DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 21 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The robot of claim 21 comprises a tool, battery, and aligning the coupler with an external power source for recharging the battery, which is a separate and distinct invention from the invention of claims 1-20.
Claims 1-20 recite a robot having a body, mobility assembly, pneumatically actuatable tool, and a coupler that engages a valve to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source. The device of claims 1-20 focuses more on the coupler/valve arrangement, and is drawn towards aligning the coupler of the robot with the valve to access the external pneumatic source to regulate the supply of air to a pneumatically actuatable tool.
Claim 21, on other hand, does not require an external pneumatic source, or a pneumatically actuatable tool in fluid communication with the external pneumatic source. The robot in this claim is broader, and includes a body, an arm, a coupler and an external power source. The claim also generally recites a tool as opposed to a pneumatically actuatable tool, and the coupler is not in communication with the tool. This device seems to focus on connecting the coupler of the robot to the external power source to charge the battery in the robot, which is not required in any of the original claims except claim 20.
Also, the robot of claim 21 does not require the pneumatically actuatable tool or coupler engaging the valve to access an external air source, as required in claims 11 and 20.
For the reasons above, claim 21 is restricted and requires a separate search. There would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits.
Accordingly, claim 21 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-13, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata Shunsuke (WO 2019/102862) in view of Knopf et al (US PG. Pub. 2017/0028566). Relative to claims 1-3, 6-7, Iwata discloses:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Fig. 1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Pneum. actuatable tool, 10)][AltContent: textbox (Ext. Air Supply)][AltContent: textbox (Mobility Assembly, 16)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Robot, 12)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Body, 16, 18)]
[AltContent: textbox (Coupler, 58)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Ext. Air Supply)]
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 2)]
claim 1) a robot (12)(Fig. 1), comprising:
a body (16, 18)(Fig. 1) including a mobility assembly (16) for moving the robot in at least two dimensions (Ref. 16, 18 moves horizontally along rail, 14, the drive portion of the mobility assembly is inherently included but not shown, See Page 3, Para. 2 of the Eng Translation of the Specification; Ref. 18 moves the gripper 10 up and down vertically, See Page 4, Para. 7 of the English translation of the Specification),
an arm (20)(Fig. 1),
a pneumatically actuatable tool (10)(Fig. 1), and
a coupler (58)(Fig. 1-2) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (10)(Page 4, Para. 1 of English Translation of the Specification),
the mobility assembly (16) and/or the body (18) aligns the coupler (58) such that the mating end of the coupler (58) is configured to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (Page 4, Para. 1 of English Translation of the Specification, coupler 58 is communicably connected to the pipe 24, which is the external pneumatic source, through which gas flows into and out of gripper 28A);
claim 2) an air tank (vacuum pump) arranged to supply the pneumatically actuatable tool (10) with pneumatics (Page 4, Para. 1 of the English translation of the Specification);
claim 7) the pneumatically actuatable tool (10)(Fig. 1) includes a plurality of gripping elements and/or a suction cup (Page 4, Para. 1 of the English translation of the Specification).
Iwata does not expressly disclose: movement of the mobility assembly and/or the body aligns the coupler with a valve such that the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage the valve to access the pneumatic supply from the external pneumatic source.
Knopf teaches:
[AltContent: textbox ()]the mobility assembly and/or the body (202)(Fig. 2)(Para. 0055) aligns the coupler (114)(Fig. 1C) with a valve (116)(Fig 1C) such that the mating end of the coupler (114) is configured to engage the valve (116) to access the pneumatic supply from the external pneumatic source (126)(Fig. 1D)(Para. 0045; 0042, see figure below),
for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Iwata so that the mobility assembly and/or the body aligns the coupler with a valve to engage the valve to access the pneumatic supply, as taught in Knopf, for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use.
Relative to claim 1, the disclosure of Iwata in view of Knopf does not expressly disclose the movement of the mobility assembly and/or the body aligns the coupler with a valve so that the mating end of the coupler engages the valve to access the pneumatic supply.
Iwata in view of Knopf teaches: movement of the mobility assembly and/or the body aligns the coupler with a valve so that the mating end of the coupler engages the valve to access the pneumatic supply, as an obvious matter of design choice.
Modifying the system of Iwata in view of Knopf so that the robot body moves towards the external air supply so that the coupler of the robot body aligns with the valve to access the external pneumatic source constitutes automating a manual activity and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
In this case, a robot aligning and connecting itself to the external pneumatic supply source, is the same align and connect step that would be performed by a person to accomplish the same result. See MPEP §2144.04 (III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Iwata in view of Knopf so that the mobility assembly and/or the body of the robot aligns the coupler with a valve, mentioned above, since this step merely comprises automating a manual activity, and accomplishes the same result.
