DETAILED ACTION
1. This is the initial office action for application 18/226,508, which is a continuation of US Patent Application 17/400,483 filed on 08/21/2021. Claims 1-6, and 21-34 are considered. Claims 7-20 are canceled.
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I directed to claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Newly submitted claims 21-34 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claims 21-27 and 28-34 are directed to “alignment nozzle rig” which is classified in B05B 15/68, which is distinct from the "alignment nozzle jig" as recited in the original claims.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits.
Accordingly, claims 21-34 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Interpretation
3. Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 recites the term, “endoscope”. The recited term is given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as an imaging device or an optical device configured to visually observe or capture images of a target region to satisfy the claimed limitation(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 20040231593 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Edwards teaches an apparatus comprised of a PMD head support 18 (alignment nozzle block), alignment component 20 (endoscope holder) [para 58; fig 1]. The alignment component 20 is attached below PMD head support 18 as shown in fig 1.
The apparatus also includes alignment marks such as fiducial marks that corresponds to the claimed ‘alignment mark.’ The fiducial marks 48 are etched on substrate 38, which is connected (coupled) to PMD head support 18 through PMD system 10 [para 58-59; fig 1]. The fiducial marks 48 are disposed at a side facing opposite of PMD head support 18 [fig 1].
Edwards teaches alignment component 20 (endoscope holder) is fixedly attached to the PMD head support 18 (alignment nozzle block). Edwards do not specifically teach the endoscope holder is removably secured to the alignment nozzle block. Removable and fixed attachment are well known techniques to secure components and are alternatives to each other and one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized it. Such modifications would possibly done for maintenance, inspection, or assembling while preserving the purpose.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to removably attach an alignment component 20 to the PMD head support for maintenance, inspection, or assembling. (MPEP 2144.04.V.C)
Regarding Claim 2: Edwards teaches that the alignment component 20 (endoscope holder) comprises a camera (endoscope).
Regarding Claim 3: Edwards teaches a computer system 100 with a screen that controls the whole PMD system 10 and its components such as the alignment component 20 [para 91]. The computer system 100 is physically connected to PMD system and its components.
Regarding Claim 4: Edwards teaches the alignment component 20 (endoscope holder) comprises a camera (endoscope). One having ordinary skill in the art would know that a camera includes a lens for receiving and focusing image information. Because the camera is included in the alignment component 20, the lens of the camera likewise is disposed within the alignment component 20.
5. Alternatively, claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 20040231593 A1) and in view of Eto (US 20180261481 A1).
Regarding Claim 4 and 5: Edwards teaches an apparatus, however, does not teach the specific limitations of claim 4 and 5.
Eto teaches an apparatus that utilizes a fiber camera 105 (endoscope) to illuminate an electrode 100. A collimation lens 85 (lens) is disposed between fiber camera 105 and transmission window 87 (alignment mark) [para 164; fig 10B, fig 10C].
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fiber camera configuration into the invention of Edwards because Eto teaches that the collimation lens assists in guiding reflected light into the fiber camera which generates image of substrate/electrode [para 166 for motivation].
Regarding Claim 6: Edwards teaches an apparatus, however, does not teach the specific limitations of claim 6.
Eto teaches fiber camera 105 generates images that viewed in display 106, which means that display 106 is connected to fiber camera 105. [para 166]
Conclusion
/WASIQUL HAQ/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717