DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette (US Pub. 20160209584), hereinafter Vincelette, in view of Maida (US Pub. 20130056197), hereinafter Maida, and Jaaskelainen (WO2017105418A1), hereinafter Jaaskelainen.
Regarding Claim 1, Vincelette disclose a method comprising:
deploying a fiber optic cable into a wellbore (Fig. 1, para [0033], where sensing system generally includes a wellbore 102, casing 104, production tubing 106, a sensing device 110, and an optical waveguide 112 (e.g., disposed in an optical cable)), wherein a distal end of the fiber optic cable moves down the wellbore with a fluid as the fiber optic cable is deployed (para 0041, where waveguide within a suspended cable deployed in the production tubing 106, in a cable disposed in an annulus between the production tubing 106 and the well casing 104 (e.g., coupled to the outside of the production tubing 106));
providing a light signal to a first end of the fiber optic cable (para [0038], where a sensing device 110 to introduce light (e.g., an optical pulse), using a pulsed laser);
receiving reflections of the light signal by a sensor coupled to the first end of the fiber optic cable when the distal end of the fiber optic cable is located in the wellbore (Fig.1, para [0038], where the sensing device 110 may include: (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode)),
wherein the reflections of the signal are shifted in time when a portion of the fiber optic cable is exposed to an acoustic signal (para [0039], where optical waveguide may be used for distributed acoustic sensing (DAS), measuring disturbances in scattered light that may be propagated within the waveguide (e.g., within the core of an optical fiber). The disturbances in the scattered light may be due to the transmitted, reflected, and/or refracted acoustic signals, wherein these acoustic signals may change the index of refraction of the waveguide or mechanically deform the waveguide such that the optical propagation time or distance respectfully, changes) and a first set of data included in the acoustic signal is modulated into the reflections based on the reflections of the light signal being shifted in time (para [0087], where optical waveguide to locally modify its acoustic properties, such as inscribing birefringent or tilted FBGs or placing a pumped active cavity emitting light modulated by the acoustic waves perturbing it or pumped active fiber to enhance sensor signals).
Vincelette does not disclose acoustic signal transmitted from an acoustic transmitter of a tool deployed at the wellbore, and demodulating the first set of data from the reflections of the light signal.
Maida discloses demodulating the first set of data from the reflections of the light signal (para [0048], where output of each sensor 101 may be optically multiplexed (e.g. Sagnac or hybrid combinations of Sagnac, Michelson, Mach-Zehnder, Fabry-Perot distributed fiber interferometers) and transmitted to the surface 14 (FIG. 1A) where each base frequency and any shift therein may be demodulated and monitored).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide reflections of the signal are shifted in time as taught by Maida into Vincelette in order to more accurately detect the location data for the particular area/region.
Jaaskelainen discloses an acoustic signal transmitted from an acoustic transmitter of a tool deployed at the wellbore (Fig. 4, para [007], where Figure 4 is a schematic of an example electro acoustical technology transmitter, in accordance with various embodiments; Abstract, where an acoustic transmitter to transmit an acoustic signal via a production string or casing or fluid in the production string or casing across the downhole connection; para [0022], where DAS fiber cable 520 and can transmit data it received to the DAS fiber cable 520. The data can be coupled onto the DAS fiber cable 520 by a transmitter component such as a piezo transmitter 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide an acoustic transmitter, as taught by Jaaskelainen, into Vincelette in order to provides real-time, high-resolution, distributed, and continuous monitoring along the entire depth of the well, without needing downhole electronics.
Regarding Claim 4, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising:
further, Vincelette disclose initiating an operational mode of a laser that provides the light signal that corresponds to one of a pulsed mode or a continuous wave mode (para [0038], where interferometric approaches may include any suitable interrogation technique (e.g., using Mach Zehnder, Michaelson, Fabry Perot, ring resonators, polarimetric and two-mode fiber interferometers)… (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode) to convert the optical signals reflected from the Bragg gratings to electrical signals).
