DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A and Species 1 in the reply filed on 8 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all claims read on the various species, and therefore the restriction is not proper according to MPEP 806.04(f). This is not found persuasive because there is a serious examination burden as expressed in the office action dated 8 October 2025. Reasons were given explaining the burden, including prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species. Furthermore, section 806.04(f) of the MPEP states restriction between mutually exclusive species, as is the case in the instant application, is proper. Further guidance in 806.04(f) regarding mutually exclusive claims does not apply to the instant application, because the full set of claims from 26 July 2023 reads on all species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 26 July 2023 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 20200105583 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Wang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (50 [0034] and Figs. 1 and 26) extending a first direction (X-direction in annotated Fig. 26) and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Y-direction in annotated Fig. 26); active patterns positioned on the substrate (Fins 52 [0034] and Fig. 26); a first isolation layer (Combination of 56 and 154 [0078], First in annotated Fig. 26) and a second isolation layer (Combination of 56 and 154 [0078], Second in annotated Fig. 26) positioned between the active patterns (Fig. 26); a first protection liner positioned on the first isolation layer (164 [0082] and First in annotated Fig. 26); a second protection liner positioned on the second isolation layer (164 [0082] and Second in annotated Fig. 26); channel patterns positioned on the active patterns (Exposed region of 52 in 90 [0071] and Fig. 20B, and region overlapped by 66 in Fig. 1 [0057]); source/drain patterns positioned on both sides of the channel patterns (82 [0071] and Fig. 1); and a first gate electrode positioned above the first protection liner and the second protection liner (170 [0086] and Fig. 26 replaced by metal gate [0087]), and surrounding the channel patterns (70 [0057] and Fig. 1), wherein the first isolation layer has a first width in the second direction (W1 in annotated Fig. 26), the second isolation layer has a second width (W2 in annotated Fig. 26), in the second direction, wider than the first width (W2 > W1 as indicated by section cut lines in Fig. 26), and a first height (H1) from the substrate to the first protection liner is greater than a second height (H2) from the substrate to the second protection liner (H1 > H2 in annotated Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 2 – Wang discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: a first recess disposed on the upper surface of the first isolation layer (D1 in annotated Fig. 26); and a second recess disposed on the upper surface of the second isolation layer (D2 in annotated Fig. 26), wherein the first protection liner covers the bottom surface and the side surface of the first recess (164 marked First in annotated Fig. 26), and the second protection liner covers the bottom surface and the side surface of the second recess (164 marked Second in annotated Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 3 – Wang discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the depth of the second recess is greater than the depth of the first recess (D2>D1 in annotated Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 8 – Wang discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein in the second direction, the width of the second protection liner is greater than the width of the first protection liner (W2 > W1, annotated Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 9 – Wang discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first protection liner and the second protection liner include a silicon nitride (64 [0053]).
Regarding Claim 13 – Wang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (50 [0034] and Figs. 1 and 26) extending a first direction (X-direction in annotated Fig. 26) and a second direction (Y-direction in annotated Fig. 26) perpendicular to the first direction (Annotated Fig. 26); active patterns positioned on the substrate (Fins 52 [0034] and Fig. 26); isolation layers positioned between the active patterns (Combination of 56 and 154 [0078] between 52 in Fig. 26); a protection layer positioned on the isolation layer (164 [0082] and Fig. 26); channel patterns positioned on the active patterns (Exposed region of 52 in 90 [0071] and Fig. 20B, and region overlapped by 66 in Fig. 1 [0057]); source/drain patterns positioned on both sides of the channel patterns (82 [0071] and Fig. 1); and a first gate electrode positioned on the active patterns and the protection layer (170 [0086] and Fig. 26 replaced by metal gate [0087]), and surrounding the channel patterns (70 [0057] and Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 14 – Wang discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the isolation layers include a first isolation layer having a first width and a second isolation layer having a second width wider than the first width in the second direction (W2 > W1 as indicated by section cut lines in Fig. 26), the protection layer includes a first protection layer positioned on the first isolation layer and a second protection layer positioned on the second isolation layer (164 [0082], First and Second in annotated Fig. 26), and the depth of the second protection layer is greater than the depth of the first protection layer (D2 > D1 in annotated Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 15 – Wang discloses the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the width of the second protection layer is greater than the width of the first protection layer in the second direction (W2 > W1, annotated Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 18 – Wang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (50 [0034] and Figs. 1 and 26) extending a first direction (X-direction in annotated Fig. 26) and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Y-direction in annotated Fig. 26); active patterns positioned on the substrate (Fins 52 [0034] and Fig. 26); a first isolation layer and a second isolation layer positioned between the active patterns (Combination of 56 and 154 [0078] between 52, First and Second in Fig. 26); a first recess disposed in the upper surface of the first isolation layer (D1 in annotated Fig. 26); a second recess disposed in the upper surface of the second isolation layer (D2 in annotated Fig. 26); a first protection liner covering the bottom surface of the first recess (164 [0082] and First in annotated Fig. 26); a second protection liner covering the bottom surface of the second recess (164 [0082] and Second in annotated Fig. 26); channel patterns positioned on the active patterns (Exposed region of 52 in 90 [0071] and Fig. 20B); source/drain patterns positioned on both sides of the channel patterns (82 [0071] and Fig. 1); and a first gate electrode positioned above the first protection liner and the second protection liner (170 [0086] and Fig. 26 replaced by metal gate [0087]), and surrounding the channel patterns (70 [0057] and Fig. 1), wherein the first isolation layer has a first width in the second direction (W1 in annotated Fig. 26), the second isolation layer has a second width, in the second direction (W2 in annotated Fig. 26), wider than the first width (W2 > W1 as indicated by section cut lines in Fig. 26) and the depth of the second recess is greater than the depth of the first recess (D2 > D1 in annotated Fig. 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20200105583 A1, hereinafter “Wang”), in view of Glass et al (US 20180248015 A1, hereinafter “Glass”).
