DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I directed to claims 1-10 and 12-20 in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged. No claims are cancelled. No claims were amended. No claims were added. Claim 11 directed to non-elected species there by withdrawn. As a result, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/19/2023 and 05/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and made of record.
Response to Amendment
This office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/29/2026. Claims 1 and 6 have been amended. No new claims have been added or cancelled. Claim 11 is withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-4 of the Remarks document, filed 06/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, a new rejection is made using a newly found art Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130087875 A1) “Kobayashi et al.” in view of CHO; Minsu (US 20180254297 A1) “CHO” further in view of GALOR GLUSKIN; Micha (US 20200280704 A1) “GALOR GLUSKIN” and Li, Jin (US 20110234883 A1) “Li et al.”
Furthermore, previously allowable claim 13-20 is rejected using new prior arts Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130087875 A1) “Kobayashi et al.” in view of CHO; Minsu (US 20180254297 A1) “CHO” further in view of GALOR GLUSKIN; Micha (US 20200280704 A1) “GALOR GLUSKIN” and Li, Jin (US 20110234883 A1) “Li et al.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19, recites “wherein the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the first photodiode is lower than the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the second photodiode are the same.” which is contradictory. For examination purpose, it is regarded as “wherein the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the first photodiode is lower than the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the second photodiode”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130087875 A1) “Kobayashi et al.” in view of CHO; Minsu (US 20180254297 A1) “CHO” further in view of GALOR GLUSKIN; Micha (US 20200280704 A1) “GALOR GLUSKIN”.
With Regard to Independent Claim 1, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-3A discloses an image sensor (“an imaging device 100” ¶ [0040]) comprising:
a shared pixel including a plurality of subpixels (“FIG. 2 includes four photoelectric conversion units 201 arranged in two rows and two columns.” ¶ [0049]; “the pixel array 101 is formed by arranging a great number of such photoelectric conversion units 201 in a matrix” ¶ [0052]);
a plurality of micro-lenses respectively disposed at upper portions of the plurality of subpixels (“One microlens 202 is provided to each of the photoelectric conversion units.” ¶ [0050]); and
a color filter (“a color filter 301” ¶ [0054]) disposed between the shared pixel and the plurality of micro-lenses (Fig. 3A shows color filter deposed between shared pixel and microlenses),
each of the plurality of subpixels comprises two or more photodiodes (“In FIG. 2, one photoelectric conversion unit 201 includes two photoelectric conversion elements, for example, the PD 1 and the PD 2. Alternatively, one photoelectric conversion unit may include four or nine photoelectric conversion elements.” ¶ [0050]),
highest points of each of the plurality of micro-lenses 202 measured from an upper surface of the color filter 301.
However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein the color filter is configured to pass light of a single color to the shared pixel, and
highest points of each of the plurality of micro-lenses are respectively disposed over one of the two or more photodiodes of the plurality of subpixels that are closer to a center of the shared pixel.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, CHO Fig. 1-3 discloses highest points (“the vertexes V1 and V2” ¶ [0039]) of each of the plurality of micro-lenses (“the vertexes V1 and V2 of the first and second sub-lenses 206 and 208” ¶ [0039]) are respectively disposed over one of the two or more photodiodes of the plurality of subpixels that are closer to a center of the shared pixel (“The vertex of the first sub-lens may be located between the central axis of the microlens and the central axis of the first photoelectric conversion element, and the vertex of the second sub-lens nay be located between the central axis of the microlens and the central axis of the second photoelectric conversion element. The vertexes of the first and second sub-lenses, the first and second sub-lenses being located in the center of the pixel array, are more adjacent to the central axis of the microlens than the central axes of the first and second photoelectric conversion elements, respectively, and the vertexes of the first and second sub-lenses, the first and second sub-lenses being located at the edge of the pixel array, are more adjacent to the central axes of the first and second photoelectric conversion elements, respectively, than the central axis of the microlens.” ¶ [0008]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify microlenses of Kobayashi et al. using the microlenses of CHO in order to improve a performance of an image sensor with a phase difference detection pixel. Specifically, the various embodiments may provide an image sensor capable of improving a sensitivity of a phase difference detection pixel, and preventing an occurrence of optical crosstalk in the phase difference detection pixel (CHO, ¶ [0023]).
