DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s arguments in the Response dated December 28, 2025 as part of the Request for Continued Examination directed to the rejection set forth in the Final Office Action dated October 6, 2025. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-20 are pending in the application and subject to examination as part of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urban et al., US 2021/0295638 A1 (hereinafter Urban), in view of Villanueva et al., US 2022/0301387 A1 (hereinafter Villanueva), and further in view of Li, US 2014/0085896 A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended): Urban discloses a candle system for a gaming machine, the candle system including:
a video display device having a display area aligned with at least a portion of the video display device front surface (Urban, edge lighting features including an edge lighting array 610A [0114] and [Fig. 15]; one or more lighting features incorporated within the cabinet [0021]; in FIG. 11, lighting feature 510 is arranged around edges of curved display screens 502, 502A, such as incorporated within a trim [0104] and [Fig. 11]; the gaming device 104A may have a main display 128 (e.g., video display monitor) mounted to, or above, the gaming display area 118; the main display 128 can be a high-resolution liquid crystal display (LCD), plasma, light emitting diode (LED), or organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel which may be flat or curved as shown [0034]) and
a number of candle light-emitting elements located in an upper peripheral area of the video display device and configured to emit light through the video display device front surface (Urban, the one or more candles are integrated into a trim of one or more upper portions of the gaming cabinet, wherein the one or more candles comprises a plurality of stages, each stage configured to display one or more characteristics [Claim 6]),
a candle control system operatively connected to control the number of candle light- emitting elements (Urban, a legacy interface 612 connects the candle lighting array 604 to a light control board 616, which may be a part of a controller of a legacy EGM that did not originally include edge lighting features, yet may include game controller 202 [0109]).
Urban fails to explicitly disclose
a video display device having a front cover and a video display monitor positioned behind the front cover, the video display device including a housing defining rectangular monitor frame with a video display device volume bounded by an upper side, a lower side, a right side, and a left side, a video display monitor mounted in the video display device volume; and
an elongated light-emitting element circuit board mounted in the video display device volume between the housing upper side and an upper edge of the video display monitor; and
wherein one or more of the number of the candle light-emitting elements are mounted on the elongated light-emitting element circuit board.
Villanueva teaches
a video display device having a front cover (Villanueva, FIG. 7C illustrates a display assembly that includes a base layer 733, a backlight 735, a display 737, a light pipe 739, a gasket 741, and a glass cover sheet 727 [0121] and [Fig. 7C]) and a video display device positioned behind the front cover (Villanueva, FIG. 7C illustrates a display assembly that includes a base layer 733, a backlight 735, a display 737, a light pipe 739, a gasket 741, and a glass cover sheet 727 [0121] and [Fig. 7C]).
Urban discloses gaming cabinets that include one or more candles integrated into one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet, the one or more candles and the one or more lighting features connected to a game controller via one or more interfaces, and/or one or more diffuse lighting elements to provide lighting features or effects (Urban [Abstract]). In FIG. 11, lighting feature is arranged around edges of curved display screens, such as incorporated within a trim (Urban [0104] and [Fig. 11]). As shown the edges and/or trim may additionally or alternatively incorporate candles, as well as upper lighting feature (Urban [0104] and [Fig. 11]).
Villanueva teaches a gaming device that may comprise various components, including a main cabinet, a game controller, and a display assembly (Villanueva [Abstract]). The display assembly may be releasably coupled to the game cabinet so that the display assembly may be quickly removed prior to replacement and/or maintenance operations (Villanueva [Abstract]). The display assembly may include a display panel and the display panel may be separated into multiple display regions (Villanueva [Abstract]). A perimeter of the display panel may be reserved for edge lighting purposes and may attract a user's attention to the gaming device (Villanueva [Abstract]). In one embodiment, the display assembly includes a display, a light pipe, and a glass cover sheet (Villanueva [0121] and [Fig. 7C]). The glass cover sheet may be any transparent, or partially transparent, material (including, but not limited to, glass) and may protect the display from impacts and/or damage (Villanueva [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the lighting features arranged around edges of display screens as disclosed by Urban with the glass cover sheet as taught by Villanueva in order to protect the display and light pipe from impacts and damage.
Li teaches
an elongated light-emitting element circuit board mounted in the video display device volume between the housing upper side and an upper edge of the video display monitor (Li, modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) [0032]);
wherein one or more of the number of the candle light-emitting elements are mounted on the elongated light-emitting element circuit board (Li, modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) [0032]).
