DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, 15, and 17, the term “from above” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “from above” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purpose, the term is interpreted to be at least inclusive of “from an upper surface of the housing part”.
Claims 2-14 are rejected for depending on claim 1, claim 16 is rejected for depending on claim 15, and claims 18-20 are rejected for depending on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Je Kang Yoo of KR 20060056080 A (hereinafter, Yoo).
As to claim 1, Yoo teaches to a fluid treatment module comprising:
a housing part having a space for fluid to flow in an up-down direction therein (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a cyclone reactor 200 that comprises a reactor body 220; the reactor body 220 reads as a housing part and has a space for fluid to flow in an up-down direction therein) and having an inlet through which the fluid is introduced into the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an air inlet pipe 210 through which the fluid is introduced into the reactor body 220) and an outlet through which the fluid in the housing part is discharged to an outside thereof (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an air outlet pipe 230 through which the fluid in the reactor body 220 is discharged to an outside thereof);
a light source unit that irradiates light to the fluid flowing in the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to ultraviolet lamp unit 300 that is provided with an ultraviolet lamp 310 in the center of the reactor body 220 the ultraviolet lamp unit 300 irradiates light to the fluid flowing in the reactor body 220); and
Fig. 1 of Yoo
a fluid guide part that guides the flow of the fluid in the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a fluid guide part that guides the flow of the fluid in the reactor body 220), one end of the fluid guide part being opened in a direction different from a direction in which the inlet is opened (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has two open ends, wherein one end is opened in a direction different from a direction in which the air inlet pipe 210 is opened), and the other end thereof communicating with the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has two open ends, wherein the other end thereof is communicating with the air outlet pipe 230), wherein the inlet is oriented so that the fluid passing through the inlet flows along a direction different from a direction from a center of the inlet to a center of the housing part when viewed from above (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to the air inlet pipe 210, wherein the air inlet pipe 210 is oriented so that the fluid in the air inlet pipe 210 flows perpendicular to the up-down direction within the reactor body 220 or in spiral).
As to claim 2, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, wherein the outlet is formed in an upper surface of the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the air outlet pipe 230 is formed in an upper surface of the reactor body 220), the inlet is formed in a side surface of the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the air inlet pipe 210 is formed in a side surface of the reactor body 220), and the fluid guide part is extended downward from the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part is extended downward from the air outlet pipe 230).
As to claim 3, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 2, wherein the fluid guide part has at the one end a guide opening opened downward (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has at the one end a guide opening opened downward), and the guide opening is disposed at a position higher than ½ of a length of the housing part in the up-down direction and lower than or equal to the inlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the guide opening of the fluid guide’s one end is positioned higher than the ultraviolet lamp unit 300 that is provided with an ultraviolet lamp 310 in the center of the reactor body 220; therefore the guide opening can be said to be disposed at a position higher than half of a length of the reactor body 220 if disposed above the ultraviolet lamp 310).
As to claim 4, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, further comprising:
a flow path part providing a passage through which the fluid flows and extending from the inlet so that the fluid flows into the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a flow path part providing a passage through which the fluid flows and extending from the air inlet pipe 210 so that the fluid flows into the reactor body 220), wherein when viewed from above, the flow path part is extended in a flow path direction, which is a direction different from the direction from the center of the inlet to the center of the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to the air inlet pipe 210, wherein the air inlet pipe 210 is oriented so that the fluid in the air inlet pipe 210 flows perpendicular to the up-down direction within the reactor body 220 or in spiral).
As to claim 5, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 4, wherein when viewed in the flow path direction, at least a portion of the inlet overlaps the fluid guide part (Yoo, Fig.1, teaches that at least a portion of the air inlet pipe 210 overlaps the fluid guide part when viewed in the flow path direction).
As to claim 6, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 4, wherein when viewed in the flow path direction, the inlet is disposed to be horizontally spaced apart from an imaginary guide centerline extending in the up-down direction while passing through a center of the fluid guide part (Yoo, Fig. 2, the air inlet pipe 210 is disposed to be horizontally spaced apart from an imaginary guide centerline extending in the up-down direction while passing through a center of the fluid guide part; in other words, the disposition of the air inlet pipe 210 enables a swirling fluid flow as shown in Fig. 2).
As to claim 7, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 6, wherein when viewed from above, the fluid guide part and the housing part are arranged concentrically (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part and the reactor body 220 are arranged concentrically when viewed from an upper surface of reactor body 220).
