Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/390752, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The instant application was filed 07/19/2023 and claims priority under 119(e) to provisional application 63/390,752 filed 07/20/22. Claims 1, 2, 4, 10-17 and newly added claim 20 are not given the benefit of the priority date of the provisional application because the claimed subject matter is not provided in the provisional and does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Specifically, the provisional states that the heat shock step may take place in any suitable apparatus in which temperature and humidity may be controlled (page 10) and that the heat shock process comprises subjecting the steeped seeds to a temperature greater than the temperature during the steeping process and lower than about 43C for a period of time ranging from about 0.5 hours to about 12 hours. However, instant claim 1 requires the heat shock step be performed using conductive heating, using conductive heating with a temperature in a range of about 10-30C for a period of about 1-24 hours. The provisional apparatus provides no support for the use of conductive heating. Each of the noted claims include subject matter that is not supported by the provisional application.
Accordingly, claims 1, 2, 4, 10-17 and newly added claim 20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application and are considered to have an effective filing date of 07/19/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 depends from cancelled claim 3, thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abernethy, “Thermotolerance Is Developmentally Dependent in Germinating Wheat Seed”, Plant Physiology, 1989 in view of US 2016/0205951 (Christiansen).
Regarding claim 1, Abernethy discloses imbibing (steeping) wheat seed followed by a heat shock. Specifically, the seeds were imbibed at 25C for various length of time up to 16 hours (page 570). Three heat shock temperature regimes were employed after the imbibition time, (a) 38C for 2hrs, (b) 51C for 2 hrs and (c) 38-51C for 2 hrs where the third treatment includes 2hrs at 38C, and 2 hrs at 51C with a 1hr at 25C therebetween (page 570). Abernethy also describes imbibing the seeds for 0-21 hrs followed by heat shocking for 2 hrs at 48, 50, 52, 54, 56 or 58C (second column, page 570). Abernethy also discloses germination after heat shock by placing the seeds between two layers of germination toweling for 120 or 123 hour growth period at 25C.
Abernethy discloses the steps of loading the grains into a steeping apparatus (the step of imbibing must inherently use an apparatus), steeping (imbibing) the grains within the time and temperature claimed, and removing the grains from the apparatus (see “Germination Temperature Tolerance” which described moving the seeds to a chamber for the heat shock), and the step of heat shocking the grains at a temperature of about 42C-about 50C. The disclosure of 51C is considered to meet the “about 50C” and Abernethy also discloses 48 and 50C as noted above. Finally, Abernethy discloses germination at a temperature lower than the heat shock temperature for a period of time to germinate the seeds (growth period).
Abernethy does not specifically teach kilning the grains in order to lower the moisture content after germination.
Christiansen teaches processing grains by steeping and germinating the grains and finally kilning with controlled air circulation at a temperature ranging from at least about 49C to about 93C for less than 20 hours to a moisture content of about 7-16% (abstract). After kilning, the malt (grain) is ready to be sent to a mill for further processing [0006] to produce flour. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to kiln the germinated grain of Abernethy in order to reduce the moisture content thereof as taught by Christiansen and make the grain ready for further processing such as milling. Christiansen also states that knowledge of kiln operation allows the controller to optimize surface moisture removal, moisture content and grain temperature to meet product specification [0029]. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to be well appraised of kiln operation for grain processing as well as use of milling to form grains into flour for use.
Regarding the preamble, the limitation “for increasing the concentration of one or more bioactives”, this limitation is taken as an intended outcome of the method steps. The combination of Abernethy and Christiansen obviate the claimed steps, thus an increase in bioactives is reasonably expected.
Regarding claim 10, as noted above, germination proceeds at 25C.
Regarding claim 14, Christiansen discloses that the grains may be further milled to produce flour [0007]. Depending upon the intended use of the grain, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to further mill the processed grain of Abernethy as disclosed by Christiansen.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, as the claimed method steps are obviated and the time and temperatures are disclosed regarding steeping, and heat shock as discussed above, followed by germination at a temperature within the claimed range, one of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that the same outcome of increasing the claimed biomaterials absent a showing otherwise. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 20, in (c) Abernethy discloses a total heat conductive time period of 4 hours (2 hours at 38 and 2 hours at 51), thus it would have been obvious to perform the heating of the grains for a period of 4 hours. Moreover, it would have been obvious to optimize the length of time of the heat treatment to provide thermotolerance and protein synthesis (see Discussion in Abernethy) through routine experimentation.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abernethy, “Thermotolerance Is Developmentally Dependent in Germinating Wheat Seed”, Plant Physiology, 1989 in view of US 2016/0205951 (Christiansen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pompelli, “Imbibition and Germination of Seeds with Economic and Ecological Interest: Physical and Biochemical Factors Involved”, Sustainability, 03/17/2023.