Urban discloses gaming cabinets that include one or more candles integrated into one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet, the one or more candles and the one or more lighting features connected to a game controller via one or more interfaces, and/or one or more diffuse lighting elements to provide lighting features or effects (Urban [Abstract]). Although illustrated as a candle lighting array at a top portion of the edge lighting array, any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature (Urban [0112]). Rather than requiring a separate, dedicated candle light component (e.g., extending from the top of an EGM) driven by an independent candle light board, such as light control, a section of the edge lighting array is partitioned and/or extended to include one or more lights driven by a candle light EGM platform driver or circuit (Urban [0112]). The candle lighting array may be presented with multiple features or stages (see, e.g., FIGS. 8A, 9A and 10A) (Urban [0112]). As shown in FIG. 14, the candle lighting array may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings (Urban [0112]). In some examples, the LEDs are configured to generate one or more different colors (e.g., red, blue, green, white, purple, yellow etc.), in addition to or in the alternative of illuminating a colored covering (Urban [0112]). These and other control schemes may operate from a common LED driver (e.g., within the game controller) or from dedicated LED drivers (e.g., light control board or EGM platform) (Urban [0112]). In some examples, the different features or stages can be controlled to exhibit dynamic lighting effects or characteristics (e.g., changes in intensity, color, speed, selective illumination, pulsing, etc.), such as in response to trigger event corresponding to a specific event associated with the gameplay (e.g., a large wager, a jackpot award, etc.) (Urban [0112]). Furthermore, rather than including a distinct candle light array integrated with the edge lighting array, the game controller may select and drive one or more lights of the array to perform candle functions (Urban [0113]). Such a pure software-based solution may control the edge lighting array with or without a purpose driven interface (e.g., interface and/or interface) (Urban [0113]). For example, the edge lighting array can connect to game controller, which can control one or more lights to operate as an edge lighting display and/or a candle (Urban [0113]).
Li teaches modular lighting systems that comprise lighting strips physically and electrically connectable with one another by way of flexible connectors (Li [Abstract]). The lighting strip devices can be made of flexible or rigid material to allow for applying the lighting devices along flat as well as contoured surfaces (Li [Abstract]). Li teaches a modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) (Li [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the one or more lighting features as disclosed by Urban with the modular lighting systems comprising at least one first printed circuit board (PCB) and at least one operably mounted light emitting diode as taught by Li since the modular lighting system would perform the same functions as the lighting feature.
Regarding Claims 2 (Previously Presented) and 10 (Previously Presented): Urban further discloses wherein the candle control system includes:
a number of driver circuits, each driver circuit operatively connected to supply a respective driving signal to each of the candle light-emitting elements (Urban, the candle lighting array 604 is an extension to (e.g., a separate and/or distinct strip) or a designated section within an edge lighting array 610 (e.g., similar to lateral edge lighting feature 410 or edge lighting effects 510); in some examples where the EGM is designed to incorporate a candle lighting array 604 within the edge lighting array 610, a platform driven interface 614 may connect the candle lighting array 604 to an EGM platform driver and/or circuit 618 that was designed to incorporate and/or operate an edge lighting feature (and additionally or alternatively be included and/or controlled by game controller 202) [0109] and [Fig. 14]); and
a candle controller operatively connected to the number of driver circuits, the candle controller being adapted to be operatively connected to a game processing system of the gaming machine (Urban, in some examples where the EGM is designed to incorporate a candle lighting array 604 within the edge lighting array 610, a platform driven interface 614 may connect the candle lighting array 604 to an EGM platform driver and/or circuit 618 that was designed to incorporate and/or operate an edge lighting feature (and additionally or alternatively be included and/or controlled by game controller 202) [0109] and [Fig. 14]).
Regarding Claims 5 (Previously Presented) and 13 (Previously Presented): Urban further discloses wherein the elongated light-emitting element circuit board extends to an area in the video display device volume between the candle light-emitting elements and the upper edge of the video display monitor (Urban, candle lighting is integrated in a lighting system for an electronic gaming machine, such as for control and/or presentation; one objective of integrating the candle light is to maintain the functional purpose of the candle light (e.g., providing information, alerts, responding to elements of gameplay, etc.) [0102] and [Fig. 9]-[Fig. 9A]).
