rate of power usage, bag weight increase rate, etc. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Cho device would need to employ a similar controller device to operate as disclosed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cho device to include a microcontroller that operates as disclosed by Hill et al. with the motivation to provide the necessary operation, diagnostics, and user interface that ensures that the Cho device operates as disclosed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho KR 20140115240 A (hereafter Cho) in view of Lewis US 7,194,782 (hereafter Lewis), design choice, Morrow et al. EP 2695563 A2 (hereafter Morrow et al.), Loiti Urquia US 2024/0278268 (hereafter Loiti Urquia), and Hill et al. US 2017/0369032 (hereafter Hill et al.) and in further view Schrum et al. US 2017/0106385 (hereafter Schrum et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Cho teaches:
12. A waste suctioning and surface disinfecting device (portable stairway cleaning apparatus) comprising:
a housing (bag 200) defining an interior space (shown in Figure 5);
a pair of straps (straps forming backpack as shown in Figure 5) attached to a back of the housing, such that the housing is configured for carrying upon shoulders of a user (shown in Figure 5), the straps being padded;
a vacuum module (vacuum inhaler 240 and receptacle 230) attached to the housing and positioned in the interior space (shown in Figure 5), the vacuum module comprising:
a vacuum pump (vacuum inhaler 240),
a bag (receptacle 230, see Claim 3 discussion) selectively positionable (detachably screwed via a pipe for emptying) in the housing and selectively attachable to an output port (pipe) of the vacuum pump (shown in Figure 5), such that the bag is in fluidic communication with the vacuum pump (waste water is sucked through the vacuum inhaler 240 to the sewage collecting box 230 to complete the cleaning), and
an aroma compound impregnated in the bag (see Claim 4 discussion);
a suction hose (suction hose 232 and second flow path 251) attached by a first end to the vacuum module and extending from the housing (shown in Figure 5), the suction hose being attached to an input port of the vacuum pump, such that the suction hose is in fluidic communication with the bag (shown in Figure 5), the suction hose comprising:
a first segment (suction hose 232), the first segment being resiliently bendable,
a second segment (second flow path 251), the second segment being substantially rigid (rigid pathway inside spraying and suction gun 250, Figure 7), and
a connector (connector 161a) attached to and extending between the first segment and the second segment (shown in Figure 7);
a handle (handle 161) attached to the second segment and being configured for grasping in a hand of a user for positioning the second segment (shown in Figures 5 and 6);
a first switch (selector lever 253) attached to the connector and operationally engaged to the vacuum module (switches between suction flow or compressed air flow), wherein the suction hose is configured for grasping in a hand of the user (with handle 161 of suction gun 250) and wherein the first switch is configured for being selectively switched by a digit of the hand for actuating the vacuum module (Figure 6), positioning the user for directing a second end (jetting rod 163) of the suction hose proximate to waste on a surface for suctioning up the waste (collects dirty water by vacuum suction, Abstract);
a disinfectant module (water container 220, see Claim 1 discussion) attached to the housing, positioned in the interior space (shown in Figure 5), and being configured for selectively dispensing a disinfectant solution (through water supply hose 222, opening and closing lever 255, and jetting rod 163 as shown in Figure 5), the disinfectant module comprising:
a fluid pump (air compressor 210 - see Claim 5 discussion),
a reservoir (water container 220 modified to dispense disinfectant solution as taught by Lewis (Claim 1)) selectively positionable in the housing (removable for refilling) and selectively attachable an inlet port (Loiti Urquia: inlet valve 33 – see Claim 5 discussion) of the fluid pump, such that the reservoir is in fluidic communication with the fluid pump, the reservoir being configured for containing the disinfectant solution, and
a straw (Loiti Urquia: suction tube 34’, Figure 10 – see Claim 5 discussion) extending from the inlet port to proximate to a bottom of the reservoir (Loiti Urquia: Figure 10);
a fluid hose (water supply hose 222) attached by a first terminus to the disinfectant module and extending from the housing (shown in Figure 5), the first terminus of the fluid hose being attached to an outlet port of the fluid pump (shown in Figure 5), such that the fluid hose is in fluidic communication with the reservoir (shown in Figure 5);
a second switch (opening and closing lever 255) attached to the fluid hose (serves as a valve at water supply hose 222 connection) and operationally engaged to the disinfectant module (shown in Figure 5), wherein the fluid hose is configured for grasping in the hand of the user (shown in Figure 5) and wherein the second switch is configured for being selectively switched by a digit of the hand for actuating the disinfectant module (shown in Figure 6), positioning a second terminus of the fluid hose (connection of water supply hose 222 to suction gun 250 as shown in Figure 5) to dispense the disinfectant solution onto the surface for disinfecting the surface (through jetting rod 163);
