DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. discloses an end cover assembly ([0081] and Fig. 8, top cap assembly 102), comprising: an end cover ([0082] and Fig. 9, top cap plate 10) having an abutting surface (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 below, abutting surface); and a terminal assembly ([0083] and Fig. 9, terminal assembly 20), comprising an electrode terminal ([0084] and Fig. 9, terminal plate 21) and a connector ([0084] and Fig. 9, second fixing component 23), wherein the connector connects the electrode terminal and the end cover so as to fix the electrode terminal to the end cover ([0084], second fixing component 23 fixes terminal plate 21 onto top cap plate 10), and the connector abuts against the abutting surface (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 below, second fixing component 23 and abutting surface); wherein, the abutting surface is provided with a concave portion recessed in a thickness direction of the end cover, and the concave portion accommodates a part of the electrode terminal ([0082] and Figs. 9 and 10, third sink portion 14 that accommodates part of terminal plate 21).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen et al. further discloses wherein in the thickness direction, the electrode terminal has a first end (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, first end) and a second end (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, second end) opposite to each other, the first end being located in the concave portion, and the second end being farther away from a bottom surface of the concave portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, concave surface bottom surface) than an outer surface of the end cover (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, end cover outer surface).
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 2. Chen et al. further discloses wherein in the thickness direction, the outer surface of the end cover is farther away from the bottom surface of the concave portion than the abutting surface (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, end cover outer surface, concave portion bottom surface, and abutting surface).
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the end cover comprises: a body portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, body portion) having the abutting surface, wherein in the thickness direction, the abutting surface and an inner surface of the body portion face away from each other (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, abutting surface and body portion inner surface); and a convex portion disposed at a position of the body portion corresponding to the concave portion and extending out from the inner surface of the body portion in a direction leaving the abutting surface (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9, convex portion).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the end cover comprises a solid portion located at the bottom of the concave portion in the thickness direction (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, solid portion), the solid portion being provided with a terminal lead-out hole communicating with the concave portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, terminal lead-out hole); and in the thickness direction, the electrode terminal is disposed opposite the terminal lead-out hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, terminal plate 21), and the electrode terminal and the solid portion are spaced apart.
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 6. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the end cover assembly further comprises: a sealer ([0076] and [0081] and Fig. 9, seal component 24), in the thickness direction, the sealer being at least partially located between the electrode terminal and the solid portion so as to implement hermetic connection between the electrode terminal and the end cover (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, terminal plate 21 and solid portion).
Regarding claim 8, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 7. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the sealer comprises: a sealing portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, sealing portion), in the thickness direction, the sealing portion being at least partially located between the electrode terminal and the solid portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, terminal plate 21 and solid portion); and an extension portion connected to the sealing portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, extension portion), the extension portion being at least partially located in the terminal lead-out hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, terminal lead-out hole), and the extension portion extending along a circumferential direction of the terminal lead-out hole.
Regarding claim 9, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 6. Chen et al. further discloses wherein in the thickness direction, the terminal lead-out hole is totally covered by the electrode terminal (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, terminal plate 21 and terminal lead-out hole).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the terminal assembly further comprises: an insulator connected to the electrode terminal and the connector to insulate the electrode terminal from the connector ([0062] and [0083], first fixing component 22 that is an insulator), and the concave portion being configured to accommodate a part of the insulator ([0083] and Figs. 9 and 10, first fixing component 22 accommodated in third sink portion 14).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the insulator abuts against a bottom surface of the concave portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, first fixing component 22 and concave portion bottom surface).
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the connector comprises: a first connecting portion to abut against the abutting surface and connect to the end cover ([0067]-[0070] and Fig. 9, first connection portion 232 connected to top cap plate 10); and a second connecting portion located on an inner circumferential side of the first connecting portion ([0067]-[0070] and Fig. 9, second connection portion 233), wherein in the thickness direction, the second connecting portion is farther away from the abutting surface than the first connecting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, first connection portion 232, second connection portion 233, and abutting surface), and the second connecting portion connects to the insulator and prevents the electrode terminal from moving relative to the end cover along a direction leaving the end cover ([0067]-[0070], second connection portion 233 embedded into first fixing component 22, fixing terminal plate 21 onto top cap plate 10).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the connector comprises a first connecting portion to abut against the abutting surface and connect to the end cover ([0067]-[0070] and see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, first connection portion 232, abutting surface, and top cap plate 10); and an outer surface of the end cover is provided with an accommodating portion ([0082], see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above and Fig. 10, end cover outer surface and first sink portion 12), wherein the accommodating portion accommodates at least a part of the first connecting portion ([0083] and Figs. 9 and 10, first sink portion 12 accommodating first connection portion 232), and the abutting surface is a bottom surface of the accommodating portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above and Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 15. Chen et al. further discloses wherein in the thickness direction, the outer surface of the end cover is flush with an outer surface of the first connecting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, end cover outer surface and first connecting portion outer surface), and the first connecting portion is welded to the end cover ([0084], first connection portion 232 welded to wall of first sink portion 12).