Regarding Claim 5/13, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen disclose the method of claim 1/ the system of claim 9, further Vincelette disclose wherein the first set of data is demodulated from the light signal based on operation of an interferometer (para [0038], where interferometric approaches may include any suitable interrogation technique (e.g., using Mach Zehnder, Michaelson, Fabry Perot, ring resonators, polarimetric and two-mode fiber interferometers), e.g., interferometric of fiber optical cable incorporate demodulation).
Regarding Claim 9, Vincelette disclose a system comprising:
a fiber optic cable that is deployed into a wellbore Fig. 1, para [0033], where sensing system generally includes a wellbore 102, casing 104, production tubing 106, a sensing device 110, and an optical waveguide 112 (e.g., disposed in an optical cable)), wherein a distal end of the fiber optic cable moves down the wellbore with a fluid as the fiber optic cable is deployed (para [0041], where waveguide within a suspended cable deployed in the production tubing 106, in a cable disposed in an annulus between the production tubing 106 and the well casing 104 (e.g., coupled to the outside of the production tubing 106));
a laser (para [0038], where sensing device 110 to introduce light (e.g., an optical pulse), using a pulsed laser, for example, into the optical waveguide 112 ) that provides a light signal to a first end of the fiber optic cable (para [0038], where a sensing device 110 to introduce light (e.g., an optical pulse), using a pulsed laser); and
a receiver that receives reflections of the light signal by a sensor coupled to the first end of the fiber optic cable when the distal end of the fiber optic cable is located in the wellbore (Fig.1, para [0038], where the sensing device 110 may include: (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode)), wherein:
the reflections of the signal are shifted in time when a portion of the fiber optic cable is exposed to an acoustic signal (para [0039], where optical waveguide may be used for distributed acoustic sensing (DAS), measuring disturbances in scattered light that may be propagated within the waveguide (e.g., within the core of an optical fiber). The disturbances in the scattered light may be due to the transmitted, reflected, and/or refracted acoustic signals, wherein these acoustic signals may change the index of refraction of the waveguide or mechanically deform the waveguide such that the optical propagation time or distance respectfully, changes) and a first set of data included in the acoustic signal is modulated into the reflections based on the reflections of the signal being shifted in time (para [0087], where optical waveguide to locally modify its acoustic properties, such as inscribing birefringent or tilted FBGs or placing a pumped active cavity emitting light modulated by the acoustic waves perturbing it or pumped active fiber to enhance sensor signals).
Vincelette does not disclose an acoustic signal transmitted from an acoustic transmitter of a tool deployed at the wellbore; and the receiver demodulates the first set of data from the reflections of the light signal.
Jaaskelainen discloses an acoustic signal transmitted from an acoustic transmitter of a tool deployed at the wellbore (Fig. 4, para [007], where Figure 4 is a schematic of an example electro acoustical technology transmitter, in accordance with various embodiments; Abstract, where an acoustic transmitter to transmit an acoustic signal via a production string or casing or fluid in the production string or casing across the downhole connection; para [0022], where DAS fiber cable 520 and can transmit data it received to the DAS fiber cable 520. The data can be coupled onto the DAS fiber cable 520 by a transmitter component such as a piezo transmitter 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide acoustic transmitter, as taught by Jaaskelainen into Vincelette in order to provides real-time, high-resolution, distributed, and continuous monitoring along the entire depth of the well, without needing downhole electronics.
Maida discloses the receiver demodulates the first set of data from the reflections of the light signal (para [0048], where output of each sensor 101 may be optically multiplexed (e.g. Sagnac or hybrid combinations of Sagnac, Michelson, Mach-Zehnder, Fabry-Perot distributed fiber interferometers) and transmitted to the surface 14 (FIG. 1A) where each base frequency and any shift therein may be demodulated and monitored).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide reflections of the signal are shifted in time as taught by Maida into Vincelette in order to more accurately detect the location data for the particular area/region.
Claims 2, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette in view of Maida and Jaaskelainen, as applied above and further in view of Burdin (RU2702983C1), hereinafter Burdin.
