DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group -I (claim#1-14) in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niimi; Hiroaki (US Pub: 2022/0109066 A1), herein after Niimi.
Regarding claim 1, Niimi teaches a multi-silicide semiconductor structure, in FIG. 1A-1Z, wherein the multi-silicide semiconductor structure comprises:
an NFET (101,);
a PFET (103);
an NFET silicide proximately connected to the NFET, wherein the NFET silicide is a first material (Paragraph [0006], [0017], a titanium silicide wrapped around the first n-type doped epitaxial semiconductor material); and
a PFET silicide proximately connected to the PFET, wherein the PFET silicide is a second material different than the first material (Paragraph[0006], [0020], [0021], Claim 17. A ruthenium silicide wrapped around the second p-type doped epitaxial semiconductor material.).
Regarding claim 2, Niimi teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the second material is Ru- silicide (Paragraph [0020], [0021], Claim 17).
Regarding claim 3, Niimi teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the first material is Ti-silicide (Paragraph [0006], [0017], Claim 17).
Regarding claim 4, Niimi teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising: a silicide contact for the PFET (Paragraph [0017]; and low-k dielectric sidewalls (118, low-k dielectric gate spacer layer) surrounding the silicide contact.
Regarding claim 5, Niimi teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the second material has a lower Schottky barrier height than the first material (Paragraph[0017], [0020], [0021], Claim 17. First material and second material are same. So, it is inherent that their properties will be same.).
Regarding claim 6, Niimi teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the NFET and the PFET are stacked transistors (Paragraph [0013], [0014], 0018], [0023].
Regarding claim 8, Niimi teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising a metal contact proximately connected to the NFET silicide (Paragraph [0023], Claim 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 9, Niimi teaches A system, wherein the system, , in FIG. 1A-1Z, comprises: a multi-silicide semiconductor structure, wherein the multi-silicide semiconductor structure comprises:
an NFET (101,);
a PFET (103);
an NFET silicide proximately connected to the NFET, wherein the NFET silicide is a first material (Paragraph [0006], [0017], a titanium silicide wrapped around the first n-type doped epitaxial semiconductor material);
a PFET silicide proximately connected to the PFET, wherein the PFET silicide is a second material different than the first material (Paragraph[0006], [0020], [0021], Claim 17. A ruthenium silicide wrapped around the second p-type doped epitaxial semiconductor material.); and
a silicide contact for the PFET (Paragraph [0023], Claims 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 10, Niimi teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the second material is Ru-silicide (Paragraph [0020], [0021], Claim 17).
Regarding claim 11, Niimi teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the first material is Ti-silicide (Paragraph [0006], [0017], Claim 17).
Regarding claim 12, Niimi teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising: low-k dielectric sidewalls surrounding the silicide contact (118, low-k dielectric gate spacer layer, Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 13, Niimi teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the second material has a lower Schottky barrier height than the first material (Paragraph[0017], [0020], [0021], Claim 17. First material and second material are same. So, it is inherent that their properties will be same.).
Regarding claim 14, Niimi teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising a metal contact proximately connected to the NFET silicide (Paragraph [0023], Claim 9 and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niimi, in view of known arts like Niimi or Xi et al. (US Patent: 10236218 B1)
Regarding claim 7, Niimi does not explicitly teaches the multi-silicide semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the NFET and the PFET are nanosheet FETs.
However, this is known to the people skilled in the art to nanosheet or nanowire as hinted in Niimi in Paragraph [0003] and many others like Xie et al. (US Patent: 10236218 B1) in Column 5 line 1-48).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Niimi’s multi-silicide semiconductor structure with nanosheet material teaching from known art in order to improved Source and drain contact resistivity and thereby improve performance of scaled FinFETs.
Conclusion
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897