a wand (spraying and suction gun 250) attached to the second terminus of the fluid hose (shown in Figure 6), wherein the wand is configured to facilitate directing of the disinfectant solution onto the surface (shown in Figure 5), the second switch being attached to the wand (shown in Figure 6);
a pair of clips (Loiti Urquia: receptacle 51 and through hole 36 features – see Claim 5 discussion) attached to the housing and selectively attachable to the wand to stow the wand when it is not in use (hook portion 165 provides a means for hanging the air gun 250);
a battery (Hill et al. battery 128, power source 506 - see Claim 9 discussion) selectively positionable in the interior space (Hill et al. – Figure 1), the battery being rechargeable;
a power switch (Hill et al. – 162 – see Claim 9 discussion) attached to the housing (Cho – bag 200 and Hill et al. – housing 112);
a microprocessor (Hill et al. – microprocessor 602 of machine controller 164 – see Claim 9 discussion) attached to the housing, positioned in the interior space (Hill et al. – Figure 1), and operationally engaged to the battery, the power switch, the vacuum pump, the fluid pump, the first switch, and the second switch, such that the microprocessor is enabled for actuating the vacuum pump and the fluid pump upon switching of the first switch and the second switch (Hill et al. – machine controller 164 controls device operation including all the associated components), respectively;
a charging port (Hill et al. – 166 - see Claim 9 discussion) attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the microprocessor, such that the charging port is configured for insertion of a plug of a charging cord extending from a source of electrical current for charging the battery;
a plurality of walls (shown in Figure 5) attached to the housing and defining a plurality of compartments (first housing chamber 201, second accommodating chamber 202, and third accommodating chamber 203) within the interior space (shown in Figure 5), the fluid pump being positioned in a respective compartment (first housing chamber 201) proximate to an upper end of the housing (shown in Figure 5), the vacuum pump and the battery being positioned in a respective compartment (third accommodating chamber 203) proximate (proximate shown in Figure 5) to a lower end of the housing (location of receptacle 230 shown in Figure 5 – note: claim limitation merely requires it to be proximate not necessary “inside”), the bag and the reservoir being positioned singly in respective compartments (water container is singly located in second accommodating chamber 202) positioned adjacent to opposed sides of the housing (shown in Figure 5);
a pair of cutouts (openings into three separate compartments shown in Figure 5) positioned in a front of the housing, one of the cutouts opening to a respective compartment (second accommodating chamber 202 and third accommodating chamber 203) in which the bag is selectively positionable and to a respective compartment in which the reservoir is selectively positionable (separately removable for emptying receptacle 230 and filling water container 220), the other of the cutouts opening to a respective compartment in which the battery is selectively positionable (see Claim 11 discussion);
a pair of panels (three separate zippered panels shown in Figure 5), each panel being hingedly attached (through fabric connection) to the housing proximate to a respective cutout, the panel being selectively attachable (through zipper operation) to the housing for closing the respective cutout (shown in Figure 5); and
a pair of grips (zipper pulls, Figure 5), each grip being attached to a respective panel, wherein the grip is configured for grasping in digits of the hand of the user for hinging the respective panel between an open configuration and a closed configuration (multiple zippers allow for the three different spaces to be selectively opened and closed as shown in Figure 5).
Claim 12 combines previously presented claim limitations into one claim. Therefore, this claim is rejected under all previously cited references. For clarity, the Examiner has pointed back to previous claims that include a discussion regarding the specific limitation.
Regarding the straps being padded, none of the previously combined references disclose that the backpack straps are padded. Reference Schrum et al. US 2017/0106385 discloses backpack straps in Figure 12 that are padded. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the straps taught by the combined Cho device to include padded backpack straps as taught by Schrum et al. with the motivation to improve the comfort of carrying the device on a user’s back.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of backpack vacuum cleaners/fluid sprayers and combinations thereof.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723