Regarding Claims 2/10, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen disclose the method of claim 1/the system of claim 9/ further comprising:
Further, Vincelette disclose a change associated with the received reflections of the light signal (Para [0037], where optical propagation distance changes; para [0039], where distributed acoustic sensing (DAS), measuring disturbances in scattered light that may be propagated within the waveguide (e.g., within the core of an optical fiber). The disturbances in the scattered light may be due to the transmitted, reflected, and/or refracted acoustic signals, wherein these acoustic signals may change the index of refraction of the waveguide or mechanically deform the waveguide such that the optical propagation time or distance respectfully, changes).
Vincelette does not disclose identifying that the fiber optic cable has been deployed to within a threshold distance of the acoustic transmitter.
Burdin discloses the threshold distance (Page 2, lines 45-49, where an optical fiber of an optical fiber cable, and, through the optical fiber cable, affects the optical fiber at a local a section of the cable line with a vibro-acoustic signal from a transmitter located at some distance from the fiber-optic cable, as a result of which the phase is modulated the optical radiation that is transmitted in the optical fiber by a vibro-acoustic signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the transmitter located in some distance from fiber-optic cable as taught by Burdin into Jaaskelainen structure of transmitter and fiber optic cable and further into Vincelette in order to significantly enhances the acoustic signal propagation by maximizing signal coupling and more accurately captures strain induced by acoustic waves.
Jaaskelainen discloses identifying (Fig. 1, para [0014], where sensors 105-1 and 105-2 can contain their own transmitters… data from each of the EAT sensors 105-1 and 105-2 can be transmitted at different frequencies so that the data signals can be distinguished by the EAT receiver 115, or the data from each of the EAT sensors 105- 1 and 105-2 can be time division multiplexed with a unique identifier) that the fiber optic cable has been deployed to within a distance of the acoustic transmitter (Fig. 4, para [007], where Figure 4 is a schematic of an example electro acoustical technology transmitter, in accordance with various embodiments; Abstract, where an acoustic transmitter to transmit an acoustic signal via a production string or casing or fluid in the production string or casing across the downhole connection; para [0022], where DAS fiber cable 520 and can transmit data it received to the DAS fiber cable 520. The data can be coupled onto the DAS fiber cable 520 by a transmitter component such as a piezo transmitter 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to identifying the fiber optic cable has been deployed to within a distance of the acoustic transmitter, as taught by Jaaskelainen with the threshold distance between the transmitter and fiber optical cable of Burding, based on reflection signal changes of Vincelette in order to provides real-time, high-resolution, distributed, and continuous monitoring along the entire depth of the well, without needing downhole electronics.
Regarding Claim 10: the claim 10 comprising the same limitations as recited in claim 2, additionally Vincelette discloses: a memory (para [0101], where computer-readable medium may comprise any suitable memory or other storage device for storing instructions, such as read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory); and
a processor that executes instructions out of the memory (para [0101], where computer-readable medium may comprise any suitable memory or other storage device for storing instructions, such as read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory).
Regarding Claim 12, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Burdin disclose the system of claim 10 further comprising:
further, Vincelette disclose : the processor executes the instructions (para [0101], where computer-readable medium may comprise any suitable memory or other storage device for storing instructions, such as read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory) initiating an operational mode of a laser that provides the light signal that corresponds to one of a pulsed mode or a continuous wave mode (para [0038], where interferometric approaches may include any suitable interrogation technique (e.g., using Mach Zehnder, Michaelson, Fabry Perot, ring resonators, polarimetric and two-mode fiber interferometers)… (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode) to convert the optical signals reflected from the Bragg gratings to electrical signals).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Vincelette in view of Maida, Jaaskelainen, and Burdin, as applied above and further in view of Daigre (US Pub.20070139037A1), hereinafter Daigre.
Regarding Claim 3, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Burdin disclose the method of claim 2, but do not disclose wherein the change in the reflected signal corresponds to a known pattern.