Relative to claims 3 and 6, the disclosure of Iwata in view of Knopf discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs; or the coupler is provided on one of the plurality of legs.
Relative to claim 3, Iwato discloses the mobility assembly comprises a single leg (16) extending from the rail (14)(Fig. 1). Iwato in view of Knopf can be modified so that the mobility assembly (16) includes a plurality of legs as opposed to one leg as a matter of design choice. Providing a plurality of legs as opposed to one leg is obvious because it constitutes a mere duplication of parts and would produce no new and unexpected result. A person of ordinary skill in the art can modify the system of Iwato to include a plurality of legs to provide additional support of the robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwato in view of Knopf so that the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as a mere duplication of parts to provide additional support of the robot.
Relative to claim 6, the coupler 58 of Iwato is arranged on the top of the gripping device (10). The coupler 58 can be provided on one of the legs (see modification of Ref. 16 above) as a matter of design choice since moving the coupler 58 to the leg/body 16 as opposed to the gripping device 10 constitutes a mere rearrangement of parts.
The exact location of the coupler on the robot is a matter of design choice, provided fluid communication with the gripper is maintained. Moving the coupler 58 to another mounting location, such as body, 16, may improve hose/pipe routing and reduce hose movement while maintaining fluid communication between the vacuum source and the gripper. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Iwato in view of Knopf so that the coupler is provided on one of the plurality of legs as a mere rearrangement of parts.
Relative to claims 11-13, 17, and 19, the disclosure of Iwata includes:
claim 11) a robot (12), comprising:
a body including a mobility assembly (see Ref. 16, 18) for moving the robot in at least two dimensions (Fig. 1),
a sensor to locate a position of the body (Page 8, Para. 3 of the English translation of the specification, see proximity sensor, by measuring the distance between the gripping device 10 and the workpiece, the position of the body is located),
a pneumatically actuatable tool (10)(Fig. 1), and
a coupler (58) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (10)(Fig. 1-2),
the mating end of the coupler (58) is configured to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (see gas moving through Ref. 24)(Fig. 1);
claim 12) an air tank (vacuum pump) in selective communication with the coupler (58) and in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (10)(Page 4, Para. 1 of the English translation of the Specification);
claim 13) the mobility assembly a leg (Ref. 16, appears to be a single leg extending from the rail 14)(Fig. 1);
claim 17) an arm (20) for controllably moving the pneumatically actuatable tool (Fig. 1);
claim 19) the pneumatically actuatable tool (10) includes a plurality of gripping elements and/or a suction cup (Fig. 1).
Iwata does not expressly disclose: the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage a valve located underneath the mobility assembly to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source and then disengage the valve.
Knopf teaches: the mating end of the coupler (114) is configured to engage a valve (116) to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (126) and then disengage the valve (Para. 0055, Ref. 114 is connected to valve 116 to access fluid from fluid supply 126, the fluid is supplied to the actuator 100)(Fig. 1C-1D), for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Iwata so that the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage a valve to access a pneumatic supply, as taught in Knopf for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use.
Relative to claims 11, the disclosure of Iwata in view of Knopf discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the coupler is configured to engage a valve located underneath the mobility assembly to access the pneumatic supply.
Iwata in view of Knopf teaches: the coupler is configured to engage a valve located underneath the mobility assembly to access the pneumatic supply as an obvious matter of design choice.
Iwato provides the coupler 58 on the top of the gripping device 10, which is underneath the body 16, 18 of the robot (See Fig. 1). Modifying the device of Iwato in view of Knopf so that the valve is connected to the coupler 58 at the below the robot body (16, 18), so that the coupler/valve arrangement is under the body 16, 18 is a matter of design choice and constitutes a mere rearrangement of parts. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)C.
As mentioned above, the exact location of the coupler/valve arrangement on the robot is a matter of design choice, provided fluid communication with the gripping device is maintained. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwata in view of Knopf so that the coupler engages a valve located underneath the mobility assembly described above, since providing the valve under the body of the robot so that the coupler engages the valve located underneath the robot body constitutes a rearrangement of parts.
Relative to claim 13, Iwato in view of Knopf does not expressly disclose the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs.
