DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3.1 Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a computer-readable storage medium; however, the specification describes the medium to include transitory computer readable storage medium and thus is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101. The Examiner suggests that applicant amends the claims to state “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” which could potentially overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4.0 Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rameau et al. (USPG_PUB No. 2021/0200914).
4.1 In considering claims 1, 9-11, Rameau et al. teaches a method for modifying a parameter of a kinematic pair, wherein the kinematic pair is comprised in a first device, and the first device is configured with control software, the method comprising:
obtaining a target value of a first parameter, wherein the first parameter is a motion state parameter of the kinematic pair (see para [0066], "The method comprises providing input parameter values. The input parameter values represent the mechanism in an input state. The input parameter values include input dimensional values"); obtaining N first kinematic pairs, wherein the N first kinematic pairs have same values of the first parameter, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see para [0071] Together, the first and second constraints may thus allow obtaining a functioning mobile mechanism. [0072], "the mechanism may comprise the same combination of rigid bodies and the same combination of mechanical joints, all in the same arrangement (said arrangement referring to which rigid bodies are connected together and by which one of the mechanical joints); as such the number of kinematics is at least 1 or more"); setting modeling states of the N first kinematic pairs in the control software to an editable state (see fig.11, para [0079], "the method allows changing parameter values while maintaining the mobility of the mechanism"); calling the control software to modify the values of the first parameter of the N first kinematic pairs to the target value (see para [0106], In addition, the cursor control device allows the user to select various commands, and input control signals. The cursor control device includes a number of signal generation devices for input control signals to system; [0107], The program may be a full installation program or an update program. Application of the program on the system results in any case in instructions for performing the method; [0108], Alternatively, the method may comprise providing a 3D modeled object previously created; and then modifying the 3D modeled object; implicitly disclosed as part of any interface designed to update the parameter values of a virtual mechanism). Rameau et al. further teaches the apparatus along with a processor and a memory to store a program, and the processor and the computer-readable storage medium (see fig.9, para [0107]).
4.2 As per claim 2, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a lower limit of motion, an upper limit of motion, a maximum acceleration, and a maximum speed (see para [0122] Each relative position is parameterized by angles and distances, and the set U of dimensional parameters of the mechanism is defined by all parameters of these relative positions. [0124] Parameters of each rigid motion define the degrees of freedom of each joint which includes at one of an upper and lower limits of motion, and the set P of positional parameters of the mechanism is defined by all parameters of these relative positions).
4.3 Regarding claim 3, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the method further comprises: if the N first kinematic pairs are not obtained, or if the obtained N first kinematic pairs do not have same values of the first parameter, calling the control software to output first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate the re-obtaining of the N first kinematic pairs (see para [0066] The input parameter values represent the mechanism in an input state. The method also comprises determining output parameter representing the mechanism in an output state. The output parameter values include output dimensional values. [0073] By “states” of the mechanism, it is hereby referred to the different configurations that the mechanism can take with different values of the parameters. For example, FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 show the same mechanism but in different states due to different dimensions of the rigid bars. On the contrary, FIG. 1 shows a different mechanism from FIG. 2 and FIG. 3, since the mechanism of FIG. 1 only has four bars instead of five. And FIG. 5 represents three different mechanisms from the left to the right: 4R, 5R, and 6R. For the sake of completeness, it is here noted that the term “state” in the present disclosure does not refer to the different positions that a mobile mechanism can take, but rather, as explained, to different instances of a same type/class of mobile mechanisms.).
4.4 As per claim 4, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the method further comprises: if an upper limit of motion is less than a lower limit of motion in a modified first parameter, or if a type of a value of the modified first parameter is not a numeric type, calling the control software to output second information, wherein the second information is used to indicate the re-obtaining of a target value of the first parameter (see para [0066] The method also comprises determining output parameter representing the mechanism in an output state. The output parameter values include output dimensional values. After the method however, the mechanism may be further modified in any manner, for example by adding and/or replacing a rigid body. [0073] For the sake of completeness, it is here noted that the term “state” in the present disclosure does not refer to the different positions that a mobile mechanism can take, but rather, as explained, to different instances of a same type/class of mobile mechanisms.).
