DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2002-367582 A, see also the provided English translation), and further in view of Shimoji et al. (JP 2007-141518 A, cited on the IDS dated February 28, 2025, see also the previously provided English translation).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Takahashi discloses in Fig. 1 a battery cell (1) ([0011]), comprising:
an electrode assembly ([0011], [0001], [0003]);
a housing (2) having an accommodation space with one end open, the accommodating space being used for accommodating the electrode assembly ([0011]); and
an end cap (4) ([0011]) including:
a cap body having a recess recessed from an outer surface of the cap body toward an inner surface of the cap body, the recess having a bottom wall ([0011]);
a pressure relief portion (7) provided in the bottom wall of the recess and bent in a thickness direction of the cap body ([0011]);
an inward protrusion (8) extending inward from the inner surface of the cap body ([0011]), wherein
the inward protrusion (8) corresponds to the recess in a position such that a projection of an outline of the recess in the thickness direction falls within a projection range of the inward protrusion ([0011]),
the end cap (4) is connected to the housing (2) and closes the opening ([0011]).
Specifically, Takahashi discloses wherein the pressure relief portion is provided on the end cap in order to accurately release internal pressure at a predetermined pressure ([0008]).
However, Takahashi does not disclose a pressure relief groove provided in the cap body, the pressure relief groove delimiting the pressure relief portion and further does not disclose wherein the inward protrusion is arranged around the pressure relief groove.
Shimoji teaches an end cap provided with a pressure relief portion that is inexpensive and reliably operates as a safety valve when an internal pressure of a secondary battery exceeds an explosion-proof pressure, without causing significant swelling of a housing of the secondary battery ([0008]).
Specifically, Shimoji in Figs. 1-2 wherein the end cap (1a, 5) comprises a pressure relief portion (5d) formed integrally with a cap body (1a), wherein the pressure relief portion (5d) is bent in a thickness direction of the cap body (1a), and a pressure relief groove (5c) provided in the cap body (1a), the pressure relief groove (5c) delimiting the pressure relief portion (5d) and wherein the pressure relief portion (5d) is bent in a thickness direction of the cap body (1a) ([0012], [0015]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pressure relief groove in the cap body of Takahashi, the pressure relief groove delimiting the pressure relief portion of Takahashi, as taught by Shimoji, in order to form a pressure relief portion that is inexpensive and reliably operates as a safety valve when an internal pressure of the secondary battery of Takashi exceeds an explosion-proof pressure, as desired by Takahashi, without causing significant swelling of the housing of the battery cell of Takahashi.
Thus, modified Takahashi discloses wherein the inward protrusion (8 of Takahashi) is arranged around the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) (Fig. 1 of Takahashi and Figs. 1-2 of Shimoji).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein: in the thickness direction, the cap body has the inner surface and the outer surface opposite each other, and the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi) is bent in a direction from the inner surface to the outer surface (Fig. 1 of Takahashi).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein: in the thickness direction, the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi) has a first surface, the first surface and the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) are located on the same side of the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi, corresponding to 5d of Shimoji), and the first surface is an arc surface (Fig. 1 of Takahashi and Fig. 2, [0017] of Shimoji).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein: in the thickness direction, the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi) has a second surface opposite the first surface, the second surface being an arc surface, and the first surface and the second surface are bent in the same direction (Fig. 1 of Takahashi).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein: in the thickness direction, the cap body has the inner surface and the outer surface opposite each other; a distance between the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi) and the inner surface in the thickness direction gradually increases from two ends to the middle of the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi) in a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the thickness direction (Fig. 1 of Takahashi).
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Takahashi does not disclose wherein the end cap comprises a first protrusion, wherein the first protrusion is arranged on the outer surface in a protruding manner and surrounds the pressure relief groove, and further wherein the first protrusion is arranged on the bottom wall in a protruding manner and surrounds the pressure relief groove.
Shimoji further teaches in Figs. 1-2 wherein the end cap (1a, 5) comprises a first protrusion (5b), wherein the first protrusion (5b) is arranged on an outer surface of the end cap (1a, 5) in a protruding manner and surrounds the pressure relief groove (5c) in order to form a pressure relief portion with increased flexibility and vent strength ([0016]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the end cap of modified Takahashi to comprise a first protrusion, wherein the first protrusion is arranged on the outer surface of the end cap in a protruding manner and surrounds the pressure relief groove of modified Takahashi, as further taught by Shimoji, in order to form a pressure relief portion with increased flexibility and vent strength.
