DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al (US 2022/0077251 A1; hereinafter “Choung”), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0003888 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
In regard to claim 1, Choung teaches a display device (a device as shown in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 5), comprising:
a first pixel electrode (a metal layer 104 in a first sub-pixel 108a as shown in Fig. 1B) and a second pixel electrode (a metal layer 104 in second sub-pixel 108b as shown in Fig. 1B) which are disposed on a substrate (a substrate 102) to be spaced apart from each other (the metal layers 104 are configured to operate as anodes of respective sub-pixels, and are shown spaced apart on the substrate 102 in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B, Fig. 1C and paragraphs 27 and 29);
an inorganic insulating layer (a PDL structure 126 formed of inorganic material) disposed on the substrate to partially cover the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode (the PDL structure 126 is shown covering the metal layers 104 in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 28);
a bank structure disposed on the inorganic insulating layer (an inorganic overhang structures 110 and layers deposited thereon, are disposed on an upper surface 103 of each of the PDL structures 126) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 30), wherein a first opening overlapping the first pixel electrode and a second opening overlapping the second pixel electrode are defined through the bank structure (Each of pixel opening 124A is surrounded by inorganic overhang structures 110 that define each of the sub-pixels 106) (Fig. 1C and paragraph 39);
a first light emitting layer (an OLED material 112 over the first sub-pixel 108a) disposed on the first pixel electrode and a second light emitting layer (an OLED material 112 over the second sub-pixel 108b) disposed on the second pixel electrode (Fig. 1B and paragraph 29); and
a first common electrode (a cathode 114 over the first sub-pixel 108a) disposed on the first light emitting layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 32), and a second common electrode (a cathode 114 over the second sub-pixel 108b) disposed on the second light emitting layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 32),
wherein the bank structure includes a first bank layer (a lower portion 110A) and a second bank layer (an upper portion 110B further including all layers deposited thereon) disposed on the first bank layer (Fig. 1B and paragraph 30),
the second bank layer includes an organic insulating material different from a material of the first bank layer and has different thicknesses depending on positions thereof (a capping layer 121 located on the upper portion 110B is formed of organic material and the upper portion 110B has a different thickness at its protruding edge the center) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 35),
the second bank layer includes tips protruding more than side surfaces of the first bank layer defining the first opening and the second opening (the protrusion of the upper portion is shown in Fig. 1B), and
However, Choung doesn’t explicitly teach the first bank layer includes an aluminum (Al)-nickel (Ni)-lanthanum (La)-copper (Cu) alloy (AlNiLaCu).
Kim teaches a display device (a display device 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 77), wherein a first bank layer (a reflective coating layer 132) includes an aluminum (Al)-nickel (Ni)-lanthanum (La)-copper (Cu) alloy (AlNiLaCu) (the reflective coating layer 132 may include a material such as silver, copper, aluminum, nickel, lanthanum or an alloy thereof) (Fig. 6 and paragraph 140).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time to combine the teachings of Choung with the teachings of Kim to have the first bank layer includes an aluminum (Al)-nickel (Ni)-lanthanum (La)-copper (Cu) alloy (AlNiLaCu), since this alloy allows for a reflective surface to minimize light leakage as taught by Kim (paragraph 160).
In regard to claim 2, Choung teaches wherein the first common electrode and the second common electrode are in direct contact with the side surfaces of the first bank layer, respectively (the cathode 114 is shown contacting the side surfaces of the lower portion 110A in Fig. 1B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33).