Regarding Claims 6 (Previously Presented) and 14 (Previously Presented): Urban further discloses wherein:
(a) the elongated light-emitting element circuit board includes a center light-emitting element area, a right-side light- emitting element area to the right of the center light-emitting element area, and a left-side light emitting element area to the left of the center light-emitting element area (Urban, an edge of the gaming cabinet 400, such as a lateral trim surrounding the display screens, which may further include an upper lighting feature 408 and/or a lateral lighting feature 410 [0088]);
(c) one or more accent light-emitting elements are located in each of the right-side light-emitting element area and the left-side light-emitting element area and are configured to emit light through the video display device front surface (Urban, diffuse elements 515 may be incorporated within a trim casing 519, which may provide structure and/or a protective cover for the diffuse elements 515; the protective cover may be semi-translucent to allow the full effect of the dynamic lighting effect from the diffuse element 515 to be displayed [0112]).
Urban fails to explicitly disclose (b) the candle light-emitting elements are located in the center light-emitting element area.
Urban discloses
(b) the candle light-emitting elements are located in the center light-emitting element area (Urban, although illustrated as a candle lighting array 604 at a top portion of the edge lighting array 610, any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array 610 may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature [0112]); and
Urban discloses gaming cabinets that include one or more candles integrated into one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet (Urban [Abstract]). Although illustrated as a candle lighting array at a top portion of the edge lighting array, any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature (Urban [0112]). Traditionally candles are located on the top of gaming devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to locate the candle lighting array as disclosed by Urban in the center of the top portion of the edge lighting array in order to place the candle lighting array in a location where it is commonly located on gaming machines.
Regarding Claims 7 (Original) and 15 (Original): Urban further discloses a number of additional driver circuits operatively connected to supply a respective driving signal to each light-emitting element located in the right-side light-emitting element area and the left-side light-emitting element area (Urban, a section of the edge lighting array 610 is partitioned and/or extended to include one or more lights driven by a candle light EGM platform driver or circuit 618; these and other control schemes may operate from a common LED driver (e.g., within the game controller 202) or from dedicated LED drivers (e.g., light control board 616 or EGM platform 618) [0112]).
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended): Urban discloses a gaming machine including:
a gaming machine cabinet (Urban, gaming device 104A is often of a cabinet construction [0032]);
a game processing system (Urban, the games available for play on the gaming device 200 are controlled by a game controller 202 [0047] and [Fig. 2A]);
a primary video display adapted for displaying gaming results on a primary display area (Urban, during the game, the player views with one or more UIs, the game outcome on one or more of the primary game display 240 and secondary game display 242 [0057]);
a video display device having a video display device front surface and defining a display area aligned with at least a portion of the video display device front surface (Urban, edge lighting features including an edge lighting array 610A [0114] and [Fig. 15]), the display area comprising a secondary display area of the gaming machine positioned above a primary display area and having a width like that of the primary display area (Urban, the adjacent curved display screens 502A may be controlled independently and/or to display content in coordination with one or more adjacent screens 502A and/or one or more display screens 502 and/or VBD 506 [0092] and [Fig. 6]), the video display device including a housing defining rectangular monitor frame with a video display device volume bounded by an upper side, a lower side, a right side, and a left side, a video display monitor mounted in the video display device volume (Urban, one or more lighting features incorporated within the cabinet [0021]; in FIG. 11, lighting feature 510 is arranged around edges of curved display screens 502, 502A, such as incorporated within a trim [0104] and [Fig. 11]; the gaming device 104A may have a main display 128 (e.g., video display monitor) mounted to, or above, the gaming display area 118; the main display 128 can be a high-resolution liquid crystal display (LCD), plasma, light emitting diode (LED), or organic light emitting diode (OLED) panel which may be flat or curved as shown [0034]);
a number of candle light-emitting elements located in an upper peripheral area of the video display device in position to emit light through the video display device front surface (Urban, the one or more candles are integrated into a trim of one or more upper portions of the gaming cabinet, wherein the one or more candles comprises a plurality of stages, each stage configured to display one or more characteristics[Claim 6]),
a candle control system operatively connected to control the number of candle light- emitting elements (Urban, FIG. 14 illustrates two separate connections and/or interfaces for a candle or candle lighting array 604 (e.g., similar to candles 404 and 504) for connecting to an EGM, a gaming device, and/or a game controller [0109] and [Fig. 14]).
Urban fails to explicitly disclose
a video display device having a front cover and a video display monitor positioned behind the front cover; and
an elongated light- emitting element circuit board mounted in the video display device volume between the housing upper side and an upper edge of the video display monitor;
wherein one or more of the number of the candle light-emitting elements are mounted on the elongated light-emitting element circuit board.
