Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi (US 2013/0078071).
Re claim 1, Noguchi teaches (figures 1,2,4,etc.) a working vehicle 1 having a vehicle body (see figures), a travel unit 2, a working unit 4 working by a hydraulic pressure, and a drive source (figure 24) for the travel unit or the working unit, wherein the vehicle body comprises a main body frame provided in a lower portion and serving as a reinforcing member and a support member for an on-board device (figures 2-4), wherein the main body frame comprises a large plate 124 serving as a bottom plate; a pair of left and right longitudinal ribs 122a,122b built upright on the large plate; and a cross rib (unnumbered, shown below 125 in figure 4) built upright on the large plate, wherein the large plate has a cutout area (unnumbered, see figure 4, etc.) provided in a rear portion, facing backward in a plane view, wherein the longitudinal ribs are built upright toward a backward direction along left and right edges of the cutout area to be spaced apart in a left and right direction, and wherein the cross rib intersects the longitudinal ribs and is built upright along a front edge of the cutout area.
Noguchi teaches a counterweight 200,203 is fixed to rear portions of the longitudinal ribs by fixing members, and wherein the counterweight serves as both a weight balance adjusting member for the vehicle body and a cross beam of the main body frame.
Noguchi does not appear to mention the counterweight is directly fixed to a third counterweight mounting section and a fourth counterweight mounting section provided on the large plate by the fixing members to allow the counterweight to be mounted to the large plate. Noguchi does teach numerous further mounting sections & fixing members throughout the drawings and device, numbered (155a,155b, 301,302,234,256,267,255, etc.) and unnumbered (see figures) for releasably connecting various parts, in varied places. Also duplication and rearrangement of parts are obvious modifications (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975); In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have had additional counterweight mounting sections and fixing members on further places such as the large plate as claimed in order to further strengthen connections and additional safety.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi (US 2013/0078071) in view of Masanek (US 9,067,521).
Re claim 3, Noguchi teaches lashing points 155a,155b in left and right rear end portions apart from each other across the cutout area, lashing point reinforcing members 157a, 157b are fixedly attached onto the lashing points, and wherein the lashing point reinforcing members are held between the large plate and mounting seats (see figures 2-4) for mounting the counterweight. The lashing points are not directly on the large plate as claimed but duplication and rearrangement of parts are obvious modifications (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975); In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). Further Masanek teaches multiple lashing point devices 126 with reinforced thickened walls 424 for locking in place & preventing undesired movement during transport / parking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Noguchi as claimed in order to have more lashing points and associated reinforcements in order to have stronger connections located as best suited for varied sized & shaped loads and to prevent undesired movements that could cause safety problems or damage to the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kamekura teaches multiple counterweight mounting sections 30a,34,34a & fixing members 35 for releasably connecting parts together.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Noguchi’s counterweight, etc. does not serve as a “reinforcing member” maintaining stiffness as it protects the battery from shocks from the outside. However, the counterweight structures do mention numerous mounting sections & fixing members (bolts & bolt holes etc.) tightening members to each which increases stiffness & reinforce the structure. The additional supports and connections inherently increase stiffness, reinforces & meets the limitations as claimed. Also as noted above, additional mounting sections and fixing member connections are obvious modifications.
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652