DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,708,929. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the application as set forth below:
18/224,145
USPN 11,708,929
Remarks
1. A gripper assembly for a pipeline plug comprising:
an actuator plate, the actuator plate including a wedge surface;
a bowl, the bowl including a bowl expansion face, the bowl expansion face having bowl stairsteps; and
a gripper unit,
the gripper unit including a gripper body,
the gripper body positioned between the actuator plate and the bowl,
the gripper body including an expansion face,
the expansion face having gripper stairsteps,
the gripper stairsteps corresponding to the bowl stairsteps.
1. A gripper assembly for a pipeline plug comprising:
an actuator plate, the actuator plate including a wedge surface;
a bowl, the bowl including a bowl expansion face, the bowl expansion face having bowl stairsteps;
a gripper unit,
the gripper unit including a gripper body,
the gripper body positioned between the actuator plate and the bowl,
the gripper body including an expansion face,
the expansion face having gripper stairsteps,
the gripper stairsteps corresponding to the bowl stairsteps; and
an actuator expansion spring positioned between the actuator plate and the gripper body.
The application claim is anticipated by the patent claim
Claims 3-5, 7-8 and 11-14 of the application are the same as claims 2-4, 5-6 and 7-12 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 7314065 B1 to Adelman (Adelman).
With regard to claim 1, Adelman discloses a gripper assembly for a pipeline plug (Adelman, title, abstract) comprising:
an actuator plate (12, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the actuator plate including a wedge surface (15 and including grooves 44, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5);
a bowl (14, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the bowl including a bowl expansion face (27, fig. 1, column 2, lines 7-11), the bowl expansion face having bowl stairsteps (26/56, fig. 6); and
a gripper unit (46/46, fig. 6, column 2, lines 22-23), the gripper unit including a gripper body (the body of the rings described at column 2, lines 22-23), the gripper body positioned between the actuator plate and the bowl (as shown in figs. 4 and 6), the gripper body including an expansion face (48, fig. 6, column 2, lines 23-26), the expansion face having gripper stairsteps (shown in fig. 6), the gripper stairsteps corresponding to the bowl stairsteps (shown in fig. 6, the expansion face 48 interfaces with bowl stairstep face 56. This interface is considered to “correspond” the gripper stairsteps and the bowl stairsteps).
With regard to claim 3, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly of claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the gripper unit further comprises a sliding wedge (the compression rings 46 that are received in annular groves 44 noted in fig. 4 and shown without the reference number in fig. 6 are capable of rotating in circumferential direction, making the angled face 48 a sliding wedge), the sliding wedge abutting a radially outer surface of the gripper body (the sliding wedge of the compression ring 46 abuts an outer surface of the bowl 14 as shown in fig. 6).
With regard to claim 4, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly of claim 3 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sliding wedge abuts the wedge surface of the actuator plate (as described above, the sliding wedge is slidable in the groove 44 which is part of the wedge surface of the actuator plate 12).
With regard to claim 5, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly of claim 3 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sliding wedge is slidingly coupled to the actuator by a fastener (the shape and dimensions of the groove 44 in combination with the resiliency of the compression ring 46 is a type of fastening arrangement that is functionally equivalent to a friction fit fastener).
With regard to claim 7, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly for a pipeline plug (Adelman, title, abstract) comprising:
an actuator plate (12, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the actuator plate including a wedge surface (15 and including grooves 44, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5);
a bowl (14, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the bowl including a bowl expansion face (27, fig. 1, column 2, lines 7-11); and
a gripper unit (46/46, fig. 6, column 2, lines 22-23), the gripper unit including a gripper body (the body of the rings described at column 2, lines 22-23) and a sliding wedge (the compression rings 46 that are received in annular groves 44 noted in fig. 4 and shown without the reference number in fig. 6 are capable of rotating in circumferential direction, making the angled face 48 of each ring 46 a sliding wedge), the sliding wedge abutting a radially outer surface of the gripper body the gripper unit (the sliding wedge of the compression ring 46 abuts an outer surface of the bowl 14 as shown in fig. 6) positioned between the actuator plate and the bowl (as shown in figs. 4 and 6), the gripper body including an expansion face (48, fig. 6, column 2, lines 23-26) abutting the bowl expansion face (shown in fig. 6), the radially outer surface of the gripper body formed at an angle (as shown in fig. 6, the face is angled) or curved.