Villanueva teaches
a video display device having a front cover (Villanueva, FIG. 7C illustrates a display assembly that includes a base layer 733, a backlight 735, a display 737, a light pipe 739, a gasket 741, and a glass cover sheet 727 [0121] and [Fig. 7C]) and a video display device positioned behind the front cover (Villanueva, FIG. 7C illustrates a display assembly that includes a base layer 733, a backlight 735, a display 737, a light pipe 739, a gasket 741, and a glass cover sheet 727 [0121] and [Fig. 7C]).
As stated above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the lighting features arranged around edges of display screens as disclosed by Urban with the glass cover sheet as taught by Villanueva in order to protect the display and light pipe from impacts and damage.
Li teaches
an elongated light- emitting element circuit board mounted in the video display device volume between the housing upper side and an upper edge of the video display monitor (Li, modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) [0032]);
wherein one or more of the number of the candle light-emitting elements are mounted on the elongated light-emitting element circuit board (Li, modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) [0032]).
As stated above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the one or more lighting features as disclosed by Urban with the modular lighting systems comprising at least one first printed circuit board (PCB) and at least one operably mounted light emitting diode as taught by Li since the modular lighting system would perform the same functions as the lighting feature.
Claims 3, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urban, in view of Villanueva, in view of Li, and further in view of Lee et al., US 10.917,951 B1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claims 3 (Original) and 11 (Original):Urban further discloses wherein each of the number of candle light-emitting elements comprises an RGB LED (Urban, the candle lighting array 604 may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings; in some examples, the LEDs are configured to generate one or more different colors (e.g., red, blue, green, white, purple, yellow etc.), in addition to or in the alternative of illuminating a colored covering [0112]).
Urban fails to explicitly disclose wherein the respective driving signal to each of the light-emitting elements comprises separate R, G, and B signals.
Lee teaches wherein the respective driving signal to each of the light-emitting elements comprises separate R, G, and B signals (Lee, the light source driver 106 is a RGB or RBGW LED driver that is configured to output a separate power signal for each of the LED colors (e.g., separate red (R), green (G), blue (B), and/or white (W) signals); in this manner, the light source driver 106 can separately control the LED brightness for each LED color in order to tune individual light sources 102 (e.g., multi-color light sources) or a group of light sources 102 (e.g., single-color or multi-color light sources) to different colors and/or brightness resulting from different combinations and respective brightness of red (R), green (G), blue (B), and/or white (W) LED emissions [C4:63-C5:19]).
Urban discloses gaming cabinets that include one or more candles integrated into one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet, the one or more candles and the one or more lighting features connected to a game controller via one or more interfaces, and/or one or more diffuse lighting elements to provide lighting features or effects (Urban [Abstract]). Although illustrated as a candle lighting array at a top portion of the edge lighting array, any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature (Urban [0112]). Rather than requiring a separate, dedicated candle light component (e.g., extending from the top of an EGM) driven by an independent candle light board, such as light control, a section of the edge lighting array is partitioned and/or extended to include one or more lights driven by a candle light EGM platform driver or circuit (Urban [0112]). The candle lighting array may be presented with multiple features or stages (see, e.g., FIGS. 8A, 9A and 10A) (Urban [0112]). As shown in FIG. 14, the candle lighting array may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings (Urban [0112]). In some examples, the LEDs are configured to generate one or more different colors (e.g., red, blue, green, white, purple, yellow etc.), in addition to or in the alternative of illuminating a colored covering (Urban [0112]). These and other control schemes may operate from a common LED driver (e.g., within the game controller) or from dedicated LED drivers (e.g., light control board or EGM platform) (Urban [0112]).
Lee teaches a system for light source calibration and aging compensation (Lee [Abstract]). In one or more embodiments, the system includes a light source driver, a sensor, and a controller (Lee [Abstract]). The light source driver is configured to generate one or more power signals for a plurality of light sources (Lee [Abstract]). The light source driver 106 is a RGB or RBGW LED driver that is configured to output a separate power signal for each of the LED colors (e.g., separate red (R), green (G), blue (B), and/or white (W) signals); in this manner, the light source driver 106 can separately control the LED brightness for each LED color in order to tune individual light sources 102 (e.g., multi-color light sources) or a group of light sources 102 (e.g., single-color or multi-color light sources) to different colors and/or brightness resulting from different combinations and respective brightness of red (R), green (G), blue (B), and/or white (W) LED emissions (Lee [C4:63-C5:19]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the one or more lighting features as disclosed by Urban with the light source driver that can separately control the LED brightness for each LED color as taught by Li in order to tune individual light sources or a group of light sources to different colors and/or brightness resulting from different combinations and respective brightness of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) emissions.
