DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-9 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 5 February 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588) in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a method for improving thermal conductivity and stability (Highlights) (= a process for protecting an article from thermal damage), the process comprising:
Anodizing aluminum to form aluminum oxide (abstract, Figure 1) (= anodizing a metallic surface of the article to form an anodic layer comprising a metal oxide);
Introducing a phase change material (PCM; e.g. 1-tetrapropanol) into the pores of the aluminum oxide pores (abstract, Figure 2) (= introducing a phase change material to pores defined by the anodic layer).
Cheng fails to disclose the steps of annealing and sealing.
In the same or similar field of anodizing and post-treatments, Park discloses anodizing aluminum alloy and post treatments including heat treatment (= anneal, furnace at 350℃, [0088]) and sealing [0001]. Park discloses that the heat treatment and sealing provides superior hardness characteristics [0127]-[0129] and the sealing process changes the physical properties of the anodized film to improve properties such as corrosion resistance [0009].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising annealing and sealing because Park discloses heat treatment and sealing after anodizing to improve film properties including hardness and corrosion resistance. Regarding the claimed ‘in sequence’ the heat treatment and sealing of Park are performed after anodization. Carrying out introducing the phase change material of Cheng prior to sealing would have been obvious in order to providing a protecting layer with the material within the pores. Moreover, selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP § 2144.04 IV C).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses wherein the metallic surface comprises aluminum (title).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses anodizing aluminum alloy [0001].
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses anodizing with oxalic acid (Table 1). Park discloses anodizing in oxalic acid [0001].
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses anodizing with sulfuric acid (Table 1).
Regarding claims 7-9, Cheng in view of Park disclose the claim method. The intended use of the article as a heat sink as applied to claim 7 or casing, fan, a circuit board cooling device as applied to claim 8 or a casing as applied to claim 9 does not further limit the claimed method. Cheng discloses the method for producing materials that absorb/release thermal energy and performs heat transfer (1. Introduction). Regarding the claimed casing of claims 8-9, while Cheng in view of Park does not specifically address the intended use of a casing for example, producing any number of electronic devices including their casings would have been obvious since Cheng discloses the produce material as a heat transfer device within the field of energy storage materials (1. Introduction) including precision devices (4. Conclusion).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691) and in further view of Bue et al. (“Analysis and Design of Phase Change Thermal Control for Light Emitting Diode (LED) Spacesuit Helmet Lights”, NASA, 2010).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses a phase change material including 1-tetrapropanol (abstract). Cheng does not disclose the claimed phase change material being n-eicosane.
In the same or similar field of anodizing aluminum (page 26) and phase change materials for thermal applications, Bue discloses using n-eicosane (page 20) that achieves desired hot case operating temperatures.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising n-eicosane as a phase change material because Bue discloses the use of n-eicosane as having desired properties in hot case operating temperatures. Further, it would have been obvious to simply substitute one phase change material with another to produce the same or similar predictable result.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691) and in further view of Isaacs et al. (US 2018/0106564).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses a phase change material including 1-tetrapropanol (abstract). Cheng does not disclose the claimed phase change material being n-eicosane.
Isaacs discloses phase change materials for thermal energy storage devices (abstract) including any one of tetradecane, hexadecane, and/or eicosane [0062]. Isaacs also discloses surface treatments including anodizing [0013].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising n-eicosane because Isaacs discloses that phase change materials include n-eicosane. Isaacs discloses that phase change materials allow for the absorption, storage and/or release of energy and may also be configured to utilize convective, conductive and/or radiative heat transfer processes [0045]. It would have been obvious to simply substitute one phase change material with another to produce the same or similar predictable result.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691) and in further view of Sato et al. (US 2011/0192451).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng and Park disclose the claimed invention as applied above. Park discloses heat treatment at 350 ℃ [0085]. The instant specification indicates annealing at 400 ℃ and above to satisfy the claimed melting point [0043]. The temperature of Park is therefore below the melting point of aluminum alloy. Cheng discloses vacuum impregnation of the phase change material (Figure 1).
Cheng in view of Park does not indicate the heat treatment atmosphere therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily look to the art for workable annealing atmospheres and arrive at a reference such as Sato.
Sato discloses in the field of anodizing that annealing may be performed in vacuum or air [0119], [0179].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising annealing in air because Sato discloses that annealing may be performed for an anodized film in air or vacuum.
Regarding claim 18, Cheng discloses anodizing with oxalic acid (Table 1). Park discloses anodizing in oxalic acid [0001].
Regarding claim 19, Cheng discloses anodizing with sulfuric acid (Table 1).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691), in view of Sato et al. (US 2011/0192451) and in further view of Pan et al. (CN 110021695).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses sealing including boiling water sealing [0017].
Cheng in view of Park and Sato fails to disclose the claimed epoxy resin.
Pan discloses in the field of anodized films wherein epoxy resin is used either as a conventional sealant or along with powder for improved sealing [0013], [0092].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising a seal layer comprising epoxy resin because Pan discloses in the field of anodized films wherein epoxy resin is used either as a conventional sealant or along with powder for improved sealing [0013], [0092].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691), in view of Sato et al. (US 2011/0192451) and in further view of Lin et al. (US 2015/0373988).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses sealing including boiling water sealing [0017].
Cheng in view of Park and Sato fails to disclose the claimed silver paint.
Lin discloses in the field of anodized films, silver containing seal agent to improve antimicrobial properties (abstract).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising silver paint as a sealant because Lin discloses that silver containing sealing agent provides improved antimicrobial properties.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691), in view of Sato et al. (US 2011/0192451) and in further view of Bue et al. (“Analysis and Design of Phase Change Thermal Control for Light Emitting Diode (LED) Spacesuit Helmet Lights”, NASA, 2010).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng discloses a phase change material including 1-tetrapropanol (abstract). Cheng does not disclose the claimed phase change material being n-eicosane.
In the same or similar field of anodizing aluminum (page 26) and phase change materials for thermal applications, Bue discloses using n-eicosane (page 20) that achieves desired hot case operating temperatures.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising n-eicosane as a phase change material because Bue discloses the use of n-eicosane as having desired properties in hot case operating temperatures. It would have been obvious to simply substitute one phase change material with another to produce the same or similar predictable result.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (“A novel nano-porous aluminum substrate with anodizing treatment to encapsulate 1-tetrapropanol as composite phase change materials for thermal energy utilization” Chemical Engineering Journal, 404, 2021,124588), in view of Park et al. (KR 20220058691), in view of Sato et al. (US 2011/0192451) and in further view of Isaacs et al. (US 2018/0106564).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng discloses a phase change material including 1-tetrapropanol (abstract). Cheng does not disclose the claimed phase change material being n-eicosane.
Isaacs discloses phase change materials for thermal energy storage devices (abstract) including any one of tetradecane, hexadecane, and/or eicosane [0062]. Isaacs also discloses surface treatments including anodizing [0013].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising n-eicosane because Isaacs discloses that phase change materials including n-eicosane. Isaacs discloses that phase change materials allow for the absorption, storage and/or release of energy and may also be configured to utilize convective, conductive and/or radiative heat transfer processes [0045].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hale et al. “NASA Contractor Report, Phase Change Materials Handbook”, Sept. 1971.
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795