DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. 20210319756.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 9A of Kim disclose a display panel comprising:
a substrate SUB1 (fig. 10) including a main display area FDA and a corner area extending from a corner of the main display area,
wherein the corner area includes a first corner area CDA1 and a second corner area (dotted area above in above fig. 9A), the first corner area is adjacent to the main display area, and the second corner area is outside the first corner area;
a first input line (as labeled by examiner above) arranged in the first corner area;
a second input line (as labeled by examiner above) arranged in the second corner area;
a third input line (as labeled by examiner above) connecting the first input line to the second input line;
a first pixel circuit and a first display element connected to the first pixel circuit (fig. 6A and par [0102]), each arranged in the first corner area;
a second pixel circuit and a second display element connected to the second pixel circuit (fig. 6A and par [0102]), each arranged in the second corner area; and
a driving circuit SDC2 arranged in the second corner area and excluded from the first corner area, connected to the second input line, and configured to supply electrical signals to the first pixel circuit and the second pixel circuit (see par [0101] and fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 17, figs. 4/9A of Kim discloses a display panel including a first display area and a second display area,
wherein the first display area includes a central area FDA, a first area SDA4, and a second area SDA1, the first area is adjacent to the central area in a first direction, and the second area is adjacent to the central area in a second direction crossing the first direction, and
the second display area includes a corner area A (area of A in fig. 4) between the first area and the second area, the corner area includes a first corner area CDA1 and a second corner area (area outside of CDA1), the first corner area is adjacent to the first display area, and the second corner area is outside the first corner area,
the display panel comprises:
a first input line (as labeled by examiner above) arranged in a peripheral area (dotted area above) and the first corner area (it exists in both area), the peripheral area being outside the first area SDA4;
a second input line arranged in the second corner area (it extends into the second corner area);
a third input line connecting the first input line to the second input line;
a first driving circuit SDC2 arranged in the peripheral area and excluded from the second corner area, the first driving circuit connected to the first input line, and configured to supply electrical signals to a pixel circuit in the first display area; and
a second driving circuit SL2 (portion of SL2 in the second corner area – is type of driving circuit to form complete circuit for current to flow) arranged in the second corner area and excluded from both of the peripheral area (but not in the peripheral) and the first corner area (not in the first corner area), the second driving circuit connected to the second input line, and configured to supply electrical signals to a pixel circuit in the first corner area, and a pixel circuit in the second corner area.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 9A of Kim discloses wherein the second corner area includes a plurality of extension areas (PDA and CCA2) apart from each other, each of the plurality of extension areas is divided into a first extension area PDA and a second extension area CCA2, and the driving circuit is arranged in the first extension area.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 9A of Kim discloses wherein the first extension area is between the first corner area and the second extension area.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 9A of Kim discloses wherein a plurality of second display elements (as there are many pixels) are arranged in the extension area, and pixel electrodes of some of the plurality of second display elements arranged in the first extension area are electrically connected to each other (see fig. 10 and [0176] The first light-emitting electrode 171 may be disposed on the second organic layer 180. The first light-emitting electrode 171 may be connected to the second anode connection electrode ANDE2 – which is a type of pixel electrode).
Regarding claim 12, fig. 11 of Kim discloses wherein the first input line is disposed in a same layer (in layer 141) as the second input line and disposed in a layer different from the third input line (the dielectric layer is different from the third input line as the input line is conductive).
Regarding claim 13, fig. 10 of Kim discloses wherein the second display element overlaps the first input line (G – gate line is part of the second input line).
Regarding claim 14, fig. 10 of Kim discloses wherein the second display element overlaps the driving circuit.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 10 of Kim discloses wherein the second display element overlaps the second input line (G – gate line is part of the second input line).
Regarding claim 16, fig. 9A of Kim discloses wherein a plurality of first display elements are arranged in the first corner area (as there are many PX), and pixel electrodes of some of the plurality of first display elements arranged in the first corner area are electrically connected to each other (see fig. 10 and [0176] The first light-emitting electrode 171 may be disposed on the second organic layer 180. The first light-emitting electrode 171 may be connected to the second anode connection electrode ANDE2 – which is a type of pixel electrode).
Regarding claim 18, fig. 9A of Kim discloses wherein the second corner area includes a plurality of extension areas (it can be divided in part areas) apart from each other, each of the plurality of extension areas is divided into a first extension area and a second extension area (it can be divided in a first extension area and a second extension area), and the second driving circuit is arranged in the first extension area (the portion of SL2 in the first extension area).
Regarding claim 19, fig. 19 of Kim discloses wherein the first extension area is between the first corner area and the second extension area (as it can be divided as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claims 4-5, Lee discloses claim 3, but do not disclose wherein a resolution of the first extension area is less than a resolution of the first corner area and is equal to a resolution of the second extension area.; wherein a resolution of the main display area is equal to the resolution of the first corner area.
However, it would have been obvious to form a display panel wherein a resolution of the first extension area is less than a resolution of the first corner area and is equal to a resolution of the second extension area; and wherein a resolution of the main display area is equal to the resolution of the first corner area in order to produce as many device as allowable to be make the most of surface area.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to form display panel of Lee comprising wherein an arrangement of the first display element in the first corner area is the same as an arrangement of a display element in the main display area and the same as or different from an arrangement of the second display element in the extension area in order to use the same process of fabrication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893