Abernethy discloses imbibing the seeds as discussed above, which is understood to be with water, but does not specifically disclose the water itself. Pompelli discloses seed imbibition using deionized water (2.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use deionized water as described by Pompelli in the imbibing process of Abernethy with a reasonable expectation of successfully imbibing the seeds prior to heat shock. The pH of deionized water is considered to be “about 7.0” as is widely known.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abernethy, “Thermotolerance Is Developmentally Dependent in Germinating Wheat Seed”, Plant Physiology, 1989 in view of US 2016/0205951 (Christiansen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2007/0141216 (Kihara).
Abernethy discloses a germination as discussed above but does not disclose a period of time for germination of 18-96 hours. Kihara discloses processing wheat, barley, oats and rye where germination is performed and notes that the amino acid contents vary depending upon the length of time of germination. Kihara states that therefore, it is possible that any targeted free amino acid content in malts can be increased due to the termination of the germination at the appropriate days of germinated seeds [0079]. Kihara gives examples where leucine and glutamine have maximum contents at 2 days and GABA is increased at 1-3 days. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to vary the germination time in Abernethy to obtain a product having an increased amount of any desired amino acid as explained by Kihara.
Regarding claim 2, Abernethy does not disclose oats or barley in addition to wheat. Kihara discloses processing wheat, barley, oats and rye by soaking, heating and germinating in a manner similar to Abernethy. One of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use other grains such as oats and barley in the process of Abernethy as Kihara discloses beneficial outcomes (increasing GABA and beta-glucan) by a similar treatment. Moreover, Kihara recognizes that a heat treatment at 55C produced the highest GABA, leucine and glutamine contents [0098].
Claims 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abernethy, “Thermotolerance Is Developmentally Dependent in Germinating Wheat Seed”, Plant Physiology, 1989 in view of US 2016/0205951 (Christiansen) and further in view of Krapf, “Sprouting of oats: A new approach to quantify compositional changes”, Cereals and Grains Association, 2018 (cited on IDS filed 07/19/2023).
Abernethy and Christiansen are relied upon above but do not specifically limit initiating kilning when a size of a radicle (root) is no more than 90% of a size of the seed. Krapf discloses a comparison of sprouted oats and analyzes lengths of radicles as related to grain properties. As shown in Figure 1 and discussed on page 998, Degrees 0-4 fall within the claimed range and Degree 5 falls outside the claimed range (coleoptile is longer than a full grain). Figure 6 shows a relationship between the degree of sprouting and the amounts of beta-glucan, vitamin C, alpha-amylase and reducing sugars. Thus, depending upon the desired amounts of each of these materials, one of ordinary skill can determine the degree of sprouting and when to begin kilning. In other words, since kilning arrests germination, and one of ordinary skill is informed as to the fact that the degree of sprouting is associated with the content of certain bio-actives, the skilled artisan can readily decide at what point to cease germination (i.e. initiate kilning). One of ordinary skill desiring to balance the beta-glucan and other bio-actives, would look to Krapf and reasonably determine that kilning should begin at Degree 3 or 4.
Regarding claim 13, Christiansen teaches kilning with controlled air circulation at a temperature ranging from at least about 49C to about 93C for less than 20 hours to a moisture content of about 7-16%, which overlaps the claimed range renders the claimed range of between about 2-12% prima facie obvious.
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abernethy, “Thermotolerance Is Developmentally Dependent in Germinating Wheat Seed”, Plant Physiology, 1989 in view of US 2016/0205951 (Christiansen) and US 2007/0141216 (Kihara) and further in view of Krapf, “Sprouting of oats: A new approach to quantify compositional changes”, Cereals and Grains Association, 2018 (cited on IDS filed 07/19/2023).
As noted above, the time period for germination is obviated by Abernethy, Christiansen and Kihara. However, these references do not limit initiating kilning when a size of a radicle (root) is no more than 90% of a size of the seed. Krapf discloses a comparison of sprouted oats and analyzes lengths of radicles as related to grain properties. As shown in Figure 1 and discussed on page 998, Degrees 0-4 fall within the claimed range and Degree 5 falls outside the claimed range (coleoptile is longer than a full grain). Figure 6 shows a relationship between the degree of sprouting and the amounts of beta-glucan, vitamin C, alpha-amylase and reducing sugars. Thus, depending upon the desired amounts of each of these materials, one of ordinary skill can determine the degree of sprouting and when to begin kilning. In other words, since kilning arrests germination, and one of ordinary skill is informed as to the fact that the degree of sprouting is associated with the content of certain bio-actives, the skilled artisan can readily decide at what point to cease germination (i.e. initiate kilning). One of ordinary skill desiring to balance the beta-glucan and other bio-actives, would look to Krapf and reasonably determine that kilning should begin at Degree 3 or 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have overcome the rejections over Techo and Al-Ansi. Thus, the rejections are withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are set forth above.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1793
/Jennifer McNeil/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793