DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application received July 17, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of URANO et al (6,033,826), FUKUI et al (5,916,728), MALIK et al (2003/0022097) and HAGA et al (2018/0188648).
The claimed invention recites the following:
URANO et al discloses a resist comprising a photosensitive resin of the following structure as seen in Production Example 11, col. 30, line 55 – col. 31, line 29 wherein the terpolymer is the following structure:
The resin above anticipates the claimed polymer having a first repeat unit of formula (3) and the second repeat unit of formula (4).
Applicants are directed to Example 20 in col. 36, lines 56-67 wherein a bis (1,1-dimethylethyl sulfonyl) diazomethane is disclosed as the photoacid generator and N, N-dimethylacetamide is reported as a quencher, see below:
. A second photoacid generator is reported as bis (p-toluene sulfonyl) diazomethane in the formulation:
This working example lacks the presence of a 2-mercaptobenzoxazole, however teach the use of the photosensitizer in col. 23, lines 27-37 as seen below:
URANO et al disclose sensitivity adjusting agents which include tribenzylamine and others.
FUKUI et al report equivalent photoacid generators in col. 2, lines 65 - col. 3, line 19, such as bis (cyclohexylsulfonyl) diazomethane with trifluoromethylsulfonyloxy) phthalimide, see below:
MALIK et al discloses functionally equivalent basic/quencher compounds used in a photoresist, see para. [0019], page 2 which list Troger’s Base with equivalents such as tribenzylamine, shown here:
HAGA et al disclose a radiation sensitive composition wherein the resin is the same as in claim 1, see the abstract.
The reported equivalent quenchers are found in para. [0008], such as allyl caprolactam, N, N- diethyldodecamide, 1,1-dimethylethyl-4-hydroxypiperdine-1-carboxylate with Troger’s Base (2,8-diemthyl-6H, 12H-5, 11-methanobibenzo[b,f][1,5]diazocine), shown here:
The skilled artisan would know of the equivalent quenchers and expect same or similar results from the use of any of those listed in a photoresist composition.
HAGA et al also report conventional photolithographic plating method as seen in para. [0007] and [0041] shown below:
Claim 3 recite base quenchers which are disclosed in MALIK et al above.
Claim 4 is met by the ratio when calculated from the mass of the ingredients disclosed in URANO et al, Example 1.
Claim 5 for the photoacids are met by the equivalent photoacids reported above in FUKUI et al.
Claim 6 is met by the disclosed amounts of the photosensitizer at 0.5 parts to 100 parts of the polymer which translate to 0.1 parts to 1 part of the photoacid generator in Example 20.
Claim 7 to the 2-mercaptobenzoxazole is reported in URANO et al above.
Claim 8 to components (a) thru (e ) are reported above in each of the references for the photoacid generator, the base quencher, solvent and the mercaptobenzoxazole compound.
Claim 9 to the second base quencher is taught wherein 2-mercaptobenzoxazole is seen as a photosensitizer that can be used with a base quencher (URANO et al)
Claim 10 to the process where a pattern is formed followed with immersing in a metal plating solution is taught in HAGA et al. above.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive compositions to add a photosensitizer such as 2-mercaptobenzoxazole into any of working examples in URANO et al as well as substitute known photoacid generators as disclosed in FUKUI et al and known equivalent quenchers as reported in MALIK et al and/or HAGA et al used in a photolithographic plating method disclosed in HAGA et al and reasonable expect to have a photosensitive composition which is excellent in focus margin, side wall patterns and heat resistance as disclosed in Table 10, in col. 37, line 60 to col. 38, line 22 see here:
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MASUDA et al (2023/0106185) disclose chemically amplified resist composition comprising equivalent photoacid generators in para. [0063] like bis(cyclohexylsulfonyl) diazomethane and N-(trifluoromethylsulfonyloxy) phthalimide.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
February 6, 2026