As to claim 8, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, wherein the housing part is provided to have a circular or elliptical cross section (Yoo, pg. 12, Fig. 1, teaches to the reactor body 220, wherein the reactor body 220 is provided to have a circular cross section, as the reactor body 220 has a circumferential surface), a side surface thereof is extended to have a predetermined inclination with respect to a horizontal direction (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a side surface thereof that is extend to have a predetermined inclination with respect to a horizontal direction; the reactor body 220 has a converging conical shape at height level near the lamp support means 320), and the housing part is provided so that an upper cross section thereof has a larger cross-sectional area than that of a lower cross section (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the reactor body 220 has a converging conical shape at height level near the lamp support means 320, such that an upper cross-section thereof has a larger cross-sectional area than that of a lower cross section).
As to claim 10, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, further comprising:
a photocatalyst part provided on at least one of an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part (Yoo, Fig. 2, teaches to a coated part that comprises photocatalytic material on an inner surface of the reactor body 220), wherein the photocatalyst part includes at least one of titanium oxide, zinc oxide, and tin oxide that causes a catalytic reaction by the light irradiated from the light source unit (Yoo, pg. 9, teaches to a titanium oxide photocatalyst, which causes a catalytic reaction by the light irradiated form the ultraviolet lamp unit 300).
As to claim 12, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, further comprising:
an antibacterial part provided on at least one of an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part (Yoo, Fig. 2, teaches to a coated part that comprises photocatalytic material on an inner surface of the reactor body 220), wherein the antibacterial part includes an antibacterial material for secondary sterilization of the fluid (Yoo, Fig. 2, teaches that the coated part comprises photocatalytic material on an inner surface of the reactor body 220).
As to claim 13, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, wherein the fluid guide part includes a transmissive material that transmits the light (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to the fluid guide part that is in communication with the reactor body 220 and the air discharge pipe 230, wherein the fluid being treated is air; air is a transmissive material that transmits the light; therefore, the fluid guide part that handles air includes a transmissive material that transmits the light when irradiated by UV).
As to claim 14, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, wherein the light source unit is disposed between an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the ultraviolet lamp unit 300 is disposed between an inner surface of the reactor body 220 and an outer surface of the fluid guide part).
As to claim 15, Yoo teaches to a fluid treatment module comprising:
a housing part having a space for fluid to flow in an up-down direction therein (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a cyclone reactor 200 that comprises a reactor body 220; the reactor body 220 reads as a housing part and has a space for fluid to flow in an up-down direction therein) and having an inlet through which the fluid is introduced into the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an air inlet pipe 210 through which the fluid is introduced into the reactor body 220) and an outlet through which the fluid in the housing part is discharged to an outside thereof (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an air outlet pipe 230 through which the fluid in the reactor body 220 is discharged to an outside thereof);
a light source unit that irradiates light to the fluid flowing in the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to ultraviolet lamp unit 300 that is provided with an ultraviolet lamp 310 in the center of the reactor body 220 the ultraviolet lamp unit 300 irradiates light to the fluid flowing in the reactor body 220); and a fluid guide part that guides the flow of the fluid in the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a fluid guide part that guides the flow of the fluid in the reactor body 220), one end of the fluid guide part being opened in direction different from a direction in which the inlet is opened (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has two open ends, wherein one end is opened in a direction different from a direction in which the air inlet pipe 210 is opened), and the other end thereof communicating with the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has two open ends, wherein the other end thereof is communicating with the air outlet pipe 230),
wherein the housing part is provided to have a smaller cross-sectional area from upper side to lower side (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a side surface thereof that is extend to have a predetermined inclination with respect to a horizontal direction; the reactor body 220 has a converging conical shape at height level near the lamp support means 320; Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the reactor body 220 has a converging conical shape at height level near the lamp support means 320, such that an upper cross-section thereof has a larger cross-sectional area than that of a lower cross section), and the housing part is configured such that the fluid passing through the inlet swirls along a circumferential direction of the housing part and flows downward (Yoo, Figs. 1-2, the air inlet pipe 210 is disposed to be horizontally spaced apart from an imaginary guide centerline extending in the up-down direction while passing through a center of the fluid guide part; in other words, the disposition of the air inlet pipe 210 enables a swirling fluid flow as shown in Figs. 1 and 2).
As to claim 16, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment of claim 15, wherein the outlet is formed in an upper surface of the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the air discharge pipe 230 is formed in an upper surface of the reactor body 220), the inlet is formed in a side surface of the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the air inlet pipe 210 is formed in a side surface of the reactor body 220), and the fluid guide part is extended downward from the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part is extended downward from the outlet).