In light of the above, modified Takahashi discloses wherein the first protrusion (5b of Shimoji) is arranged on the bottom wall in a protruding manner and surrounds the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) (Figs. 1-2, [0016]-[0018] of Shimoji).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the cap body is provided with the recess which is recessed from the outer surface in a direction toward the inner surface, and the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) is provided in a bottom wall of the recess (Fig. 1 of Takahashi and Fig. 2, [0015]-[0018] of Shimoji).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the inward protrusion (8 of Takahashi) is a second protrusion surrounding the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) (Fig. 1 of Takahashi and Fig. 2 of Shimoji).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the length of the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi) in a second direction is greater than a length in the first direction, and the second direction and the thickness direction are perpendicular to each other (Fig. 1A of Takahashi, wherein the pressure relief portion 7 has an oval shape).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) is a closed groove extending along a closed trajectory that is connected end to end (Figs. 1-2, [0016] 5c of Shimoji, wherein the pressure relief groove 5c has an oval shape).
Regarding Claims 12-13, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) comprises a first groove section, a second groove section, a third groove section and a fourth groove section that are connected in sequence;
in the first direction, the first groove section and the third groove section are arranged opposite each other, and a maximum distance between the first groove section and the third groove section is a first distance;
in the second direction, the second groove section and the fourth groove section are arranged opposite each other, and a minimum distance between the second groove section and the fourth groove section is a second distance; and
the second distance is greater than the first distance, and the first direction, the second direction and the thickness direction are perpendicular to each other;
wherein the first groove section and the third groove section are linear grooves; and
the second groove section and the fourth groove section are arc grooves (Figs. 1-2, [0016] of Shimoji, wherein the pressure relief groove 5c has an oval shape).
Regarding Claims 19-20, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein: the pressure relief groove (5c of Shimoji) is positioned between the pressure relief portion (7 of Takahashi , corresponding to 5d of Shimoji) and the inward protrusion (8 of Takahashi) (Fig. 1 of Takahashi).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2002-367582 A, see also the provided English translation) in view of Shimoji et al. (JP 2007-141518 A, cited on the IDS dated February 28, 2025, see also the previously English translation), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Byun (US PGPub 2011/0206957 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Takahashi does not disclose wherein the cap body partially protrudes in the thickness direction to form a bump, and the pressure relief groove is provided in the bump.
Byun teaches in Figs. 1-4 an end cap comprising a cap body (30) provided with a pressure relief portion (34) and a pressure relief groove (341) provided in the cap body (30), the pressure relief groove (341) delimiting the pressure relief portion ([0044], [0055]).
Specifically, Byun teaches wherein the cap body (30) partially protrudes in the thickness direction to form a bump (60), and the pressure relief groove (341) is provided in the bump (60) in order to increase the resistivity to thermal deformation and deformation of the pressure relief portion (34) and the cap body (30) ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the cap body of modified Takahashi to partially protrude in the thickness direction to form a bump, wherein the pressure relief groove of modified Takahashi is provided in the bump, as taught by Byun, in order to increase the resistivity to thermal deformation and deformation of the pressure relief portion of modified Takahashi and the cap body.
Claim 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2002-367582 A, see also the provided English translation) in view of Shimoji et al. (JP 2007-141518 A, cited on the IDS dated February 28, 2025, see also the previously provided English translation), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 112713345 A, see also the previously provided English translation).
Regarding Claims 16-18, modified Takahashi discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Takahashi remains silent regarding an intended use of the battery cell (1 of Takahashi) and therefore such is not particularly limited.
However, modified Takahashi does not explicitly disclose
a battery, comprising:
a case; and
the battery cell, wherein the battery cell is accommodated inside the case,
wherein:
the end cap is arranged on a side of the battery cell facing a bottom wall of the case; and
a power consuming device, characterized by comprising a battery, wherein the battery is configured to provide electric energy.
Yang teaches in Figs. 1-3 a battery (10) comprising a case (11, 12) and a battery cell (30) accommodated inside the case (11, 12) ([0059]-[0061]) and a power consuming device (1) comprising the battery (10), wherein the battery (10) is configured to provide electric energy ([0056], [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the battery cell of modified Takahashi in a battery comprising a case, wherein the battery cell is accommodated inside the case, and to further utilize the battery in a power consuming device, as taught by Yang, as the intended use of the battery cell is not particularly limited, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such could successfully be configured to provide electric energy to the power consuming device.
Yang further teaches in Figs. 4-5 wherein the battery cell (30) comprises an end cap (42b) comprising a pressure relief mechanism (80a), wherein the end cap (42b) is arranged on a side of the battery cell (30) facing a bottom wall (11) of the case (11, 12) so that the high-temperature and high-pressure emissions emitted by the battery cell (30) are less likely to directly threaten personnel safety when the pressure relief mechanism (80a) explodes and releases pressure, thus improving safety of the battery cell (30) ([0067], [0079]-[0080], [0029], [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the end cap of modified Takahashi to be arranged on a side of the battery cell of modified Takahashi facing a bottom wall of the case of modified Takahashi, as further taught by Yang, so that the high-temperature and high-pressure emissions emitted by the battery cell are less likely to directly threaten personnel safety when the pressure relief portion of modified Takahashi explodes and releases pressure, thus improving safety of the battery cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claims 1, 15, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725