DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 11-5 are pending in this application.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (US Publication 2024/0383527 A1) in view of Rawlings et al. (US Publication 2019/0283796 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimoto teaches a vehicle steering control apparatus comprising: a steering apparatus configured to control a traveling direction of a vehicle (Fujimoto: Para. 79; target trajectory tracking control unit calculates the steering angle command value; calculation of the steering angle command value for following the target traveling trajectory); an autonomous traveling controller configured to compute a commanded steering angle for controlling the traveling direction of the vehicle in an autonomous traveling mode (Fujimoto: Para. 74; calculates the steering angle command value of the steering apparatus of the ego vehicle, based on the detected traveling state and the detected periphery state); a position controller configured to control the steering apparatus in response to the commanded steering angle (Fujimoto: Para. 63; the steering apparatus is provided with a rack pinion gear; rack pinion gear converts a rotary motion of the steering shaft into a linear motion in the lateral direction, drives a tie rod and a steering knuckle arm, and changes the steering angle of the wheels); ………. ; and a processor (Fujimoto: Para. 70; processor) …….. , and in a manner that corresponds to an autonomous traveling mode of the vehicle, to generate a feedback signal on a control error on the basis of the reference steering angle signal (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control, such as PI control based on a deviation between the steering angle command value and the steering angle detection value) to apply the generated feedback signal to the autonomous traveling controller (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control), wherein the processor changes the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle when the rotational movement of the steering wheel is detected in the autonomous traveling mode (Fujimoto: Para. 73; determines to perform the steering assist, when a state where the absolute value of steering torque exceeded a preliminarily set determination value continues for a determination period during execution of the automatic steering).
Fujimoto doesn’t explicitly teach a motor-angle sensor disposed in the steering apparatus and configured to measure a motor angle; a steering angle sensor disposed in a steering wheel and configured to measure a steering angle that corresponds to a rotational movement of the steering wheel ……….. configured to set a reference steering angle signal in such a manner as to control the steering apparatus on the basis of one of a first steering angle signal computed from the motor angle and a second steering angle of the steering angle sensor.
However Rawlings, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a motor-angle sensor disposed in the steering apparatus and configured to measure a motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 31; the actuator assembly includes an angle sensor to determine the SWA of the steering wheel); a steering angle sensor disposed in a steering wheel and configured to measure a steering angle that corresponds to a rotational movement of the steering wheel (Rawlings: Para. 31; actuator assembly includes an angle sensor to determine the SWA of the steering wheel) ……….. configured to set a reference steering angle signal in such a manner as to control the steering apparatus on the basis of one of a first steering angle signal computed from the motor angle and a second steering angle of the steering angle sensor (Rawlings: Para. 28-29; SWA sensor that measures a rotational angle of the steering wheel; position sensor that detects the current angle of the front wheels based on a position of the actuator; apply a linear or non-linear correlation between the SWA and the angle of the front wheels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) with a reasonable expectation of success because a torque feedback actuator that maintains the steering wheel SWA correlates to the current angle of the front wheels, provides torque feedback on the steering wheel mimics the force the front wheels would otherwise have on the steering wheel in a traditional mechanical linkage assembly (Rawlings: Para. 29).
Regarding claim 2, Fujimoto teaches the vehicle steering control apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the rotational movement of the steering wheel is detected in the autonomous traveling mode, the processor keeps the vehicle traveling in the autonomous traveling mode for a predetermined time (Fujimoto: Para. 73; when a state where the absolute value of steering torque exceeded a preliminarily set determination value continues for a determination period during execution of the automatic steering) and compensates for the rotational movement of the steering wheel through the feedback signal (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control, such as PI control based on a deviation between the steering angle command value and the steering angle detection value).
Regarding claim 6, Fujimoto teaches the vehicle steering control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor changes the reference steering angle signal by adjusting a reflection ratio step by step within a designated time (Fujimoto: Para. 82; the steering angle detection unit calculates the steering angle detection value by multiplying a conversion coefficient preliminarily set according to the gear ratio, to the integration value of the rotational angle).