However, CHO does not disclose, wherein the color filter is configured to pass light of a single color to the shared pixel.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, GALOR GLUSKIN discloses wherein the color filter is configured to pass light of a single color to the shared pixel (“image sensor may include a quad Bayer pattern tile of size 4×4 sensor pixels with a plurality of patches of size 2×2 sensor pixels. Each patch may include the same color filter among the sensor pixels and different size exposure zones between the sensor pixels” ¶ [0046]; “FIG. 9 is a depiction of a 4×4 pixel pattern 900 of a Quad Bayer CFA image sensor, which is an example implementation of a QCFA image sensor. The Quad Bayer CFA image sensor may include 2×2 blocks (or quads) of pixels having color filters of the same color. For example, block 908 may include four R pixels 902A-902D, block 910 may include four B pixels 906A-906D, block 912 may include four G pixels 904A-904D, and block 914 may include four G pixels 904E-904H. Each block 908-914 may also be referred to as a pixel cluster.” ¶ [0101]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the color filter of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the color filter configured to pass light of a single color to the shared pixel of GALOR GLUSKIN in order to enable the device 100 to concurrently read out the photometrics from each sensor pixel of a pixel cluster. For non-low light environments, individual photometrics may be used to determine individual pixel colors of an image to construct an image with the same number of image pixels as sensor pixels. For low light environments, sensor pixels of a pixel cluster may be re-mosaiced (such as binned) such that the photometrics for multiple sensor pixels are combined (GALOR GLUSKIN, ¶ [0102])
With Regard to Claim 2, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO and GALOR GLUSKIN limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein a number of the plurality of subpixels and a number of the plurality of micro-lenses are the same (“One microlens 202 is provided to each of the photoelectric conversion units.” ¶ [0050]).
With Regard to Claim 3, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO and GALOR GLUSKIN limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein heights of the highest points of the plurality of micro-lenses from the upper surface of the color filter are equal to each other (Fig. 3A shows heights of the highest points of the plurality of micro-lenses 202a and 202b from the upper surface of the color filter are equal to each other).
With Regard to Claim 4, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO and GALOR GLUSKIN limitations of claim 1. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein shapes of the plurality of micro-lenses are symmetric with one another with respect to the center of the shared pixel (Fig. 3A shows heights of the highest points of the plurality of micro-lenses 202a and 202b from the upper surface of the color filter are equal to each other).
With Regard to Claim 12, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 6. However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein the color filter is configured to pass light of a single color.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, GALOR GLUSKIN discloses wherein the color filter is configured to pass light of a single color (“image sensor may include a quad Bayer pattern tile of size 4×4 sensor pixels with a plurality of patches of size 2×2 sensor pixels. Each patch may include the same color filter among the sensor pixels and different size exposure zones between the sensor pixels” ¶ [0046]; “FIG. 9 is a depiction of a 4×4 pixel pattern 900 of a Quad Bayer CFA image sensor, which is an example implementation of a QCFA image sensor. The Quad Bayer CFA image sensor may include 2×2 blocks (or quads) of pixels having color filters of the same color. For example, block 908 may include four R pixels 902A-902D, block 910 may include four B pixels 906A-906D, block 912 may include four G pixels 904A-904D, and block 914 may include four G pixels 904E-904H. Each block 908-914 may also be referred to as a pixel cluster.” ¶ [0101]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the color filter of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the color filter configured to pass light of a single color to the shared pixel of GALOR GLUSKIN in order to enable the device 100 to concurrently read out the photometrics from each sensor pixel of a pixel cluster. For non-low light environments, individual photometrics may be used to determine individual pixel colors of an image to construct an image with the same number of image pixels as sensor pixels. For low light environments, sensor pixels of a pixel cluster may be re-mosaiced (such as binned) such that the photometrics for multiple sensor pixels are combined (GALOR GLUSKIN, ¶ [0102])
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130087875 A1) “Kobayashi et al.” in view of CHO; Minsu (US 20180254297 A1) “CHO” further in view of GALOR GLUSKIN; Micha (US 20200280704 A1) “GALOR GLUSKIN” further in view of Li, Jin (US 20110234883 A1) “Li et al.”.