Iwato discloses the mobility assembly comprises a single leg (16) extending from the rail (14)(Fig. 1). Iwato in view of Knopf can be modified so that the mobility assembly (16) includes a plurality of legs as opposed to one leg as a matter of design choice. Providing a plurality of legs as opposed to one leg is obvious because it constitutes a mere duplication of parts. A person of ordinary skill in the art can modify the system of Iwato to include a plurality of legs to provide additional support of the robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwato in view of Knopf so that the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as a mere duplication of parts to provide additional support of the robot.
Claim(s) 8-10, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwata and Knopf as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Akama (JP 2017-132002). Relative to claims 8-10, Iwata in view of Knopf discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 8) a tool belt arranged to receive another pneumatically actuatable tool;
claim 9) the another pneumatically actuatable tool; or
claim 10) the pneumatically actuatable tool and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm.
Akama teaches:
claim 8) a tool belt arranged to receive another pneumatically actuatable tool (see holding unit 31, described as an Automatic Tool Changer, for changing tools and is coupled to a robot hand 32b which is pneumatically operated using air, see hose 42a; Fig. 4; See English translation of the Specification, Page 2, Para. 5, beginning with “The robot arm 30” and Para. 6, see “air tank”);
claim 9) the another pneumatically actuatable tool (robot hands can be interchanged using the tool changer 31; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English Translation of the Specification, “work hand 32 described later can be detachably held”; Page 4, Para. 5, “the holding unit can hold different work hands”); and
claim 10) the another pneumatically actuatable tool (32), the pneumatically actuatable tool (32) and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm (robot hands 32 can be interchanged using the tool changer 31; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English Translation of the Specification, “work hand 32 described later can be detachably held”; Page 4, Para. 5, “the holding unit can hold different work hands”).
Akama teaches: the tool belt for receiving the another pneumatically actuatable tool described above for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work (Page 9, Para. 1-2 of the English Translation of the Specification, “The advantage of this configuration is that it is easy to change the order of work between the work station”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwata in view of Knopf with the tool belt and the another pneumatically actuatable tool as taught in Akama, for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work.
Relative to claims 18 and 20, Iwata in view of Knopf discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 18) a tool belt arranged to carry the pneumatically actuatable tool and/or another pneumatically actuatable tool; and the another pneumatically actuatable tool,
the pneumatically actuatable tool and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm; or
claim 20) an onboard battery, and the coupler further includes a conductive contact designed to engage an external charging source to recharge the onboard battery.
Akama teaches:
claim 18) a tool belt (31) arranged to carry the pneumatically actuatable tool (robot hand 32) and/or another pneumatically actuatable tool (see holding unit 31, described as an Automatic Tool Changer, for changing tools and is coupled to a robot hand 32b which is pneumatically operated using air, see hose 42a; Fig. 4; See English translation of the Specification, Page 2, Para. 5, beginning with “The robot arm 30” and Para. 6, see “air tank”); and
the another pneumatically actuatable tool (32), the pneumatically actuatable tool (32) and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm (robot hands 32 can be interchanged using the tool changer 31; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English Translation of the Specification, “work hand 32 described later can be detachably held”; Page 4, Para. 5, “the holding unit can hold different work hands”); and
claim 20) an onboard battery (“storage battery”, 40), and the coupler (50) further includes a conductive contact designed to engage an external charging source to recharge the onboard battery
(See Page 3, Para. 3 of the English translation of the specification, the AGV 10 has a power source which is an onboard storage battery, and a coupler or connection unit 50 that connects to the external power source 73 and inherently includes a conductive contact for receiving power from the power supply 73a during charging operation, the external power supply source 73 also provides an air pressure source for operating the robot hand 32 via the hose 42a; see also Page 3, Para. 3-4 of the English translation of the Specification,
“Power required for the operation of the hand main body 32b, here, electric power and compressed air is supplied from the power storage unit 40 through the robot arm 30,.. the power supply source 73 includes a power source 73a capable of supplying electric power and an air pressure source 73b capable of supplying compressed air. The power source 73a may be a supply port that supplies commercial power supplied to a factory, or a power transformer or AC / DC converter that converts the voltage of the commercial power source or performs AC / DC conversion. The pneumatic pressure source 73b may be a so-called factory compressed air supply port”; see Fig. 3-4 where the connecting unit 50 is connected to the power supply 73).
