DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 21: legs 608 are not clearly labeled as described in Para. 0131 of the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. 0133: line 4, it appears robot 400 should be robot 600.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagaya (JP 2016-1299923 A). Relative to claims 1 and 7, Nagaya discloses:
claim 1) a robot (see travelling robot, Ref. 2, 25, 22, 12, including robot, robot arms, pedestal, and vehicle body mounted on wheels)(Fig. 3), comprising:
a body (see Ref. 2, 21, 25, 22, 12)(Fig. 3) (Page 2, Para. 6 of the See English translation of the specification, “The twin robot 2 is an upper body humanoid robot including a robot body 21, body part 25, arm parts, etc.) comprising including a mobility assembly (13)(Fig. 3) for moving the robot in two dimensions (Page 5, Para. 5, see “wheel 13”),
an arm (see two arms 26 of Ref. 2)(Fig. 3), a pneumatically actuatable tool (see gripper (not labeled) at end of arms 26 that grips a part W using suction; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English translation of the Specification; the parts can be gripped by air absorption in each arm portion), and
a coupler (air coupler 33)(Fig. 1) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (the robot body, 21, is supplied with air from air pipe though the coupler, 33, the coupler 33 mates with an external supply source 34 to supply air to gripper of arm 26)(Fig. 1)(Page 3, Para. 2 of the English translation of the specification),
the mating end of the coupler (see where coupler 33 is connected to air supply source 34) being configured to access a pneumatic supply (supply of air) from an external pneumatic source (the mating end of coupler 33 access air from the air supply source 34, which supplies air suction to the gripper of the arm 26; Page 3, Para. 2 of the English translation of the Specification: “while gripping the component W1 by air suction (air chuck) by supplying air to each arm portion 26 through the air pipe. The supply of air to the robot body 21 is performed by connecting an air supply source 34 (see FIG. 1) on the equipment side to an air coupler 33 provided on the base 22 of the double robot 2; see also Page 5, Para. 5, see sentence beginning with “As a result, air is supplied..”);
claim 7) the pneumatically actuatable tool (gripper tool of each arm 26)(Fig. 3) includes a plurality of gripping elements and/or a suction cup (See Fig. 3, see two arms 26, each arm having a gripping component, Page 5, Para. 5 of the English translation of Specification, see “and the parts W <b> 1 can be gripped by air adsorption in each arm portion 26 of the double robot 2”)(Fig. 3).
Relative to claims 11, 17, and 19, the disclosure of Nagaya includes:
claim 11) a robot (see travelling robot, Ref. 2, 25, 22, 12, including robot, robot arms, pedestal, and vehicle body mounted on wheels)(Fig. 3), comprising:
a body (see Ref. 21, 25, 26)(Fig. 3) including a mobility assembly (13) for moving the robot in two dimensions (English translation of Specification, Page 2, Para. 5; and Page 3, Para. 3, vehicle has wheels 13, which rotate independently, see forward and backward and lateral directions of movement along arrows along floor 55)(Fig. 2),
a sensor (GPS or gyro sensor) to locate a position of the body (see Page 8, Para. 2 of the English translation of the Specification, “Specifically, for example, the unmanned vehicle 3 may be configured to travel a predetermined route while grasping the current position by using a GPS, a gyro sensor, or the like”)
a pneumatically actuatable tool (gripper components of Ref. 26)(Fig. 3)(Page 3, Para. 2, “gripping the component”), and
a coupler (33) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (Page 3, Para. 2 of the English translation of the Specification; coupler 33 mates with air supply source 34 to provide air through an air pipe to the gripping components of arm 26 to selectively grip the parts W using air suction)
the mating end of the coupler (33) being configured to access a pneumatic supply (air supply) from an external pneumatic source (coupler 33 accesses air from supply source 34 to provide suction to grippers of arm; Page 3, Para. 2, see “inspection work of the part W1 by moving the two arm portions 26”);
claim 17) comprising an arm (26) for controllably moving the pneumatically actuatable tool (Page 3, Para. 1 of English translation of Specification); and
claim 19) the pneumatically actuatable tool (grippers) includes a plurality of gripping elements (each arm 26, includes at least one gripper component)(Page 5, Para. 5 of English translation of Specification, “the parts W <b> 1 can be gripped by air adsorption in each arm portion 26 of the double robot 2”).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Girtman (US 2015/0360882 A1). Relative to claims 1 and 3-4, Girtman discloses: a robot (100)(Fig. 1-2), comprising:
claim 1) a body (120)(Fig. 1-2) including a mobility assembly for moving the robot in two dimensions (see chassis 121 on wheels, 122-125)(Fig. 1)(Para. 0105),
an arm (4030)(Para. 0217)(Fig. 40D),
a pneumatically actuatable tool (see vacuum manipulator 4110)(Fig. 41A), and
a coupler (not shown) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (4110), the mating end of the coupler being configured to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (the coupler is inherently included, the vacuum manipulator head 4110 connected to the end of arm 4030c, can be supplied with air from an air-line that can be provided from an outside source, such as the warehouse, the supplied air from the air-line flows through the end of arm and to the vacuum head 4110 to apply suction or negative air to grip an article, the connection between the air-line bringing the outside air, and the end of arm 4030c with manipulator head 4110 is the coupling that mates the pneumatic source or outside air to the vacuum manipulator head 4110)(Para. 0223);
claim 3) the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs (see multiple leg members (not labeled) on chassis 121 near wheels)(Para. 0105)(Fig. 1, 14); and
claim 4) at least one of the plurality of legs includes a wheel (122-125)(see end of members of chassis 121 near wheels)(Fig. 1, 14).
