DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 20 in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUNG [US 2023/0164977].
With respect to claim 1, SUNG (fig. 1A-1E) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
an array of vertical transistors each comprising a semiconductor body (121, pp [0033]) extending in a vertical direction;
a plurality of word lines (124, pp [0035]) each extending along a first lateral direction and comprising a plurality of gate structures (124U,124L, pp [0046]) of a row of the array of vertical transistors arranged in the first lateral direction; and
a plurality of bit lines (110, 111, pp [0035]) each extending along a second lateral direction different from the first lateral direction and comprising silicide (111, pp [0040]).
With respect to claim 3, SUNG (fig. 1A-1E) discloses wherein: each bit line comprises a silicide line (111, pp [0040]) having a first thickness in the vertical direction and a metal line (110, pp [0039]) having a second thickness greater than the first thickness in the vertical direction.
With respect to claim 4, SUNG (fig. 1A-1E) discloses wherein: the silicide is a metal silicide (111, pp [0040]) including at least one element from Co, Ti, and Ni.
With respect to claim 5, SUNG (fig. 1A-1E) discloses further comprising: an array of memory cells each comprising: one of the vertical transistors; and a storage unit (130, pp [0035]) coupled with a first end of the semiconductor body of the one of the vertical transistors, wherein a second end of the semiconductor body (121, pp [0033]) of the one of the vertical transistors is coupled with one corresponding bit line (110, 111, pp [0035]).
With respect to claim 6, SUNG (fig. 1D) discloses wherein: each bit line (110, 111, pp [0035]) is coupled with a common region at the second ends of the semiconductor bodies of a pair of vertical transistors.
With respect to claim 7, SUNG (fig. 1K) discloses wherein: a plurality of first spacers (26, pp [0076]) each extending along the first lateral direction between pairs of the vertical transistors.
With respect to claim 8, SUNG (fig. 1K) discloses wherein: the plurality of word lines (124, pp [0035]) are embedded in the plurality of first spacers (26, pp [0076]); and two adjacent word lines are embedded in one same first spacer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUNG [US 2023/0164977] in view of Pola et al [US 2023/0276639].
With respect to claim 1, SUNG does not disclose wherein: each bit line comprises a silicide line having a thickness in the vertical direction in a range between about 10 nm and about 30 nm. However, Pola et al (fig. 5) disclose each bit line comprises a silicide line (501, pp [0085]) having a thickness in the vertical direction in a range between 10 -100 Angstroms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have the thickness range as taught by Pola et al into the device of SUNG in order to reduce the intermixing of the conductor and the electrode (pp [0086]). Moreover, the thickness range would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is aid to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 20, SUNG (fig. 1A-1E) discloses a semiconductor system, comprising:
an array of memory cells each comprising:
a vertical transistor each comprising a semiconductor body (121, pp [0033]) extending in a vertical direction, and
a storage unit (130, pp [0035]) in electrical connection with a first end of the semiconductor body;
a plurality of word lines (124, pp [0035]) each extending along a first lateral direction and comprising a plurality of gate structures (124U,124L, pp [0046]) of a row of vertical transistors arranged in the first lateral direction; and
a plurality of bit lines (110, 111, pp [0035]) each extending along a second lateral direction different from the first lateral direction and comprising silicide (111, pp [0040]).
SUNG does not disclose a memory controller configured to control the array of memory cells through the plurality of word lines and the plurality of bit lines. However, Pola et al (fig. 1) disclose a memory controller (126, pp 0048]) configured to control the array of memory cells through the plurality of word lines (122, pp 0038]) and the plurality of bit lines (122, pp 0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have the memory controller as taught by Pola et al into the device of SUNG in order to send the command to the controller of the partition (122, pp [0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HOAI V PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892