DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election, without traverse, of Species I of which claims read upon 1-7, in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed - 11/26/2025”, is acknowledged
This office action considers claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, of which, non-elected claims 8-20 are withdrawn, and elected claims 1-7 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (611; Fig 6; [0074]) = (element 611; Figure No. 4; Paragraph No. [0074]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The primary reference citation may not be preceded by the inventor tag, wherein the other reference citation will carry inventor tag. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by KAAJAKARI; Ville (US 20220178693 A1) hereinafter Kaajakari.
Regarding claim 1, Kaajakari teaches a MEMS inertial sensor device (labelled as MEMS gyroscope ([0005) ; Fig 4a; [0055]) , comprising: (see the entire document, fig 6, 4A-4c, along with other figs, specifically as cited below)
Kaajakari Figure 4A
a MEMS inertial sensor (MEMS gyroscope [0005] gyroscope is an inertial sensor); and
first and second drive actuation units (611, 612/683; Fig 6; [0074] Fig 6 illustrates device parts correspond to the device parts illustrated in FIG. 4a; The force transducers which are attached to lateral extension elements can actuate proof mass motion in the lateral direction and/or measure the movement of the adjacent proof mass in the lateral direction) coupled to impart oscillating motion to the MEMS inertial sensor in, respectively, first (x-axis) and second (Y-axis) orthogonal directions;
wherein the MEMS inertial sensor comprises:
a substrate (device substrate [00005]), and
a proof mass array ( a 2x2 array of proof mass {411,412} and {413,414}; Figs 41a-41c, 5-7; [0055]) positioned in spaced apart relationship (spaced by 421, 422 in x-axis direction and 423,424 in y-axis direction [0062]) above a surface of the substrate (device substrate) and constructed with a plurality of proof mass sub-structures (411-413) which are each separately connected to the substrate with orthogonally disposed pairs of spring (461,462) suspension structures (springs) and which are each rigidly connected to one or more adjacent proof mass sub-structures (411 to 412 or 411 to 413) with one or more connector bars (498; [0063]) so that the plurality of proof mass sub-structures (412-414) move as a single proof mass array that can operate at resonant frequencies of at least 100 kHz (construed from [0004]: above 50K Hz; see note below) when oscillating in the first (x-axis) and second (y-axis) orthogonal directions.
Examiner like to note that “wherein claimed “a single proof mass array that can operate at resonant frequencies of at least 100 kHz”, this entails open upper bound i.e., does not preclude more than 100 kHz (instant application [0018] In this configuration, the connected array of proof sub-mass structures 21A-P can operate at desired mode shapes with synchronized high resonant frequencies (e.g., >100 kHz)), therefore, any frequency 100 kHz or >100 kHz meets the requirement. Kaajakar teaches [0004]: if the anti-phase oscillation of four proof masses is effectively synchronized, all cophasal resonant frequencies can be brought above 50 kHz, that does not preclude 100 kHz or >100 kHz, and this range of >50 kHz to “100 kHz or >100 kHz” would perform the claimed frequencies. Because there is no evidence demonstrating a difference across the range, Kaajakar discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012)).
Regarding claim 2. Kaajakar as applied to .the MEMS inertial sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, where the MEMS inertial sensor comprises a MEMS gyroscope sensor ([0001]: microelectromechanical gyroscopes) (or a MEMS resonant accelerator sensor).
Regarding claim 3. Kaajakar as applied to .the MEMS inertial sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, where the first and second drive actuation units (611, 612/683; Fig 6; [0074] Fig 6) comprise:
(611, 612; Fig 6; [0074] Fig 6 illustrates device parts correspond to the device parts illustrated in FIG. 4a; The force transducers which are attached to lateral extension elements can actuate proof mass motion in the lateral direction and/or measure the movement of the adjacent proof mass in the lateral direction) coupled to impart oscillating motion to the MEMS inertial sensor in, respectively, first (x-axis) and second (Y-axis)
a first drive actuation unit (611) configured to impart oscillating motion to the MEMS inertial sensor in a first direction that is parallel to the surface of the substrate ([0074]): The force transducers (611) which are attached to lateral extension elements can actuate proof mass motion in the lateral direction and/or measure the movement of the adjacent proof mass in the lateral direction); and
a second drive actuation unit (612 with 683) configured to impart oscillating motion to the MEMS inertial sensor in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction ([0074]: The force transducer 612, and other force transducers attached transversal extension elements, can actuate proof mass motion in the transversal direction and/or measure the movement of the adjacent proof mass in the transversal direction).