Regarding Claim 19 (Previously Presented): Urban further discloses wherein each of the candle light emitting elements comprises an RGB LED (Urban, the candle lighting array 604 may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings; in some examples, the LEDs are configured to generate one or more different colors (e.g., red, blue, green, white, purple, yellow etc.), in addition to or in the alternative of illuminating a colored covering [0112]) of the secondary gaming display above the display area (Urban, in FIG. 11, lighting feature 510 is arranged around edges of curved display screens 502, 502A, such as incorporated within a trim; as shown the edges and/or trim may additionally or alternatively incorporate candles 504A, 504B, as well as upper lighting feature 508 [0104] and [Fig. 11]).
Urban fails to explicitly disclose wherein the RGB LED is mounted on a circuit board in a location within the video display device wherein directing a respective driving signal to each of the candle light-emitting elements includes directing separate R, G, and B signals to the respective RGB LED along a signal path defined on the circuit board.
Li teaches wherein the RGB LED is mounted on a circuit board in a location within the video display device (Li, modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) [0032]).
As stated above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the one or more lighting features as disclosed by Urban with the modular lighting systems comprising at least one first printed circuit board (PCB) and at least one operably mounted light emitting diode as taught by Li since the modular lighting system would perform the same functions as the lighting feature.
Lee teaches wherein directing a respective driving signal to each of the candle light-emitting elements includes directing separate R, G, and B signals to the respective RGB LED along a signal path defined on the circuit board (Lee, the light source driver 106 is a RGB or RBGW LED driver that is configured to output a separate power signal for each of the LED colors (e.g., separate red (R), green (G), blue (B), and/or white (W) signals); in this manner, the light source driver 106 can separately control the LED brightness for each LED color in order to tune individual light sources 102 (e.g., multi-color light sources) or a group of light sources 102 (e.g., single-color or multi-color light sources) to different colors and/or brightness resulting from different combinations and respective brightness of red (R), green (G), blue (B), and/or white (W) LED emissions [C4:63-C5:19]).
As recited above with respect to claims 3 and 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the one or more lighting features as disclosed by Urban with the light source driver that can separately control the LED brightness for each LED color as taught by Li in order to tune individual light sources or a group of light sources to different colors and/or brightness resulting from different combinations and respective brightness of red (R), green (G), and blue (B) emissions.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urban, in view of Villanueva, in view of Li, and further in view of Page et al., US 2014/0087849 A1 (hereinafter Page).
Regarding Claims 8 (Previously Presented) and 16 (Previously Presented): Urban, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Urban, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein:
(a) the video display device includes a video display monitor that defines the display area; and
(b) each candle light-emitting element includes a respective pixel of the video display monitor.
Page teaches wherein:
(a) the video display device includes a video display monitor that defines the display area (Page, in FIG. 3A, the portion of the display 4 allocated to content from the game controller 16 is referred to the game portion 76 [0091] and [Fig. 3A]); and
(b) each candle light-emitting element includes a respective pixel of the video display monitor (Page, in FIG. 3A, the portion of the display 4 allocated to content from the game controller 16 is referred to the game portion 76 [0091] and [Fig. 3A]).
Urban discloses gaming cabinets that include one or more candles integrated into one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet, the one or more candles and the one or more lighting features connected to a game controller via one or more interfaces, and/or one or more diffuse lighting elements to provide lighting features or effects (Urban [Abstract]). Although illustrated as a candle lighting array at a top portion of the edge lighting array, any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature (Urban [0112]). Rather than requiring a separate, dedicated candle light component (e.g., extending from the top of an EGM) driven by an independent candle light board, such as light control, a section of the edge lighting array is partitioned and/or extended to include one or more lights driven by a candle light EGM platform driver or circuit (Urban [0112]). The candle lighting array may be presented with multiple features or stages (see, e.g., FIGS. 8A, 9A and 10A) (Urban [0112]). As shown in FIG. 14, the candle lighting array may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings (Urban [0112]). In some examples, the LEDs are configured to generate one or more different colors (e.g., red, blue, green, white, purple, yellow etc.), in addition to or in the alternative of illuminating a colored covering (Urban [0112]). These and other control schemes may operate from a common LED driver (e.g., within the game controller) or from dedicated LED drivers (e.g., light control board or EGM platform) (Urban [0112]).