With Regard to Claim 5, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO and GALOR GLUSKIN limitations of claim 1. However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein heights of lowest points of the plurality of micro-lenses near the center of the shared pixel are greater than heights of lowest points of the plurality of micro-lenses at an edge of the shared pixel, wherein the heights are from the upper surface of the color filter.
In the similar field of endeavor of microlenses Li et al. Figs. 2-4 discloses, wherein heights of lowest points of the plurality of micro-lenses near the center of the shared pixel are greater than heights of lowest points of the plurality of micro-lenses at an edge of the shared pixel (“top surface of lens 130 is upwardly convex shaped, thus having an apex in the center of the lens 130” ¶ [0023]), wherein the heights are from the upper surface of the color filter (“Color filters 125G, 125R, the first lens 130, and microlenses 140G, 140R are provided over the pixels 120G, 120R and layer 122” ¶ [0022]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the microlenses of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the microlenses of Li et al. in order to focus light on the photosensitive devices 190G, 190R. Lens 130 is formed and shaped with generally known optical characteristics to pass light at a preferred direction towards associated photosensitive devices 190G, 190R (Li et al., ¶ [0023]).
Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130087875 A1) “Kobayashi et al.” in view of CHO; Minsu (US 20180254297 A1) “CHO”.
With Regard to Independent Claim 6, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-3A discloses an image sensor comprising:
a shared pixel including first to nth subpixels arranged in an N*N form; N*N number of first to nth micro-lenses respectively disposed at upper portions of the first to nth subpixels arranged in the N*N form (“FIG. 2 includes four photoelectric conversion units 201 arranged in two rows and two columns.” ¶ [0049]; “the pixel array 101 is formed by arranging a great number of such photoelectric conversion units 201 in a matrix” ¶ [0052]); and
a color filter (“a color filter 301” ¶ [0054]) disposed between the shared pixel and the first to nth micro-lenses (“One microlens 202 is provided to each of the photoelectric conversion units.” ¶ [0050]).
However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein a distance between (a) a highest point of an mth micro-lens from among the first to nt micro-lenses as ,the highest point being measured from an upper surface of the color filter, and (b) a center of the shared pixel is shorter than a distance between (c) the center of the shared pixel and (d) a center of an mth subpixel from among the first to nt subpixels that is disposed at a lower portion of the mth micro-lens, and m is a natural number of 1 or more and n or less, n is a natural number of 4 or more, and N is a natural number of 2 or more.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, CHO Fig. 1-3 discloses wherein a distance between (a) a highest point of an mth micro-lens from among the first to nt micro-lenses as ,the highest point being measured from an upper surface of the color filter, and (b) a center of the shared pixel is shorter than a distance between (c) the center of the shared pixel and (d) a center of an mth subpixel from among the first to nt subpixels that is disposed at a lower portion of the mth micro-lens (“The vertex of the first sub-lens may be located between the central axis of the microlens and the central axis of the first photoelectric conversion element, and the vertex of the second sub-lens nay be located between the central axis of the microlens and the central axis of the second photoelectric conversion element. The vertexes of the first and second sub-lenses, the first and second sub-lenses being located in the center of the pixel array, are more adjacent to the central axis of the microlens than the central axes of the first and second photoelectric conversion elements, respectively, and the vertexes of the first and second sub-lenses, the first and second sub-lenses being located at the edge of the pixel array, are more adjacent to the central axes of the first and second photoelectric conversion elements, respectively, than the central axis of the microlens.” ¶ [0008]; “the vertexes V1 and V2 of the first and second sub-lenses 206 and 208” ¶ [0039]), and m is a natural number of 1 or more and n or less, n is a natural number of 4 or more, and N is a natural number of 2 or more (“FIG. 2 includes four photoelectric conversion units 201 arranged in two rows and two columns.” ¶ [0049]; “the pixel array 101 is formed by arranging a great number of such photoelectric conversion units 201 in a matrix” ¶ [0052]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify microlenses of Kobayashi et al. using the microlenses of CHO in order to improve a performance of an image sensor with a phase difference detection pixel. Specifically, the various embodiments may provide an image sensor capable of improving a sensitivity of a phase difference detection pixel, and preventing an occurrence of optical crosstalk in the phase difference detection pixel (CHO, ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Claim 7, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 6. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein each of the first to nth subpixels comprises a plurality of photodiodes (“In FIG. 2, one photoelectric conversion unit 201 includes two photoelectric conversion elements, for example, the PD 1 and the PD 2. Alternatively, one photoelectric conversion unit may include four or nine photoelectric conversion elements.” ¶ [0050]).