Regarding claim 4. Kaajakar as applied to .the MEMS inertial sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, where the proof mass array comprises an n x m array of proof mass sub-structures connected to form a Lissajous frequency-modulated proof mass (construed from [0052]: it is possible to operate the gyroscope in Lissajous mode pattern; and from [0054]: when the gyroscope is operated as a frequency-modulated gyroscope, the proof masses can reliably be driven in a Lissajous pattern).
Regarding claim 5. Kaajakar as applied to the MEMS inertial sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, where the plurality of proof mass sub-structures (411-413) comprise:
a first plurality of proof mass sub-structures (411, 412) connected in a first sub-array ({411,412} of a 2x2 array of proof mass sub-structures; Figs 4a, 6) of proof mass substructures which are each separately connected to the substrate (through anchors points 491-494; [0055]) with orthogonally disposed pairs of spring suspension structures (461-462; [0057]) and which are each rigidly connected together with one or more first connector bars (498);
a second plurality of proof mass sub-structures (413, 414) connected in a second sub-array ({413,414} of a 2x2 array of proof mass sub-structures; Figs 4a, 6) of proof mass substructures which are each separately connected (through anchors points 491-494; [0055]) to the substrate with orthogonally disposed pairs of spring suspension structures (465-466) and which are each rigidly connected together with one or more second connector bars (498); and
one or more coupling pivot structures (423, 424; [0062]) positioned between the first sub-array ({411,412}) of proof mass substructures and the second sub-array ({413,414}) of proof mass substructures to impart out-of- phase (anti-phase; [0062]) oscillating motion to the first sub-array of proof mass substructures and the second sub- array of proof mass substructures.
Regarding claim 6. Kaajakar as applied to the MEMS inertial sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, where the single proof mass array can operate at different resonant frequencies of at least 100 kHz when oscillating in the first and second orthogonal directions (see claim 1 rejection and analysis supra)
Regarding claim 7. Kaajakar as applied to the MEMS inertial sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, where the orthogonally disposed pairs of spring suspension structures separately connecting each proof mass sub-structure to the substrate comprise:
first and second compliant spring structures (461-462 or 463-464; [0059]) connected to first opposed sides of said proof mass sub-structure (411,412) and disposed to direct oscillating motion at a first resonant frequency to the proof mass sub-structure in alignment with a first direction (x-axis) that is parallel to the surface of the substrate; and
third and fourth compliant spring structures (471-472 or 473-474; [0060]) connected to second opposed sides of said proof mass sub-structure (411,412) and disposed to direct oscillating motion at a second, different resonant frequency to the proof mass sub-structure in alignment with a second direction (Y-axis) that is orthogonal to the first direction (X-axis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
LAPADATU; Danie et al. (US 20240288271 A1) discloses a MEMS inertial sensor device (MEMS vibrational gyroscope angular rate sensors 1000; Fig 1; [0065]) , comprising:
a MEMS inertial sensor (MEMS gyroscope [0088] gyroscope is an inertial sensor); and
first (11) and second drive (12) actuation units (drive block; [0065]) coupled to impart oscillating motion to the MEMS inertial sensor in, respectively, first and second orthogonal directions;
wherein the MEMS inertial sensor comprises:
a substrate (device substrate [0077]), and
a proof mass array (comprising proof mass blocks; Figs 1, 8, 11; [0065,0088]) positioned in spaced apart relationship (separated by sense block 31,32) above a surface of the substrate (device substrate) and constructed with a plurality of proof mass sub-structures (21, 22)) which are each separately connected to the substrate with orthogonally disposed pairs of spring (proof mass spring 47; [0073]) suspension structures (springs) and which are each rigidly connected to one or more adjacent proof mass sub-structures (21,22) with one or more connector bars (50; [0075]) so that the plurality of proof mass sub-structures (21,22) move as a single proof mass array that can operate at resonant frequencies of at least 100 kHz (construed from [0095]: In preferred configurations, the fingers must be sufficiently rigid to avoid proper resonances below 100 kHz; it must be 100 KHz or more ) when oscillating in the first (x-axis) and second (y-axis) orthogonal directions.
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
January 15, 2026