Relative to claims 11, 13 and 15, the disclosure of Girtman includes:
claim 11) a robot (100)(Fig. 1-2), comprising:
a body (including a mobility assembly for moving the robot in two dimensions (see chassis 121 with wheels for moving the robotic load handler, 122-125)(Fig. 1)(Para. 0105),
a sensor to locate a position of the body (see sensors 193 determine proximity of robotic unloader to wall; cameras or other sensors (e.g., distance sensors) may be utilized to provide visualization and guide the robotic carton unloader into an unloading area (e.g., a semi-trailer)(Para. 0120; 0205),
a pneumatically actuatable tool (4110)(Fig. 41A), and
a coupler (not shown but included) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool, the mating end of the coupler being configured to access a pneumatic supply (outside air) from an external pneumatic source (the coupler is inherently included, the vacuum manipulator head 4110 connected to the end of arm 4030c, can be supplied with air from an air-line that can be provided from an outside source, such as the warehouse, the supplied air from the air-line flows through the end of arm and to the vacuum head 4110 to apply suction or negative air to grip an article, the connection between the air-line bringing the outside air, and the end of arm 4030c with manipulator head 4110 is the coupling that mates the pneumatic source or outside air to the vacuum manipulator head 4110);
claim 13) the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs (see multiple leg members (not labeled) on chassis 121 near wheels)(Para. 0105)(Fig. 1, 14); and
claim 15) at least one of the plurality of legs includes a wheel (122-125)(see end of members of chassis 121 near wheels)(Fig. 1, 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaya. Relative to claim 2, Nagaya discloses all claim limitations above, but does not expressly disclose:
an air tank arranged to supply the pneumatically actuatable tool with pneumatics.
Nagaya teaches an air tank arranged to supply the pneumatically actuatable tool with pneumatics as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference.
Nagaya discloses an air supply source 34 for supplying air to the air pipe and to the gripping component of the arm 26. The air supply source may be an air tank as an obvious matter of design choice since air tanks are well-known devices for supplying an outside source of to a robotic manipulator for manipulating items using compressed air.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of Nagaya with the air tank for supplying the pneumatically actuatable tool with pneumatics as a matter of design choice since air tanks are well-known types of sources for supplying an outside source of air through an air lines to a device for manipulating items using suction. See MPEP §2144.03.
Relative to claim 12, Nagaya discloses all claim limitations above, but does not expressly disclose: an air tank in selective communication with the coupler and in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool.
Nagaya teaches an air tank arranged to supply the pneumatically actuatable tool with pneumatics as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference.
Nagaya discloses an air supply source 34 for supplying air to the air pipe and to the gripping component of the arm 26. The air supply source may be an air tank as an obvious matter of design choice since air tanks are well-known types of sources for supplying an outside source of air through an air lines to a device for manipulating items using suction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of Nagaya with the air tank for supplying the pneumatically actuatable tool with pneumatics as a matter of design choice since air tanks are well-known types of sources for supplying an outside source of air through an air lines to a device for manipulating items using suction. See MPEP §2144.03.
Claim(s) 8-10, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaya in view of Akama (JP 2017-132002 A).
Relative to claims 8-10, Nagaya discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: a tool belt arranged to receive another pneumatically actuatable tool; the another pneumatically actuatable tool; or the pneumatically actuatable tool and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm.
