DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently being examined.
Specification
The lengthy Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Objections
Claim 7, is objected to because of the following informalities: at line 6, the recitation “as the as the” is redundant, the Office recommends a single “as the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al (US Published Patent Application No. 2021/0379757).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Schneider et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 1 as follows:
A method of installing a solar panel, comprising: (See Par. 0006)
providing, by a remote controller to an installation vehicle, a desired installation location for the solar panel; (See Pars. 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle)
controlling, by a first controller coupled to the installation vehicle, the installation vehicle to autonomously navigate toward the desired installation location, (See Pars. 0035-0037, 0042-0045, 0053, 0054; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 452(desired installation location)
the installation vehicle including an implement configured to selectively couple to the solar panel; (See Pars. 0035-0038, 0042, 0053, 0054; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 120A,PV(solar panel)
controlling, by a second controller coupled to a delivery vehicle, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate toward the installation vehicle, (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0046; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 132(second controller)
the delivery vehicle supporting the solar panel; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 120A,PV(solar panel)
autonomously controlling the implement of the installation vehicle to remove the solar panel from the delivery vehicle and move the solar panel into the desired installation location. (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 160A(installation location)
With respect to Claim 2, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 2, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at a user device, a user selection of an install area including the desired installation location; and (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
providing, by the user device, an indication of the install area to the remote controller. (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
With respect to Claim 7, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 7, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim1, wherein the solar panel is a first solar panel and the desired installation location is a first desired installation location, the method further comprising: (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 160A(installation location)
controlling, by the first controller, the installation vehicle to autonomously navigate toward a second desired installation location for a second solar panel; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 160A(installation location)
controlling, by the second controller, the delivery vehicle to maintain an orientation of the delivery vehicle relative to the installation vehicle as the as the installation vehicle navigates toward the second desired installation location. (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 160A(installation location)
With respect to Claim 8, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 8, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at a user device, a confirmation from a user to proceed; and (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
in response to receiving the confirmation from the user to proceed, at least one of: (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
controlling, by the first controller, the installation vehicle to autonomously navigate toward the desired installation location; or (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
controlling, by the second controller, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate toward the installation vehicle, the delivery vehicle supporting the solar panel. (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
With respect to Claim 9, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 9, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
generating, by the remote controller, a travel path for the delivery vehicle to reach a loading point; and (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0046; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 132(second controller)
controlling, by the second controller, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate along the travel path to the loading point, (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0046; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 132(second controller)
wherein the solar panel is loaded onto the delivery vehicle at the loading point. (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0046; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 132(second controller)
With respect to Claim 10, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 9 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 10, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 9, further comprising receiving, by the remote controller, an indication of a restricted area that the delivery vehicle is instructed to avoid, (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
wherein the remote controller generates the travel path based on the indication of the restricted area. (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
With respect to Claim 11, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 11, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
generating, by the remote controller, a first travel path and a second travel path for the delivery vehicle to reach a loading point; (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered
receiving, by a user device, a selection of the first travel path; and (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
in response to receiving the selection of the first travel path, controlling, by the second controller, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate along the first travel path to the loading point, (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered
wherein the solar panel is loaded onto the delivery vehicle at the loading point. (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered
With respect to Claim 12, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 12, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim1, wherein the delivery vehicle is a first delivery vehicle, further comprising:
providing, by the remote controller, a first command that causes the first delivery vehicle to navigate to a loading point; (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
loading the solar panel onto the first delivery vehicle at the loading point; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
providing, by the remote controller, a second command that causes a second delivery vehicle to navigate to the loading point after a delay, (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 5; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), 516(instructions)