With Regard to Claim 9, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 7. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein heights of highest points of the first to nth micro-lenses are equal to each other, and the heights are from the upper surface of the color filter (Fig. 3A shows heights of the highest points of the plurality of micro-lenses 202a and 202b from the upper surface of the color filter are equal to each other).
With Regard to Claim 10, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 7. Kobayashi et al. further discloses, wherein distances between the center of the shared pixel and micro-lenses from among the first to nth micro-lenses which are adjacent to the center of the shared pixel in a diagonal direction are equal to each other (“four photoelectric conversion units 201 arranged in two rows and two columns” ¶ [0049]).
Furthermore CHO Fig. 3 shows the symmetrical vertex V1 and V2.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify microlenses of Kobayashi et al. using the microlenses of CHO in order to improve a performance of an image sensor with a phase difference detection pixel. Specifically, the various embodiments may provide an image sensor capable of improving a sensitivity of a phase difference detection pixel, and preventing an occurrence of optical crosstalk in the phase difference detection pixel (CHO, ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Independent Claim 13, Kobayashi et al. Figs. 1-3A and 11 discloses an electronic device (“FIG. 11 illustrates an example of an imaging system to which the imaging device according to each of the above-described embodiments is applicable.” ¶ [0098]) comprising:
an image sensor (“an imaging device 100” ¶ [0040]; “an imaging device 1105” ¶ [0099]); and
a processor connected to the image sensor and configured to process data of the image sensor (“An imaging signal processing circuit 1106 performs various corrections on the image signal output from the imaging device 1105 and compresses data.”; “A control circuit 1109 controls the entire imaging device and also performs various calculations.” ¶ [0099]),
the image sensor comprising a first subpixel including a first photodiode PD1 and a second photodiode PD2 (“photoelectric conversion elements PD 1 and PD 2” ¶ [0030]),
a second subpixel including a third photodiode PD3 and a fourth photodiode PD4 (“photoelectric conversion elements PD 3 and PD 4” ¶ [0030]), the second subpixel disposed adjacent to the first subpixel (Fig. 3A shows the second subpixel disposed adjacent to the first subpixel),
a first micro-lens disposed at an upper portion of the first subpixel (“a microlens 202a is incident on the PD 1 and the PD 2” ¶ [0056]),
a second micro-lens disposed at an upper portion of the second subpixel (“a microlens 202b is incident on the PD 3 and the PD 4” ¶ [0056]), and
a color filter (“a color filter 301” ¶ [0054]) disposed between the first and second subpixels and the first and second micro-lenses (Fig. 3A shows color filter deposed between shared pixel and microlenses),
highest points of each of the plurality of micro-lenses 202 measured from an upper surface of the color filter 301.
the first and second subpixels configure a shared pixel (Fig. 3A shows the first and second subpixels configure a shared pixel), the second photodiode PD2 is disposed closer to a center of the shared pixel than the first photodiode PD1, and the third photodiode PD3 is disposed closer to the center of the shared pixel than the fourth photodiode PD4 (Fig. 3A shows the second photodiode PD2 is disposed closer to a center of the shared pixel than the first photodiode PD1, and the third photodiode PD3 is disposed closer to the center of the shared pixel than the fourth photodiode PD4),.
