DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 01/20/2026 amended claims 1, 7, 8, and 12. Claims 1-15 are rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1 and 12.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 01/20/2026 appropriately amended the title; hence the objection/s to the title made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 20100110391 A1) in view of Oh (US 20090141247 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches light source module (10) applicable to a projection device (100, Fig. 1), the light source module (10) comprising: a heat dissipation assembly, comprising: a first heat dissipation component, comprising a first base and a first fin set connected with each other, wherein the first fin set has a first ventilation surface and a second ventilation surface, adjacent to the first ventilation surface and opposite to the first base; and a second heat dissipation component, comprising a second base and a second fin set, wherein the second base has a first surface, a second surface, and a ventilation opening, the first surface is opposite to the second surface, the second fin set is arranged on the first surface, the second surface faces the first ventilation surface, and the ventilation opening penetrates the first surface and the second surface and is aligned with the first ventilation surface; a first light source, arranged on the first base; and a second light source, arranged on the second base.
Chu does not explicitly teach a first air deflector, arranged on and covering the second ventilation surface of the first fin set, wherein the first air deflector is fixed and directly contacts a side of the first fin set.
Oh teaches an air deflector (53), arranged on and covering the second ventilation surface of the fin set (54), wherein the air deflector (53) is fixed and directly contacts a side of the fin set (54; Fig. 2-5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chu with Oh; because it allows guiding airflow through the fin sets to improve cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Chu further teaches an opening area of the ventilation opening is greater than or equal to an area of the first ventilation surface.
Regarding claim 3, Chu further teaches the second fin set extends on the first surface and partially overlaps the ventilation opening.
Regarding claim 4, Chu further teaches the first fin set comprises a plurality of first fins, the first fins are arranged at intervals along a first direction, the second fin set comprises a plurality of second fins, the second fins are arranged at intervals along a second direction, and the first direction is identical to the second direction.
Regarding claim 5, Chu further teaches a third light source, wherein the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a third heat dissipation component, the third heat dissipation component is opposite to the first heat dissipation component, the third heat dissipation component comprises a third base and a third fin set, the third base has a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other, the third fin set is arranged on the third surface, the fourth surface faces a surface of the first base arranged the first light source, and the third light source is arranged on the fourth surface.
Regarding claim 6, Chu further teaches the first fin set comprises a plurality of first fins, arranged at intervals along a first direction; the second fin set comprises a plurality of second fins, arranged at intervals along a second direction; the third fin set comprises a plurality of third fins, arranged at intervals along a third direction; the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are identical to each other.
Regarding claim 7, Chu further teaches the first fin set further comprises the third heat dissipation component is close to the fourth ventilation surface, and the third fin set further comprises a fifth ventilation surface facing away from the third surface.
Chu does not teach a second air deflector, wherein: the second deflector is arranged opposite to the fifth ventilation surface.
Oh teaches an air deflector (53), arranged on and covering the second ventilation surface of the fin set (54).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chu with Oh such that the second deflector is arranged opposite to the fifth ventilation surface; because it allows guiding airflow through the fin sets to improve cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chu and Oh consequently results the second air deflector covers the fifth ventilation surface.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chu and Oh consequently results in a fan (30 of Oh), configured to generate an airflow passing through the ventilation opening and the first ventilation surface.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Oh and in further view of Zhai (US 20210373429 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Chu further teaches a light guide assembly ([0014]),
Chu does not explicitly teach the first light source is configured to generate a first beam, the second light source has a wavelength conversion layer, the wavelength conversion layer is configured to convert the first beam into a converted beam, the light guide assembly comprises a first dichroic component arranged on a transmission path of the first beam and the converted beam, and the first dichroic component is configured to allow the converted beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam to the wavelength conversion layer.
Zhai teaches the first light source (1504) is configured to generate a first beam, the second light source has a wavelength conversion layer (1502), the wavelength conversion layer (1502) is configured to convert the first beam into a converted beam, the light guide assembly comprises a first dichroic component (1511) arranged on a transmission path of the first beam and the converted beam, and the first dichroic component (1511) is configured to allow the converted beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam to the wavelength conversion layer (1502; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chu with Zhai; because it allows “high brightness out in a compact size light engine” ([0004] of Zhai).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chu, Oh, and Zhai consequently results in a fourth light source (1501/1505 of Zhai), wherein the third light source (1503 of Zhai) is configured to generate a third beam, the fourth light source (1501/1505 of Zhai) is configured to generate a fourth beam, and the first dichroic component (1511 of Zhai) is further arranged on a transmission path of the third beam, wherein: the light guide assembly further comprises a second dichroic component (1510 of Zhai), arranged on a transmission path of the converted beam, the third beam, and the fourth beam; the first dichroic component (1511 of Zhai) is further configured to reflect the third beam to the second dichroic component (1510 of Zhai), and the second dichroic component is configured to allow the converted beam and the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the fourth beam (Fig. 15 of Zhai).