Akama teaches: the tool belt, the another pneumatically actuatable tool, the onboard battery, and the coupler including a conductive contact to engage a charging source described above for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work (Page 9, Para. 1-2 of the English Translation of the Specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwata in view of Knopf with: the tool belt, the another pneumatically actuatable tool, the onboard battery, and the coupler including a conductive contact as taught in Akama for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girtman (US PG. Pub. 2015/0360882) in view of Knopf (US PG. Pub. 2017/0028566). Relative to claims 1, 3-4, Girtman discloses:
claim 1) A robot (100)(Fig. 1-2), comprising:
a body (120)(Fig. 1-2) including a mobility assembly for moving the robot in at least two dimensions (see chassis 121 on wheels, 122-125)(Fig. 1)(Para. 0105),
an arm (robotic arm, such as Ref. 163, 4030)(Fig. 40D)(Para. 0111, 0214),
a pneumatically actuatable tool (vacuum manipulator 408, 4110)(Fig. 41A, 19, 9), and
a coupler (see air-line/distributor) having a mating end that accesses a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (see air-line that carries the compressed air to the manipulator head 4110 to be in selective communication with the manipulator head 4110 connected to end of arm 4030c, the coupler is formed by the air line interface that received air from an outside source, such as compressed air conducted from the warehouse or distribution center, Para. 0223; 0220);
claim 3) the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs (see multiple leg members, which are not labeled, on chasses 121, near wheels, Fig. 1, 14)(Para. 0105); and
claim 4) at least one of the plurality of legs includes a wheel (see different wheels 122-125, connected to the members of the chassis 121, i.e, the leg members, Fig. 1)(Para. 0105).
Girtman does not expressly disclose: the coupler has a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool, and movement of the mobility assembly and/or the body aligns the coupler with a valve such that the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage the valve and access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source; or
at least one of the wheels is provided with a locking mechanism.
Knopf teaches: the coupler (114)(Fig. 1C) has a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (100), and
the coupler (114) is aligned with a valve (116) such that the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage the valve (116) and access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (126)(Fig. 1D)(Para. 0045; 0042, see figure below),
for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Girtman with the coupler having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool, and the coupler aligning with the valve to engage the valve and access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source described above, as taught in Knopf for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use.
Relative to claim 4, the disclosure of Girtman in view of Knopf discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the wheel includes a locking mechanism.
Girtman teaches the wheel includes a locking mechanism as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference. Wheel locks are used in mobile robots for unloading containers or trailers of goods, such as in Girtman, and are well-known for locking wheels in place to safely secure the unloader to prevent unwanted movement during an unloading operation. Locking the wheels in place prevents damage to the container, robot, and/or the goods. See MPEP §2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Girtman with the wheel lock on the wheels, as an obvious matter of design choice since providing wheel locks on wheels to prevent movement of a robot during unloading is well known in the art of materials handling.
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girtman in view of Knopf. Relative to claims 11, 13 and 15-16, the disclosure of Girtman includes:
claim 11) a robot (100)(Fig. 1-2), comprising:
a body (including a mobility assembly for moving the robot in at least two dimensions (see chassis 121 with wheels for moving the robotic load handler, 122-125)(Fig. 1)(Para. 0105),
a sensor to locate a position of the body (see sensors 193 determine proximity of robotic unloader to wall; cameras or other sensors (e.g., distance sensors) may be utilized to provide visualization and guide the robotic carton unloader into an unloading area (e.g., a semi-trailer)(Para. 0120; 0205),
a pneumatically actuatable tool (4110)(Fig. 41A), and
a coupler (see air-line) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool, the mating end of the coupler being configured to access a pneumatic supply (outside air) from an external pneumatic source (see air-line that carries the compressed air to the manipulator head 4110 to be in selective communication with the manipulator head 4110, the coupler is formed by the air line that receives air from an outside source, such as compressed air conducted from the warehouse or distribution center, Para. 0223; 0220);
claim 13) the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs (see multiple leg members (not labeled) on chassis 121 near wheels)(Para. 0105)(Fig. 1, 14); and
claim 15) at least one of the plurality of legs includes a wheel (122-125)(see end of members of chassis 121 near wheels)(Fig. 1, 14).
Girtman does not expressly disclose:
claim 11) the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage a valve located underneath the mobility assembly to access a pneumatic supply from an external source, and then disengage the valve; or
claim 16) the wheel includes a locking mechanism.
Knopf teaches: the mating end of the coupler (114) is configured to engage a valve (116) to access a pneumatic supply from an external source (126)(Para. 0045; 0042; 0055), and then disengage the valve (Para. 0042), for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Girtman with the coupler having a mating end of the coupler engaging the valve to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source described above, as taught in Knopf for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use.
Relative to claim 11, the disclosure of Girtman in view of Knopf does not expressly disclose the coupler engages a valve located underneath the mobility assembly.
Girtman in view of Knopf teaches the coupler engages the valve underneath the mobility assembly as an obvious matter of design choice.