However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein a highest point of the first micro-lens is disposed in a region over the second photodiode, a highest point of the second micro-lens is disposed in a region over the third photodiode.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, CHO Fig. 1-3 discloses wherein a highest point (“the vertexes V1 and V2 of the first and second sub-lenses 206 and 208” ¶ [0039]) of the first micro-lens is disposed in a region over the second photodiode (Fig. 3 shows V1 is shifted towards center which will fall on PD2 of Kobayashi et al.), a highest point (“the vertexes V1 and V2 of the first and second sub-lenses 206 and 208” ¶ [0039]) of the second micro-lens is disposed in a region over the third photodiode (Fig. 3 shows V2 is shifted towards center which will fall on PD3 of Kobayashi et al.).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify microlenses of Kobayashi et al. using the microlenses of CHO in order to improve a performance of an image sensor with a phase difference detection pixel. Specifically, the various embodiments may provide an image sensor capable of improving a sensitivity of a phase difference detection pixel, and preventing an occurrence of optical crosstalk in the phase difference detection pixel (CHO, ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Claim 14, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 13. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein the second photodiode PD2 is disposed adjacent to the third photodiode PD3 (Fig, 3A shows the second photodiode PD2 is disposed adjacent to the third photodiode PD3).
With Regard to Claim 15, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 14. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3, 11, 14 further discloses, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a first electrical signal, a second electrical signal, a third electrical signal, and a fourth electrical signal respectively from the first photodiode, the second photodiode, the third photodiode, and the fourth photodiode (“by exclusively turning on the selection transistor 1404a or 1404b, a signal of the photoelectric conversion element 1401a or 1401b may be read out to the column circuit. Then, imaging and focus detection may be performed by adding the signals.” ¶ [0046]).
However, Kobayashi et al. does not explicitly disclose, the second electrical signal and the third electrical signal are a left-right data pair having high auto focusing (AF) sensitivity, and the first electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal are a left-right data pair having a high AF contrast.
In the similar field of endeavor, CHO discloses provide a method capable of improving a performance of an image sensor with a phase difference detection pixel. Specifically, the various embodiments may provide an image sensor capable of improving a sensitivity of a phase difference detection pixel, and preventing an occurrence of optical crosstalk in the phase difference detection pixel. For this operation, the image sensor may include a sub-lens installed between a photoelectric conversion element and a microlens and having a vertex misaligned from a central axis of the photoelectric conversion element (CHO, ¶ [0023]).
Furthermore, MPEP 2112.01(I) states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).”
MPEP 2143(I)(A) Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods To Yield Predictable Results. Kobayashi et al. discloses the method of reading each photodiode separately and forming left right data pair of PD2+PD3 and PD1+PD4. CHO discloses vertex over inner photodiodes. Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO would result the second electrical signal and the third electrical signal are a left-right data pair having high auto focusing (AF) sensitivity, and the first electrical signal and the fourth electrical signal are a left-right data pair having a high AF contrast.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify microlenses of Kobayashi et al. using the microlenses of CHO in order to improve a performance of an image sensor with a phase difference detection pixel. Specifically, the various embodiments may provide an image sensor capable of improving a sensitivity of a phase difference detection pixel, and preventing an occurrence of optical crosstalk in the phase difference detection pixel (CHO, ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Claim 16, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 13. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein a height of the highest point of the first micro-lens and a height of the highest point of the second micro-lens are the same (Fig. 3A shows heights of the highest points of the plurality of micro-lenses 202a and 202b from the upper surface of the color filter are equal to each other).
Claims 8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi; Masahiro (US 20130087875 A1) “Kobayashi et al.” in view of CHO; Minsu (US 20180254297 A1) “CHO” further in view of Li, Jin (US 20110234883 A1) “Li et al.”
With Regard to Claim 8, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO limitations of claim 7. However, Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein a height of one end portion of the mth micro-lens differs from a height of another end portion of the mth micro-lens, and the heights are from the upper surface of the color filter.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Li et al. Figs. 2-4 discloses, wherein a height of one end portion of the mth micro-lens differs from a height of another end portion of the mth micro-lens (“top surface of lens 130 is upwardly convex shaped, thus having an apex in the center of the lens 130” ¶ [0023]; microlenses 140G, 140R are provided over the pixels 120G, 120R and layer 122” ¶ [0022]; Fig. 2 shows a height of one end portion of the mth micro-lens 140R/140G differs from a height of another end portion of the mth micro-lens 140R/140G), and the heights are from the upper surface of the color filter (“Color filters 125G, 125R, the first lens 130, and microlenses 140G, 140R are provided over the pixels 120G, 120R and layer 122” ¶ [0022]).
