Final Rejection
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the limitations “polygon body” as recited in claim 16 line 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently, member element polygon body is cited as member (2) in the drawings however member 2 generally points to an area in Figure 2 without specifically contacting a specific structure member in the drawings.
Therefore, the limitations “plurality of discrete webs” as recited in claim 16 line 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 35-39 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Originally presented claims 16-33 disclosed an apparatus of “a guide roller comprising a polygon body.” Newly added claims 35-39 read on a method for producing a guide roller.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 35-39 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16,17,19,20,24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Appels (DE 4340724 A1).
Referring to claim 16. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1), wherein the polygon body comprises a base body (13) made of at least a first material (outer fiber-reinforced surface layer; 7), wherein, over a circumference of the base body (13), the polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1) further comprises a plurality of discrete webs (6) applied to the base body (circumference of 13), wherein a plurality of discrete webs (6) comprises a second material (12; a synthetic resin matrix) which differs from the first material (outer fiber-reinforced surface layer; 7),
wherein the plurality of discrete webs (6) are unconnected to one another (raised web portion of 6 is separated from each other by gaps 2), and wherein each of the plurality of discrete webs (6) extends (the center portion of 6) from one end of the base body (left end of the base body 13 as seen in Figure 1) to an opposite end of the base body (right end of the base body 13 as seen in Figure 1).
Referring to claim 17. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1),
wherein the base body (13) of the polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1) has an essentially cylindrical jacket surface arranged around a longitudinal axis of the base body (the base body 13 consisting extends over the surface of the roller).
Referring to claim 19. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1),
wherein the base body (13) at least partially comprises a coating (11) comprising a third material (radially outside fibers).
Referring to claim 20. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1),
wherein the second material (12) of the at least one web is selected from the group consisting of a metal, a metal alloy, and a ceramic (This layer can, for example, be abrasion-resistant and consist of a ceramic material or hard metal, or it can, for example, be metallic and serve as the basis for the electroless or electrolytic deposition of a metal finish).
Referring to claim 24. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1),
wherein the at least one web (6) is arranged parallel to the longitudinal axis of the base body (see Figure 2).
Referring to claim 34. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1),
wherein each of the plurality of webs (6) has the same cross-section over its entire length (cross section of web 6 when viewed from end of the roller and a cut line extending from member end 4 to end 4; See Figure 1; see Figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appels (DE 4340724 A1) in view of Karger (US 6,896,647).
Referring to claim 18. Appels does not specifically disclose the first material selected from the group consisting of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, steel, and a steel alloy.
Karger discloses an elastic roller comprising a polygon body (body of 10; Figure 1),
wherein the first material (material of 10) is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, steel, and a steel alloy (While the hard roller has a very smooth surface that includes, e.g., steel or chilled iron; Col. 1, line 26).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Appels to include the first material as being comprised of a steel material as taught by Karger because the steel base material would provide a more durable roller base material that would exhibit reduced wearing with usage.
It would have been further obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first material as being selected from the group consisting of aluminum, an aluminum alloy, steel, and a steel alloy, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claims 20,21 and 22. Appels discloses a guide roller (1) comprising a polygon body (body of 1; Figure 1),
wherein the second material (12) of the at least one web is selected from the group consisting of a metal, a metal alloy, and a ceramic (This layer can, for example, be abrasion-resistant and consist of a ceramic material or hard metal, or it can, for example, be metallic and serve as the basis for the electroless or electrolytic deposition of a metal finish).
It would have been further obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second material as being selected from the group consisting of a metal, a metal alloy, and a ceramic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 23,30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appels (DE 4340724 A1) in view of Fehr (US 2,108,013).
Referring to claims 23,30 and 32. Appels does not specifically disclose wherein an adhesive layer is attached to the base body in a region of the at least one web.
Fehr discloses a roller where in an adhesive layer is attached to the base body in a region of the at least one web; Page 1 Col. 2 line 52).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Appels to include an adhesive layer attached to the base body in a region of the at least one web as taught by Fehr because the adhesive layer would aid in adhering the at least one web to the base body.
Claims 25-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appels (DE 4340724 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 2006/0191139).
Referring to claims 28,29 and 31. Appels does not specifically disclose wherein the polygon body comprising the base body and the at least one web is at least partially coated with a plating.
Hayashi discloses a roller manufacturing wherein the polygon body comprising the base body and the at least one web is at least partially coated with a plating (plating layer 32; Figure 3) (roller 20 is machined; Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Appels to include the polygon body comprising the base body and the at least one web is at least partially coated with a plating as taught by Fehr because the at least one web can be configured to comprises a harder contact surface resulting in an lower wear resistance.
Referring to claims 26 and 27. Hayashi discloses a roller manufacturing wherein the guide roller (20) is embodied as journal roller comprising roller journals (22; Figure 2) attached to the polygon body.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Appels (DE 4340724 A1) in view of Sinykin (US 8,858,750).
Referring to claim 33. Appels does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one web is arranged helically on the jacket surface of the base body.
Sinykin discloses a method of manufacturing roller wherein the at least one web is arranged helically on the jacket surface of the base body (see Figure 9).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Appels to include wherein the at least one web is arranged helically on the jacket surface of the base body as taught by Sinykin because the at least one web can more easily manufactured.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See modified rejections including all newly amended limitations cited above.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the drawings objected to under 37CFR 1.83(a) are persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651