DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 159-161 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 159 recites the limitation "cultured microbiome". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as a cultured microbiome has not been previously recited. Claims 160-161 recite “the cultured microbiome”. These claims depend from claim 157, which depends from claim 148. Neither claim 157 or 148 recites a cultured microbiome.
Claims 160-161 recite “the fecal sample”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as a fecal sample has not been previously recited. These claims depend from claim 157, which depends from claim 148. Neither claim 157 or 148 recites a fecal sample.
As it is not clear exactly what the recited elements “cultured microbiome” and “fecal sample” are referring to, it is unclear how to interpret these elements in the claims. How exactly do these elements fit into the method claims? Is the cultured microbiome the resulting product? An input product that is further cultured? Likewise is the fecal sample an input product or the product that is a result of the co-culturing?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 148-158 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Lab Chip, 2012, cited in IDS filed on July 25, 2023) in view of Maier et al. (Nutrients, 2014).
The claims are directed to a method of culturing obligate anaerobes and parenchyma cells in a microfluidic device such that at least a portion of the obligate anaerobes and a portion of the parenchyma cells are in direct contact.
Kim et al. teaches a human gut-on-a-chip, an in vitro living cell-based model of the intestine that mimics the human gut. (entire doc, esp. abstract). The device has two microfluidic channels separated by a porous flexible membrane coated with extracellular matrix cells (ECM) and lined with human intestinal epithelial (Caco-2) cells; Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG is co-cultured on the luminal side of the cultured epithelium. (entire doc, abstract).
Kim et al. teaches culturing an anaerobe (Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG) in direct contact with parenchyma cells (human intestinal epithelial) in a microfluidic device. Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG is a facultative anaerobe microbe, not an obligate anaerobe, as the claims require.
Maier et al. teach that the model taught by Kim et al. could be modified to include the dual-environment conditions required to study the effects of obligate anaerobic bacteria on intestinal function, as dual-environment co-culture models have been developed and can be adapted. (pg. 62, 1st full para.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the gut-on-a-chip taught by Kim et al. to incorporate dual-environment conditions such that obligate anerobic bacteria could be directly cultured on the intestinal epithelial cells in place of or in addition to the Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Incorporating this modification (as taught by Maier et al.) would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Maier et al. teaches exactly this modification.
With respect to claim 149, Kim et al. teach that Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG was originally isolated from the human gut (“contents of a cavity”). (pg. 2168, 2nd col., “Microbial studies”).
With respect to claim 150, Kim et al. teach human intestinal epithelial (Caco-2) cells. (abstract).
With respect to claim 151, Maier et al. teach that the dual-environment co-culture models will enable culturing of obligate anaerobic intestinal bacteria, which are abundant but our understanding of them remains limited, at least partly due to our inability to co-culture these bacteria. (Abstract). It would be obvious to, in addition to investigating the effects of the unstudied majority of intestinal microorganisms, to also identify some of the unstudied intestinal microorganisms, as many of them are unstudied because they are also currently unknown. (Abstract, pg. 46-47, “The Human Intestinal Microbiota”).
With respect to claim 152, Kim et al. teach flowing media at a flow rate. (Abstract).
With respect to claim 153, Kim et al. teach the microfluidic device has a second microchannel positioned below a first microchannel and separated by a membrane. (Abstract)
With respect to claim 154, Maier et al. teach dual-environment co-culture models where oxygenated medium flows through a second microchannel from external oxygenated medium reservoir. (Pg. 61, Fig. 2B).
With respect to claims 156-158, Kim et al. teach that culturing happens for greater than a week. (Abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 148-158 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,807,871 (the ‘871 patent) in view of Kim et al. (Lab Chip, 2012, cited in IDS filed on July 25, 2023) in view of Maier et al. (Nutrients, 2014).
The ‘871 patent teaches a method for establishing a stable complex community of gut commensal microbes in vitro that including culturing intestinal epithelium and microbiota from a fecal sample with anaerobic and aerobic bacteria that are in direct and indirect contact with the epithelium, but does not teach the claimed microfluidic device.
Kim et al. teaches a human gut-on-a-chip, an in vitro living cell-based model of the intestine that mimics the human gut. (entire doc, esp. abstract). The device has two microfluidic channels separated by a porous flexible membrane coated with extracellular matrix cells (ECM) and lined with human intestinal epithelial (Caco-2) cells; Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG is co-cultured on the luminal side of the cultured epithelium. (entire doc, abstract).
Maier et al. teach that the model taught by Kim et al. could be modified to include the dual-environment conditions required to study the effects of obligate anaerobic bacteria on intestinal function, as dual-environment co-culture models have been developed and can be adapted. (pg. 62, 1st full para.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have modified the method taught by the ‘871 patent to include the gut-on-a-chip taught by Kim et al. with the dual-environment conditions such that obligate anerobic bacteria could be directly cultured on the intestinal epithelial cells in place of or in addition to the Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG (as taught by Maier et al.) because it would have been obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Incorporating these modification (as taught by Kim et al. and Maier et al.) would have led to predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success because Kim et al. teaches the claimed microfluidic device and Maier et al. teaches exactly the modifications for enabling dual-environment co-culture to enable culturing of gut commensal microbes in vitro.
With respect to claim 149, Kim et al. teach that Lactobacillus rhamnosus GG was originally isolated from the human gut (“contents of a cavity”). (pg. 2168, 2nd col., “Microbial studies”).
With respect to claim 150, Kim et al. teach human intestinal epithelial (Caco-2) cells. (abstract).
With respect to claim 151, Maier et al. teach that the dual-environment co-culture models will enable culturing of obligate anaerobic intestinal bacteria, which are abundant but our understanding of them remains limited, at least partly due to our inability to co-culture these bacteria. (Abstract). It would be obvious to, in addition to investigating the effects of the unstudied majority of intestinal microorganisms, to also identify some of the unstudied intestinal microorganisms, as many of them are unstudied because they are also currently unknown. (Abstract, pg. 46-47, “The Human Intestinal Microbiota”).
With respect to claim 152, Kim et al. teach flowing media at a flow rate. (Abstract).
With respect to claim 153, Kim et al. teach the microfluidic device has a second microchannel positioned below a first microchannel and separated by a membrane. (Abstract)
With respect to claim 154, Maier et al. teach dual-environment co-culture models where oxygenated medium flows through a second microchannel from external oxygenated medium reservoir. (Pg. 61, Fig. 2B).
With respect to claims 156-158, Kim et al. teach that culturing happens for greater than a week. (Abstract).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TERESA E KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634