Akama teaches:
a tool belt arranged to receive another pneumatically actuatable tool (see holding unit 31, described as an Automatic Tool Changer, for changing tools and is coupled to a robot hand 32b which is pneumatically operated using air, see hose 42a; Fig. 4; See English translation of the Specification, Page 2, Para. 5, beginning with “The robot arm 30” and Para. 6, see “air tank”);
the another pneumatically actuatable tool (robot hands can be interchanged using the tool changer 31; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English Translation of the Specification, “work hand 32 described later can be detachably held”; Page 4, Para. 5, “the holding unit can hold different work hands”); and
the another pneumatically actuatable tool (32), the pneumatically actuatable tool (32) and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm (robot hands 32 can be interchanged using the tool changer 31; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English Translation of the Specification, “work hand 32 described later can be detachably held”; Page 4, Para. 5, “the holding unit can hold different work hands”).
Akama teaches: the tool belt for receiving the another pneumatically actuatable tool described above for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work (Page 9, Para. 1-2 of the English Translation of the Specification, “The advantage of this configuration is that it is easy to change the order of work between the work station”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagaya with the tool belt and the another pneumatically actuatable tool as taught in Akama, for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work.
Relative to claims 18 and 20, Nagaya discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
a tool belt arranged to carry the pneumatically actuatable tool and/or another pneumatically actuatable tool; and
the another pneumatically actuatable tool, the pneumatically actuatable tool and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm; or an onboard battery, and the coupler further includes a conductive contact designed to engage an external charging source to recharge the onboard battery.
Akama teaches:
a tool belt (31) arranged to carry the pneumatically actuatable tool (robot hand 32) and/or another pneumatically actuatable tool (see holding unit 31, described as an Automatic Tool Changer, for changing tools and is coupled to a robot hand 32b which is pneumatically operated using air, see hose 42a; Fig. 4; See English translation of the Specification, Page 2, Para. 5, beginning with “The robot arm 30” and Para. 6, see “air tank”); and
the another pneumatically actuatable tool (32), the pneumatically actuatable tool (32) and the another pneumatically actuatable tool are interchangeably coupleable to the arm,
(robot hands 32 can be interchanged using the tool changer 31; Page 5, Para. 5 of the English Translation of the Specification, “work hand 32 described later can be detachably held”; Page 4, Para. 5, “the holding unit can hold different work hands”); and
an onboard battery (“storage battery”, 40), and the coupler (50) further includes a conductive contact designed to engage an external charging source to recharge the onboard battery
(See Page 3, Para. 3 of the English translation of the specification, the AGV 10 has a power source which is an onboard storage battery, and a coupler or connection unit 50 that connects to the external power source 73 and inherently includes a conductive contact for receiving power from the power supply 73a during charging operation, the external power supply source 73 also provides an air pressure source for operating the robot hand 32 via the hose 42a; see also Page 3, Para. 3-4 of the English translation of the Specification, “Power required for the operation of the hand main body 32b, here, electric power and compressed air is supplied from the power storage unit 40 through the robot arm 30,.. the power supply source 73 includes a power source 73a capable of supplying electric power and an air pressure source 73b capable of supplying compressed air. The power source 73a may be a supply port that supplies commercial power supplied to a factory, or a power transformer or AC / DC converter that converts the voltage of the commercial power source or performs AC / DC conversion. The pneumatic pressure source 73b may be a so-called factory compressed air supply port ..see Fig. 3-4 where the connecting unit 50 is connected to the power supply 73).
Akama teaches: the tool belt, the another pneumatically actuatable tool, the onboard battery, and the coupler including a conductive contact to engage a charging source described above for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work (Page 9, Para. 1-2 of the English Translation of the Specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagaya with: the tool belt, the another pneumatically actuatable tool, the onboard battery, and the coupler including a conductive contact as taught in Akama for the purpose of providing an automatic conveyance vehicle with a robot arm that allows the robot to change tools that conform to the work type, allowing the robot to easily change the order of work between workstations, or to add or delete work.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girtman as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Nagaya (JP 2016/129923 A). Relative to claims 5 and 16, Girtman discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the wheel includes a locking mechanism.
Girtman teaches the wheel includes a locking mechanism as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference. Wheel locks are used in mobile robots for unloading containers or trailers of goods, such as in Girtman, and are well-known for locking wheels in place to safely secure the unloader to prevent unwanted movement during an unloading operation. Locking the wheels in place prevents damage to the container, robot, and/or the goods. See MPEP §2144.03
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Girtman with the wheel lock on the wheels, as an obvious matter of design choice since providing wheel locks on wheels to prevent movement of a robot during unloading is well known in the art of materials handling.