Daigre disclose the change in the reflected signal corresponds to a known pattern (para [0022], where sensor's output or comparing the output signal of the reflective sensor to the known optical pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide known pattern as taught by Daigre in combination of Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Burdin in order to determining if the optical sensor is functioning properly.
Regarding Claim 11, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Burdin disclose the system of claim 10, wherein the signal that was modulated into the light signal by the acoustic signal transmitted from the acoustic transmitter(Fig. 1, # 110, para [0037], where acoustic energy source may generate and emit acoustic signals downhole; para [0087], where optical waveguide to locally modify its acoustic properties, such as inscribing birefringent or tilted FBGs or placing a pumped active cavity emitting light modulated by the acoustic waves perturbing it or pumped active fiber to enhance sensor signals).
Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Burdin do not disclose the change in the reflected signal corresponds to a known pattern.
Daigre disclose the change in the reflected signal corresponds to a known pattern (para [0022], where sensor's output or comparing the output signal of the reflective sensor to the known optical pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide known pattern as taught by Daigre in combination of Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Burdin in order to determining if the optical sensor is functioning properly.
Claims 6, 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Vincelette in view of Maida, and Jaaskelainen, as applied above and further in view of Maida (US Pub.20170145819A1), hereinafter Maida’819.
Regarding Claim 6/14, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen disclose the method of claim 5/ the system of claim 13, further Vincelette disclose wherein the acoustic signal is modulated into the reflections at a zone of the fiber optic cable(para [0087], where elements may also be fabricated inside the optical waveguide to locally modify its acoustic properties, such as inscribing birefringent or tilted FBGs or placing a pumped active cavity emitting light modulated by the acoustic waves perturbing it or pumped active fiber to enhance sensor signals) located between two sensing elements that are separated by a known distance (para [0039], where the optical waveguide may be used for distributed acoustic sensing (DAS), measuring disturbances in scattered light that may be propagated within the waveguide… such that the optical propagation time or distance, Fig. the Fig. 4, the FBG 406 fabricated on the know distance).
Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen do not disclose the first set of data.
Maida’819 disclose the first set of data (Fig. 5, para [0055],-[0057], where input-output device 540… “data processing apparatus” encompasses a database management system; para [0044], where corresponding FBG 304, which may be detected at the surface 14 (FIG. 1A) using a variety of interferometric phase modulation techniques)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide first set of data, in the database management system, as taught by Maida’819, to including the modulated acoustic signal of Vincelette and further into Maida and Jaaskelainen in order to realize various different computing model infrastructures.
Regarding Claim 7/15, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen disclose the method of claim 1/ the system of claim 9, further Vincelette disclose comprising:
demodulating from the reflections of the light signal(para [0038], where interferometric approaches may include any suitable interrogation technique (e.g., using Mach Zehnder, Michaelson, Fabry Perot, ring resonators, polarimetric and two-mode fiber interferometers), e.g., interferometric of fiber optical cable incorporate demodulation).
Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen do not disclose the second set of data.
Maida’819 disclose the second set of data (Fig. 5, para [0055],-[0057], where input-output device 540… “data processing apparatus” encompasses a database management system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide second set of data, in the database management system, as taught by Maida’819 for the demodulating reflections of light signal of Vincelette and further in combination of Maida and Jaaskelainen in order to realize various different computing model infrastructures.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Vincelette in view of Maida, Jaaskelainen and Maida’819, as applied above and further in view of Hoegerl (US Pub.20190129062A1), hereinafter Hoegerl.
Regarding Claim 8/16, Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen and Maida’819 disclose the method of claim 7/ the system of claim 15, but do not disclose wherein the first set of data is associated with a first set of sensing elements and the second set of data is associated with a second set of sensing elements.