Regarding claim 9, Fujimoto teaches a method of controlling a vehicle steering control apparatus, the method comprising: setting, by a processor (Fujimoto: Para. 70; processor), ……… , in a manner that corresponds to an autonomous traveling mode of a vehicle (Fujimoto: Para. 74; calculates the steering angle command value of the steering apparatus of the ego vehicle, based on the detected traveling state and the detected periphery state); computing, by an autonomous traveling controller, a commanded steering angle for controlling a traveling direction of the vehicle (Fujimoto: Para. 74; calculates the steering angle command value of the steering apparatus of the ego vehicle, based on the detected traveling state and the detected periphery state) and controlling, by a position controller, the steering apparatus in a manner that corresponds to the commanded steering angle, in the autonomous traveling mode (Fujimoto: Para. 63; the steering apparatus is provided with a rack pinion gear; rack pinion gear converts a rotary motion of the steering shaft into a linear motion in the lateral direction, drives a tie rod and a steering knuckle arm, and changes the steering angle of the wheels); generating, by the processor, a feedback signal on a control error on the basis of the first steering angle signal (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control, such as PI control based on a deviation between the steering angle command value and the steering angle detection value) and applying, by the processor, the generated feedback signal to the position controller and the autonomous traveling controller (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control); changing, by the processor, the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal in response to a rotational movement of a steering wheel being detected in the autonomous traveling mode (Fujimoto: Para. 73; determines to perform the steering assist, when a state where the absolute value of steering torque exceeded a preliminarily set determination value continues for a determination period during execution of the automatic steering); and generating, by the processor, the feedback signal on the basis of the second steering angle signal and applying the generated feedback signal to the position controller and the autonomous traveling controller (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control).
Fujimoto doesn’t explicitly teach a reference steering angle signal in such a manner that a steering apparatus is controlled on the basis of one of a first steering angle signal computed from a motor angle of a motor- angle sensor and a second steering angle signal of a steering angle sensor.
However Rawlings, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a reference steering angle signal in such a manner that a steering apparatus is controlled on the basis of one of a first steering angle signal computed from a motor angle of a motor- angle sensor and a second steering angle signal of a steering angle sensor (Rawlings: Para. 28-29; SWA sensor that measures a rotational angle of the steering wheel; position sensor that detects the current angle of the front wheels based on a position of the actuator; apply a linear or non-linear correlation between the SWA and the angle of the front wheels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) with a reasonable expectation of success because a torque feedback actuator that maintains the steering wheel SWA correlates to the current angle of the front wheels, provides torque feedback on the steering wheel mimics the force the front wheels would otherwise have on the steering wheel in a traditional mechanical linkage assembly (Rawlings: Para. 29).
Regarding claim 10, Fujimoto teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising, in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel being detected in the autonomous traveling mode, keeping, by the processor, the vehicle traveling in the autonomous traveling mode for a predetermined time (Fujimoto: Para. 73; when a state where the absolute value of steering torque exceeded a preliminarily set determination value continues for a determination period during execution of the automatic steering), and compensating for, by the processor, the rotational movement of the steering wheel through the feedback signal (Fujimoto: Para. 83; output command calculation unit changes the motor output command value by a feedback control, such as PI control based on a deviation between the steering angle command value and the steering angle detection value).
Claims 3-5, 7-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (US Publication 2024/0383527 A1) in view of Rawlings et al. (US Publication 2019/0283796 A1) and in further Kim (US Publication 2020/0391789 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach wherein when a time taken to maintain a column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel exceeds a preset time and a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel exceeds a preset value, the processor changes the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein when a time taken to maintain a column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel exceeds a preset time and a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel exceeds a preset value, the processor changes the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal (Kim: Para. 4, 20; the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more; detecting the steering torque generated by the turning of a steering wheel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Regarding claim 4, Fujimoto teaches the vehicle steering control apparatus of claim 3, wherein the processor removes a resonance point of the column torque by filtering the column torque through one of a notch filter, a band- stop filter, and a lead-lag filter (Fujimoto: Para. 124; current extraction unit for position estimation performs a processing which extracts a component of the frequency for angle estimation to the current detection value of each phase; a band pass filter, a notch filter, or the like is used for this extraction processing).