Page teaches wherein a touch screen display can include a controller that is configured to receive commands that allocate a portion of a display to video content provided from the game controller and video content provided by the candle controller (Page [0091]). In FIG. 3A, the portion of the display allocated to content from the candle controller is referred to as the candle portion (Page [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet as disclosed by Urban with the touch screen display that can display content from a candle controller as taught by Page to integrate functions of the candle into a display monitor, thereby making candle information more noticeable to a player who is playing a gaming machine.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urban in view of Villanueva.
Regarding Claim 17 (Currently Amended): Urban discloses a method of providing gaming machine candle functions at a gaming machine, the method including:
displaying gaming video graphics on a primary video display device of the gaming machine comprising a video monitor (Urban, as shown in FIG. 3, the gaming processing pipeline starts with having a UI system 302 receive one or more player inputs for the game instance; based on the player input(s), the UI system 302 generates and sends one or more RNG calls to a game processing backend system 314; game processing backend system 314 then processes the RNG calls with RNG engine 316 to generate one or more RNG outcomes; the RNG outcomes are then sent to the RNG conversion engine 320 to generate one or more game outcomes for the UI system 302 to display to a player [0077] and [Fig. 3]; the adjacent curved display screens 502A may be controlled independently and/or to display content in coordination with one or more adjacent screens 502A and/or one or more display screens 502 and/or VBD 506; when display of content is coordinated, a variety of animations may be provided, and/or a larger image presented, to indicate an event during gameplay [0092] and [Fig. 6]);
displaying gaming video graphics on a secondary gaming display comprising a video display device having a width equal to a width of the primary video display device and positioned above the primary video display device (Urban, the adjacent curved display screens 502A may be controlled independently and/or to display content in coordination with one or more adjacent screens 502A and/or one or more display screens 502 and/or VBD 506 [0092] and [Fig. 6]);
receiving a candle illumination state signal that defines a candle illumination state (Urban, the integrated candle may include multiple sections (e.g., 2, 3, 4 or more sections) that may provide visual signals via different shade patterns for each section [0026]);
in response to the candle illumination state signal, driving a number of candle light- emitting elements in accordance with the candle illumination state (Urban, as shown in FIG. 14, the candle lighting array 604 may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings. In some examples, the LEDs are configured to generate one or more different colors (e.g., red, blue, green, white, purple, yellow etc.), in addition to or in the alternative of illuminating a colored covering; these and other control schemes may operate from a common LED driver (e.g., within the game controller 202) or from dedicated LED drivers (e.g., light control board 616 or EGM platform 618); in some examples, the different features or stages can be controlled to exhibit dynamic lighting effects or characteristics (e.g., changes in intensity, color, speed, selective illumination, pulsing, etc.), such as in response to trigger event corresponding to a specific event associated with the gameplay (e.g., a large wager, a jackpot award, etc.) [0112]), the candle light-emitting elements being located in an upper peripheral area of the video display device of the secondary gaming display, the video display device having a video display device front surface and defining a display area aligned with at least a portion of the video display device front surface (Urban, gaming cabinet 500 further includes a candle 504 integrated with the gaming cabinet 500, which may further include a upper or upper edge lighting feature 508 and/or a lateral or side edge lighting feature 510 [0090] and [Fig. 5A]-[Fig. 5C]), wherein driving the number of candle light-emitting elements causes the number of candle light-emitting elements to emit light through the video display device front surface (Urban, diffuse elements 515 may be incorporated within a trim casing 519, which may provide structure and/or a protective cover for the diffuse elements 515; the protective cover may be semi-translucent to allow the full effect of the dynamic lighting effect from the diffuse element 515 to be displayed [0112]); and
simultaneously with driving the number of candle light-emitting elements, driving the video display device to generate game graphics in at least a portion of the display area (Urban, candle lighting is integrated in a lighting system for an electronic gaming machine, such as for control and/or presentation; one objective of integrating the candle light is to maintain the functional purpose of the candle light (e.g., providing information, alerts, responding to elements of gameplay, etc.) [0102] and [Fig. 9]-[Fig. 9A]).
Urban fails to explicitly disclose
a video display device having a front cover and a video display monitor positioned behind the front cover.