With Regard to Claim 17, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 13. Kobayashi et al. further discloses, wherein a height of a lowest point of the first micro-lens in a region over the first photodiode and a height of a lowest point of the second micro-lens in a region over the fourth photodiode are the same (202a and 202b are symmetrical and lowest points are equal).
In the similar field of endeavor of microlenses Li et al. Figs. 2-4 discloses, wherein a height of a lowest point of the first micro-lens in a region over the first photodiode and a height of a lowest point of the second micro-lens in a region over the fourth photodiode are the same (“top surface of lens 130 is upwardly convex shaped, thus having an apex in the center of the lens 130” ¶ [0023]; “Color filters 125G, 125R, the first lens 130, and microlenses 140G, 140R are provided over the pixels 120G, 120R and layer 122” ¶ [0022]; Fig. 2 shows 140R and 140G has mirror symmetry and the lowest point in the far left and far right are equal which would fall on PD1 and PD4 of Kobayashi et al.).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the microlenses of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the microlenses of Li et al. in order to focus light on the photosensitive devices 190G, 190R. Lens 130 is formed and shaped with generally known optical characteristics to pass light at a preferred direction towards associated photosensitive devices 190G, 190R (Li et al., ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Claim 18, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 17. Kobayashi et al. Figs. 2-3 further discloses, wherein a height of a lowest point of the first micro-lens in a region over the second photodiode and a height of a lowest point of the second micro-lens in a region over the third photodiode are the same (202a and 202b are symmetrical and highest points are equal).
In the similar field of endeavor of microlenses Li et al. Figs. 2-4 discloses, wherein a height of a lowest point of the first micro-lens in a region over the second photodiode and a height of a lowest point of the second micro-lens in a region over the third photodiode are the same (“top surface of lens 130 is upwardly convex shaped, thus having an apex in the center of the lens 130” ¶ [0023]; “Color filters 125G, 125R, the first lens 130, and microlenses 140G, 140R are provided over the pixels 120G, 120R and layer 122” ¶ [0022]; Fig. 2 shows 140R and 140G has mirror symmetry and the highest point in the in the middle for the lenses 140r and 140G are equal which would fall on PD2 and PD3 of Kobayashi et al.).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the microlenses of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the microlenses of Li et al. in order to focus light on the photosensitive devices 190G, 190R. Lens 130 is formed and shaped with generally known optical characteristics to pass light at a preferred direction towards associated photosensitive devices 190G, 190R (Li et al., ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Claim 19, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 18. Kobayashi et al. does not disclose, wherein the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the first photodiode is lower than the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the second photodiode.
In the similar field of endeavor of microlenses Li et al. Figs. 2-4 discloses, wherein the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the first photodiode is lower than the height of the lowest point of the first micro-lens in the region over the second photodiode (Fig. 2 shows lowest point of 140R in the far left which would fall on PD1 of Kobayashi et al. is lower than lowest point of 140R at the meeting point of 140R and 140G which would fall on PD2 of Kobayashi et al.)
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the microlenses of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the microlenses of Li et al. in order to focus light on the photosensitive devices 190G, 190R. Lens 130 is formed and shaped with generally known optical characteristics to pass light at a preferred direction towards associated photosensitive devices 190G, 190R (Li et al., ¶ [0023]).
With Regard to Claim 20, Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO discloses limitations of claim 13. However, Kobayashi does not disclose, wherein the first micro-lens and the second micro-lens are symmetric with each other with respect to a contact point between the first subpixel and the second subpixel (Fig. 3A shows 202a and 202b are symmetric with each other).
In the similar field of endeavor of microlenses Li et al. Figs. 2-4 discloses, wherein the first micro-lens and the second micro-lens are symmetric with each other with respect to a contact point between the first subpixel and the second subpixel (Fig. 2 shows 140R and 140G are symmetric with each other.)
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the microlenses of Kobayashi et al. as modified by CHO using the microlenses of Li et al. in order to focus light on the photosensitive devices 190G, 190R. Lens 130 is formed and shaped with generally known optical characteristics to pass light at a preferred direction towards associated photosensitive devices 190G, 190R (Li et al., ¶ [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art Kurihara; Masaaki (US 20070080375 A1) “Kurihara et al.” filing date 2006-09-26 made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893