Hoegerl disclose is associated with a first set of sensing elements and is associated with a second set of sensing elements (Fig. 6, 7, para [0055], where The first and second sets of sensing elements 618a, 618b can be formed from one or more sensing elements as described above. In this embodiment, the first set of sensing elements 718a includes one or more sensing elements being formed from a first material M.sub.a (or first set of materials) and the second set of sensing elements 718b includes one or more sensing elements;… each optical fiber of a fiber optic cable (e.g., a bundle of fibers) can include a different set of sensing elements. The materials of the sensing elements (or sets of sensing elements)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to associated the first and second set of data, of the database management system, as taught by Maira’819 for the first and second sensing set of elements of Hoegerl in combination of Vincelette and Maida and Jaaskelainen in order to realize various different computing model infrastructures.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette et al., (US Pub.20160209584A1), hereinafter Vincelette, in view of Jaaskelainen (WO2017105418A1), hereinafter Jaaskelainen.
Regarding Claim 17, Vincelette discloses a non-transitory computer-related storage medium having embodied thereon instructions executable by one or more processors (para [0101], where computer-readable medium may comprise any suitable memory or other storage device for storing instructions) to:
control deployment of a fiber optic cable into a wellbore (Fig.1, Abstract, where control the acoustic properties of optical cables, para [0033], where sensing system generally includes a wellbore 102, casing 104, production tubing 106, a sensing device 110, and an optical waveguide 112 (e.g., disposed in an optical cable)), wherein a distal end of the fiber optic cable moves down the wellbore with a fluid as the fiber optic cable is deployed (para [0041], where waveguide within a suspended cable deployed in the production tubing 106, in a cable disposed in an annulus between the production tubing 106 and the well casing 104 (e.g., coupled to the outside of the production tubing 106));
initiate a light signal source to provide a light signal (para [0038], where sensing device 110 to introduce light (e.g., an optical pulse), using a pulsed laser, for example, into the optical waveguide 112) to a first end of the fiber optic cable (Fig.1, para [0038], where the sensing device 110 may include: (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode)); and
analyze a first set of data modulated into reflections (para [0138], where processing units for performing signal processing and analysis on the converted reflected signals) of the light signal that were received by a sensor coupled to the first end of the fiber optic cable when the distal end of the fiber optic cable is located in the wellbore(Fig.1, para [0038], where the sensing device 110 may include: (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode), the sensing device 110 coupled into first end of the fiber optic cable),
wherein the reflections of the signal are shifted in time when a portion of the fiber optic cable is exposed to an acoustic signal para [0039], where optical waveguide may be used for distributed acoustic sensing (DAS), measuring disturbances in scattered light that may be propagated within the waveguide (e.g., within the core of an optical fiber). The disturbances in the scattered light may be due to the transmitted, reflected, and/or refracted acoustic signals, wherein these acoustic signals may change the index of refraction of the waveguide or mechanically deform the waveguide such that the optical propagation time or distance respectfully, changes) and a first set of data included in the acoustic signal is modulated into the reflections based on the reflections of the signal being shifted in time (para [0087], where optical waveguide to locally modify its acoustic properties, such as inscribing birefringent or tilted FBGs or placing a pumped active cavity emitting light modulated by the acoustic waves perturbing it or pumped active fiber to enhance sensor signals).
Vincelette does not disclose acoustic signal transmitted from an acoustic transmitter of a tool deployed at the wellbore.
Jaaskelainen disclose acoustic signal transmitted from an acoustic transmitter of a tool deployed at the wellbore (Fig. 4, para [007], where Figure 4 is a schematic of an example electro acoustical technology transmitter, in accordance with various embodiments; Abstract, where an acoustic transmitter to transmit an acoustic signal via a production string or casing or fluid in the production string or casing across the downhole connection; para [0022], where DAS fiber cable 520 and can transmit data it received to the DAS fiber cable 520. The data can be coupled onto the DAS fiber cable 520 by a transmitter component such as a piezo transmitter 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide acoustic transmitter, as taught by Jaaskelainen into Vincelette in order to provides real-time, high-resolution, distributed, and continuous monitoring along the entire depth of the well, without needing downhole electronics.