Neither Chu nor Zhai teaches the fourth light source arranged on the fourth surface. It is immediately clear to a person of ordinary skills in the art that the fourth light source has its own cooling arrangement or shares the cooling arrangement with the third light source.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the fourth light source arranged on the fourth surface; because it is a matter of common sense.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Oh and in further view of Chien (US 10911730 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Chu teaches a projection device (100, Fig. 1), comprising, inherently, a housing, a light source module (10), a light valve module (30), and a projection lens (40), wherein the light source module (10), the light valve module (30), and the projection lens (40) are arranged in the housing, the light source module (10) is configured to provide an illumination beam, the light valve module (30) is arranged on a transmission path of the illumination beam and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam, the projection lens (40) is arranged on a transmission path of the image beam and configured to project the image beam, and the light source module (10) comprises: a heat dissipation assembly, comprising: a first heat dissipation component, comprising a first base and a first fin set connected with each other, wherein the first fin set has a first ventilation surface and a second ventilation surface, the second ventilation surface is adjacent to the first ventilation surface and opposite to the first base; and a second heat dissipation component, comprising a second base and a second fin set, wherein the second base has a first surface, a second surface, and a ventilation opening, the first surface is opposite to the second surface, the second fin set is arranged on the first surface, the second surface faces the first ventilation surface, and the ventilation opening penetrates the first surface and the second surface and is aligned with the first ventilation surface; a first light source, arranged on the first base; and a second light source, arranged on the second base.
Chu does not explicitly teach a first air deflector, arranged on and covering the second ventilation surface of the first fin set, wherein the first air deflector is fixed and directly contacts a side of the first fin set.
Oh teaches an air deflector (53), arranged on and covering the second ventilation surface of the fin set (54), wherein the air deflector (53) is fixed and directly contacts a side of the fin set (54; Fig. 2-5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chu with Oh; because it allows guiding airflow through the fin sets to improve cooling efficiency.
Neither Chu nor Oh explicitly teaches the housing having a ventilation hole.
Chien teaches the housing having ventilation holes (110a, 110b, 110c).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chu and Oh with Chien; because it allows greater cooling efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Chu further teaches the light source module (10) further comprises a third light source, the heat dissipation assembly further comprises a third heat dissipation component, the third heat dissipation component is opposite to the first heat dissipation component, the third heat dissipation component comprises a third base and a third fin set, the third base has a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other, the third fin set is arranged on the third surface, the fourth surface faces a surface of the first base arranged the first light source, and the third light source is arranged on the fourth surface.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Oh and Chien and in further view of Zhai (US 20210373429 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Chu further teaches a light guide assembly ([0014]),
Neither Chu, Oh, nor Chien explicitly teaches the first light source is configured to generate a first beam, the second light source has a wavelength conversion layer, the wavelength conversion layer is configured to convert the first beam into a converted beam, the light guide assembly comprises a first dichroic component arranged on a transmission path of the first beam and the converted beam, and the first dichroic component is configured to allow the converted beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam to the wavelength conversion layer.
Zhai teaches the first light source (1504) is configured to generate a first beam, the second light source has a wavelength conversion layer (1502), the wavelength conversion layer (1502) is configured to convert the first beam into a converted beam, the light guide assembly comprises a first dichroic component (1511) arranged on a transmission path of the first beam and the converted beam, and the first dichroic component (1511) is configured to allow the converted beam to pass therethrough and reflect the first beam to the wavelength conversion layer (1502; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chu, Oh, and Chien with Zhai; because it allows “high brightness out in a compact size light engine” ([0004] of Zhai).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chu, Oh, Chien and Zhai consequently results in a fourth light source (1501/1505 of Zhai), wherein the third light source (1503 of Zhai) is configured to generate a third beam, the fourth light source (1501/1505 of Zhai) is configured to generate a fourth beam, and the first dichroic component (1511 of Zhai) is further arranged on a transmission path of the third beam, wherein: the light guide assembly further comprises a second dichroic component (1510 of Zhai), arranged on a transmission path of the converted beam, the third beam, and the fourth beam; the first dichroic component (1511 of Zhai) is further configured to reflect the third beam to the second dichroic component (1510 of Zhai), and the second dichroic component is configured to allow the converted beam and the third beam to pass therethrough and reflect the fourth beam (Fig. 15 of Zhai).
Neither Chu, Oh, nor Zhai teaches the fourth light source arranged on the fourth surface. It is immediately clear to a person of ordinary skills in the art that the fourth light source has its own cooling arrangement or shares the cooling arrangement with the third light source.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the fourth light source arranged on the fourth surface; because it is a matter of common sense.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendment/s.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882