Regarding claim 5, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach wherein when a time taken to maintain a column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaches or falls short of a preset time, or when a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaches or falls short of a preset value, the processor maintains the reference steering angle signal as the first steering angle signal.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein when a time taken to maintain a column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaches or falls short of a preset time, or when a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaches or falls short of a preset value, the processor maintains the reference steering angle signal as the first steering angle signal (Kim: Para. 110; when the amount of a location control error is not maintained for a set time or more, the reaction controller may determine that a temporary change is attributable to a surrounding environment as described above and determine a steering mode as the autonomous driving mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Regarding claim 7, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach wherein when the rotational movement of the steering wheel is detected in the autonomous traveling mode, the processor keeps the vehicle traveling in the autonomous traveling mode by changing a condition for deactivating the autonomous traveling mode.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein when the rotational movement of the steering wheel is detected in the autonomous traveling mode, the processor keeps the vehicle traveling in the autonomous traveling mode by changing a condition for deactivating the autonomous traveling mode (Kim: Para. 110; when the amount of a location control error is not maintained for a set time or more, the reaction controller may determine that a temporary change is attributable to a surrounding environment as described above and determine a steering mode as the autonomous driving mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Regarding claim 8, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach wherein either when the rotational movement of the steering wheel satisfies a changed condition or when the steering wheel continues to be rotationally moved by a driver's steering, the processor deactivates the autonomous traveling mode and switches to a driver steering mode.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein either when the rotational movement of the steering wheel satisfies a changed condition or when the steering wheel continues to be rotationally moved by a driver's steering, the processor deactivates the autonomous traveling mode and switches to a driver steering mode (Kim: Para. 20; the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Regarding claim 11, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach counting, by the processor, a time taken to maintain column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel and comparing the counted time taken to maintain the column torque with a preset time; comparing, by the processor, a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel with a preset value; and changing, by the processor, the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal in response to the time taken to maintain the column torque exceeding the preset time and the magnitude of the commanded steering angle exceeds the preset value.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches counting, by the processor, a time taken to maintain column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel and comparing the counted time taken to maintain the column torque with a preset time; comparing, by the processor, a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel with a preset value; and changing, by the processor, the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal in response to the time taken to maintain the column torque exceeding the preset time and the magnitude of the commanded steering angle exceeds the preset value (Kim: Para. 4, 20; the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more; detecting the steering torque generated by the turning of a steering wheel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Regarding claim 12, Fujimoto teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the changing of the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal further comprises: removing, by the processor, a resonance point of the column torque by filtering the column torque through one of a notch filter, a band-stop filter, and a lead-drag filter (Fujimoto: Para. 124; current extraction unit for position estimation performs a processing which extracts a component of the frequency for angle estimation to the current detection value of each phase; a band pass filter, a notch filter, or the like is used for this extraction processing).
Regarding claim 13, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach maintaining, by the processor, the reference steering angle signal as the first steering angle signal in response to a time taken to maintain column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaching or falling short of a preset time or in response to a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaching or falling short of a preset value, in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel being detected in the autonomous traveling mode.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches maintaining, by the processor, the reference steering angle signal as the first steering angle signal in response to a time taken to maintain column torque due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaching or falling short of a preset time or in response to a magnitude of the commanded steering angle that changes due to the rotational movement of the steering wheel reaching or falling short of a preset value, in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel being detected in the autonomous traveling mode (Kim: Para. 110; when the amount of a location control error is not maintained for a set time or more, the reaction controller may determine that a temporary change is attributable to a surrounding environment as described above and determine a steering mode as the autonomous driving mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Regarding claim 14, Fujimoto teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the changing of the reference steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal includes changing, by the processor, the reference steering angle signal from the first steering angle signal to the second steering angle signal by adjusting a reflection ratio step by step within a designated time (Fujimoto: Para. 82; the steering angle detection unit calculates the steering angle detection value by multiplying a conversion coefficient preliminarily set according to the gear ratio, to the integration value of the rotational angle).
Regarding claim 15, Fujimoto and Rawlings don’t explicitly teach keeping, by the processor, the vehicle traveling in the autonomous traveling mode by changing a condition for deactivating the autonomous traveling mode, in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel being detected in the autonomous traveling mode; and deactivating, by the processor, the autonomous traveling mode and switching to a driver steering mode either in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel satisfying a changed condition or in response to the steering wheel continuing to be rotationally moved by a driver's steering.
However Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches keeping, by the processor, the vehicle traveling in the autonomous traveling mode by changing a condition for deactivating the autonomous traveling mode, in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel being detected in the autonomous traveling mode (Kim: Para. 110; when the amount of a location control error is not maintained for a set time or more, the reaction controller may determine that a temporary change is attributable to a surrounding environment as described above and determine a steering mode as the autonomous driving mode); and deactivating, by the processor, the autonomous traveling mode and switching to a driver steering mode either in response to the rotational movement of the steering wheel satisfying a changed condition or in response to the steering wheel continuing to be rotationally moved by a driver's steering (Kim: Para. 20; the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic or manual steering determination based on steering torque applied by the driver (Fujimoto: Para. 73) with a non-linear correlation between the steering wheel angle and the tires’ motor angle (Rawlings: Para. 28-29) and the first possible command steering angle by the driver and the second possible command steering angle by the autonomous driving controller (Kim: Para. 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because the steering mode determination unit is configured to determine a steering mode as the driver steering mode when the amount of the location control error is maintained at a set value or more for a set time or more (Kim: Para. 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 18 November 2025, with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663