Modifying the device of Girtman in view of Knopf so that the coupler engages a valve arrangement underneath the mobility assembly is a matter of design choice and constitutes a mere rearrangement of parts. See MPEP §2144.04 (IV)C.
As mentioned above, the exact location of the coupler/valve arrangement is a matter of design choice, provided fluid communication with the gripping device is maintained. See MPEP §2144.04 VI(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwata in view of Knopf so that the coupler engages a valve located underneath the mobility assembly described above, since providing the valve under the body of the robot so that the coupler engages the valve located underneath the robot body constitutes a rearrangement of parts.
Relative to claim 16, Girtman in view of Knopf discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the wheel includes a locking mechanism.
Girtman teaches the wheel includes a locking mechanism as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference. Wheel locks are used in mobile robots for unloading containers or trailers of goods, such as in Girtman, and are well-known for locking wheels in place to safely secure the unloader to prevent unwanted movement during an unloading operation. Locking the wheels in place prevents damage to the container, robot, and/or the goods. See MPEP §2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Girtman with the wheel lock on the wheels, as an obvious matter of design choice since providing wheel locks on wheels to prevent movement of a robot during unloading is well known in the art of materials handling.
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCollum (WO 2015/153697 A1) in view of Knopf. Relative to claims 11, 13, and 14, McCollum discloses: a robot (140)(Fig. 1), comprising:
claim 11) a body (see body of robot, 140) including a mobility assembly for moving the robot (140) in at least two dimensions (the robot 140 has multiple degrees of freedom of motion, and can move in at least two dimensions, such as back and forth, up and down, etc.; Para. 0045),
a sensor to locate a position of the body (Para. 0076, camera 127 identifies the edges of the articles relative to the robot arm, thereby locating a position of the body)(Fig. 23);
a pneumatically actuatable tool (142)(Para. 0040), and
a coupler (see vacuum and air lines)(Fig. 2) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (air lines carry air can selectively communicate with manipulator 142 to provide compressed air from source 126), the mating end of the coupler being configured to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (air line is supplied air from the external pneumatic source, 126)(Para. 0044, see figure below); and
claim 13) the mobility assembly includes a leg (see bottom portion of Ref. 140, shown in Fig. 2 above), and
claim 14) the leg includes a foot (the bottom most edge of the robot 140 near the hoses can be considered a foot, see Fig. 2 below).
McCollum does not expressly disclose: the mating end of the coupler is configured to engage a valve located underneath the mobility assembly to access a pneumatic supply from an external source, and then disengage the valve; or
the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs.
Knopf teaches: the mating end of the coupler (114) is configured to engage a valve (116) to access a pneumatic supply from an external source (126)(Para. 0045; 0042; 0055), and then disengage the valve (Para. 0042), for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use (Para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Girtman with the coupler having a mating end of the coupler engaging the valve to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source described above, as taught in Knopf for the purpose of providing a robotic system having soft robotic actuator made of materials that are adaptive, inexpensive, customizable, and simple to use.
Relative to claim 11, the disclosure of McCollum in view of Knopf does not expressly disclose the coupler engages a valve located underneath the mobility assembly.
McCollum in view of Knopf teaches the coupler engages the valve underneath the mobility assembly as an obvious matter of design choice.
As shown above, the air lines (coupler) of McCollum that receive air from the air source appear to be underneath the body of the robot arm 140.
The device of McCollum in view of Knopf can be modified so that the coupler engages a valve arrangement underneath the mobility assembly as a matter of design choice since providing the coupler engaging the valve underneath the mobility assembly may improve routing of the hoses and constitutes a mere rearrangement of parts. See MPEP §2144.04 VI.(C).
As mentioned above, the exact location of the coupler/valve arrangement is a matter of design choice, provided fluid communication with the gripping device is maintained. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Iwata in view of Knopf so that the coupler engages a valve located underneath the mobility assembly described above, since providing the valve under the body of the robot so that the coupler engages the valve located underneath the robot body constitutes a rearrangement of parts.
Relative to claims 11, and 13-14, the disclosure of McCollum in view of Knopf does not expressly disclose: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs. As mentioned above, the mobility assembly of McCollum includes a leg (see Fig. 2 above).
McCollum in view of Knopf teaches: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as an obvious matter of design choice.
McCollum may be provided with another movable lower leg portion of robot 140 above the base of the robot as a mere duplication of parts. The additional lower leg portion may provide additional support for the robotic arm. See MPEP §2144.04 (VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of McCollum so that the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as an obvious matter of design choice as a duplication of parts.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651