Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 26, 2023 was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “10” has been used to designate a mesa in figures 2A, 7A, 8, reference character “26” has been used to designate an electrically insulating film in figures 2A, 7A and 8, reference character “27” has been used to designate an opening of the electrically insulating film in figures 2A, 7A, 8, and reference character “40” has been used to designate a contact portion in figures 2A, 7A, and 8. The examiner notes that the mesa, electrically insulating film, opening of the electrically insulating film, and contact portion in figures 2A and 7A have different shapes from the mesa, electrically insulating film, opening of the electrically insulating film, and contact portion in figure 8, and thus, the mesas, the electrically insulating films, the openings of the electrically insulating films, and the contact portions are different parts. Additionally, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “30” has been used to designate an electrode in figures 2A-2B, 7A-7B, and 9-10B and reference character “34” has been used to designate a bump in figures 2A-2B, 7A-7B, and 9-10B. The examiner first notes the electrode 30 includes the bump 34. The examiner next notes that the bump in figures 2A-2B and 7A-7B has a different shape from the bump in figures 9-10B, and thus, the bumps and the electrodes including the bumps are different parts. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: figure 8 does not include reference characters 30 and 32 referred to in paragraph 48 line 3. The examiner notes that if figure 8 were amended to include reference characters 30 and 32, these reference characters would refer to different parts in figures 2A, 7A and figure 8 because the electrode and metal layer would have different shapes. Additionally, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: figure 2A does not include reference character R1 referred to in paragraph 42 line 5, paragraph 51 lines 1-2 and 4-5, paragraph 52 lines 4, paragraph 54 line 4, reference character R2 referred to in paragraph 52 line 3, reference character R3 referred to in paragraph 54 lines 3 and 5-6. Further, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: figure 9 does not include reference character R1 referred to in paragraph 63 line 2, paragraph 64 line 2 and paragraph 65 line 2 and reference character R2 referred to in paragraph 63 line 3, paragraph 64 line 3, and paragraph 65 line 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 are indefinite because the relationship between the electrodes in the plurality of electrodes and the semiconductor layer is unclear. Claim 1 recites the limitations “wherein a contact portion has a periphery forming a closed curved shape, the contact portion being a portion at which the plurality of electrodes and the semiconductor layer are in contact with each other,” in page 14 lines 11-13. It is unclear how the plurality of electrodes in contact with the semiconductor layer forms a closed curved shape because each electrode in the plurality of electrodes separately contacts the semiconductor layer, and thus, forms a separate closed curve shape. For examination purposes these limitations will be interpretated as a contact portion between each electrode in the plurality of electrodes and the semiconductor layer with each contact portion having a periphery forming a closed curved shape and with each electrode in the plurality of electrodes being in contact with the semiconductor layer. Further, for examination purposes, the contact portion in claims 2-3 and 6 will be interpretated to refer to each contact portion.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected to for containing the same limitations because claims 2-9 depend from claim 1.
Claim 4 is indefinite because the relationship between the electrically insulating film covering the mesas and the plurality of mesa is unclear. Claim 4 recites the limitations “wherein the electrically insulating film has an opening above the mesas, wherein the surface of the semiconductor layer is exposed through the opening, wherein the electrodes are in contact with the surface exposed through the opening, and wherein a periphery of the opening forms the closed curved shape,” in page 14 lines 24-27. It is unclear how the electrically insulating film has an opening above the plurality of mesas arranged in the two dimensional array while still covering the plurality of mesas arranged in the two dimensional array. For example, a mesa in the center of a 3x3 array would be completely uncovered by the electrically insulating film. For examination purposes claim 4 will be interpreted as follows: the electrically insulating film has an opening above each mesa in the plurality of mesas, the surface of the semiconductor layer is exposed through the openings, the electrodes are in contact with the surface exposed through the openings, and peripheries of the openings form the closed curved shapes.
Claim 10 is indefinite because the relationship between the plurality of mesas, the electrode, and the semiconductor layer is unclear. Claim 10 recites the limitations “forming an electrode on the plurality of mesas, the electrode being electrically connected to the semiconductor layer,” in page 16 lines 1-2, “wherein the electrode is provided on a surface of the semiconductor layer,” in page 16 line 4, and “wherein a periphery of a contact portion forms a closed curved shape, the contact portion being a portion at which the electrode and the semiconductor layer are in contact with each other” in page 16 lines 5-6. First, it is unclear how an electrode formed on a plurality of mesas that are formed on a semiconductor layer is in contact with the semiconductor layer such that the electrode is in contact with the semiconductor layer to form a contact portion. Next, it is unclear how the electrode in contact with the semiconductor layer would form a closed curved shape because the electrode is on each mesa in the plurality of mesa and the contact between the electrode and each mesa would form a separate closed curve shape. For examination purposes these limitations will be interpretated as, forming an electrode on each mesa in the plurality of mesas, each electrode being electrically connected to the semiconductor layer, each electrode is provided on a surface of the semiconductor layer, and a contact portion between each electrode and the semiconductor layer with each contact portion having a periphery forming a closed curved shape and with each electrode being in contact with the semiconductor layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iguchi (US 2021/0066521).