Villanueva teaches
a video display device having a front cover (Villanueva, FIG. 7C illustrates a display assembly that includes a base layer 733, a backlight 735, a display 737, a light pipe 739, a gasket 741, and a glass cover sheet 727 [0121] and [Fig. 7C]) and a video display device positioned behind the front cover (Villanueva, FIG. 7C illustrates a display assembly that includes a base layer 733, a backlight 735, a display 737, a light pipe 739, a gasket 741, and a glass cover sheet 727 [0121] and [Fig. 7C]).
As stated above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the lighting features arranged around edges of display screens as disclosed by Urban with the glass cover sheet as taught by Villanueva in order to protect the display and light pipe from impacts and damage.
Regarding Claim 18 (Original): Urban further discloses wherein driving the number of candle light-emitting elements includes directing a respective driving signal to each of the candle light-emitting elements under control of a driver controller operatively connected to a game processing system of the gaming machine (Urban, a section of the edge lighting array 610 is partitioned and/or extended to include one or more lights driven by a candle light EGM platform driver or circuit 618; these and other control schemes may operate from a common LED driver (e.g., within the game controller 202) or from dedicated LED drivers (e.g., light control board 616 or EGM platform 618) [0112]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urban, in view of Villanueva, and further in view of Page et al., US 2014/0087849 A1 (hereinafter Page).
Regarding Claim 20 (Currently Amended): Urban, as modified, discloses the invention as recited above. Urban, as modified, fails to explicitly disclose wherein each candle light-emitting element includes a respective pixel of a video display monitor included in the video display device of the secondary gaming display and driving the number of candle light-emitting elements includes directing a video signal to the video display monitor.
Page teaches wherein each candle light-emitting element includes a respective pixel of a video display monitor included in the video display device of the secondary gaming display (Page, in FIG. 3A, the portion of the display 4 allocated to content from the game controller 16 is referred to the game portion 76 [0091] and [Fig. 3A]) and driving the number of candle light-emitting elements includes directing a video signal to the video display monitor (Page, the candle controller 31 can provide a DVI signal at 1280.times.1024 resolution [0090]).
As stated above with respect to claims 8 and 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the one or more lighting features arranged on one or more edges of the gaming cabinet as disclosed by Urban with the touch screen display that can display content from a candle controller as taught by Page to integrate functions of the candle into a display monitor, thereby making candle information more noticeable to a player who is playing a gaming machine.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejections under 35 USC 102, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant argues
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Urban discloses lighting features incorporated within the gaming cabinet as separate cabinet trim elements. Specifically, Urban describes candle lighting integrated "within an edge of the gaming cabinet" in "a lateral trim surrounding the display screens" (Urban, [0090], [0104]). Urban further discloses that "diffuse elements 515 may be incorporated within a trim casing 519" that is "arranged along one or more sides of a curved display screen" (Urban, [0112], Fig. 13A-13B). Critically, Urban's lighting elements are physically separate cabinet trim components that surround the display screens, not components integrated within a video display device housing that share a common front cover with the display monitor.
The Office Action cites Urban for a video display device with a housing and mounted monitor (Office Action, p. 8), but Urban's curved display screens (e.g., screens 502, 502A) are distinct structural components separate from the cabinet trim lighting elements. Urban does not disclose or suggest a video display device wherein both the monitor and candle light-emitting elements are positioned behind a shared front cover that defines the video display device front surface. Rather, Urban teaches away from this configuration by explicitly describing the lighting as integrated into cabinet trim with its own protective covering. (Response [p. 10])
The examiner believes the newly recited rejections read on the claims.
Applicant also argues
Li teaches modular lighting systems with printed circuit boards (PCBs) operably mounting LEDs (Li, [0032]), but Li relates to general modular lighting strips for various applications. Li provides no teaching or suggestion regarding placement of such PCBs behind a display device front cover shared with a video monitor. Li's PCBs are generic modular components that could be mounted in various locations, but Li provides no guidance for integrating them into a video display device structure as claimed.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify Urban's design to achieve the claimed integration. Urban's design is centered on cabinet trim lighting that surrounds the display screens while maintaining the displays as separate components. The Office Action's proposed combination would require fundamentally restructuring Urban's cabinet trim lighting system removing the lighting from the separate trim casing where Urban teaches it should be located and instead integrating it behind a display device front cover. One of ordinary skill in the art, presented with Urban's teaching of cabinet trim lighting in trim casing 519 and Li's generic PCB technology, would naturally maintain Urban's cabinet-level trim architecture and simply mount Li's PCBs within Urban's existing trim casing structure. There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited references that would lead one of ordinary skill to abandon Urban's separate trim architecture in favor of integration behind a shared display device front cover. This fundamental restructuring would contravene Urban's explicit teaching that the lighting elements are "separate cabinet trim elements." (Response [pp. 10-11])
Urban discloses “the candle lighting array 604 may include one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) to illuminate one or more translucent, colored coverings” (Urban [0112]). Urban fails to explicitly disclose how the LEDs are mounted. Rather than trying to reinvent mounting LEDs, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to various methods used to mount LEDs. Li teaches one way of mounting LEDs. Specifically, Li teaches modular lighting systems that comprise lighting strips physically and electrically connectable with one another by way of flexible connectors (Li [Abstract]). The lighting strip devices can be made of flexible or rigid material to allow for applying the lighting devices along flat as well as contoured surfaces (Li [Abstract]). Li teaches a modular lighting systems comprising: at least one first printed circuit board (PCB), optionally comprising at least one operably mounted light emitting diode (LED) (Li [0032]).
