DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 11 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mori (US20140113185) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on November 18th, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Mori discloses a battery cell (battery, [0029]), comprising:
A first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal with opposite polarities (positive electrode terminal-28 acts as first electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal acts as second electrode terminal, [0067]);
An electrode assembly comprising a first tab and a second tab with opposite polarities, the first tab and the second tab being located at the same end of the electrode assembly (positive electrode part-12 acts as first tab, negative electrode part-14 acts as second tab, [0066]); and
An adapter comprising a first adapter portion (current collector-32 acts as first adapter, [0067]) and a second adapter portion (current collector-34 acts as second adapter, [0067]), the first adapter portion being used to connect the first tab and the first electrode terminal, and the second adapter portion being used to connect the second tab and the second electrode terminal (Fig. 1, [0067]);
Wherein the adapter is further provided with a first insulating portion, the first insulating portion is used to the connect the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion, and the first insulating portion is located between the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion to prevent electrical connection between the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion (insulating material formed into the base part-20 and sealing plate-18, Fig. 1, [0067]).
Regarding Claim 2, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori further discloses wherein the length direction of the adapter, the first insulating portion is continuously arranged between the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion (insulating material formed into base part-20 and sealing plate-18, base part-20 is arranged between first adaptor portion and second adapter portion, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori further discloses wherein the first insulating portion is made of a flexible material (insulating synthetic resin is used for insulating material, [108]), and the adapter is shaped by bending (current collectors-32&34 are created with bending shapes, [0148]).
Regarding Claim 6, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori further discloses wherein in the thickness direction of the adapter, the first insulating portion protrudes form surfaces of the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion to form a first protruding part (base body-20 formed of insulating material has protruding portion from surfaces of the current collectors-32&34, [0066]).
Regarding Claim 7, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori discloses wherein in the length direction of the adaptor, the first insulting portion is arranged at one end of the adaptor, the first adaptor portion and the second adaptor portion have a gap at the other end of the adapter, and the adapter is shaped by bending so that the first protruding part is inserted into the other gap (isolation distance-16 acts as gap that separator first adaptor portion and second adaptor portion, [0066], insulation ring disposed around positive electrode part-12 and negative electrode part-14, [0114], Fig. 2, current collector plates-32&34 are bent into their respective sections on either side of the gap, Fig. 2, [0071]).
Regarding Claim 9, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori discloses wherein a spacing space is arranged between the first ab and the second tab, the first insulating portion protrudes toward the spacing space to form a second protruding part, and at least part of the second protruding part, and at least part of the second protruding part is located in the spacing space (isolation gap-16 acts as spacing space, positive electrode part-12 and negative electrode part-14 are spaced apart along the isolation gap, [0066], Fig. 2, notches-44 form recesses that create first and second protruding parts, Fig. 2, projecting bars-42 also act as second protruding parts, [0071]).
Regarding Claim 11, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori further discloses wherein the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal are located at the same end of the battery cell (Fig. 2), the battery cell further comprises a second insulating portion, the second insulating portion is used to connect the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal, and the second insulting portion is located between the first electrode terminal and second electrode terminal to prevent electrical connection between the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal (sealing plate-18 is comprised of two parts, base part-20 and sealing part-22, [0066], where base part-20 is located between the electrode terminals and can be interpreted to be the second insulating part, and the sealing part-22 can be interpreted to be the first insulating part, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori further discloses wherein the battery cell according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above); and a box body used to accommodate the battery cell (packaging case-8, [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US20140113185).
Regarding Claim 8, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori does not directly disclose wherein the thickness direction of the adapter, the height of the first protruding part is greater than or equal to a maximum thickness of the first adapter portion or the second adaptor portion.
Mori discloses wherein the thickness of the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal can range from 0.5 mm to 5mm ([0117]), wherein the thickness of the current collector plates can range form 0.5 mm to 5 mm ([0160]). Mori further discloses wherein the distance between the battery element and sealing plate is as small as possible ([0160]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Mori to have wherein the thickness direction of the adapter, the height of the first protruding part is greater than or equal to a maximum thickness of the first adapter portion or the second adaptor portion.
Regarding Claim 10, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori does not directly disclose wherein a region near the bend on the adapter is provided with a weak region.
Mori discloses wherein the current collector plate and terminal member are welded using a laser beam ([0011]). Mori further discloses wherein laser welding is used to create the connection between the electrode parts and electrode terminals ([0067]). Mori further discloses wherein the laser beam can be adjusted to create a weaker region in the welding structure ([0168]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Mori to have wherein a region near the bend on the adapter is provided with a weak region.
Regarding Claim 13, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori discloses the battery according to claim 12 (see claim 12 rejection above. Mori does not directly disclose an electrical apparatus wherein the battery is used to provide electric energy.
Mori discloses wherein the present invention relation to electric storage elements and can be used in various high energy density electric devices ([005]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Mori to have wherein an electrical apparatus wherein the battery is used to provide electric energy.
Claim(s) 4 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US20140113185) in view of Uruno (US20140127538).
Regarding Claim 4, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori discloses wherein the first insulating portion is arranged between the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion (Fig. 1). Mori does not directly disclose wherein the first insulating portion comprises a plurality of insulating blocks arranged at intervals.
Uruno discloses a battery cell structure (package-2, [0015]) which comprises an insulating plate sheet structure that is disposed between two terminals (insulator-8, cathode terminal-4, anode terminal-5, [0014], Fig. 1). Uruno further discloses wherein the insulator is formed with reinforcing ribs (plural ribs-8e, [0023]). Uruno teaches that this structure provides improved safety and reliability of the battery ([0031]).
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the specifications, “plurality of insulating blocks” can be any structure that abuts from the first insulating member in a square or rectangular structure as shown in instant Fig. 6 and Fig. 8 & 9. Therefore it is the examiner’s position that Uruno discloses a plurality of insulating blocks arranged at intervals.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Mori with the teachings of Uruno to have wherein the first insulating portion comprises a plurality of insulating blocks arranged at intervals. This modification would yield the expected result of improved safety and reliability of the battery.
Regarding Claim 5, Mori discloses the limitations as set forth above. Mori further discloses wherein the adapter is shaped by bending at intervals between at least two adjacent insulating blocks (the adapter is shaped by bending, current collectors-32&34 are created with bending shapes, [0148]).
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728