DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/225343 by Nakanishi et al.
Claims 1-3 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the other layer" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohsawa et al. (US 2018/0090766 A1), herein referred to as Ohsawa, listed on Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed 6/17/2025.
Regarding claim 1, Ohsawa teaches [0014 and 0058] a resin current collector comprising a polyolefin-based resin matrix (base layer) and a conductive filler that can be homogenously dispersed in the resin matrix to form a resin current collector layer. Ohsawa further teaches [0167] an electron conductive layer is formed on a surface of the resin current collector layer wherein the electron conductive layer may include a fluorine-based resin [0176-0177] such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) or a copolymer thereof (fluorine-based resin layer).
Regarding claim 2, Ohsawa teaches (Figure 2 and [0029-0031]) the resin current collector serves as an end surface of a laminated battery and the resin current collector is in contact with an electrode layer constituting the laminated battery and the electron conductive layer that includes the fluoride-based resin is in contact with a different electrode layer constituting the laminated battery and faces oppositely in direction to the resin current collector layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohsawa et al. (US 2018/0090766 A1), herein referred to as Ohsawa, in view of Hotta et al. (US 2023/0116728 A1), herein referred to as Hotta.
Ohsawa teaches the resin current collector and battery limitations recited in claims 1 and 2 respectively. Ohsawa does not appear to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 3. However, from the same field of technology, Hotta discloses a resin current collector and laminated battery.
In view of claim 3, Ohsawa teaches [0114-0116] the battery may include a solid electrolyte layer wherein the solid electrolyte may further include a sulfide-based solid electrolyte.
At the time of the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the resin current collector and battery of Ohsawa to include a sulfide-based solid electrolyte as taught by Hotta in order to devise a battery with improved capacity and charging/discharging cycle characteristics.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724