DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belloche (US 4618031) in view of Wurman et al (CN10490391).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, Belloche discloses an installation and a method for supplying merchandise to sales display structure comprising: at least one sales floor, at least one storage floor, said floors being arranged one above the other; a mobile lift arrangement comprises at least one car lift truck of the ' picking' type, the lifting platform of which moves between at least two positions; opposing faces of the display structure can be used, one for replenishing inventory and the other for sales (equivalent to a shopper accessible layer including inventory for selection by the shopper; an item storage and replenishment area for storing inventory and a mobile device for replenishing inventory at the shopper accessible level from the item storage and replenishment area. (See Fig. 1-2; col. 3, line to col. 5).
Belloche fails to disclose an automated self-service stores, mobile robot for travelling the inventory storage and the shopper accessible level to replenish the accessible level.
Wurman et al discloses a supplementary establishment comprising: mobile drive units may be deployed at remote facilities to deliver goods in the correct order to the correct locations in the aisle for unloading the items. For example, a mobile drive unit may be a self-powered robotic device (equivalent to a plurality of mobile robots) configured to move independently within a warehouse or retail facility.. Inventory stations 50 may also represent any appropriate components for processing or handling inventory items 32, such as scanners for monitoring the inflow and outflow of inventory items 32 in inventory system 10, communication interfaces for communicating with management module 15 , and/or any other suitable components.. Inventory stations 50 may be controlled in whole or in part by an operator, or may be fully automated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Belloche and Wurman et al in the to automate the replenishment of items on the shelves.
Regarding claims 2-3, further discloses that inventory holder 30 stores inventory items 32. In some embodiments, inventory holder 30 includes a plurality of storage bins, where each storage bin is capable of holding a different type of inventory item 32. Inventory holders 30 are capable of being carried, rolled, or otherwise moved (equivalent to the inventory being stored in a shipping box) by mobile drive units 20. Based thereon, those skilled in the art readily envision the plurality of mobile robots replenishing shipping boxes at the shopper accessible level from the item storage and replenishment area. While providing a display screen on a shelf for displaying information is a conventional technique in the art, display frequency display inventory is a conventional setting that can be performed in the art. Thus, to the extent a claim is not inventive, no such claim is inventive.
Regarding claims 4-6, the additional technical features derived from the teachings of Belloche on how to obtain information of the goods. Furthermore, scanning and obtaining scanning information is common in the art for processing transaction item. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claims 9-13, the shopper accessible layer being inside a parking structure associated with said store as a customary technical means in the art. Wurman et al have disclosed that the MCS instructs the mobile robot to replenish the exhausted inventory with inventory. It is a conventional setting in the art to choose whether the same or different stock is used to replenish. Wurman et al have also disclosed that inventory information can be obtained in real-time, based on which, in order to improve user experience, display screens on which changes information identifying inventory at the location are displayed in real-time as a conventional setting that can be performed by those skilled in the art. Thus, to the extent a claim is not inventive, no such claim is inventive.
Regarding claims 14-15, the additional technical features derived from the teachings of Belloche on how to obtain information of the goods. Furthermore, scanning and obtaining scanning information is common in the art for processing transaction item. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 16, in addition to the rejection of claims 1 and 7 above, with respect to the sales area, indicated by a rectangular plan view, is connected through the upper side of the figure to a delivery area. Such limitation is just merely a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements, which therefore, obvious. Thus, the technical means customary in the art are combined, the subject matter resulting from this claim will be readily apparent to those skilled in the art, and thus the subject matter claimed in this claim does not have the outstanding essential features and significant advancements, and does not have the inventive step.
Regarding claims 17-19, further discloses that inventory holder 30 stores inventory items 32. In some embodiments, inventory holder 30 includes a plurality of storage bins, where each storage bin is capable of holding a different type of inventory item 32. Inventory holders 30 are capable of being carried, rolled, or otherwise moved (equivalent to the inventory being stored in a shipping box) by mobile drive units 20. Based thereon, those skilled in the art readily envision the plurality of mobile robots replenishing shipping boxes at the shopper accessible level from the item storage and replenishment area. While providing a display screen on a shelf for displaying information is a conventional technique in the art, display frequency display inventory is a conventional setting that can be performed in the art. Thus, to the extent a claim is not inventive, no such claim is inventive. In additions, the limitations have been met above.
Regarding claim 20, Wurman teaches wherein the mobile robots comprise a first group of mobile robots, and wherein the inventory is received at the incoming product area in totes from a delivery vehicle, the self-service store further comprising a second group of mobile robots for transferring the totes from the delivery vehicle to the incoming product area (Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument regarding the retail facility 100, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The retail facility 100 is a grocery store for exchanging good and services which includes a storage area 150 not accessible to shoppers and inventory holders 130 accessible to shoppers. The storage area 150 is used to replenish the inventory holders 130. The facility 100 is not a shopper, it is a facility (grocery store) where shoppers shop for good and services.
The mobile units/robots are programmable to transport items from one location to the next, the specific location and/or the manor of which the mobile units/robots operate is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. For instance, they can be programmed to fill back office storage area or to replenish shelves within store facilities. Furthermore, with respect to the location and position of the storage and the replenishment area, whether accessible or not to shoppers, and/or where the robots transfer the items, such limitation is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements in order to provide items security and control, which therefore, obvious.
Conclusion
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876