DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 20220005903.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-8 of Kim discloses display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 100 including an opening area OA, a display area DA surrounding at least a portion of the opening area, and a middle area NDA1 between the opening area and the display area;
a display element OLED arranged in the display area and comprising a pixel electrode 221, an opposite electrode 223 on the pixel electrode, and an intermediate layer 222 arranged between the pixel electrode and the opposite electrode;
a data line unit DL arranged in the middle area and arranged between the substrate and the intermediate layer extending to the middle area; and
a first partition wall (right wall of 240) arranged in the middle area to surround the opening area, wherein the data line unit DL is arranged between the first partition wall 240 and the display area DA,
wherein in the middle area NDA1 the opposite electrode 223 extends further towards the opening area than the data line unit DL to cover the first partition wall.
Kim does not disclose that the data line is metal.
However, fig. 8 of Kim discloses that the Data line unit DL is on a same layer as a source electrode S2 and a drain D2, and par [0124] of Kim discloses that the second source electrode S2 and the second drain electrode D2 may include a conductive material including molybdenum (Mo), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), and titanium (Ti) and include a single layer or a multi-layer.
As such it would have been obvious to form a display apparatus of Kim comprising wherein the data line is metal in order to use a same process steps for both the source/drain electrodes and data line unit in order to meet the applicant production specification.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 8 of Kim discloses further comprising an inorganic insulating layer 206 arranged between the substrate and the intermediate layer to correspond to the display area and the middle area, wherein the metal unit is arranged between the inorganic insulating layer and the intermediate layer.
Regarding claim 3, par [0124] of Kim disclose wherein the second source electrode S2 and the second drain electrode D2 may include a conductive material including aluminum (Al). As such the resulting structure would have been one meeting the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 8 of Kim discloses wherein an opening portion (region between 810 and that on 240) penetrating the intermediate layer is defined in the intermediate layer, and the opening portion is arranged between the first partition wall and the opening area.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 8 of Kim discloses wherein the metal unit is arranged to be apart from the opening portion.
Regarding claim 7, par [0084] of Kim discloses that the dam 240 may be provided in plural. As such it would have been obvious to form a display apparatus further comprising a second partition wall arranged in the middle area to be apart from the first partition wall, wherein the opening portion includes a first opening arranged between the first partition wall and the second partition wall and a second opening arranged between the second partition wall and the opening area so that the penetration of foreign substances such as moisture, or other contaminants through the opening area OA may be prevented or reduced
Regarding claim 8, fig. 8 of Kim discloses further comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer 310 arranged on the intermediate layer to correspond to the display area and the middle area, wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with an inorganic insulating layer 207bexposed through the opening portion.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 8 of Kim discloses further comprising a capping layer 241 arranged between the opposite electrode and the inorganic encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 10, par [0085] of Kim discloses wherein the intermediate layer comprises a first common layer 222a, an emission layer, and a second common layer 222c, which are sequentially arranged on the pixel electrode.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 5 of Kim discloses further comprising a line portion SL arranged in the display area to be adjacent to the middle area so as to bypass the opening area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893