As to claim 17, Yoo teaches to a fluid treatment apparatus, comprising:
a fluid treatment module (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a cyclone reactor 200) for sterilizing fluid (the term “for sterilizing fluid” is an intended use, but the cyclone reactor 200 is capable of sterilizing fluid); and
a blowing fan (Yoo, pg. 12, teaches to a blower means connected to the air inlet pipe or the air outlet pipe to generate air flow;) for providing a blowing force to cause the fluid to flow into the fluid treatment module (the term “for providing a blowing force to cause the fluid to flow into the fluid treatment module” is an intended use, but the blower 400 is capable of causing the fluid to flow into the fluid treatment module),
wherein the fluid treatment module includes:
a housing part having a space for fluid to flow in an up-down direction therein (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a cyclone reactor 200 that comprises a reactor body 220; the reactor body 220 reads as a housing part and has a space for fluid to flow in an up-down direction therein) and having an inlet through which the fluid is introduced into the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an air inlet pipe 210 through which the fluid is introduced into the reactor body 220) and an outlet through which the fluid in the housing part is discharged to an outside thereof (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an air outlet pipe 230 through which the fluid in the reactor body 220 is discharged to an outside thereof);
a light source unit that irradiates light to the fluid flowing in the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to ultraviolet lamp unit 300 that is provided with an ultraviolet lamp 310 in the center of the reactor body 220 the ultraviolet lamp unit 300 irradiates light to the fluid flowing in the reactor body 220); and
a fluid guide part that guides the flow of the fluid in the housing part (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a fluid guide part that guides the flow of the fluid in the reactor body 220), one end of the fluid guide part being opened in a direction different from a direction in which the inlet is opened (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has two open ends, wherein one end is opened in a direction different from a direction in which the air inlet pipe 210 is opened), and the other end thereof communicating with the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the fluid guide part has two open ends, wherein the other end thereof is communicating with the air outlet pipe 230),
wherein the inlet is oriented so that the fluid passing through the inlet flows along a direction different from a direction from a center of the inlet to a center of the housing part when viewed from above (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to the air inlet pipe 210, wherein the air inlet pipe 210 is oriented so that the fluid in the air inlet pipe 210 flows perpendicular to the up-down direction within the reactor body 220 or in spiral).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je Kang Yoo of KR 20060056080 A (hereinafter, Yoo), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Scott Strome of US 2023/0320623 A1 (hereinafter, Strome).
As to claim 9, Yoo does not explicitly teach further comprising: an adsorption auxiliary part provided on at least one of an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part.
In an analogous art, Strome teaches to further comprising: an adsorption auxiliary part provided on at least one of an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part (Strome, paragraph [0081], teaches that the capture material is fixed onto an interior surface of the container in a manner of a coating on the interior surface of the container, wherein the capture material 150 comprises gel(s), the gel(s) may be “fixed” utilizing “grafting onto” and “grafting from” approaches that result in the gel(s) being fixed on the surface of the device 100, 101 (e.g., on the inner surface of the container 140) and produces robustness and/or stabilization with covalent or strong-non-covalent interaction, preserving the gel adsorption on the surface of the device 100, 101; Strome, paragraph [0084], teaches to one or more flow-disrupting structures, which is read as a fluid guide part).
Both Yoo and Strome relate to spiral cone for treating fluid (Strome, paragraph [0101]). Yoo does not explicitly teach an adsorption auxiliary part. Yoo does teach the reactor body and the fluid guide part. Strome teaches using an adsorption auxiliary part in the fluid treatment device comprising a fluid guide part.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor body and fluid guide part of Yoo with the coated capture material of Strome for capturing or adsorbing undesired substances, thereby increasing sterilization effects of the fluid treatment module.
Yoo in view of Strome teaches to wherein the adsorption auxiliary part is extended along a circumferential direction of the at least one surface to protrude from or be depressed into the at least one surface (Strome, paragraph [0081], teaches that the capture material is fixed onto an interior surface of the container in a manner of a coating on the interior surface of the container; Strome’s device 100, 101 comprise a hollow cylindrical prism, necessarily comprising a circumferential walls therein).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je Kang Yoo of KR 20060056080 A (hereinafter, Yoo), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Dong Hyun Jang of KR 20100029455 A (hereinafter, Jang).
As to claim 11, Yoo does not explicitly teach further comprising: a reflecting part provided on at least one of an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part, wherein the reflecting part includes a reflective material that reflects the light irradiated from the light source unit.
