DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 2/19/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups contain overlapping or similar elements. This is not found persuasive because group II is directed towards a non-transitory computer readable medium (an apparatus whose intended use is to perform a specific method) while group III is directed towards a physical system for performing a specific method. Each group is distinct and there would be a search burden as outlined in the restriction requirement (e.g., no group requires a non-transitory computer readable medium, the computer readable medium does not require a window, etc.) As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 contains the limitations “the adjustment factor” and “the target signal”, both of which lack proper antecedent basis. Claim 4 defines “the adjustment factor” as a threshold ratio of “the target signal” added to a value of 1.0. It is unclear from the claim what “the adjustment factor” should mean as it is defined by another indefinite and unclear limitation. It is further confusing how “the adjustment factor” relates to the rest of the claim, and therefore, the metes and bounds of said claim are unclear. The dependent claims are likewise rejected as failing to cure the deficiencies of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al US 2022/0399214.
Per claims 1-3, Kim teaches a process and apparatus for controlling temperature uniformity comprising heating an internal volume of a processing chamber for semiconductor manufacturing [0021], utilizing a sensor across one or more sections (Fig. 2, abstract, [0081], generating a temperature profile using the data (abstract, [0080]), analyzing the signal profile and adjusting the heating parameters accordingly (abstract), wherein said adjusting comprises identifying a heat source and adjusting the electricity to control the heating temperature as desired (abstract). Kim is silent regarding scanning the sensor across the sections and comparing data to a range. However, Kim does teach that a temperature data requires a distribution of a heat source and estimating operation to get the entire temperature distribution such as, by using multiple heat sensors [0081]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to therefore scan the temperature sensor across certain sections as desired to create a more accurate temperature sensor. Kim also teaches that the amount of electricity should be controlled based on the distribution of a heat source and temperature profile [0077]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have taken the temperature (signal) profile and compared it to a desired or predetermined range to therefore control or adjust the electricity output as desired with a reasonable expectation for success and predictable results, as this is the purpose of Kim’s invention. This comparison and adjustment would necessarily include peaks and troughs as the purpose of Kim’s temperature control is to increase uniformity and therefore even temperature distribution [0086] (abstract).
Per claim 7, Kim teaches that the temperature model is a non-linear model (abstract, [0033]), and also teaches that the process typically includes reflecting a model deviation [0004]. As such, in generating a temperature model, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined a standard deviation during the modeling process with a reasonable expectation for success and predictable results.
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al US 2022/0399214 in view of Aderhold et al US 10741457.
Per claims 8-9, Kim is silent regarding rotating the substrate during scanning with the sensor. Aderhold teaches a similar process of providing a method to reduce non uniformity during thermal processing (abstract), wherein the substrate support is rotated and a sensor assembly measures the temperature at a plurality of locations (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have rotated the substrate according to Aderhold because this helps in reducing non uniformity (abstract).
Conclusion
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718