In regard to claim 4, Choung teaches wherein the second bank layer includes a first bank part (the upper portion 110B labeled as FP) positioned around the first opening and a second bank (the upper portion 110B labeled as SP) part positioned around the second opening, and the first bank part has a thickness greater than a thickness of the second bank part (as shown in the annotated Fig. 1B below the upper portion 110B labeled as FP is thicker than the upper portion 110B labeled as SP due to the upper portions trapezoidal shape and the portion labeled as FP is mor inward than the portion labeled SP) (annotated Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 5, Choung teaches wherein a tip of the second bank layer (the tip of the upper portion 110B that is labeled as FP) corresponding to the first opening has a thickness greater than a thickness of a tip of the second bank layer ((the tip of the upper portion 110B that is labeled as SP) corresponding to the second opening (as shown in the annotated Fig. 1B above the upper portion 110B labeled as FP is thicker than the upper portion 110B labeled as SP due to the upper portions trapezoidal shape and the portion labeled as FP is more inward than the portion labeled SP) (annotated Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 6, Choung teaches a third pixel electrode disposed to be spaced apart from the second pixel electrode on the substrate (as shown in Fig. 1C a third sub-pixel would be separated from the second pixel in a vertical direction) (Fig. 1C and paragraph 29);
a third light emitting layer disposed on the third pixel electrode (the OLED material 112 in a third sub-pixel) (Fig. 1C and paragraph 29); and
a third common electrode disposed on the third light emitting layer (a cathode 114 would be the third sub-pixel due to having a similar layout as the sub-pixels described above) (paragraph 29),
wherein a third opening overlapping the third pixel electrode is further defined in the bank structure (the inorganic overhang structures 110 further define each sub-pixel 106 of the sub-pixel circuit 100 and contains an opening 124a) (Fig. 1C and paragraphs 30 and 39), and
the second bank layer further includes a third bank part (the upper portion 110B labeled as TP) positioned around the third opening and having a thickness less than a thickness of the second bank part (the upper portion 110B labeled as TP contains less area of the portion of the tip of the upper portion 110B, and therefore would have a smaller thickness than the upper portion 110B labeled as SP due to the trapezoidal shape as shown in annotated Fig. 1B below).
In regard to claim 7, Choung teaches wherein a thickness difference between the first bank part and the second bank part is substantially the same as a thickness difference between the second bank part and the third bank part (as the bank parts are chosen based on the decreasing thickness of the trapezoidal shape of the upper portion and layers deposited thereon, the examiner takes official notice that the upper portion contains a thickness difference between the first bank part and the second bank part that is substantially the same as a thickness difference between the second bank part and the third bank part).
Furthermore, the instant application states The thickness differences between the first to fourth bank parts BP1, BP2, BP3, and BP4 may not be substantially the same as each other in paragraph 170. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In regard to claim 8, Choung teaches wherein the second bank layer further includes fourth bank parts (the upper portion 110B labeled as FTH) disposed between the first bank part, the second bank part, and the third bank part and having a thickness less than the thickness of the third bank part (the upper portion 110B labeled as FTH would be between the upper portion 110B labeled as FP, SP and TP and has the smallest thickness due to not containing any subsequent layers as shown in annotated Fig. 1B below).
In regard to claim 9, Choung teaches a first organic pattern disposed on the first bank part and including a same material as the first light emitting layer (the OLED material 112 is disposed on the sidewall 113 of the upper portion 110B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33);
a first electrode pattern disposed on the first organic pattern and including a same material as the first common electrode (the cathode 114 is disposed over the OLED material 112 of the PDL structures 126 in each sub-pixel 106) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33);
a second organic pattern disposed on the second bank part and including a same material as the second light emitting layer (the OLED material 112 is disposed on the sidewall 113 of the upper portion 110B) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33); and
a second electrode pattern disposed on the second organic pattern and including a same material as the second common electrode (the cathode 114 is disposed over the OLED material 112 of the PDL structures 126 in each sub-pixel 106) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 33).