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCollum (WO 2015/153697 A1). Relative to claims 1, 3 and 6, McCollum discloses:
A robot (140)(Fig. 1), comprising:
a body (see body of robot, 140) including a mobility assembly for moving the robot (140) in two dimensions (the robot 140 has multiple degrees of freedom of motion, and can move in at least two dimensions, such as back and forth, up and down, etc.; Para. 0045),
an arm (see movable upper end of arm of robot near Ref. 142)(Fig. 1-2), a
pneumatically actuatable tool (142)(Para. 0040), and
a coupler (see bottom portion of robot 140 beneath the manipulator 142, near the base, that includes the hoses)(Fig. 2) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (the bottom portion of the robot 140, through the hoses, can selectively communicate with manipulator 142 to provide compressed air from source 126),
the mating end of the coupler being configured to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (see lower portion of robot, 140, that is connected to external pneumatic source, 126, to provide air or vacuum supply to the manipulator 142)(Para. 0044);
the mobility assembly includes a leg (the bottom portion of Ref. 140 leading upward toward the manipulator can be considered to be a leg), the coupler is provided on the leg (the coupler is provided on the bottom of the leg of 140 near the base connected to the hoses for receiving air or vacuum supply); and the leg includes a foot (the bottom most edge of the robot 140 near the hoses can be considered a foot, see Fig. 2).
McCollum does not expressly disclose: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs.
McCollum teaches: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference.
McCollum may be provided with another movable lower leg portion of robot 140 above the base of the robot as a mere duplication of parts. The duplication of legs has no patentable significance since no unexpected result would occur. See MPEP §2144.04(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of McCollum so that the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as an obvious matter of design choice as a mere duplication of parts having no patentable significance.
Claim(s) 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCollum (WO 2015/153697 A1). Relative to claims 9, 11 and 13, McCollum discloses:
A robot (140)(Fig. 1), comprising:
a body (see body of robot, 140) including a mobility assembly for moving the robot (140) in two dimensions (the robot 140 has multiple degrees of freedom of motion, and can move in at least two dimensions, such as back and forth, up and down, etc.; Para. 0045)(See Fig. 23),
a sensor to locate a position of the body (Para. 0076, camera 127 identifies the edges of the articles relative to the robot arm, thereby locating a position of the body)(Fig. 23);
pneumatically actuatable tool (142)(Para. 0040), and
a coupler (see bottom portion of robot 140 beneath the manipulator 142, near the base, that includes the hoses)(Fig. 2) having a mating end in selective communication with the pneumatically actuatable tool (the bottom portion of the robot 140, through the hoses, can selectively communicate with manipulator 142 to provide compressed air from source 126),
the mating end of the coupler being configured to access a pneumatic supply from an external pneumatic source (see lower portion of robot, 140, that is connected to external pneumatic source, 126, to provide air or vacuum supply to the manipulator 142)(Para. 0044);
the mobility assembly includes a leg (the bottom portion of Ref. 140 leading upward toward the manipulator can be considered to be a leg), the coupler is provided on the leg (the coupler is provided on the bottom of the leg of 140 near the base connected to the hoses for receiving air or vacuum supply); and the leg includes a foot (the bottom most edge of the robot 140 near the hoses can be considered a foot, see Fig. 2).
McCollum does not expressly disclose: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs.
McCollum teaches: the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as an obvious matter of design choice based on the user’s preference.
McCollum may be provided with another movable lower leg portion of robot 140 above the base of the robot as a mere duplication of parts. The duplication of legs has no patentable significance since no unexpected result would occur. See MPEP §2144.04(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of McCollum so that the mobility assembly includes a plurality of legs as an obvious matter of design choice as a mere duplication of parts having no patentable significance.
Related Art:
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nagaya teaches: the wheel includes a locking mechanism (see fixing device 15)(Page 2, Para. 5 of English translation of Specification, see wheel is stopped)(Fig. 3), for the purpose of providing an unmanned vehicle for carrying work that can immovably fix the vehicle during the period of work so that work can be performed effectively (Page 3, Para. 6 of the English translation of the Specification).
Lindbo (WO 2017/081281 A1): includes a picking system, with a robot, see Fig. 11b, that is mounted to a track 360, for picking an inventory item. The robot includes an arm and an actuatable tool and can be powered from a fixed power supply. Robot hands (not shown) may comprise suction cups activated by vacuum means or may comprise remotely controllable grippers activated by the central control utility.
Gillett (US PG. Pub. 2019/0369641 A1): includes a mobile robot with multiple arms 303, grippers, 305, battery power 505, pneumatic tool, and a means for accessing compressed air (106) to be supplied to the pneumatic tool (Para. 0055)(Fig. 1A, 3). The robot includes a coupler to connect an air source 106 to the robot arm (Fig. 1A, 3). Robot includes legs and wheels connected to legs. The coupler is not mated to the pneumatic gripper to provide air to the gripper.
Conclusion
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655