4.5 As per claim 5, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the method further comprises: setting modeling states of the N first kinematic pairs in the control software to a non-editable state (see para [0072], "Only parameter values of the mechanism may vary, in other words dimensions and/or positions of the mechanism's elements. In other terms, from the input state to the output state, the types of rigid bodies and mechanical joints forming the mechanism all remain the same and they all stay in the same arrangement, but the set of output parameter values may be different from the set of input parameter values.").
4.6 With regards to claim 6, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the obtaining N first kinematic pairs comprises: after project data is accessed in the control software, obtaining the N first kinematic pairs from a project list of the project data, or obtaining the N first kinematic pairs from the project list in the control software based on a preset identifier (see para [0071] the first and second constraints may thus allow obtaining a functioning mobile mechanism. [0072], "the mechanism may comprise the same combination of rigid bodies and the same combination of mechanical joints, all in the same arrangement (said arrangement referring to which rigid bodies are connected together and by which one of the mechanical joints. [0111], This equilibrium point is obtained through a numerical integration of the differential equation from the initial condition, e.g. over a large enough time interval. The genuine mobility of the solution may be checked by using a standard kinematic solver).
4.7 As per claim 7, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the first kinematic pair comprises: a cylinder shaft or a servo shaft (see para [0021], Typical two DOF mechanical joints are: cylindrical, spherical with pin. Typical three DOF mechanical joints are: spherical, planar. Typical four DOF mechanical joints are: ball-cylinder, cylinder-plane. Typical five DOF mechanical joint is ball-plane. Despite each mechanical joint features at least one DOF, the overall mobility or rigidity of a mechanism is closely related to the way bodies and joints are organized. Kinematic pairs and DOF are well known in the art,).
4.8 Regarding claim 8, Rameau et al. teaches that wherein the method further comprises: calling the control software to generate log information, wherein the log information comprises input information and output information (see para [0106], The cursor control device includes a number of signal generation devices for input control signals to system. Typically, a cursor control device may be a mouse, the button of the mouse being used to generate the signals. Method steps may be performed by a programmable processor executing a program of instructions to perform functions of the method by operating on input data and generating output), and the output information comprises the first information and the second information (see para [0066], the method comprises providing input parameter values. The input parameter values represent the mechanism in an input state. The input parameter values include input dimensional values. The method also comprises determining output parameter values. The output parameter values represent the mechanism in an output state. The output parameter values include output dimensional values. The constraints further include a second constraint representing mobility of the mechanism in the output state.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5.1 Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims provides for "obtaining N first kinematic pairs” and “calling the control software…”; it is unclear how or the manner by which said N first kinematic pairs could be obtained and where said pairs are obtained from. In fact, it is not even clear what said kinematic pairs consist of. Furthermore, it is unclear what is meant by calling said control software and how said calling manages to modify values of the first parameters or what is used to achieve said modification. Furthermore, the terms "project data" and "a project list of the project data" used in claim 6 are vague and unclear as to what the data and list consist of, as intended. Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
6.1 Kapeller et al. (USPG_PUB No. 2017/0282370) teaches a method for position monitoring of a kinematic linkage, wherein at least a part of the kinematic linkage is divided into a number of kinematic objects, and a monitoring area which will be monitored is prespecified.
6.2 Kondo et al. (USPG_PUB No. 2004/0186698) teaches a mechanism simulation method of using both a dynamics simulation and a kinematic simulation.
7. Claims 1-11 are rejected and this action is non-final. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDRE PIERRE-LOUIS whose telephone number is (571)272-8636. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 AM-5:00 PM.
/ANDRE PIERRE LOUIS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187 August 21, 2026