It is not clear how Li’s method of mounting LEDs on PCBs would force a “fundamental restructuring” since Urban fails to describe how the LEDs are physically mounted. The examiner maintains that Li reads on the relevant claim limitations as recited above.
With respect to claims 5 and 13, the examiner believes the newly recited rejections read on the claims.
With respect to claims 6 and 14, applicant states
Concerning claims 6 and 14 (and the obviousness of claim 1), Urban's teaching would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to place candle light-emitting elements at the edges or corners of the display frame, not in a center area as claimed. Urban consistently describes candle placement at the periphery:" The candle 404 may be integrated within an edge of the gaming cabinet 400, such as a lateral trim surrounding the display screens" (Urban, [0104]); and "the candle 504A is at the upper end of the gaming cabinet 500 which, in conjunction with candle 504B, provides a 360 degree view to an observer; thus, on both sides of the gaming cabinet 500, and located at the top or upper end of the gaming cabinet 500" (Urban, [0110]). Urban's Fig. 8 illustrates this placement with candles 504A and 504B positioned at the lateral edges or corners to provide 360-degree visibility.
Claim 6 requires a fundamentally different configuration:"(b) the candle light-emitting elements are located in the center light-emitting element area; and (c) one or more accent light- emitting elements are located in each of the right-side light-emitting element area and the left- side light-emitting element area." This arrangement-candle elements in the center with accent elements on the sides-is the inverse of Urban's teaching. One of ordinary skill in the art, following Urban's explicit guidance to place candles "within an edge" and "on both sides" for visibility, would position candle elements at the lateral edges or corners, not in a center area. Urban provides no teaching or suggestion that would lead one of ordinary skill to relocate the candle elements from the edges to the center while placing different (accent) lighting elements at the sides. The claimed center-candle, side-accent configuration is contrary to Urban's consistent teaching of edge-positioned candles. (Response [pp. 11-12])
The examiner disagrees with applicant’s arguments. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand a traditional candle 138 as being located at the center of the top of a gaming machine (Urban [Fig. 1]). Applicant, as well as Urban, are describing a candle that is not traditional, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily be inclined to limit the candle to corners. Urban states “although illustrated as a candle lighting array 604 at a top portion of the edge lighting array 610, any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array 610 may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature” (Urban [0112]). The examiner interprets this to mean that any section of the edge lighting array may be used as a candle. Since traditional candles are located at the top center, the examiner maintains that the candle lighting array may be located in the center.
With respect to claims 6, 7, 14, and 15, applicant states
Concerning claims 6, 7, 14, and 15, the cited combination fails to teach or suggest an elongated light-emitting element circuit board within the video display device having center, right-side, and left-side light-emitting element areas with zone-specific driver circuits. While Urban mentions multiple sections for candle lighting (Urban, [0026]), these are functional zones in the cabinet trim lighting architecture, not physical areas on an elongated PCB integrated within a video display device housing behind a shared front cover. Li provides no teaching of such tri-zone PCB layout integrated within a display device structure. The combination would result in multi-zone lighting in Urban's separate cabinet trim, not the claimed integrated video display device configuration.
The examiner is not persuaded that the claims require physical areas on an elongated PCB. It is clear from Urban that “any section and/or number of individual lights along the edge lighting array 610 may be used as a candle, and/or to display another feature” (Urban [0112]). The examiner interprets this language allows for any individual lights to be used as a candle. The examiner maintains the rejections as recited above.
Conclusion
/WERNER G GARNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715