In regard to claim 10, Choung teaches a first inorganic layer (the encapsulation layer 116 over the first sub-pixel 108a) disposed on the side surfaces of the first bank layer defining the first opening and disposed on the first common electrode and the first electrode pattern (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the side surface of the lower portion 110A and also disposed on the metal layer 104 and cathode 114)(Fig. 1B and paragraph 34); and
a second inorganic layer (the encapsulation layer 116 over the second sub-pixel 108b) disposed on the side surfaces of the first bank layer defining the second opening and disposed on the second common electrode and the second electrode pattern (the encapsulation layer 116 is shown on the side surface of the lower portion 110A and also disposed on the metal layer 104 and cathode 114)(Fig. 1B and paragraph 34),
wherein the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer are disposed to be spaced apart from each other (the encapsulation layers 116 over the first sub-pixel 108a and the second sub-pixel 108b are shown spaced apart in Fig. 1B), and
portions of the second bank layer do not overlap the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer (encapsulation layer 116 does not overlap the upper portion 110B in the opening 124A as shown in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 11, Choung teaches wherein the inorganic insulating layer is not in contact with each of upper surfaces of the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode (a second capping layer 123 is disposed between the cathode 114 and the encapsulation layer 116) (Fig. 1B and paragraph 35),
a portion of the first light emitting layer is disposed between the first pixel electrode and the inorganic insulating layer (the OLED material 112 in the first sub-pixel 108a is shown between the metal layer 104 and the encapsulation layer 116 in Fig. 1B), and
a portion of the second light emitting layer is disposed between the second pixel electrode and the inorganic insulating layer the OLED material 112 in the second sub-pixel 108b is shown between the metal layer 104 and the encapsulation layer 116 in Fig. 1B).
In regard to claim 12, Choung teaches residual patterns (a portion 222 of the assistant cathode 202) disposed between the first pixel electrode and the inorganic insulating layer and between the second pixel electrode and the inorganic insulating layer (the portion 222 of the assistant cathode 202 is between the metal layer 104 and the encapsulation layer 116 in the first and second sub-pixels 108a and 108b) (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42).
In regard to claim 13, Choung teaches a thin film encapsulation layer (an encapsulation layer 116 including a first capping layer 121 and a second capping layer 123 function as the encapsulation layer) disposed on the bank structure (Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B and paragraph 35), wherein the thin film encapsulation layer includes a first encapsulation layer (the first capping layer 121), a second encapsulation layer (the second capping layer 122) disposed on the first encapsulation layer, and a third encapsulation layer disposed on the second encapsulation layer (the first capping layer 121, second capping layer 123 and the encapsulation layer 116 are shown to be deposited sequentially in Fig. 1A).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of Kim as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20180095195 A1; hereinafter "Kim195”).
In regard to claim 14, Choung in view of Kim does not explicitly teach a light blocking layer disposed on the third encapsulation layer, wherein a plurality of opening holes overlapping the first and second openings is defined through the light blocking layer; a first color filter disposed on the light blocking layer and overlapping the first opening; and a second color filter disposed on the light blocking layer and overlapping the second opening.
Kim195 teaches teach a display device (a display device 100) (Fig.2 and paragraph 35), further comprising:
a light blocking layer (a black matrix 300) disposed on a third encapsulation layer (the black matrix 300 is shown over a second inorganic film 283 of an encapsulation film 280) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 45 and 70), wherein a plurality of opening holes overlapping the first and second openings is defined through the light blocking layer (a plurality of holes corresponding to the second and fourth emission areas E2 and E4 are shown in Fig. 5) (Fig. 5 and paragraphs 45-46);
a first color filter (a color filter 292) disposed on the light blocking layer and overlapping the first opening (the color filter 292 is shown over the opening corresponding to the second emission area E2) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 47); and
a second color filter (a color filter 294) disposed on the light blocking layer and overlapping the second opening (the color filter 294 is shown over the opening corresponding to the fourth emission area E4) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 47).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Choung in view of Kim with the teachings of Kim195 to have a light blocking layer disposed on the third encapsulation layer, wherein a plurality of opening holes overlapping the first and second openings is defined through the light blocking layer; a first color filter disposed on the light blocking layer and overlapping the first opening; and a second color filter disposed on the light blocking layer and overlapping the second opening since this layout prevents wanted color mixing as taught by Kim159 (paragraphs 11 and 51).
Claim Objections
Claims 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 3, Choung is considered a close prior art of record. However, Choung fails to teach the first bank layer includes metal oxide films formed at side surfaces thereof defining the first opening and the second opening, and the metal oxide films include metal crystals formed at surfaces thereof and including an aluminum (Al)-nickel (Ni)-copper (Cu) alloy. Choung is silent to the regard of an oxide layer formed of aluminum (Al)-nickel (Ni)-copper (Cu).
Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions.
Conclusion
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893