With regard to claim 8, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly of claim 7 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the bowl expansion face further comprises bowl stairsteps (26/56, fig. 6), wherein the expansion face of the gripper unit further comprises gripper stairsteps corresponding to the bowl stairsteps (as shown in fig. 6).
With regard to claim 11, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly of claim 7 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sliding wedge abuts the wedge surface of the actuator plate (as described above, the sliding wedge is slidable in the groove 44 which is part of the wedge surface of the actuator plate 12).
With regard to claim 12, Adelman discloses the gripper assembly of claim 7 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the sliding wedge is slidingly coupled to the actuator by a fastener (the shape and dimensions of the groove 44 in combination with the resiliency of the compression ring 46 is a type of fastening arrangement that is functionally equivalent to a friction fit fastener).
With regard to claim 13, Adelman discloses a method comprising:
positioning a pipeline plug (10, fig. 1) in a pipeline (18, fig. 4), the pipeline plug including a gripper assembly, the gripper assembly including:
an actuator plate (12, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the actuator plate including a wedge surface (15 and including grooves 44, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5);
a bowl (14, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the bowl including a bowl expansion face (27, fig. 1, column 2, lines 7-11), the bowl expansion face having bowl stairsteps (26/56, fig. 6); and
a gripper unit (46/46, fig. 6, column 2, lines 22-23), the gripper unit including a gripper body (the body of the rings described at column 2, lines 22-23), the gripper body positioned between the actuator plate and the bowl (shown in fig. 4), the gripper body including an expansion face (48, fig. 6, column 2, lines 23-26), the expansion face having gripper stairsteps (shown in fig. 6), the gripper stairsteps corresponding to the bowl stairsteps (as shown in fig. 6);
longitudinally moving the actuator plate toward the bowl (column 2, lines 7-11);
moving the gripper unit radially outward (column 2, lines 7-11); and
engaging the gripper stairsteps to the bowl stairsteps (shown in fig. 6).
With regard to claim 14, Adelman discloses a method comprising:
positioning a pipeline plug (10, fig. 1) in a pipeline (18, fig. 4), the pipeline plug including a gripper assembly, the gripper assembly including:
an actuator plate (12, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the actuator plate including a wedge surface (15 and including grooves 44, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5);
a bowl (14, fig. 1, column 2, lines 3-5), the bowl including a bowl expansion face (27, fig. 1, column 2, lines 7-11), the bowl expansion face having bowl stairsteps formed therein (26/56, fig. 6); and
a gripper unit (46/46, fig. 6, column 2, lines 22-23), the gripper unit including a gripper body (the body of the rings described at column 2, lines 22-23) and a sliding wedge (the compression rings 46 that are received in annular groves 44 noted in fig. 4 and shown without the reference number in fig. 6 are capable of rotating in circumferential direction, making the angled face 48 of each ring 46 a sliding wedge), the sliding wedge abutting a radially outer surface of the gripper body the gripper unit positioned between the actuator plate and the bowl (the sliding wedge of the compression ring 46 abuts an outer surface of the bowl 14 as shown in fig. 6), the gripper body including an expansion face (48, fig. 6, column 2, lines 23-26) abutting the bowl expansion face (shown in fig. 6), the radially outer surface of the gripper body formed at an angle (as shown in fig. 6, the face is angled) or curved.;
longitudinally moving the actuator plate toward the bowl (column 2, lines 7-11);
moving the gripper unit radially outward (column 2, lines 7-11);
engaging the sliding wedge to the pipeline (column 2, lines 7-11);
moving the pipeline plug relative to the pipeline (column 2, lines 5-6); and
sliding the sliding wedge relative to the gripper body (the shape and dimensions of the groove 44 in combination with the resiliency of the compression ring 46 is a type of fastening arrangement that is functionally equivalent to a friction fit fastener).
Conclusion
/DAVID R DEAL/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753