DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 11/12/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinthakindi (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 20070176295, hereinafter Chinthakindi) in view of Lim (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2012/0049997, hereinafter Lim).
Re claim 1 Chinthakindi discloses in Fig 3 a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate[0004]; a metal layer(112) formed on the substrate[0004]; a dielectric layer(122) formed on the substrate[0004] and covering the metal layer(112); a first contact hole(hole of 104/102) formed in the dielectric layer(122), a bottom of the first contact hole(hole of 104/102) exposing a surface of the metal layer(112); a conductive layer(104/102) filled in the first contact hole(hole of 104/102); a thin film resistor layer(106) formed on a portion of the dielectric layer(122), and a cover layer(128) located on the thin film resistor layer(106).
Chinthakindi does not discloses a bottom of the thin film resistor layer(106) contacting a top surface of the conductive layer(104/102);
Lim discloses in Fig 19 a bottom of the thin film resistor layer(202) contacting a top surface of the conductive layer(208);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Lim to the teachings of Chinthakindi in order to achieve tight tolerances with respect to resisTaN[0044 of Lim]ce and size to better attain precise, stable resisTaN[0044 of Lim]ces [0004, Lin].
Re claim 2 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second contact hole formed in the dielectric layer(122) and the cover layer(128) and penetrating the dielectric layer(122) and the cover layer(128), a bottom of the second contact hole exposing the surface of the metal layer(112).
Re claim 3 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 2, further comprising: a second conductive layer(104/102) filled in the second contact hole.
Re claim 4 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 3, further comprising: a second metal layer(112) formed on the cover layer(128), a bottom surface of the second metal layer(112) contacting a top of the second conductive layer(104/102).
Re claim 5 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the substrate[0004] includes: a base substrate[0004]; a storage device; and a logic device formed on the base substrate[0004].
Re claim 6 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein the dielectric layer(122) is formed on the storage device and the logic device.
Re claim 7 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a material of the metal layer(112) is aluminum, copper, and nickel[0067 of Lim].
Re claim 8 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising: a protective layer(128 of Lim) formed on the metal layer(112).
Re claim 9 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a material of the dielectric layer(122) includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride[0017 of Lim], silicon nitride boride, silicon oxycarbide, or silicon oxynitride.
Re claim 10 Chinthakindi and Lim disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a material of the thin film resistor layer(106) includes CrSi, SiCCr, TaN[0044 of Lim], or NiCr.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812