the delay causing the second delivery vehicle to arrive at the loading point after the solar panel is loaded onto the first delivery vehicle. (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
With respect to Claim 13, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 13, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim1, further comprising:
controlling, by the second controller, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate to a loading point; (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
disabling, by the second controller, movement of the delivery vehicle in response to a determination that the delivery vehicle has reached the loading point; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
controlling, by the second controller, the delivery vehicle to navigate away from the loading point in response to receiving a user input through a user device. (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 5; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), 516(instructions)
With respect to Claim 14, which depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 14, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 1, wherein the solar panel is a first solar panel and the desired installation location is a first desired installation location, further comprising:
generating, by a third controller of the implement, position record data characterizing movement of the implement while at least one of (See Pars. 0033, 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle)
(a) controlling the implement of the installation vehicle to remove the first solar panel from the delivery vehicle or (See Pars. 0033, 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 160A(installation location)
(b) controlling the implement to move the first solar panel into the first desired installation location; and (See Pars. 0033, 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 160A(installation location)
controlling, by the third controller and based on the position record data, the implement at least one of (See Pars. 0033, 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 160A(installation location)
(a) remove a second solar panel from the delivery vehicle or (See Pars. 0033, 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 160A(installation location)
(b) move the second solar panel into a second desired installation location. (See Pars. 0033, 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 160A(installation location)
With respect to Claim 15, which ultimately depends from independent Claim 1, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and Claim 14 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 15, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 14, further comprising storing the position record data in the remote controller. (See Pars. 0043, 0053-0057; Figs. 2, 4; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 411(position data), 451(sensor data), 454(location data)
With respect to independent Claim 16, Schneider et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 16 as follows:
A method of transporting a plurality of solar panels, comprising:
generating, by a remote controller, a first travel path and a second travel path for a delivery vehicle to reach a loading point; (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
providing, by a user device, the first travel path and the second travel path for review by a user; (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
receiving, by the user device, a selection of the first travel path; (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
controlling, by a controller coupled to the delivery vehicle, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate along the first travel path to the loading point in response to the selection of the first travel path; (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
receiving, by the delivery vehicle, the plurality of solar panels while the delivery vehicle is at the loading point; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered)
controlling, by the controller, the delivery vehicle to autonomously navigate to an install area for the plurality of solar panels. (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 160A(installation location)
With respect to Claim 19, which depends from independent Claim 16, Schneider et al teaches all of the limitations of Claim 16 which are incorporated herein by reference. With respect to Claim 19, Schneider et al discloses as follows:
The method of Claim 16, further comprising:
disabling, by the controller, movement of the delivery vehicle in response to a determination that the delivery vehicle has reached the loading point; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), "loading point"(loading point-shown but not numbered
controlling, by the controller, the delivery vehicle to navigate away from the loading point in response to receiving an external command. (See Pars. 0036-0039, 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 5; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 216(remote controller), 516(external command)
With respect to independent Claim 20, Schneider et al discloses the limitations of independent Claim 20 as follows:
A method of installing a solar panel, comprising:
providing, by a remote controller to an installation vehicle, a desired installation location for the solar panel; (See Pars. 0035-0037, 0042, 0043; Figs. 1, 2, 3A; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle)
controlling, by a first controller coupled to the installation vehicle, the installation vehicle to autonomously navigate toward the desired installation location; (See Pars. 0035-0037, 0042-0045, 0053, 0054; Figs. 1, 2, 3A, 4; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 120A,PV(solar panel), 110,210(installation vehicle), 452(desired installation location)
controlling, by a second controller of an implement coupled to the installation vehicle, a grabber assembly of the implement to couple to the solar panel; (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 160A(installation location)
controlling, by the second controller, the implement to autonomously move the solar panel into the desired installation location; and (See Pars. 0036-0039; Figs. 1, 3A; Ref. Numerals 130,ADV(delivery vehicle), 110,210(installation vehicle), 116,240(implement), 160A(installation location)
controlling, by the second controller, the grabber assembly to release the solar panel in response to an indication from a user device that the solar panel has been successfully installed. (See Pars. 0059 ,0061, 0063; Figs. 2, 5; Ref. Numerals 216(remote controller), 516(instructions), 562(install area/install location)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In the alternative, one or more of these claims may be incorporated as further limitations into the respective rejected independent base claim from which they depend. These allowable claims would make the respective rejected independent base claim allowable because the rejected base claim would then contain subject matter that was neither disclosed nor taught or fairly suggested in the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations. Any hypothetical prior art rejection based on these references would require impermissible hindsight reasoning.
/THOMAS RANDAZZO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 January 29, 2026