DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 5/19/2026 has been entered.
Claim(s) 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/24/2023. These drawings are considered acceptable by Examiner.
America Invents Act
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. In response to Applicant's arguments that Jeong et al., and Lee et al., do not disclose the claimed invention per Claim 1, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the claimed subject matter is directed to the operation/use of the device, therefore the claim recitation(s) “the guide film is configured to be removed from the display member after the display member and a window member are attached to each other,” has not been afforded patentable weight. In a claim to a device, only structural limitations are granted patentable weight and the phrase, recitations directed to the operation/using of the device (e.g., when device is in use/application), do not affect the structure of the device and therefore has no bearing on the construction of the final product.
It should be noted that the claim language drawn to the guide film is configured to be removed from the display member after the display member and a window member are attached to each other is not given patentable weight.
For the reasons stated above, the rejection of the claims is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-4, 9-14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jeong et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0105169 A1) in view of Lee et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0337691 A1) all as previously cited.
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong et al., teaches a display module comprising: a display member (DP, a display panel layer, ¶ [0056], see at least Figs. 1A-1C, 2B) including a flat portion (NBA1, NBA2, a first and second non-bending area, ¶ [0056], see at least Figs. 1A-1C, 2B) and a bending portion (BA, a bending area) bent while extending from the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2); and a guide film (PM, protection member, ¶ [0059]) disposed on a rear surface of the display member (DP), wherein the guide film (PM) includes an extended portion extending from an edge of the display member (DP) in a direction away from a center of the display member (portion of PM extending away from the center) in a plan view. Jeong et al., is silent regarding an opening provided in the guide film therethrough in the plan view.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al., teaches a display device wherein a guide film (SPL, support plate, ¶ [0120]; see at least Figs. 7A-7B) is provided with an opening (OP, plurality of openings, ¶ [0116]) defined therethrough to overlap the bending portion (BA1 or BA2) of the display module in the plan view (plan view of the bending portion when specifically viewing “bending portion” directly/head on) in order to aid in the shaping of the molding/bending process during fabrication of the device and also to advantageously provide airflow that would otherwise be absent without the presence of the “opening” and such “opening” preventing overheating by facilitating flow of air during operation of the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the openings for airflow, as disclosed by Lee et al., in the display device of Jeong et al., in order to aid in the shaping of the molding/bending process during fabrication of the device and also to advantageously provide airflow that would otherwise be absent without the presence of the “opening” and such “opening” preventing overheating by facilitating flow of air during operation of the display device.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to using airflow openings as a matter of choice. Applicant(s) has not disclosed that the materials is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected or significant result, or are otherwise critical and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another configuration (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
It should be noted that the claim language drawn to the guide film is configured to be removed from the display member after the display member and a window member are attached to each other is not given patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 2, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) includes a first side extending in a first direction, and wherein the bending portion (BA) includes a first bending portion (BA) bent while extending from the first side of the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2).
Regarding Claim 3, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 2, wherein the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) includes a second side extending in the first direction and opposite to the first side in a second direction crossing the first direction (refer to Figs. 1A-1C, 2B) and wherein the bending portion (BA) further includes a second bending portion (opposite of BA) bent while extending from the second side of the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2).
Regarding Claim 4, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 3, wherein the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) includes a third side and a fourth side extending in the second direction and opposite to each other in the first direction (refer to Figs. 1A-1C, 2B), and wherein the bending portion (BA) further includes a third bending portion (adjacent third BA) and a fourth bending portion (adjacent fourth BA) bent while extending from the third side and the fourth side of the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2), respectively.
Regarding Claim 9, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 4, wherein the guide film (PM) includes first to fourth extended portions (first to fourth areas of PM) disposed on rear surfaces of the first to fourth bending portions (BA), respectively, wherein the first extended portion and the second extended portion are spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) therebetween, and wherein the third extended portion and the fourth extended portion are spaced apart from each other in the first direction with the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) therebetween (refer to Figs. 1A-1C, 2B).
Regarding Claim 10, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) includes a first flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) and a second flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) which overlap each other in a plan view, and wherein the bending portion (BA) is disposed between the first flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) and the second flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) and the bending portion (BA), to the first flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) and the second flat portion (NBA1, NBA2) are integrally shaped.
Regarding Claim 11, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 10, wherein the bending portion (BA) extends in a first direction, and the opening (opening defined once display is bent) extends in the first direction (refer to Figs. 1A-1C, 2B).
Regarding Claim 12, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 11, wherein a length (top to bottom of BX, Fig. 2) of the opening is shorter than a length of the bending portion (BA) in the first direction (as clearly depicted in Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 13, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 11, wherein a width (left to right distance of BX, Fig. 2) of the opening is greater than a width of the bending portion (BA) in a second direction crossing the first direction.
Regarding Claim 14, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 11, wherein the opening extends to opposite ends of the guide film (PM) in the first direction, and the guide film (PM) includes a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other with the opening therebetween (once bent, the PM has a separate and spaced apart region, top BM and bottom BM, Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 17, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the display member (DP) includes: a base layer; a circuit layer (for the driving of display during operation) disposed on the base layer; a display element layer (of DP) disposed on the circuit layer; and an encapsulation layer (AM1) sealing the display element layer.
Regarding Claim 18, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 17, wherein the display member (DP) further includes at least one selected from an input sensing layer (TS, sensing layer, ¶ [0105]) and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 19, Jeong et al., teaches the display module of claim 1, further comprising: an adhesive layer (AM1, adhesive) disposed on the display member (DP); and window member (region of BX) disposed on the adhesive layer (AM1).
Allowable Subject Matter
A. Claim(s) 5-8, 15-16 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim(s) 5-8 recites inter alia; wherein the opening includes first to fourth openings which overlap the first to fourth bending portions, respectively.
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitation, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitation.
Claim(s) 6-8 are allowable because of their dependency status from Claim 5.
Claim 15 recites inter alia; wherein the opening is provided in plural, and a plurality of openings is arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction.
Claim 16 recites inter alia; wherein the bending portion (BA) extends in a first direction, and wherein the opening is provided in plural, and each of a plurality of openings extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the openings are arranged in the first direction.
B. Claim(s) 20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record (most comprehensive prior art of record) suggests
method for attaching a display module and a window member to each other, the method comprising: providing a pressure pad including a pressure surface including a curved surface; providing the display module including an adhesive layer, a display member, and a guide film on the pressure pad, wherein the guide film includes an extended portion extending from an edge of the display member in a direction away from a center of the display member in a plan view; providing a jig with the window member disposed thereon on the display module; and attaching the display module and the window member to each other through the adhesive layer.
However, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art the method for attaching a display module comprising the various elements as claimed above in combination with the specific limitation of the guide film is configured to be removed from the display member after the display member and the window member are attached to each other, the display member includes a bending portion overlapping the curved surface of the pressure pad, and the guide film is provided with an opening defined therethrough to overlap the bending portion of the display member in the plan view.as set forth in Claim 20.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al., to U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0338804 A1 teaches a display device manufacturing apparatus similar to the claimed invention.
Examiner's Note
The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/H. Featherly/
Examiner Featherly
Art Unit 2875 Patent Examiner
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875