Regarding Claim 4 – Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Wang fails to disclose a first protection insulation layer is positioned on the first protection liner within the first recess, and a second protection insulation layer is positioned on the second protection liner within the second recess.
However, Glass discloses a first protection insulation layer (222 [0026] and First in annotated Fig. 2K’) is positioned on the first protection liner (260’ [0028] and First in annotated Fig. 2K’) within the first recess, and a second protection insulation layer (222 [0026] and Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) is positioned on the second protection liner (260’ [0028] and Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) within the second recess.
Glass discloses an analogous transistor structure to Wang. Glass teaches a protection liner under a protection insulation layer in the isolation structure for the benefit of reducing sub-channel interface traps (Glass [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Glass to place a protection liner under the protection insulation layer in the isolation structure for the benefit of reducing sub-channel interface traps.
Regarding Claim 5 – Wang modified by Glass discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Wang and Glass further discloses in the second direction, the width of the second protection insulation layer is wider than the width of the first protection insulation layer (W2 > W1 as indicated by section cut lines in Wang Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 6 – Wang modified by Glass discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Wang and Glass further discloses the depth of the second protection insulation layer is greater than the depth of the first protection insulation layer (D2 > D1 in annotated Wang Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 7 – Wang modified by Glass discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Wang and Glass further implicitly discloses etch selectivity of the first protection insulation layer (222 may be same material as 220, Glass [0026], and 220 may be silicon dioxide, Glass [0020]) and the first protection liner (260 may be silicon nitride, Glass [0028]) are different (Silicon dioxide is known to have high etch selectivity relative to silicon nitride to one of ordinary skill in the art in a wide array of wet and dry chemistries and processes. See MPEP 2144.01.).
Regarding Claim 16 – Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 14.
Wang fails to disclose the first protection layer includes a first protection liner disposed on the upper surface of the first isolation layer and a first protection insulation layer positioned on the first protection liner, and the second protection layer includes a second protection liner disposed on the upper surface of the second isolation layer and a second protection insulation layer positioned on the second protection liner.
However, Glass discloses the first protection layer includes a first protection liner (260’ [0028] at First in annotated Fig. 2K’) disposed on the upper surface of the first isolation layer (220 [0033] at First in annotated Fig. 2K’) and a first protection insulation layer (222 [0026] at First in annotated Fig. 2K’) positioned on the first protection liner, and the second protection layer includes a second protection liner (260’ [0028] at Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) disposed on the upper surface of the second isolation layer (220 [0033] at Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) and a second protection insulation layer (222 [0026] at Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) positioned on the second protection liner.
Glass discloses an analogous transistor structure to Wang. Glass teaches a protection liner under a protection insulation layer in the isolation structure for the benefit of reducing sub-channel interface traps (Glass [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Glass to place a protection liner under the protection insulation layer in the isolation structure for the benefit of reducing sub-channel interface traps.
Regarding Claim 17 – Wang modified by Glass discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
The combination of Wang and Glass further discloses the width of the second protection liner is wider than the width of the first protection liner in the second direction (W2 > W1 as indicated by section cut lines in Wang Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 19 – Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang fails to disclose a first protection insulation layer is positioned on the first protection liner within the first recess, and a second protection insulation layer is positioned on the second protection liner within the second recess.
However, Glass discloses a first protection insulation layer (222 [0026] and First in annotated Fig. 2K’) is positioned on the first protection liner (260’ [0028] and First in annotated Fig. 2K’) within the first recess, and a second protection insulation layer (222 [0026] and Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) is positioned on the second protection liner (260’ [0028] and Second in annotated Fig. 2K’) within the second recess.
Glass discloses an analogous transistor structure to Wang. Glass teaches a protection liner under a protection insulation layer in the isolation structure for the benefit of reducing sub-channel interface traps (Glass [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Glass to place a protection liner under the protection insulation layer in the isolation structure for the benefit of reducing sub-channel interface traps.
Regarding Claim 20 – Wang modified by Glass discloses all the limitations of claim 19.
The combination of Wang and Glass further discloses the depth of the second protection insulation layer is greater than the depth of the first protection insulation layer (D2 > D1 in annotated Fig. 26).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20200105583 A1, hereinafter “Wang”), in view of Bayati et al (US 20240105800 A1, hereinafter “Bayati”).
Regarding Claim 10 – Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Wang fails to disclose a second gate electrode is spaced apart from the first gate electrode and positioned on the second protection liner; and a gate separation structure is positioned between the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode.
However, Bayati discloses a second gate electrode (118b, Bayati [0036] and Fig. 1A) is spaced apart from the first gate electrode (118a, Bayati [0036] and Fig. 1A) and positioned on the second protection liner (Wang 164 [0082] in place of Bayati 106 [0030]); and a gate separation structure (120, Bayati [0035] and Fig. 1A) is positioned between the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode (Bayati Fig. 1A).
Bayati discloses an analogous transistor structure to Wang. Bayati teaches placing a gate separation structure for the benefit of isolating adjacent transistors (Bayati [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a gate separation structure for the benefit of isolating adjacent transistors.
Regarding Claim 11 – Wang modified by Bayati discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
The combination of Wang and Bayati further discloses the gate separation structure is positioned on the second protection liner (Wang Second 164 in Fig. 26 in place of Bayati 106 in Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 12 – Wang modified by Bayati discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
The combination of Wang and Bayati further discloses a gate insulating layer surrounding the channel patterns and positioned between the channel patterns and the first gate electrode (Wang Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US-20060216897-A1, [0084] regarding etch selectivity
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898