Regarding claim 17, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Chen et al. further discloses a battery cell ([0099], a secondary battery), comprising: a housing having an opening ([0099], case that may have an opening); an electrode assembly to be accommodated in the housing ([0099], electrode assembly); and the end cover assembly according to claim 1 ([0099], top cap assembly), wherein the end cover is configured to cover the opening ([0099], top cap assembly may cover the opening); and in a thickness direction of the end cover, the concave portion is recessed from the abutting surface in a direction approaching the electrode assembly ([0053]-[0054] and see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above and Fig. 10, third sink portion and abutting surface, electrode assembly located below the terminal lead-out hole).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2019/0109302 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 4. Chen et al. does not disclose wherein a bottom surface of the concave portion is farther away from the abutting surface than the inner surface of the body portion.
Zheng et al. discloses an undercut 224, undercut hole 13, and groove 141 ([0081] and [0088] and see Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 below), wherein a bottom surface (see Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 below, bottom surface) of the concave portion (undercut 224) is farther away from the abutting surface (see Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 below, abutting surface) than the inner surface (see Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 below, inner surface) of the body portion.
Chen et al. and Zheng et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery end cover assemblies. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cap assembly of Chen et al. with the teachings of Zheng et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would tightly fix the fixing member and cap plate together with a simple structure, improving productivity and structural stability of the cap assembly (Zheng et al. [0081]).
Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 10. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the concave portion has an inner circumferential surface for guiding the insulator to enter the concave portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 9 above, inner circumferential surface), and the insulator wraps an outer circumferential surface of the electrode terminal in a circumferential direction of the electrode terminal ([0064] and Fig. 9, first fixing component 22 accommodates first flange 211 of terminal plate 21). Chen et al. does not disclose in a direction from the abutting surface to the bottom surface of the concave portion, the inner circumferential surface has a radial size decreasing gradually.
Zheng et al. discloses an undercut 224, and undercut hole 13 ([0081] and see Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 above), wherein in a direction from the abutting surface to the bottom surface of the concave portion, the inner circumferential surface has a radial size decreasing gradually (see Zheng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 above, inner circumferential surface).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cap assembly of Chen et al. with the teachings of Zheng et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would tightly fix the fixing member and cap plate together with a simple structure, improving productivity and structural stability of the cap assembly (Zheng et al. [0081]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Bai et al. (US 2019/0386263 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 13. Chen et al. further discloses wherein the connector further comprises: a third connecting portion to connect the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion ([0068], transition portion 231 that connects first connection portion 232 and second connection portion 233). Chen et al. does not disclose the third connecting portion being provided with a through hole, and the insulator being partially located in the through hole.
Bai et al. discloses a connector with the third connecting portion being provided with a through hole, and the insulator being partially located in the through hole ([0059] and Figs. 7-9, second fixing member 34 with an engaging hole 342 filled by first fixing member 33 during injection molding).
Bai et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery end cover assemblies. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top cap assembly of Chen et al. with the teachings of Bai et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would engage the first fixing member and second fixing member, improving the connection between them ([Bai et al. [0059]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Jin et al. (US 2020/0212386 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Chen et al. discloses the limitations of claim 17. Chen et al. does not disclose a battery, comprising: the battery cell according to claim 17; and a box to accommodate the battery cell.
Jin et al. discloses a battery ([0077] and Fig. 1, battery pack 200), comprising: a plurality of battery cells ([0078] and Figs. 1 and 4, battery cells 1); and a box to accommodate the battery cell ([0077] and Fig. 1, box body 20).
Jin et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of vehicles with batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the battery cell of Chen et al. with the teachings of Jin et al. using known methods to yield the predictable result of a battery pack containing the battery cell of Chen et al., and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so (see MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 19, modified Chen discloses the limitations of claim 18. Chen et al. does not disclose an electric device, comprising the battery according to claim 18.
Jin et al. discloses a vehicle including a battery pack ([0076], vehicle including battery pack 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the battery pack of modified with the teachings of Jin et al. using known methods to yield the predictable result of a vehicle containing the battery pack of modified Chen, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so (see MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 16 April 2026