Regarding Claim 1:
Iguchi discloses a light receiving device comprising:
a semiconductor layer (n-type contact layer, light receiving layer, p-type wide gap layer, p-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 21, 22, 42, 43 and paragraph 53); and
at least one electrode (p-electrode, See figs. 1 and 14-15, ref. no. 62, and paragraph 56) provided on a surface of the semiconductor layer and electrically connected to the semiconductor layer (p-electrode is formed on the p-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraph 56),
wherein a plurality of mesas (See fig. 14, ref. no. 70, fig. 15, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 74 and 81) are formed from the semiconductor layer,
wherein the plurality of mesas are arranged in a two-dimensional array (Mesas serving as pixels in two dimensional array, See fig. 15, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 74 and 81),
wherein the at least one electrode includes a plurality of electrodes (p-electrode, See fig. 15, ref. no. 62, paragraphs 74 and 81), and each of the plurality of mesas is provided with a corresponding one of the plurality of electrodes (a p-electrode is formed on each of the mesas, See figs. 1, 14-15, ref. no. 62), and
wherein a contact portion has a periphery forming a closed curved shape (the p-electrode has a circular bottom surface in contact with the p-type contact layer, See figs. 1, 11-15, ref. nos. 43, 62, paragraphs 51 and 68. The examiner notes that figures 1 and 11-15 viewed together disclose that the p-electrode has a circular bottom surface.), the contact portion being a portion at which the plurality of electrodes and the semiconductor layer are in contact with each other (See figs. 1, 11-15, ref. nos. 43, 62).
Regarding Claim 2:
Iguchi discloses wherein half or more of the periphery of the contact portion is formed of a curved line (The circular bottom surface of the p-electrode is a circle, See figs. 1, 11-15, ref. nos. 43, 62. The examiner notes that the radius of a circle is half the width of the circle).
Regarding Claim 4:
Iguchi discloses an electrically insulating film (passivation film of SiN, See fig. 1 and 14, ref. no. 50, and paragraphs 57 and 76) covering the mesas, wherein the electrically insulating film has an opening (Opening in the passivation film where the p-electrode is formed, See fig. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 50, 62) above the mesas, wherein the surface of the semiconductor layer is exposed through the opening (p-type contact layer is exposed at the bottom of the opening in the passivation film, See fig. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 43, 50 and paragraph 76), wherein the electrodes are in contact with the surface exposed through the opening (p-electrode is formed on the p-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraph 56), and wherein a periphery of the opening forms the closed curved shape (the opening in the passivation film has a cylindrical shape, See figs. 1, 11-15, ref. nos. 43, 62, paragraphs 51 and 68. The examiner notes that figures 1 and 11-15 viewed together disclose that the opening in the passivation film has a cylindrical shape.).
Regarding Claim 6:
Iguchi discloses wherein a width of each of the mesas is larger than a width of the contact portion (mesas are shown having a width larger than the diameter of the circular bottom surface of the p-electrode, See fig. 14, ref. nos. 62, 70), and wherein a distance from the periphery of the contact portion to a periphery of each of the mesas is 10µm or less (the groove between the mesas is approximately 5µm, the distance between the periphery of the circular bottom surface of the p-electrode and the periphery of the mesa is shown as a smaller distance than the groove between the mesas, thus the distance between the periphery of the circular bottom surface of the p-electrode and the periphery of the mesa is less than approximately 5µm, See fig. 9 ref. nos. 43, 71, fig. 14, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraph 74).
Regarding Claim 7:
Iguchi discloses wherein each of the electrodes includes a metal layer ( p-electrodes are made of TiPtAu, See paragraph 57) and a bump (Bump, See figs. 14-15 ref. no. 65 and paragraph 79), wherein each of the metal layers is in contact with the surface of the semiconductor layer (p-electrode is formed on the p-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraph 56), and wherein each of the bumps is disposed on a surface of a corresponding one of the metal layers (Bumps are formed on the p-electrodes, See figs. 14-15, ref. nos. 62, 65, and paragraph 79), the surface being opposite to another surface of the metal layer facing the semiconductor layer (See fig. 14-15, ref. nos. 62 and 65).