Regarding Claim 20, Vincelette and Jaaskelainen disclose the non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 17, further Vincelette disclose wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions( para [0101], where computer-readable medium may comprise any suitable memory or other storage device for storing instructions, such as read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory) to:
initiate an operational mode of a laser that provides the light signal that corresponds to one of a pulsed mode or a continuous wave mode(para [0038], where interferometric approaches may include any suitable interrogation technique (e.g., using Mach Zehnder, Michaelson, Fabry Perot, ring resonators, polarimetric and two-mode fiber interferometers)… (1) an optical-to-electrical converter (e.g., a photodiode) to convert the optical signals reflected from the Bragg gratings to electrical signals).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette in view of Jaaskelainen, as applied above and further in view of Burdin (RU2702983C1), hereinafter Burdin.
Regarding Claim 18, Vincelette and Jaaskelainen disclose the non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 17, further Vincelette disclose wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions (para [0101], where computer-readable medium may comprise any suitable memory or other storage device for storing instructions, such as read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory) to:
change associated with the received reflections of the light signal (Para [0037], where optical propagation distance changes; para [0039], where distributed acoustic sensing (DAS), measuring disturbances in scattered light that may be propagated within the waveguide (e.g., within the core of an optical fiber). The disturbances in the scattered light may be due to the transmitted, reflected, and/or refracted acoustic signals, wherein these acoustic signals may change the index of refraction of the waveguide or mechanically deform the waveguide such that the optical propagation time or distance respectfully, changes).
Vincelette does not disclose identify that the fiber optic cable has been deployed to within a threshold distance of the acoustic transmitter.
Burdin disclose the threshold distance (Page 2, lines 45-49, where an optical fiber of an optical fiber cable, and, through the optical fiber cable, affects the optical fiber at a local a section of the cable line with a vibro-acoustic signal from a transmitter located at some distance from the fiber-optic cable, as a result of which the phase is modulated the optical radiation that is transmitted in the optical fiber by a vibro-acoustic signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the transmitter located in some distance from fiber-optic cable as taught by Burdin into Jaaskelainen structure of transmitter and fiber optic cable and further into Vincelette in order to significantly enhances the acoustic signal propagation by maximizing signal coupling and more accurately captures strain induced by acoustic waves.
Jaaskelainen disclose identifying (Fig. 1, para [0014], where sensors 105-1 and 105-2 can contain their own transmitters… data from each of the EAT sensors 105-1 and 105-2 can be transmitted at different frequencies so that the data signals can be distinguished by the EAT receiver 115, or the data from each of the EAT sensors 105- 1 and 105-2 can be time division multiplexed with a unique identifier) that the fiber optic cable has been deployed to within a distance of the acoustic transmitter (Fig. 4, para [007], where Figure 4 is a schematic of an example electro acoustical technology transmitter, in accordance with various embodiments; Abstract, where an acoustic transmitter to transmit an acoustic signal via a production string or casing or fluid in the production string or casing across the downhole connection; para [0022], where DAS fiber cable 520 and can transmit data it received to the DAS fiber cable 520. The data can be coupled onto the DAS fiber cable 520 by a transmitter component such as a piezo transmitter 512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to identifying the fiber optic cable has been deployed to within a distance of the acoustic transmitter, as taught by Jaaskelainen with the threshold distance between the transmitter and fiber optical cable of Burdin, based on reflection signal changes as taught by Vincelette in order to provides real-time, high-resolution, distributed, and continuous monitoring along the entire depth of the well, without needing downhole electronics.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincelette in view of Jaaskelainen, as applied above and further in view of Daigre (US Pub.20070139037A1), hereinafter Daigre.
Regarding Claim 19, Vincelette and Jaaskelainen disclose the non-transitory computer-related storage medium of claim 18, but do not disclose wherein the change in the reflected signal corresponds to a known pattern.
Daigre disclose the change in the reflected signal corresponds to a known pattern (para [0022], where sensor's output or comparing the output signal of the reflective sensor to the known optical pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide known pattern as taught by Daigre in combination of Vincelette and Jaaskelainen in order to determining if the optical sensor is functioning properly.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857