In an analogous art, Jang teaches to the fluid treatment module of claim 1, further comprising: a reflecting part provided on at least one of an inner surface of the housing part and an outer surface of the fluid guide part, wherein the reflecting part includes a reflective material that reflects the light irradiated from the light source unit (Jang, pg. 5, teaches to providing a wastewater treatment device in which ultraviolet rays can be irradiated more efficiently by providing a reflector that reflects ultraviolet rays, wherein the reflection efficiency of ultraviolet rays can be further improved by installing a reflector in an adjacent position to the ultraviolet lamp; also see reflecting plate 54).
Both Yoo and Jang relate to photocatalytic reaction by irradiating ultraviolet light (Jang, abstract). Yoo does not explicitly teach using a reflector for improved efficiency in ultraviolet irradiation for fluid purification. Yoo does teach using an ultraviolet lamp unit for fluid purification within a cyclone reactor. Jang teaches to using a reflector within a cyclone separator, thereby increasing efficiency in ultraviolet irradiation for fluid purification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor body of Yoo with the reflector of Jang for reflecting ultraviolet rays, thereby amplifying the effects of ultraviolet irradiation for fluid purification.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je Kang Yoo of KR 20060056080 A (hereinafter, Yoo), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ji Won Kim of KR 20180129215 A (hereinafter, Kim).
As to claim 18, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment apparatus of claim 17, wherein the fluid treatment module further includes an extension part disposed between the housing part and the blowing fan and guiding a flow of the fluid discharged from the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to an extension part disposed between the blower means 400 and the air discharge pipe 230; see Fig. 1 below), and
Fig. 1 of Yoo
the extension part has one end communicating with the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches that the extension part has one end communicating with the air discharge pipe 230).
Yoo does not explicitly teach and has a shape in which a cross-sectional area is wider from the one end to the other end.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches to and has a shape in which a cross-sectional area is wider from the one end to the other end (Kim, paragraph [0075], teaches that the flow path 140 may be formed in such a shape that its cross-sectional area becomes gradually wider toward the air outlet 20).
Both Yoo and Kim relate to a fluid treatment module (Kim, paragraph [0001]). Yoo does not explicitly teach widening fluid flow path for discharging air. Yoo does teach to a fluid flow path for discharging air. Kim teaches to widening fluid flow path for discharging air for preventing turbulence of the discharging fluid by efficiently minimizing resistance for the fluid that enters the ambient environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the extension part of Yoo with the widening fluid flow path of Kim for discharging air for preventing turbulence of the discharging fluid by efficiently minimizing resistance for the fluid that enters the ambient environment.
As to claim 19, Yoo in view of Kim teaches to the fluid treatment apparatus of claim 18, further comprising:
a filter unit (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches to a post-treatment filter unit 500 after the fluid discharges through the extension part that is in communication with the air discharge pipe 230 for filtering the fluid; Yoo, pg. 12, teaches that blower means connected to the air inlet pipe or the air outlet pipe to generate air flow).
Yoo does not explicitly teach disposed between the extension part and the blowing fan to filter the fluid.
However, the modification of the disposition of the post-treatment filter unit 500 after the extension part (shown in Fig. 1 of Yoo) and the blower means 400 of the structure disclosed in Yoo into a disposition of the post-treatment filter unit 500 between the extension part (shown in Fig. 1 of Yoo) and the blower means 400 amounts merely to a matter of obvious engineering choice, as the use of placing the post-treatment filter unit 500 between the extension part and the blower means 400 would have been operable to one of ordinary skill in the art for Yoo; in other words, as long as the blower means 400 causes the fluid to flow through a filter after the fluid discharges from the reactor body 220, the use of the claimed structure would have been operable to one of ordinary skill in the art; as such, the integration of the claimed invention is not contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art. See MPEP 2144.04.V.B.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Je Kang Yoo of KR 20060056080 A (hereinafter, Yoo).
As to claim 20, Yoo teaches to the fluid treatment apparatus of claim 17, further comprising:
a filter unit that filters the fluid (Yoo, pg. 13, Fig. 1, teaches to a pre-treatment filter 100), wherein the filter unit includes a plurality of filters (Yoo, pg. 20, teaches to using various filters, either individually or in combination; the applicant is reminded that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.) disposed adjacent to the inlet and the outlet (Yoo, Fig. 1, teaches either pre-treatment 100 or post-treatment 500 filters are disposed adjacent to the air inlet pipe 210 and the air discharge pipe 230).
Conclusion
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794