Regarding Claim 8:
Iguchi discloses wherein a distance from a periphery of each of the bumps to a periphery of a corresponding one of the mesas is 5 µm or less (the groove between the mesas is approximately 5µm, the distance between the periphery of a bump and the periphery of a mesa is shown as a smaller distance than the groove between the mesas, thus the distance between the periphery of the bump and the periphery of a mesa is less than approximately 5µm, See fig. 9 ref. nos. 43, 71, fig. 14, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraph 74).
Regarding Claim 9:
Iguchi discloses wherein the semiconductor layer includes a first semiconductor layer (n-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. no. 21 and paragraph 53), a light receiving layer (Light receiving layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. no. 22 and paragraph 53), a second semiconductor layer (p-type wide gap layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. no. 42 and paragraphs 55-56), and a third semiconductor layer (p-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. no. 43 and paragraph 56) sequentially stacked on top of one another (See figs. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 21, 22, 42, and 43), wherein the first semiconductor layer has a first conductivity-type (n-type, See paragraph 53), wherein the second semiconductor layer and the third semiconductor layer each have a second conductivity-type (p-type, See paragraphs 55-56) different from the first conductivity-type, and wherein the electrodes are in contact with a surface of the third semiconductor layer at the contact portion (p-electrode is formed on the p-type contact layer, See figs. 1 and 14, ref. nos. 43 and 62).
Regarding Claim 10:
Iguchi discloses a method of manufacturing a light receiving device, the method comprising:
forming a plurality of mesas (Etching p-type contact layer, p-type wide gap layer, and n-type wide gap layer to form first grooves, See figs. 7-8, ref. nos. 41, 42, and 43, fig. 14, ref. no. 70, fig. 15, ref. no. 100, and paragraphs 73-74) on a semiconductor layer (P-type contact layer, P-type wide gap layer, and N-type wide gap layer, See figs. 7-8, ref. nos. 41, 42, and 43); and
forming an electrode (p-electrode, See fig. 11, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraphs 76-77) on the plurality of mesas, the electrode being electrically connected to the semiconductor layer (p-electrode is formed on the p-type contact layer, See fig. 11, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraphs 76-77),
wherein the plurality of mesas are arranged in a two-dimensional array (Mesas serving as pixels in two dimensional array, See fig. 14, ref. no. 70, fig. 15, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 74 and 81),
wherein the electrode is provided on a surface of the semiconductor layer (p-electrode is formed on the p-type contact layer, See fig. 11, ref. nos. 43, 62, and paragraphs 76-77), and
wherein a periphery of a contact portion forms a closed curved shape (the p-electrode has a circular bottom surface in contact with the p-type contact layer, See figs. 1, 11-15, ref. nos. 43, 62, paragraphs 51 and 68. The examiner notes that figures 1 and 11-15 viewed together disclose that the p-electrode has a circular bottom surface.), the contact portion being a portion at which the electrode and the semiconductor layer are in contact with each other (See figs. 1, 11-14, ref. nos. 43, 62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi (US 2021/0066521) in view of Takahisa et al. (JP 2017183633A)
Regarding Claim 3:
Iguchi discloses the above stated light receiving device. Iguchi further discloses a radius of curvature of the periphery of the contact portion is half of a width of the contact portion or less (The circular bottom surface of the p-electrode is a circle, See figs. 1, 11-15, ref. nos. 43, 62. The examiner notes that the radius of a circle is half the width of the circle.)
Iguchi does not disclose a radius of curvature of the periphery of the contact portion is 10 µm or more.
Takahisa discloses a radius of curvature of the periphery of the contact portion is 10 µm or more (the light receiving device has a mesa portion whose resistance is based on the width, See figs. 1-2B, ref. nos. 10, 100, and paragraph 24 of English Language Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light receiving device of Iguchi to include a radius of curvature of the periphery of the contact portion is 10 µm or more as taught by Takahisa in order to reduce the resistances of the mesa of the light receiving device.
Regarding Claim 5:
Iguchi discloses the above stated light receiving device.
Iguchi does not disclose wherein a shape of each of the mesas in plan view includes a curved line, and wherein a radius of curvature of the curved line of each of the mesas is 5 µm or more.
Takahisa discloses wherein a shape of each of the mesas in plan view includes a curved line (the mesa portion of the light receiving device has a circular shape, See figs. 1-2B, ref. nos. 10, 100, and paragraph 24), and wherein a radius of curvature of the curved line of each of the mesas is 5 µm or more (the resistance of mesa portion is based on the width of the mesa portion of the light receiving device, See paragraph 24 of English Language Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light receiving device of Iguchi to include a wherein a shape of each of the mesas in plan view includes a curved line and wherein a radius of curvature of the curved line of each of the mesas is 5 µm or more as taught by Takahisa in order to reduce the resistances of the mesas of the light receiving device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0242270 to Lim et al discloses electrodes having a circular shape to prevent an electric field from concentrating on sharp portions. See figs. 2C, 2D, and paragraph 39.
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899